Mount Pleasant Lodge is set in the most stunning gardens for you to enjoy - the wildlife here is a delight.
As well as the gardens, there is a totally secluded and private patio - a real sun-trap.
The spacious kitchen/dining-room looks out over the gardens. The stairs in the corner lead to the living-room.
This really is just the place for an elegant dinner to celebrate your holiday.
The gardens stretch right up to the boundary trees. Guests are welcome to enjoy them.
The living-room has a choice of wonderfully comfortable reclining chairs and a wood-burning stove for out-of-season evenings.
The extremely well-equipped kitchen is set at the far end of the dining-room. The utility-room is through the door to the right of the picture.
Cooking up a treat for friends and family is a pleasure in this lovely contemporary kitchen.
The master bedroom has plenty of space and a luxurious king-size bed.
Another view of the master bedroom.
You will be tempted to have long lie-ins in this comfortable room.
The en suite wet-room is down a couple of steps from the master bedroom.
This is the other double bedroom, just as calming and comfortable as the master.
There is a door to the patio so you can lie in bed and let the fresh morning air and the sound of birdsong in.
You will start each day relaxed and refreshed.
Across the corridor from the second bedroom is a huge bathroom with bath and fitted shower.
Even the bathroom is a place to laze and relax!
Another view to give you an idea of the size of the bathroom.
There are lovely quiet places to sit, inside and out, to take in the surroundings and help you to switch off from a hectic daily life.
The patio is great for breakfast but actually has sun right through the day.
More treats to make the most of your stay here.
The Lodge is at the far end of this picture but what an arrival to set the scene, with this lovely pond complete with water lilies and goldfish.
There is even a little herb garden at your front door - please do use it.
This is the start of the Jurassic Coast at Sidmouth, a short drive the other side of Honiton.
Killerton House is the nearest National Trust property, with lovely gardens and the 800 acre Ashclyst Forest to explore.
Cadhay House near Ottery St Mary, close to Honiton, is an incredible privately owned historic house and gardens  that are open to the public on bank holiday weekends.
The cottage has this sunny front-facing patio and a second very private and sheltered patio around the far side.
Budleigh Salterton is another lovely little coastal town on the Jurassic Coast.

Mount Pleasant Lodge

2547

6.1 miles NW of Honiton / Sleeps 4 + cot* (no children from 1 to 8)

7 Nights from £475 - £897

October 2017

Excellent spacious accommodation with very friendly and welcoming owners. We had a fantastic week and the dog loved it too!


October 2017

WE have now spent 3 wonderful holidays at this cottage. The accommodation is superb being both comfortable and inviting. Gill and Terry are the best cottage owners we have ever encountered. Nothing they do is too much trouble to ensure that the guests enjoy every facility available. They are so welcoming that you're made to feel like old friends of the family. Friends ask us where we are going on holiday and we just say"back to our second home" and they know exactly what we are talking about. Will we go again for a 4th visit, no question about it. Mount Pleasant will have to have slipped off the map before we would consider anywhere else.


September 2017

A truly first-class cottage that we hope to stay at again sometime in the, hopefully not too distant, future. Thanks go to all concerned!


August 2017

Very pleasant and helpful owners and was useful having them nearby. Lovely quality furniture and everything was in good working order. The added touches of fresh flowers and food arrival was indeed a nice welcome! Including the books and games which went down a treat for my mother and the kids.


August 2017

A cottage of exceptional quality. The owners provide a very warm welcome and this means an enjoyable holiday in lovely surroundings.


July 2017

A wonderful retreat. So tastefully done to highest standards. It is like a little hidden gem . The hosts are very kind and hospitable and have so thoughtfully provided for even the smallest things . I would highly recommend it to any family looking for a devon break.


July 2017

Mount Pleasant is a wonderful property in a beautiful part of the country. The owners are incredibly welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly recommend it.


June 2017

There are times when rose-tinted memories doe not match up with the actual expectations when visiting a property for the second time. Have no fear of this happening at Mount Pleasant Lodge. Everything is still perfect - the accommodation, the superb gardens and most importantly of all the wonderful owners, Gill and Terry. Without being intrusive,they just can't do enough to make your holiday one you will always remember and it's good to know that there is always someone on hand to help with any problems. Their detailed knowledge of the area makes it easy to find all those out of the way places whether sightseeing, eating out or shopping. as for the treats they provide, what can you say except "yum"! Will we visit again - you bet we will! Roz and Brian from Dorset


May 2017

Excellent service from classic cottages full of useful information and directions were perfect cannot be faulted . Mount pleasant is by far the best place we stayed in the 35 years we have going on self catering holidays. The accommodation was presented beautifully, and spotlessly clean the furniture was very comfortable and the host's Gill and Terry were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The welcome pack of Terry's freshly baked bread Gills to die for Lemon drizzle cake and the eggs courtesy of Nina and Rod's hens were very much appreciated.


February 2017

Mount Pleasant Lodge is a delightful property, made all the more so by the warm welcome we received from the very helpful owners, Gill and Terry. The peaceful situation and immaculately kept grounds of the cottage added to the overall enjoyment of the holiday.


February 2017

We had a fantastic few days at Mount Pleasant Lodge. The owners Terry and Gill were extremely helpful and made us very welcome. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, spacious and very well equipped. We particularly enjoyed the open plan kitchen diner and sitting around the wood burning stove in the evenings. The extensive lawned gardens and surrounding woodland were ideal for our two boys who felt very at home here along with our dog Barney. We found the Lodge ideally situated for walking and exploring the Dorset and Devon coastline so there was always plenty to see and do. All in all a great place to stay. We would definitely recommend and are already planning our next visit!


September 2016

Once you have chosen a holiday destination/property - Classic Cottages cannot be faulted. If there should be anything extra needed - our hosts were there to help out wherever possible .....It was exactly as we had hoped for - no over-hype or exaggeration


August 2016

We can highly recommend this place. We had a warm welcome and after a two days drive from Germany, after arriving, we found a selfmade cake, bread, jam and eggs from Terry and Gills own chicken. It is the right place when you love nature and there are plenty of opportunities for nice walks, going to the beach and seightseeing.


June 2016

Wonderful property, exceptional grounds and an ideal location for the birdwatcher. The owners, Gill and Terry, went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. The "goodies" supplied for our arrival were out of this world - Terry's home made bread which made the best toast ever, Gill's lemon drizzle cake which makes my mouth water just thinking about it, fresh eggs from their chickens, varieties of teas, the list goes on!


May 2016

Gill & terry were the most perfect hosts and could not have done more for us if they tried. We would love to return. Absolutely stunning grounds, beautiful house, 5* beds, duvets, towels Terry and gill were such incredible, kind and thoughtful hosts. The little touches made such a difference! Felt like a 'luxury' home from home!


May 2016

An excellent holiday cottage in a lovely location, with welcoming and helpful hosts, Gill and Terry.


April 2016

We have rented holiday accommodation for many years now and Mount Pleasant is the best we have ever stayed in and the best value for money. The Owners made us very welcome and the spacious and comfortable accommodation ensure the evenings would be relaxing after days out - the feeling of 'coming home' adding to the enjoyability of our holiday.


October 2015

The property is ideally located for those wanting to explore a wider area of Devon and West Dorset. We doubt if you could ever find a property which is housed in better maintained, well landscaped and more tranquil surroundings than this. Gill and Terry are brilliant hosts and they have truly created a tastefully comfortable and relaxed cottage from which to explore this popular destination. Impossible to fault.


September 2015

We had everything we wanted and the property owners were extremely friendly and attentive to our needs and requirements. This was without doubt the best property we have visited in many years of cottage holidays.


August 2015

We were so impressed with both this property and the helpfulness and friendliness of the owners we would highly recommend it to everyone - you will not be disappointed.


June 2015

This must have been our best ever holiday cottage . The setting was lovely and the garden was immaculately cared for . Our very friendly hosts had thought of everything to make our holiday special ,delicious home-baking,fresh flowers etc. We loved the views from the patio windows with carefully placed bird feeders encouraging so many birds we have never seen before . Inside the cottage was beautifully furnished and very comfortable , we truly did not want to leave such a lovely place.


May 2015

Best recommendation would be that it was "a home from home!"


May 2015

We came from germany 500 miles and every miles was worth to come to mount pleasant.


April 2015

The Lodge exceeded our expectations and the beautiful grounds really are a tribute to 'England's green and pleasant land'. Gill and Terry are perfect hosts leaving us a homebaked loaf and the now famous lemon drizzle cake . The property is another great asset to Classic Cottages.


April 2015

"a wonderful location in beautiful and dramatic countryside, with a stunning garden and the most wonderful hosts"


April 2015

Sooo peaceful - wonderful. And our dog loved the huge garden - a great bonus if not already worn out on the beach.


April 2015

We booked a stay at Mount Pleasant over the Easter bank holiday because in need of a relaxing holiday and a break from the city and came back completely regenerated. The cottage and surroundings are just really lovely, even better than in the picture, well equipped to enjoy a rainy day in. It has to be said that it is the personal touch of the owners and their friendliness that make all the difference. Gill and Terry make you feel truly welcome and have been very helpful on organising local trips. We came back to London planning for our next stay back at Mount Pleasant!


March 2015

This is our second break at Mount Pleasant. The property is in a wonderful location and is exactly what we look for in a holiday, peaceful, quite and relaxing with good walking in the area and dog friendly places to go if we do feel that we want to go anywhere. Gill and Terry are perfect hosts, really friendly and welcoming. It is a place to really feel at home and comfortable. We are looking forward to returning later in the year.


January 2015

Lovely spacious cottage, very clean, warm and comfortable. It was a real pleasure to stay there. The owners are very accommodating and helpful. I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone wanting a peaceful break in a nice area. Plenty of walks through the woods from the door. The only complaint I have is that I didn't want to leave.


November 2014

Our holiday was an excellent one.It was the 15th time or so that we stayed in a cottage in the english countryside after a few dozen holidays camping in England,Scotland and Wales. It was one of our best holidays ever.A beautiful cottage with everything in it..A very good location in the middle of the East Devon /Black Down Hills areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Very friendly and helpful hosts who were there when we needed them.We stayed for 4 weeks enjoying every day of it. Excellent place for Birdwatching .We could see ao the coal tit and the Great spotted Woodpecker.Walking in ancient woodland just a few hundred yards from the cottage.Honiton with his supermarkets and nice shops and restaurants is just a 20 minutes ride. Bigger towns like Exeter and Taunton are ideal for Christmas shopping.Places on the Jurassic coast like Branscombe and Sidmouth are just a half hour drive and we enjoyed our visits there in the second half of November ! An excellent holiday! On our departure Jill and Terry surprised us with a beautiful cake .....which we will eat with Christmas. Jaap and Heleen Simonse ,Middelburg ,The Netherlands.


October 2014

Mount Pleasant Lodge is a very well appointed cottage just far enough away from the main road to be quiet and restful while only a half hour drive from the south Devon coast. Our boys enjoyed exploring the extensive gardens and watching the varied wildlife passing through. It really felt like home from home. Terry and Gill, the owners who live next door to the cottage are the perfect hosts. Warm and friendly, happy to have a chat but never intrusive. You are made to feel at home the moment you arrive and the little extras they provide, the freshly baked loaf, milk in the fridge and eggs from the chickens in the garden are the icing on the cake, and with regards to the Lemon Drizzle cake, very tasty icing it is too. Worth every penny and we will certainly visit again in the future.


October 2014

Just perfect for a cozy break. Great access to many places of interest


September 2014

The whole holiday was superb, every little detail had been thought of and Gill and Terry were so friendly and made us so welcome and comfortable. The area was stunning and tranquil we really came away feeling relaxed and refreshed


September 2014

From its gleaming windows and immaculately clean interior , this cottage is hard to beat .Likewise the gardens were beautifully kept . Gill and Terry were perfect hosts and obviously enjoy making guests happy .


August 2014

The cottage was in a wonderful location for local walks or a trip to the coast or just touring around Devon and Dorset and a great place just to relax truly a home from home place to unwind and chill out in the peacefull surrounding


August 2014

Once you have arrived, you must agree that Gill and Terry and family are the nicest people you could ever wish to meet. Accommodation 5 stars.


June 2014

This was the best cottage we have stayed in. Wonderful location, extremely well kitted out, great neighbours (the owners!) who very kindly provided home made bread and delicious cake plus eggs on arrival. We all had a great time particularly the dog, the only down side is he will consider his garden extremely pokey in comparison to Mount Pleasants. We would all recommend staying here to anyone.


June 2014

Mount Pleasant is an outstanding Classic Cottage experience. There is truly nothing that could be improved upon. We stayed with a 93 YO with some disability and she was able to use all of the facilities unaided.
The owners live next door and went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your lovely review of Mount Pleasant Lodge - we were delighted to hear that the property suited your needs so well. There are around five steps (with a handrail) up from the kitchen to the sitting-room and bedrooms, and one step from the master bedroom into the en suite wet-room, so as you found this property is great for anyone who wants to avoid a lot of stairs. Tanya, Customer Support


June 2014

After very many cottage holidays Mount Pleasant is undoubtably the best. Every detail has been thought out and everything is of the highest quality. An idyllic place to stay. Diane and Terry Heaton.


May 2014

Highly recommended.


May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mount Pleasant Lodge and the owners, Gill and Terry, made us most welcome. The cottage provides a high standard of accommodation in beautiful, peaceful countryside. The garden is a delight and we spotted numerous species of birds there as well as a deer. We would gladly return.


April 2014

Mount Pleasant Lodge is a lovely cottage in a very tranquil setting. We were made to feel very welcome by Gill and Terry with home baked cake, bread, eggs and milk. The gardens are beautiful and it was lovely to wake each morning to see the wide variety of birds and deer. The cottage is very spacious, clean and comfortable and we would not hesitate to return. Highly recommended. Joanne, Kevin, Mavis and Ellie the dog


March 2014

Excellent property, location and with the owners being next door couldn't have asked for a better holiday. Fully equipped very clean and comfortable travelling instructions excellent. Would happily return. Doreen and Pete


June 2013

We had a wonderful week at the cottage in June 13. The photo's are good but the cottage and views are even better. The owners Gill and Terry made us very welcome and we will certainly be back. There were over 15 different species of birds feeding, incl a woodpecker with her young. Spent hours watching them


March 2013

Excellent service all round would not hesitate to use again or recommend.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.