Driftwood is an attractive semi-detached cottage.
The sitting-room.
The lovely terrace is a sun-trap.
The sitting-room.
The breakfast-bar in the kitchen/diner.
The sitting-room.
The dining-area.
The utility-room.
Well-equipped and spacious, the bright and airy kitchen.
The newly refurbished kitchen.
Plenty of room to prepare a meal.
The light floods into this modern room.
The luxurious shower-room.
Modern fittings.
The dining-area.
The decking.
Doors open onto the decked terrace.
The decked terrace, accessed via the sitting-room.
Bedroom 1 with double bed (5'), TV and en suite Shower-room with shower, WC and wash-basin, 
and office.
Stylish and comfortable.
Bedroom 2 with a 5' double bed.
Bedroom 3.
Sennen Cove along the coast.
St Ives has some beautiful beaches.
Porthmeor Beach, St Ives.
St Michael's Mount is approximately seven miles away.
The Tate Gallery at St Ives is two miles away.

Driftwood

2491

2.5 miles SE of St Ives / Sleeps 6 + cot

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £483

September 2019

We had a fabulous week, in a great location. There were some minor issues that did not spoil our holiday, but that we felt were not up to the usual Classic Cottages 'spec'.The cover picture is out of date - the cottage is cream, not blue, and does not reflect the true image of the building. The wood floors upstairs were very badly marked, and everything just felt "tired" The utility room door could not be opened - the key turned, but the handle would not operate. I did ring the housekeeper to report the issue, as we had no one check in with us, as stated on the arrival details. She did then offer to come out, but we were going out for the day. As we decided that we would not be using the courtyard, we left it at that. The wardrobe door in bedroom 2 was flimsy and the door was coming apart. The clock in the dining room was not working - new battery needed. The clock on the cooker and on the bathroom mirror did not read the correct times either. The picture of the master bedroom shows a clock alarm, but there was not one there on arrival? We did not wish to spend our holiday time going through manuals to put them right. The bathroom extractor fan was not working - we were able to open a window for ventilation. We could not see a way of opening the en suite velux window for ventilation (again no operational extraction fan) and judging by the huge cobwebs across it, it had not been opened in a while? There were no feedback forms , as stated in the welcome folder - however I did leave a list of the issues we found for the housekeeper. Whilst the welcome folder was informative, it did not have some basic information, such as where the nearest shop was to get milk, bread and other basics. It said where Porth Kidney beach was, as our local beach, but not how to get to it etc.... This was the first cottage that we had ever stayed in, that did not have a visitors book - we always enjoy hearing about other visitors experiences, best practices and favorite bits of their stay! All these were minor irritations, which just took the edge of a super week, in a lovely part of Cornwall!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Driftwood. We're so pleased to hear that you had a good holiday overall though sorry to hear that in some respects the property didn't quite meet your expectations on this occasion. We just wanted to reassure you that your comments have been forwarded to the owner, housekeeper and local Property Manager for attention at the next changeover and we're very grateful to you for letting us know. Bryony, Customer Support


August 2019

Could not be better situated! The saltings are just at the bottom of the road and great food served in the pub opposite. Everywhere we wanted to visit was within 30 mins drive so it was ideal. Beautiful accommodation with plenty to occupy the kids in the snug. Rainy days were even a pleasure!


July 2019

First class in all aspects. Thank you


August 2018

This property is extremely well placed for your holiday, close to the beach, the coastal path the bus route/train and the pub. It is a good sized house with 3 double bedrooms, 2 shower rooms and 3 toilets! Great for the family. The beds are extremely comfortable and the pillows sumptuous. There is plenty of hanging space and coathangers! I loved the kitchen/diner and the large corner sofa in the lounge that looked out onto the decked rear. Would definitely recommend and definitely return! ??


August 2018

It was more than we expected everything was just perfect from the welcome package of tea and biscuits to the perfect location to travel by train,car or on foot.We would recommend this cottage to anybody spotless and comfortable with all the amenities a family would need. Thank you for a lovely holiday from all the Coates family


August 2018

A lovely property with a very spacious living and kitchen area. The ensuite bedroom with office area was brilliant. Plenty of room for two adults to walk around and room for 8 week old babys travel cot. Utilty room was much appreciated. Welcome pack with info was also most informative.


July 2018

Very comfortable,quiet and well equipped.Always plenty of hot water.


October 2017

Driftwood was everything that we hoped this cottage would be. It was clean, warm and welcoming. Fantastic location with walks from the doorstep. The train was also so useful as we didn’t want to use the car everyday. The cottage was so well equipped with instructions on how to operate the electrical appliances to hand. The hot water and heating had been set perfectly for our needs. The Badger pub opposite served us well with marvellous food when we didn’t want to cook ourselves. Plenty of space for 4 adults to live together comfortably. Thank you for making our weeks holiday in Cornwall so memorable. ??Cornwall


August 2017

Great location especially if you have a dog; the beach is a short walk and one of the few in this area that allows them. Spacious, bright property for six. Handy for using both buses and trains. The Badger across the road has a lovely garden and does great food.


August 2017

No welcome pack on arrival (although stated in documentation one would be provided), out of date food/milk left in the fridge/freezer (indicating that it hadn't been checked/cleaned after previous occupant), the bedroom to the back of the cottage, quilt cover was covered in black dog hairs required washing (indicating that the bedding had not been changed from the previous occupant), clearly states in documents that occupants must ensure that pets are kept off the beds. The BBQ had been left dirty and was unfit for use. There were some minor issues, there was no hot water to start with after ringing the contact number in the information folder the woman said she had not looked after the house for over a year, after looking through our own documents we then found a contact number we were told they were busy with change overs after making a further phone call this was resolved. No batteries in DVD remote, dryer condenser left full of water.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're sorry that you were so disappointed with the property. Obviously you have had some contact with our office directly during your stay to report the water issue and again after your stay to discuss cleanliness. We're glad we could help with the water at the time, but as explained by the Property Manager, it was very difficult to investigate your other points when you had already finished your two week holiday - we always urge guests to let us know about any concerns during the stay so that we can put things right there and then. We have shared your feedback with both the cleaning team and owners, and our Property Manager will be visiting to check the areas you've highlighted. Tanya, Customer Support


September 2016

Great property , great location , local train station at the bottom of the road Levant which will take you into St Ives or St Erth , beach totally dog friendly , but please beware not many dog poop bins . Wonderful golf course too , great pub across the road with a super garden . Loved the area and property .


August 2016

Clean, comfortable and well fitted cottage in a great location to explore the area. Easy walking to a great beach in Lelant.


June 2016

Comfortable, clean and a great location. Close to the beach, coastal path and a great pub next door.


March 2016

Perfect for long beach walks with the dog


December 2015

Great cottage, nicely furnished. Large lounge and kitchen for entertaining. Perfectly positioned for beach walks and if you are feeling lazy you can take the train along the beach! If you don't want to cook the pub is opposite which serves great food but no need to worry about any late night noise as it's very quiet. Would recommend without any hesitation We will be back!


September 2015

The impression you get with Driftwood, [semi-detached property] looking on the small side, but get inside, more like a tardis, plenty of room and great bedrooms, we would stay there again.


March 2015

Excellent location, Brilliant for dogs!


October 2014

A lovely location st Ives easily accessible on public transport. Ideal cottage to stay with young children and teenagers. Very comfortable.


August 2014

Lovely holiday in a fabulous cottage, very comfortable, beautifully decorated, well equipped, modern but homely. Great location in easy walking distance of a vast, beautiful and dog friendly beach, great dog friendly pub opposite, perfect. If we could move here....we would!!


September 2013

Driftwood was a fantastic property to stay, it was exceptional. We were a family party of 6 adults, it has to be the best self catering property we have ever had the pleasure to stay. We cant express enough how spacious clean and comfortable this property was. The towels and bedding were lovely! The property has been furnished and equipped to a very high standard and we treated it with the respect it deserved. We managed to park 3 small cars and use the local train into St.Ives which was convenient and fun. We will definitely be staying again!!


July 2013

lovely location, clean, spacious and comfortable.Beach 10 min walk and great pub opposite. lovely food & garden.


June 2013

Excellent location, excellent facillities, very comfortable beds, all round a very good holiday cottage.


May 2013

Really lovely cottage with a beautiful finish. Had a great stay and would definitely recommend a stay at Driftwood.


March 2013

We had a fantastic week , it was a lovely cottage in a nice location.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.