Welcome to The Cattle Byre.
The open plan living-room with kitchen and dining areas is light and airy.
The lovely double bedroom.
The cosy single bedroom.
Bring your furry friend along for a holiday - The Cattle Byre allows one dog.
Take advantage of dining either inside or outside in the well kept garden.
The private enclosed garden is perfect for all times of the day in the Island's sun.
The property is well-equipped for you to enjoy a relaxed holiday.
The family shower-room.
You will have views across the grounds from every window.
There is additional seating at the side of The Cattle Byre.
The private garden is fully enclosed, making it safe for children and dogs.
Enjoy your morning breakfast in the sunshine.
Kingston Barns has four properties on site, why not book more than one for a special family gathering.
Based in the middle of the countryside, enjoy the peaceful setting.
The Cattle Byre has private parking for two cars.
The access to Kingston Barns is along an unmade track...
... which leads you to the entrance on your right within approximately 100 yards.
The Crown Inn is the local pub based in Shorwell.

The Cattle Byre

4535

3.5 miles E of Brighstone / Sleeps 3 + cot*

Book or Reserve Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from £536

Cattle Byre was a delightful holiday cottage and we were very comfortable there. So peaceful, all we heard was the birds every day. Everything was there for us and we felt very at home. I would thoroughly recommend this cottage. It was spacious and clean and lovely to come home to after a day exploring.


Cottage in a lovely quiet position, very peaceful. Good location for getting around the island. Easy access with key safe, cottage very clean upon arrival. Beds comfy, bed linen and towels good quality. Kitchen reasonably well equipped but not if you seriously wanted to cook. Plentiful hot water for efficient shower but as large boiler is situated in the living area, in good weather it gets very hot in there. The wooden chairs and table in the garden area are quite worn with one chair strut split on the seat. Nice chocolate cake left for us but would perhaps be better to leave small bottle of milk and a few teabags for guests not bringing them - we had ordered a Waitrose food delivery to arrive between 5pm and 6pm so no cup of tea until then! We had an issue with the toaster not working but the lovely housekeeper very quickly bought us a new replacement. Overall lots of good points but a few minor issues that could easily be remedied.


We had a problem with a non working towel rail and an intermittent working not working ventilation fan. The shower head was split as we discovered on our arrival. Fair play that one of your lovely ladies turned up with a new one and assured us the towel rail would be fixed.... It wasn't...and just made drying towels difficult. The dishwasher wasn't properly cleaned the filter was full of old food .... It didn't detract from the holiday but we felt that the Byre wasn't really properly checked before we arrived. We will give you 7.5 but if the property had been properly checked it would of been 10.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We are pleased that overall, you had a lovely time at The Cattle Byre and thank you for sharing your feedback. It is great to hear that you let the housekeepers know about the maintenance issues but so wish that we were aware so we could ensure there were no other areas that needed checking. We hope to welcome you back or to another Classic Cottage in the future. Sarah, Customer Support


We booked all the barns for a large family holiday. The Cattle Byre was great and well kitted out. A lovely peaceful setting. Definitely recommend it!

The Darbyshire family.


Ideal if you have a dog plenty exercise space outside


Lovely decor and very clean and comfortable. Good parking.


would have liked a door from living room to rear garden .Shower room should have frosted glass in window not plane glass .

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your helpful suggestions - we'll pass them on to the owner for their consideration. Tressa, Customer Support


We really enjoyed our stay at the Cattle Byre. It was in a lovely rural location and very peaceful. I enjoyed watching the pheasants in the field behind the cottage. It was very comfortable and everything we needed was provided for us. We would definitely recommend it.


Wonderfully quiet, partridges and pheasants just outside each morning and wonderful walks


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.