Smugglers Cottage is down a wonderful long farm driveway and has panoramic valley views - just a couple of miles from Branscombe's gorgeous jurassic beach
There is a stunning terrace for al fresco meals and simply relaxing in beautiful surroundings.
There is a large deck for lazing in the sun and soaking up those views. This grassy lawned area is for you too.
The open plan living and dining area is filled with light and has views right down the valley.
Another view of the living area, which is comfortable and welcoming.
The kitchen is very compact but very stylish! it is to the left as you go in via the terrace door and then the living/dining area opens out to the right.
This is the master bedroom on the first floor, with its Juliette balcony and king-size bed.
The master bedroom has characterful sloping ceilings but plenty of space.
There is a lovely mix of antique and contemporary furnishing in the cottage giving it plenty of character.
This is the ground floor double bedroom.
The is the en suite bathroom, with bath and wet-room style shower, for the ground floor bedroom. There are two steps up into the bathroom.
This is the twin bedroom - also with characterful sloping ceilings but plenty of space too.
Whichever room you choose, you will be very comfortable.
What a peaceful place to sit and relax. With the pond in front of you and the valley stretching away down the hill.
The terrace has spectacular views and is the perfect place to get into holiday mood.
The pond is a pretty feature but do watch young children.
The terrace is a really lovely feature here. It is not overlooked at all and the view down the valley is beautiful.
The beach is so unspoilt, there is a beachside car park and a cafe/shop, and of course the South West Coastal Path to challenge you.
Millers Farm shop on the A35 just outside of Axminster has an array of local produce and delicious holiday treats.
This is Jacob's Ladder at Sidmouth. There is a long sandy beach here at low tide.
This little tram runs between the historc village of Colyton and the Jurassic coast at Seaton, following the Axe estuary through two nature reserves.
The award-winning Sea Shanty Beach cafe at Branscombe beach serves delicious locally-caught seafood.
Lyme Regis has some great restaurants, cafes and independent shops as well as a safe sandy beach with SUP and kayak hire in the summer.
Nearby Branscombe's shingle beach.
River Cottage HQ is a short drive from Smugglers Cottage, great venue for a celebratory meal or to polish your cooking skills.
Nearby Beer has a wet fish shop on the beach and sells the catch of the day, ideal for the barbecue.
The award-winning Masons Arms is one of two pubs in the long village of Branscombe.
Branscombe's parish church, Saint Winifred's.

Smugglers Cottage

3218

Branscombe / Sleeps 6 + cot

7 Nights from £504 - £1380

September 2018

The beauty of this cottage and its location is that it is far away from the madding crowd. We walked miles and miles and feel it was one of the most relaxing holidays we've enjoyed in a long while. Both pubs in the village are quaint and we enjoyed them both. We definitely intend to return!


September 2018

Lovely location and fantastic views across the valley


May 2018

A lovely peaceful cottage located in a nice valley, the kitchen is quite small and for a party of 6 it would be hard to cook in it. One or two quirks but generally a superb cottage and I would go again !


April 2018

Beautiful location and views but totally unsuitable for 6 people unless you wish to eat out all of the time.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for sharing your thoughts - we're pleased that you enjoyed the location and those great views. The kitchen area is small (but perfectly formed!) so if you are a large group who all like to join in and cook big meals together, you may find this area a bit cosy. For parties who'd prefer to enjoy some local eateries, there are two good pubs in Branscombe itself, both within a mile. Tanya, Customer Support


March 2018

Smugglers cottage is well placed, to explore Devon, it is very light, and really cozy if you have bad weather, Walks from your door step in all direction, and pubs you can walk to, and only 1.5 mils to the beach and coastal paths, We will be returning for a 4th Time


August 2017

Beautiful cottage in a lovely location, owners very friendly and welcoming.


July 2017

We had a lovely holiday in Smuggler' s Cottage. Luckily we were just 3 adults so we had enough room but there is no way 6 adults would fit in the communal areas. Any chefs should be aware that the kitchen area is very tiny so dreams of preparing gourmet meals should be curtailed. Having said that, we found plenty of fresh fish locally and managed very well. The beds are very comfy and the welcome goodies left by the owners a nice touch.


July 2017

Beautifully furnished cottage with fantastic views.


June 2017

Just returned from a lovely relaxing week at Smugglers Cottage with my husband, son and his girlfriend and our little geriatric dog Fin! We were made to feel very welcome by Ross the owner and Fin enjoyed meeting the two girly deerhounds. There are lovely views from the cottage which had every home comfort and the village of Branscombe was a delight to explore especially the two pubs, The Masons Arms and The Fountain Head where we spent an evening listening to live Irish music. There is a nice circular walk around Branscombe taking in quite a bit of local history and you can access neighbouring villages via the coastal path. We would definitely recommend a stay at Smugglers Cottage to our pals. Thanks again Ross.


May 2017

Too small for 6 adults!!

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're sorry that you felt the cottage was a bit small for 6 - the kitchen area of the open plan living-room is quite compact, as detailed in the description, but we do have many properties with additional living space if you'd like to get in touch in future for some suggestions. Tanya, Customer Support


April 2017

A beautiful country cottage down narrow lanes with all you could wish for in comfort, warmth and cleanliness.


April 2017

Branscombe is our favourite place in the UK and we return regularly. Smugglers Cottage is the best property we have stayed at in Branscombe.


March 2017

Great owners, lovely people


February 2017

Smuggler's cottage is in a beautiful location and has a very welcoming owner, Ross. It was the perfect out of season holiday in this for us unknown part of Devon.


November 2016

Lovely charming cottage in a quiet and peaceful location. Received such a warm and friendly welcome on arrival and enjoyed a lovely relaxing weekend.


October 2016

Smugglers cottage, is the best cottage we have stayed at, Cosy, relaxing, lovely views, Idyllic location, lovely walks from the front door. The main 1st Floor bedroom with the Juliet Balcony, was so peaceful , We could not fault it, it was hard to leave it, Can't wait to return


October 2016

If you are looking for a tranquil spot, quiet, private and with great views, then Smugglers Cottage is highly recommended. Branscombe is an interesting base, and the Masons Arms, has to be one of the best places to relax and enjoy great food and local beers. If you take your Dog, again, smugglers cottage couldn't be better, great and safe walks as soon as you step out of the door..............


July 2016

Fantastic location. Wonderful views. You can't help but relax and unwind.


July 2016

Absolutely delightful stay at smugglers cottage.Beautiful setting and the Owner Ross ,his lovely family and their doggies made us and our dog max feel very welcome.The horses were particularly happy with our offering of carrots and we loved seeing them every day.Would definitely recommend ,it's a peaceful retreat from the hectic day to day life and we would all love to return for another holiday.Thanks to all


June 2016

Wonderful location quiet and peaceful and in easy reach of other locations


May 2016

Because this cottage is advertising itself to be filled with 6+ people I have rated this 2 stars. If it was for 2 adults I would rate it higher.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were sorry to see that you would have preferred a larger cottage for your party. We do feel that Smugglers Cottage is suitable for a party of six guests, and it has been equipped with that in mind. To offer versatility, guests can also book at a reduced price for a party of four using just two of the three bedrooms. We're confident that the photos give a true picture of the space available, but our Booking Office team are always able to answer any questions or help you choose a property to suit your personal preferences. Tanya, Customer Support


May 2016

Stayed here with my family for a short break in late Spring 2016. Wonderfully peaceful location with almost no noise apart from birdsong and the occasional farm vehicle/horse. It's properly dark at night too.

The cottage has been very nicely converted from a barn (or similar) and so has lovely thick walls, stone flag floor and deep windows, some with great views over the peaceful valley. The kitchen area is smart and well equipped, but quite compact. Bedrooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. Bathrooms are sleek and stylish. If the weather is good there's an outside seating/eating area that looks over the valley and catches the sun for most of the day and evening (there's also a BBQ on it). If the weather isn't so good there's free WiFi/TV etc...

If you don't want to take the car, the village of Branscombe is a 10-15 minute walk down the lanes (no pavement and quite narrow, so not ideal for pushchairs) and the beach is a further 15 minute walk along a gentle footpath that follows the stream.

Overall, a superb location if you like peace, quiet, nature, access to a great beach (with excellent cafe) and generally getting away from it all.

Also worth mentioning that the owner was really friendly and helpful too.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.