This is a spacious traditional property that has been made into a very comfortable home.
One end of the original playground has been made into a sheltered and sunny patio.
The cheerful dining-area.
Sunlight fills the dual aspect sitting-room.
This is the amazing view of the Dorset countryside from the top of Allington and Cooper's Hill, Bridport.
The fresh and modern kitchen has a dining-area at the far end.
Light and airy, Bedroom 1 is the master bedroom.
Bedroom 2 has a characterful sloping ceiling - and therefore a slightly  lower than standard bed.
The shower-room has a level entry shower with half-door - very useful for small children.
The playground can still be put to good use!
Another view of the completely enclosed outside space.
There is an open view across fields at the rear of The Old School Gables.
The setting for this cottage, taken from the garden of the village pub.
This photograph shows the overall setting. The Old School Gables is to the right, with its own parking and private outside area.
Bridport harbour - with the beach at West Bay - is an easy drive from the cottage.
Famous Lyme Regis is a great day out.
River Cottage HQ is not far - treat yourselves to a visit there and enjoy the unique dining experience.
Visit Durdle Door, a fabulous walk from Lulworth Cove car park, it's rather hilly so you may wish to take all day.
The stunning Jurassic Coastline looking East towards Lulworth Cove.
Lyme Regis is the place to go if you are interested in fossils, the Fossil Festival is from 28th to 30th April 2017.

The Old School Gables


8.2 miles N of Bridport / Sleeps 4 + cot

7 Nights from £338 - £735

September 2017

It was very clean,the owner made us very welcome .There was nothing more to wish for

August 2017

Great location if you're looking for countryside but also perfect to go exploring. Very helpful owners, clean and comfortable cottage. Highly recommend.

July 2017

Lovely, friendly owners - nothing was too much trouble. We were able to quickly feel at home and all John's recommendations were spot on.

June 2017

We had a brilliant week staying here, really clean and instantly felt like home, couldn't recommend staying here more!

May 2017

A wonderful cottage and friendly owners next door. Everything one could wish for provided, including fun games for the old school playground outside your front door. Very clean and modern, warm and comfortable. Highly recommended!

April 2017

This is a very comfortable Old School House with lots of local information provided, and historical photos etc of when it was a school house. There is a secure yard for young families and outdoor play equipment. The pub practically next door serves excellent meals and the locals are welcoming. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and we would definitely recommend this accommodation. Wonderful walk-in shower as well! A home from home and we wish we could have stayed longer.

September 2016

Excellent in all aspects and owner could not be more helpful!

Thank you for a great stay xx

September 2016

very nice cottage, with everything you could wish for. very attentive and helpful owner. nothing too much trouble.

August 2016

lovely cottage beautifully furnished, lovely comfortable beds.Spotlessly clean. Lovely well equipped kitchen.

July 2016

A really lovely cottage.

Super clean with very helpful and friendly hosts.

Some welcome touches include milk and wine in the fridge on arrival.

Much to explore and fossil hunting in Charmouth was great fun.

Highly recommended and enjoyed by our small family.

July 2016

Owners live adjacent to cottage, and were very thoughtful and attentive without intrusion. The were very happy to oblige/assist with any request for info or assistance.

May 2016

Our return trip to The Old School Gables provided us with the relaxing holiday we were looking for. The welcome received from Mr and Mrs Davis was brilliant and they reacted quickly to resolve a problem which cropped up with a light fitting - couldn't have asked for more

March 2016

Well appointed, clean and comfortable, situated in a nice quiet village with busy yet quiet contry pub in close walking distance...recommended.

December 2015

Limited headroom in bedrooms in places but added to the interest of the building and its conversion from a village school.Owners very friendly and helpful. A very pleasant area and would certainly recommend.

November 2015

It is impossible to be critical about this property, it is just perfect. Clean, warm, well equipped and the owners on hand next door and most approachable if anything is needed. Well located for walking, sightseeing and shopping. Excellent.

October 2015

Cosy place, excellent for our little trio.

September 2015

A great place for stay in West Dorset.

August 2015

We had a really enjoyable holiday in this part of Dorset. After a great day out it was a pleasure to return 'home' to The Old School Gables. We would thoroughly recommend this cottage.

July 2015

Lovely peaceful location. Very limited mobile signal but that turned out to be a good thing! No-one from work could call and disturb our peace. Very clean. The kitchen was so well equipped. Excellent location for visiting tourist attractions in Dorset.

June 2015

Really nice location with easy access to both country and seaside

April 2015

Very well-equipped and comfortable cottage in a peaceful location. Ideal for a family with small children.

February 2015


October 2014

Peaceful location in a beautiful part of the country.

September 2014

The Old School Gables is a gem - you won't be disappointed. I miss it so much!

June 2014

really enjoyed our stay here ,very quiet cottage ,the owners are very friendly ,perfect for a holiday ,only a short journey to the coast

May 2014

A lovely place to stay, we thought it was excellent all round - mainly due to the care and attention to detail the owners have taken with everything.

May 2014

Wonderfully secluded and quiet, not a sound to be heard but the birds. Very friendly owners living next door, very accommodating and nothing too much trouble for them. Would like to visit again.

September 2013

We were spot on with our choice. The pub next door was excellent for food & great people too. The cottage owners were great too. If you need to use your mobile phone a lot then this village is not for reception anywhere. The WiFi signal tripped out & we worked out that if we took our devices to the bathrooms then we got reconnected, so not really a problem in the long run. We would love to go back there as it is a good base & the cottage was perfect.

July 2013

What a marvelous place to stay for a holiday. Immaculately presented and most comfortable. More things in kitchen to cook and prepare food in than any other Classic Cottage we have stayed in. Bottle of wine and biscuits on arrival and the 'Headmaster' and 'Headmistress' could not have been kinder!

May 2013

The location was near some friends. Of the cottages in the area this seemed to look the nicest and have the level of accommodation we required. No obvious problems

May 2013

Old School Gables is the best equipped cottage I have ever stayed in. Classic Cottage properties are always clean and well cared for, which is why I only choose them when I go on holiday, but this property had everything you would wish for in a holiday cottage and more besides. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a comfortable country break.

May 2013

I would re book, main thing was it was so clean. Everything well equipped, bedding etc spotless. Bedroom 2 bit snug for 2 adults but if you know this don't let it put you off.

Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.