Moorhayes stands alone so your privacy is assured.
A view across from the dining-area towards the sitting-area.
The open plan living-room is a fantastic room for all to enjoy.
A view from the garden towards the open plan living-room - the bi-fold doors allowing sunshine to flood through.
Comfortable sofas surround the wood-burner.
A great kitchen perfect for preparing culinary treats.
The kitchen return provides ample working space.
Attention to detail is seen throughout Moorhayes.
Travertine tiles are light and very attractive, especially to the feet as it is warmed by under-floor heating.
This double bed (6') can be changed into two single beds (Bedroom 2).
The second bedroom is light and spacious and has a built-in wardrobe.
The romantic, large and spacious master bedroom boasts an en suite shower-room along with a 6' bed (Bedroom 1).
The master bedroom has built-in wardrobes and oak floors (Bedroom 1).
The lovely bathroom.
The en suite shower-room.
The entrance to Moorhayes is gated and the garden is enclosed.
The surrounding countryside is delightful.

Moorhayes

2671

6.5 miles N of Okehampton / Sleeps 4 + cot

7 Nights from £404 - £929

July 2018

Moorhayes is an amazing holiday home. So peaceful you defiantly come home chilled and relaxed.


July 2018

If you are looking for a peaceful and tranquil cottage, Moorhayes is the place to stay. Very comfortable and everything you need. Lovely garden to sit in with the great weather we had. The owners are welcoming and friendly, thank you for the welcome gifts.


June 2018

Classic Cottages tend to be our first choice. Yet again our choice of “ Moorhayes” with the description of the cottage has not let us down. The pictures do not give the marvellous sense of space, comfort and sheer joy of being in such a wonderful place. What a welcome to fresh scones, butter and jam. On arrival you will feel “ at home” Your in the depths of Devon countryside, time to read, visit or enjoy that late evening chill out moment with a drink or two at this cottage. Enjoy you will not be disappointed.


May 2018

Had a lovely week at Moorhayes it is a beautiful Barn conversion in a lovely setting.Would highly recommend it.


March 2018

The property was immaculate and a wonderful place to stay. It was a lovely touch to arrive to home baked scones with cream, jam and milk in fridge. The Easter chocolates hidden round the house was great fun. Owner was really friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful family holiday. The coast was easily accessible as well as Dartmoor. The Tarka Trail was brilliant for cycling with kids. My only complaint is the house was so lovely and cosy, we could not make use if the wood burner! Thank you


March 2018

An excellent cottage for a stay in this part of Devon


February 2018

What a lovely place to stay for complete relaxation in a tranquil location with beautiful and comfy furniture.


December 2017

A wonderful cottage , second time here, Alison and Darren are so helpful and their welcome gifts much appreciated.. We shall return again


November 2017

A superb cottage in a peaceful and tranquil part of Devon. The village of Broadwoodkelly nearby has a lovely church that we visited. The cottage fittings are top notch and the underfloor heating a lovely way to heat the house. Wood burner on hand if required! Beds are massive and the whole feel of the place is gorgeous. We received a lovely warm welcome from Alison and her two boys and felt that we were in good hands! Some great walks locally along peaceful country lanes and the beaches of North devon are about an hour away. Westward Ho! was great even on a cold windy day. The waves crashing against the rocks made such a beautiful deep thunderous sound! Nature at its finest! Overall a super cottage. Highly recommended.


September 2017

Lovely quiet barn conversion. Very well equipped and comfortable. Good location for Dartmoor or the coast.


September 2017

A really clean, stylish and well conceived property that guarantees a super holiday


August 2017

Had an amazing time! Darren and Alison were lovely and Moorhayes was the perfect place for a week away. Would recommend and book again ??


August 2017

Lovely cottage .... much more spacious than photos show. Bed so comfortable ! The cottage had everything you needed and more (ie magazines, books and home made scones on arrival).


June 2017

A lovely cottage with all home comforts in a very attractive location and friendly hosts.


June 2017

Beautifully converted barn, and extremely comfortable bed. We loved watching the great variety of birds that visit the garden. It is a lovely peaceful location. Although being in the heart of the country, an hour or so drive an you can visit the coast of both Devon and Cornwall, so the best of both worlds.


May 2017

Excellent cottage with high standard of finish throughout


May 2017

This is one of the best properties we have stayed in. Very clean, modern and child friendly - ideal for families and couples alike. Alison and Darren were very welcoming and helpful. We had a lovely time and the fresh cream tea on arrival was a lovely touch. Would strongly recommend.


April 2017

On arrival Flowers,scones and jam. This has to be the standard from now on !! We have stayed in many holiday let's over many years and Moorhayes has to be in top 2 for us.


March 2017

spotlessly clean, proper home from home, everything of good quality, cannot fault this lovely barn


December 2016

What a wonderful place for a few days R&R after a hectic Christmas.

The house has everything you need for a relaxing stay in very peaceful surroundings.


December 2016

One of the best cottages we've stayed in. Attention to detail and overall presentation was first class.


August 2016

Moorhayes is a spectacular cottage with everything you could wish for and more set in a peaceful rural location and furnished to a really high standard. Lovely owners and not at all intrusive. Perfect.


July 2016

This is a truly beautiful cottage in an idyllic location. Our holiday was perfect.


June 2016

Moorhayes gave us exactly what we wanted. Peace and Quiet. Surrounding countryside is beautiful, very relaxing. Inside is beautifully converted, very clean and modern. A warm welcome greeted us on arrival of a welcome card, fresh flowers and a cream tea. A real treat. Darren and Alison, many thanks for our warm welcome and helpfulness.


April 2016

Very clean, comfortable and stylish - just what we were looking for.


April 2016

Moorhayes is a superb family holiday cottage. It provides everything a family needs and allows you to totally unwind in a tranquil setting. It is well equipped and extremely comfortable. The homemade scones are a real treat to be welcomed with!


November 2015

We can't wait to return to this exceptionally well presented holiday home. The level of comfort was superb and has set the bar at a new level as far as our future expectations are concerned - all holiday homes should be like this.


October 2015

The owners were very welcoming and helpful on arrival after such a long drive to get there.


September 2015

A perfect cottage to re-charge your batteries


September 2015

quite peaceful restful cottage.


August 2015

Moorhayes is the perfect spot to spend quiet and most comfortable holidays in beautiful surroundings. Couldn't be better!


July 2015

Exquisite barn conversion which will no doubt be the benchmark of every holiday let in the future! Immaculate property in a peaceful rural location. Decor very understated and tasteful. Large airy bedrooms and very comfortable 6' bed. Beautifully appointed bathrooms and kitchen. Comfortable sofas. Quiet and secluded garden. Lovely welcome of fresh flowers and scones, jam and cream. Everything we could have wanted.


May 2015

This is a superb cottage, very well appointed and in a lovely tranquil location. You couldn't ask for better.


May 2015

The cottage was excellent. The welcome pack (and the personal greeting from Allison) was lovely. A very nice touch. Very well equipped, superb location, every comfort catered for. We will be back.


October 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful rural retreat, this is definately the place stay. The barn renovation is superb and extremely comfortable, we wish we didn't have such a busy schedule while we were staying. We would have loved more time to enjoy the surroundings and the barn.


October 2014

Relaxation guaranteed.


September 2014

We had a first class holiday at Moorhayes, a great welcome from Alison, tea and flowers. The barn itself is so warm and comfortable with all that we needed!!


September 2014

Superb Accommodation in a beautiful setting. Furnished and equipped to a high standard. Hosts very welcoming. We can highly recommend this cottage as being one of the best!!


August 2014

This is the best cottage we have been in by far. Spotlessly clean, home from home. Made very welcome by the owners. Very private and peaceful. Everything you could possibly want for a relaxing holiday.


August 2014

This is one of the best cottages we've stayed in and surpassed our expectations. Lovely warm welcome with cream tea and flowers. Provided a paddling pool and hose for us. Really clean and comfortable and easy to stay in. We'd like to have stayed for longer. Really great experience.

The location is out in the sticks and very secluded. We chose it for the seclusion and the garden for the children to have fun outside. Also so that we could visit both North and South Devon and even Cornwall if we wished. The down side of that is that everywhere is a 40 + minute drive away - but we'd worked that out before booking. It would have been nice to be nearer to a pub and/or village shop but that wouldn't stop us from booking again.


July 2014

A lovely place to go to get away from everything. Nice and quiet with lovely walks in the countryside.


June 2014

A very warm welcome by the owners Alison & Darren !


May 2014

This is one of the best cottages we have stayed in. The cottage was spotlessly clean and every need was catered for. The cream tea on arrival was a special touch from the very friendly and supportive owners and we look forward to returning some time in the future.


April 2014

Just perfect!


April 2014

Superb in every respect. Had the most fantastic holiday in this idyllic location, the property was fantastic, beautifully presented with excellent attention to detail. We were made very welcome. Will definately be returning and can't recommend it highly enough. Rural paradise!


March 2014

Very comfortable barn located in lovely countryside. Perfect escape from the stresses and strains of everyday life.


December 2013

Fantastic cottage which is finished to a very high standard. Lovely welcome on arrival and the property exceeded expectation. Would certainly recommend to others.


December 2013

Very comfortable and warm. Lovely owners, ideally located for exploring all of Devon.


October 2013

Very nice property, clean well equipped , spacious & ample private parking off road. Allison was very welcoming & helpful with local knowledge. I would suggest using a sat nav to negotiate the labyrinth off narrow lanes ! Overall an excellent holiday home & location to explore the surrounding area.


September 2013

We chose to stay at Moorhayes as we were looking for a quiet location that would allow us to enjoy the local area. We were also looking for a location that has walks locally that had a pub within 5 miles!Tthe property was excellent.


August 2013

Beautifully appointed barn conversion in serene Devon countryside. An excellent base for visiting the area.

Lots of useful information provided by the owners.

Although the property is in a rural setting because of it's location and aspect views from the property are fairly limited.


August 2013

Really lovely conversion + great peaceful location = great holiday !


June 2013

A lovely property set in a peaceful location and finished to a very high standard. The owners were very friendly but unobtrusive, they supplied us with a yummy cream tea for our arrival. I would definitely recommend this property.


May 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at Moorhayes for a week in May and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The cottage was immaculate, every room has been finished to a high standard with all the modern amenities you could want. Our hosts were very pleasant and attentive. The surroundings are lovely and it was very easy to find. We would recommend this to anyone wishing to visit the area or looking to escape to the countryside!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.