The sunny courtyard in front of Trethevey Old Barn.
The apex ceiling in the spacious sitting-room enhances the feeling of space and light.
The dining-area is well-equipped for long, relaxing meals.
Bedroom 3 (first floor) has a 5' double bed and an en suite shower-room.
Guests can walk through the Owners' lovely woods and fields.
The lovely stone-built barn has been beautifully converted.
Soft leather sofas and chairs allow you to relax in comfort.
Warm your toes and the wine in front of the trusty wood-burner - perfect holiday occupations!
This relaxing chair by the French doors, where the light floods in, provides the perfect place for reading.
A custom-built ladder leads up to a snug reading-area in the gallery above the siiting-room (please take care with young children).
Looking from the kitchen/dining-room towards the sitting-room.
The well-equipped kitchen-area.
The kitchen/dining-room.
A warm welcome is provided.
Bedroom 1 (ground floor) has a single bed.
Bedroom 2 (ground floor) has a single bed.
Bedroom 4 (first floor) has a double bed and en suite bathroom.
The bathroom en suite to the second double bedroom.
Guests are welcome to home-grown vegetables from the garden.
One of the wonderful tall ships moored at historic Charlestown Harbour, a short drive from Trethevey.
Par Sands has ample parking right next to the beach.
Beautiful Readymoney Cove in Fowey is a 20 minute drive from the cottage.

Trethevey

944

4.9 miles NW of Fowey / Sleeps 6 + cot

20% off for parties of 4 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

7 Nights from £492 - £1347

August 2017

our family wanted a peaceful, relaxing place to call home for a week. Trethevey gave us all of that and more. Secluded yet accessible and just stunning. We wouldn't hesitate to return.


July 2017

Very comfortable cottage ,great welcome with cream tea. It was very well equipped and our Springer Spaniel was on doggy heaven due to free run time in the three fields. ..just be careful on the very narrow approach road.


July 2017

Beautiful cottage, location, walks. Charming and helpful owner. Perfect retreat but near enough to coast too. Just lovely. Thank you.


June 2017

The Cottage certainly lived up to our good expectations and was a delight. Verna and Kay made us and our two dogs very welcome and were extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We hope to stay again soon.

Ken and Family


June 2017

Verna and Kay were so welcoming and friendly, the scones on arrival were delicious. The Luxulyan Valley (on the doorstep) is a hidden treasure fantastic for walking the dog.


October 2016

We had a fantastic stay in this property, the surrounding Luxullyan valley is extraordinary, the house was well maintained and the owner delightful. Highly recommended.


October 2016

Trethevey is the perfect cottage for dog walking; just over the stile from the garden are lots of places to be explored - it's dog heaven! The cottage is a perfect base for exploring this area of Cornwall, just a few minutes from major roads, but wonderfully isolated as well.


October 2016

A beautiful location and perfect accommodation. Fabulous walks in the woods, cream tea when we arrived and pint of milk in the fridge was very welcome. Approach road is very narrow but we never had a problem fortunately. Verna and Kay were lovely and very helpful. Enjoy the comfortable lounge but watch your head if you're up in the gallery! We will certainly be back, it is very conveniently situated to reach lots of places to visit and the dogs loved the woods as much as we did!


September 2016

you get a really warm welcome from the owners and the cream tea left for us was delicious,


December 2015

One of the best places we have stayed in. A lovely homely feeling and very quiet and in the middle of no where but close enough to lots of lovely places.


August 2015

The cottage was wonderfully comfortable & spacious for the five of us (including the dog) and the setting is gloriously picturesque and tranquil. The narrow lane wasn't a problem either because the only other vehicle we met all week was the postman (once) and we were close enough to a passing place for it not to be a problem. The cottage is very close to the Eden Project, the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the beautiful little town of Fowey -all absolute musts to visit. Our only complaint is that we didn't have enough time to enjoy the cottage and to explore this wonderful corner of Cornwall so we intend to return to Trethevey again in the future.


August 2015

Would stay again and would definitely recommend it


June 2015

This cottage is very good, a warm welcome from the owners .Located in a very peaceful location. Pop down the garden and over the stile then follow the path through woods down into the Luxulyan Valley. Also within easy reach of
Fowey and the Eden project. And would certainly use this property again.


May 2015

We had a lovely week at Trevethey, overall the cottage is very comfortable and so quiet, the woods on the doorstep are a real bonus and the cream tea on arrival is a very nice touch. The extremely narrow lane though is rather tortuous & owners of large vehicles should be made aware of this.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to review Trethevey - we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is very much a rural property and these are often tucked away down unclassified little lanes. The lane leading to Trethevey is just over a mile from the A390, and we do appreciate that parts of it are narrow. However, traffic is usually very limited and it's unusual to meet a lot of other cars (hopefully you found this was the case?), although there are passing places at various spots. We hope the short drive through the edge of Trethevey Wood was beautiful enough to offset any concerns about the road width - we think this lovely peaceful location is definitely worth it! Tanya, Customer Support


April 2015

A clean and comfortable cottage in a lovely setting. Helpful owners. Great for the dogs.


December 2014

If wifi is important do not book


December 2014

see you again next year!


October 2014

Beautiful cottage with lovely location. Fabulous Walks from the door.


September 2014

You may publish my comments in the main body of my review.


March 2014

What a wonderful place! If you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life this is the place to come. We will return again...


February 2014

Fantastic cottage, in a beautiful location, Very warm welcome and very helpful. Within easy reach of St Austell area also not far from Newquay. Could not ask for more, everything you could need for a lovely relaxing holiday. Perfect.


September 2013

This is our second time to Trethevey farm. We have stayed in both cottages and loved each one. The owner Verna makes you feel so welcome , cream tea waiting for you on arrival. The location is superb. Just fields and woods as the outlook. We spent a lot of out time just walking along the wooded paths. The whole area is great for visiting places such as The Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project, which is about a 5-10minute drive away. We will certainly be going back here next year


July 2013

trethevey old barn is beautiful,clean comfortable spacious and well equipped,the grounds and gardens are lovelyand dog friendly ,the owners who live on site are welcoming (home-made cream tea on our arrival ,after a 9hr journey was so appreciated !) full of local knowledge and happy to help at all times .well placed for coast and attractions ,Eden project,and Heligan only a few miles,good local pub .Quiet and tanquil ,what a hidden gem ,we will have no hesitation to return and explore some more of Cornwall.


June 2013

This cottage is wonderful, it is fully equipped with everything that could be needed by a group of friends or a family with young children. The owners were friendly and helpful and the scenery is amazing with some wonderful walks. The Eden project is only a couple of miles away (if you like that sort of thing) and you are within an easy drive of a beach.

I would say that prospective guests should note that a car is essential for staying in this property as there are no pubs or similar within an easy walking distance and you are literally in the middle of nowhere so there is no lighting at night and no footpaths.

We will definitely consider booking again.


March 2013

Overall, very nice, comfortable accommodation. Nice touches on arrival with fresh flowers in rooms and scones. Thank you.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.