The front of this pretty cottage.
The warming wood-burner is a lovely feature in the sitting/dining-room - ideal after a long walk on the moors.
The lane to the cottage is along the edge of the River Lyd.
Looking through to the sitting/dining-room from the kitchen.
The open plan sitting/dining room which leads through from the kitchen.
Relax and unwind in the cosy sitting room.
Downstairs bathroom is located to the left of the property on the ground floor.
The pretty master bedroom is home to a super comfortable 5ft double bed.
The snug single bedroom with fabulous views out over the rolling contryside.
The private lane down to the cottages.
The cottage as you come along the drive.
The nearby landmark of Brentor with the church perched on the top of a hill - visible for miles.
The approach to Little Leat is over the small bridge and down beside the river.
This is the lane down to the river and the cottages beyond. A short walk along here takes you into the main village.
Locally known for excellent food is The Arundell Arms in the village, a bit of a hill to get to it but downhill all the way home.
Another lovely view of Brentor church in the distance.
Dartmoor ponies!
Looking down on Tavistock nestling in the moor - with a further view down to Cornwall.
On a sunny spring morning this is a lovely cottage with only a couple of neighbours (one of whom you can just make out behind the cottage).
Leat Mill Cottage is in a lovely rural setting.
The front of this pretty cottage.
The moor above the cottage.
Little Leat's sunny garden.
Within walking distance is a good pub.

Leat Mill Cottage

554

8.6 miles NW of Tavistock / Sleeps 3 + cot

7 Nights from £382 - £771

September 2017

Lovely cottage, great for dogs as the river is shallow. Very close to Lauceston and the farm shop has a wide range of goodies.


August 2017

A charming cottage in a peaceful setting. The river just yards from the cottage offered a soothing feel of calm, yet locational wise a short drive from A30 and brilliant to get to most places.


August 2017

25 years plus is testament to the pleasure and satisfaction we obtain from this property.


June 2017

A very comfortable cottage in a beautiful location


June 2017

A comfortable cottage in a beautifully peaceful location - a lovely place to relax. We found that we could get everything that we wanted either at the village shop or the farm shop and, as petrol is sold in Tinhay, we didn't have to visit a town or supermarket at all during our stay.


June 2017

Superb location.


May 2017

Leat Mill Cottage was excellent and in the perfect quiet location. It was cosy and comfortable and felt homely. We knew the location as we stayed, a few years ago, over the lane in the owners' other cottage so knew what to expect. We found the cottage exceptionally clean and enjoyed the attention to detail. The owners introduced themselves when we arrived and then did not interrupt our holiday in any way apart from secretly topping up the bird feeders, which we appreciated. The weather wasn't kind to us so we made good use of the wood burner which was very efficient and easy to light. The wifi was excellent with a strong fast signal. I wouldn't be surprised if we returned there in the future.


April 2017

A lovely cottage in a stunning setting, surrounded by the river and lush woodland. Really idyllic.


April 2017

The cream tea and fresh flowers on arrival were unexpected, but an absolute delight. The cottage had absolutely everything you would need and more. Absolutely spottlessly clean and beautiful furniture all so in keeping with the cottage style. A truly magical stay! We have found a little piece of heaven on earth.


March 2017

Welcoming cream tea and watching garden birds


October 2016

Excellent location for getting access to the moor and to the beaches. Although close to the A30 it is a truly peaceful place and great for a relaxing break. The cream tea on arrival was a nice touch. Would recommend the farm shop in Lifton for all your essential supplies.


September 2016

Lovely cottage in lovely surroundings, which has everything and more.


September 2016

Cosy bathroom, comfy sofa, and for a holiday in a complex, great


July 2016

Excellent cottage in beautiful Devon countryside. Ideal for bringing your dog. Amenities close at hand.


June 2016

Lovely Cottage to relax in and in a beautiful setting, great places to visit and explore. This was our 2nd holiday at the cottage and hope to go back again.


May 2016

The owners of this property were lovely, We were made very welcome , and with a cream tea. No complaints, couldn't be bettered.


May 2016

Great for a couple on their honeymoon. Very well furnished and a true home from home.


April 2016

This was our second stay at this cottage and again it was very relaxing. We normally do cottage visits in the winter but this spring stay rewarded us with more birds in the garden and spring flowers everywhere which was lovely!! A cheeky chaffinch came and knocked on the window twice while we were there!! A visit to Tavistock is always a must and not too far away. Also a visit to the Tamar Otter and Wildlife centre is recommended. All in all, a lovely 4 night break.


April 2016

Ideal for those who like peace and quiet


November 2015

We really loved this cottage. The cosy lounge with the wood burner was very welcoming, You can sit and watch the birds on the bird tables outside. The bedroom was comfortable. The area is lovely and quiet (just what we like). There is a wonderful farm shop not too far away where you can stock up on all sorts of goodies!! We love this area and hope to stay again soon.


September 2015

We had a wonderful stay, we were made very welcome and love the cream tea on arrival, we'd definitely choose this cottage again if we decide to return to Devon.


September 2015

Lovely location comfortable cottage with all amenities and more. Very nice and helpful owners. Even the dogs had a wonderful time.


July 2015

A really lovely cottage in a great location, thoughtful hosts.


May 2015

We would use this cottage again in the future.


May 2015

A lovely peaceful place.


May 2015

We return to this cottage yearly because of its amazing high standards of furnishings and equiptment. Lovely log fire and idyllic position on the Devon/Cornwall border. Close to all attractions and both Dartmoor and Bodmin Moors. Unique holiday cottage.


April 2015

I can't speak about it highly enough. Beautifully peaceful location, well set up accommodation and with Dartmoor & South/West Devon attractions easily accessible by car.


March 2015

Very pretty cottage and lovely comfortable lounge with wood burning stove. Great warm cosy evenings. Nice finishing touches like the cream tea when we arrived and fruit in the bowl. No need to take tea towels, washing up liquid or dishwasher tablets - all thoughtfully provided.


February 2015

Had a very relaxing break. Cottage superb in every way. Very well equipped and owners very helpful.


December 2014

This is a must, fantastic cottage and beautiful area.......


September 2014

Beautiful setting, walks from the door and a bird watchers paradise. Warm welcome, available but not intrusive owners. Comfortable lounge and well equipped kitchen.


September 2014

From an Australian perspective, Leat Mill Cottage represents the quintessential 'escape to the country'. Charming accommodation with all the mod cons and picture windows looking out onto all the positive aspects of rural life - birds, cows, a stream ideal for skipping stones, country lanes, a nearby town for groceries and a lovely pub meal, congenial hosts - and wait for it, silence! Far from the A30 for noise but near enough to connect to all the Devon and Cornwall locations.


August 2014

Splendid cottage in a peaceful location - but easily accessible to amenities. Local wildlife stunning - spotted a kingfisher! LOVE the spa bath - fab!


August 2014

Excellent position in tranquil valley near a small river. Idea for walks and bird watching.


June 2014

Lovely and peaceful place! Great for a relaxing but at the same time active stay and to explore both Devon and Cornwall. Well situated and very well equipped. We loved our stay in the cottage!


May 2014

An immaculate very well presented cottage with all the home comforts (and more) that you need for a peaceful break. The location is very convenient to access Devon and Cornwall attractions as well as local village amenities including a very nice farm shop.


May 2014

Leat Mill Cottage is 5* quality with everything you could want provided, even a cream tea and log fire on arrival. Little seat by the stream, central to Dartmoor and Bodmin Moors with a well stocked village shop and farm shop. Owners very friendly, an idyllic place we will come back to.


April 2014

Peaceful and quiet (save for the pheasants !) - friendly owners who assisted when needed but were not intrusive. Good location for visiting interesting local area, within easy reach of Dartmoor, coastal walks and NT properties.


October 2013

Delightful well-equipped cottage, excellent location and local pub too! Don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed!


September 2013

Any excellent property. The owner met us when we arrived and had thoughtfully left a pint of milk in the fridge, some fruit, flowers and scones, cream and jam. Every detail was thought of. Better than home is the best way to describe it! The location was lovely near to the river but not too far from towns so you didn't feel as if you were in the middle of nowhere.

The owner also gave us some fresh mushrooms that he had picked that morning.

It was nice to see the photograph of the cottage as it originally was- old farm buildings.

A lovely stay would definitely recommend.


July 2013

Little Leat nestles in a small hamlet of properties and whilst the other properties are close they are not overly intrusive, it would however benefit from a private/enclosed garden area. The location suited us well and there were a good number and range of excellent places to eat. Overall we’d definitely stay at Little Leat again.


June 2013

This cottage was by far the best we've stayed in. A beautiful location and very well equipped cottage. A lovely cream tea was provided by the owner on arrival together with a pint of milk, very thoughtful. Would thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone.


March 2013

A beautiful cottege, with really hospitable owners. In a very cold spell, it was cosy and very comfortable. The spa bath was a treat.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.