This is the view of the cottage from the top of its private and sheltered garden.
The patio is a great sun-trap and with the French windows wide open the light fills the living-room. You can see the walled garden beyond
The ground floor is a cheerful open plan layout, with steps down to the kitchen area.
Looking out from the living area to the patio and your own walled garden beyond it.
The kitchen is really well equipped to make this cottage a real home from home
So if you decide to eat in you will find all that you need.
Another view across the kitchen showing the couple of steps up to the living area. This is a really spacious room.
The kitchen is fitted around three sides of this room and so is a very practical and open space.
The dining table extends if you wish.
Morning tea in this cheerful cottage is a great way to start the day before setting out to explore.
There is plenty of room for the dining table and there is a lovely table outside too.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are on the first floor. This is the master bedroom with its super-king size bed.
The master bedroom has high beamed ceilings and plenty of storage space.
As well as being dual aspect there is also a skylight so this room is lovely and bright.
You can have the luxury of lying in bed watching TV !
This is the shower room next to the master bedroom.
This bedroom has 'zip and link' beds and so can be made up as twins or as a 6ft double.
The bathroom is next to the twin bedroom.
The grounds surrounding Fig Tree Cottage are very peaceful - you are welcome to explore the woodland and to enjoy the meadow.
Appledore and Instow face each other across the Torridge Estuary - these are both very popular for outings on the coast.
An atmospherice view over Saunton Sands.
North Devon is renowned for its incredible miles and miles for all the family to enjoy. Great for surfing, kite surfing and walking.
There are five amazing acres of meadow and woodland for you to explore and enjoy. Ideal for lazy picnics if you decide not to go out for the day.
There are wide grassy paths mown for you through the woodland.
You drive up to the cottage through this meadow.  The pond is quite deep and this is the reason for the child age restriction.
Find a peaceful bench with valley views and spend some 'you' time switching off from the pressures of daily life.

Fig Tree Cottage

1648

2.8 miles SE of Instow / Sleeps 4 (no children under 4)

7 Nights from £422 - £970

September 2017

Beautiful very well equipped cottage with lovely walled garden and grounds.


June 2017

I was looking for a holiday away from everybody and this met every expection. In a beautiful yet secluded location this little cottage has everything you could wish for. Very clean, lovely comfy beds, great little garden and huge outdoor spaces. Hope to visit again before too long.


May 2017

An excellent cottage in peaceful surroundings.


April 2017

we loved the privacy and the garden in particular. the bedrooms were very spacious and the cottage warm when weather cool.


September 2016

Charming, very well equipped cottage. Beautiful, secluded grounds. Owner was very welcoming but not at all intrusive. A lovely week.


August 2016

A lovely place very peaceful and a good location with plenty to do in the area


July 2016

Gorgeous garden to relax in. Friendly helpful owner.


June 2016

an extremely well presented and equipped cottage in a very peaceful location.


June 2016

Everything worked out very well


May 2016

For a second time we received a very warm welcome at this lovely property set in a peaceful walled garden. The house was spotless, comfortable and spacious and conveniently located, set in a very large parkland area we would roam in. We never normally go back to the same place but we couldn't resist returning to Fig Tree Cottage which more than lived up to our high expectations. New features made it even better than last time and the Owner is so very kind and helpful.


May 2016

Peaceful location. A very comfortable cottage.


March 2016

We spent a wonderful week at Fig Tree Cottage over Easter. Owner kindly provided a bike store and provided plenty of information about the local area/restaurants to help plan your stay. Recommend the Tarka Trail and Dartington Glass. Hope to return in the future. Grounds and private garden offer plenty of space for children and adults to explore and play.


September 2015

Beautiful cottage in a lovely location. Easily lived up to our expectations.


September 2015

This spotless cottage is superb, with huge grounds, a lovely walled garden, two nice bathrooms and enormous comfortable beds. The spacious and pleasant bedrooms have lots of wardrobe and drawer space. The very pleasant owner was extremely helpful without being intrusive. The location is quiet but well situated for many of the key places and beaches in Devon. We can't recommend it too highly. One of the very best cottages we have ever stayed in.


August 2015

This is a lovely cottage, spotlessly clean with a home from home feel, beautiful gardens to relax in. Good location especially if you are interested in visiting gardens as there are many excellent ones close by


August 2015

A cosy, well equipped cottage in a great location with a lovely garden and meadow.


July 2015

The cottage is every bit as lovely as the photos show. It is well decorated and furnished, with a well laid out and equipped kitchen, comfortable living room and spacious bedrooms (not to forget both bath and shower room). The owner was discreet, but attentive when we had cause to speak to him - nothing too much trouble. The land around of meadow and planted woodland was fun to explore for the children, and the walled garden a pleasant setting for the several barbecues we had during our stay. And apart from a tiny handful of passing cars and some grazing cows there was total silence, making possible the deepest of sleep. The owner even provided space in one of his out-houses for the four bicycles we brought with us.


July 2015

We were highly impressed with the professional service of the company and the high quality of Fig Tree Cottage. A lovely property that met all our advance expectations.We couldn't have wished for more- a peaceful location yet close enough to superb coastlines at Hartland, Baggy Point and Mortehoe. The walking was superb and the beaches fabulous. Loved the woodland attached to the cottage. Plentiful maps and guides if you didn't bring your own. We were made most welcome by the owner who visited at both ends of our stay

Loved Devon- a haven away from the M5!


February 2015

Very cosy and peaceful cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back again.


September 2014

A lovely property in a beautifully quiet location the owner was very friendly although we didn't see him all week you would not be afraid to ask him if you needed anything.

The property is actually nicer than the pictures show - may be it's the atmosphere in the cottage which is homely. Everything was beautifully clean and well maintained.


July 2014

This cottage is superb. Home from home with everything you need for a self catering holiday . Beautifully maintained, wonderful outdoor area for both adults and children and great welcome from the lovely owner. Central for all North Devon villages and towns and good location to get to Croyde Bay, Woolacombe and Saunton sands. A gem of a cottage!


June 2014

A lovely and comfortable cottage on the edge of a pretty a village. We really enjoyed our stay here and it was perfect for what we needed.


June 2014

A quaint, cosy hideaway with a home-from-home feel set in a beautiful location.


June 2014

Would certainly book with Classic Cottages again, and would recommend Fig Tree cottage to friends and family.


August 2013

Quiet - would suggest more cutlery.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review - the Owner has confirmed that following your suggestion, he's topped up the exisitng cutlery so that there is now three of everything for each guest. Tanya, Customer Support


July 2013

We appreciated the high quality of the cottage and the furnishings. A wonderful place to escape to. The walled garden was beautiful and the owners woodland was fun to explore.


April 2013

This is a lovely part of Devon with lots to see and do, for all ages.

Good walking from Appledore to Westward Ho!

Docton Mill is also a lovely spot to visit with very pretty gardens and a good cafe for cream teas!

Also, for the keen gardener Rosemoor is nearby, and well worth a visit.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.