Old Quay Cottage is tucked into a quiet courtyard right by the river in Lostwithiel.
The sitting area of the open-plan living-room has doors out to the waterside terrace.
Looking towards the kitchen area.
The terrace is right next to the water.
The master bedroom has a balcony looking out over the river.
Comfortable sofas in front of the fire.
Relax with a leisurely meal in front of the fire.
Windows on all sides let light flood in.
Full WiFi is provided throughout the cottage.
The riverside terrace is a lovely place to sit and relax.
The kitchen area.
The lovely Heritage range cooker (just like an Aga but made in Cornwall).
Bedroom 1 is on the ground floor.
Bedroom 1 has a skylight window set in the ceiling.
Bedroom 1 has a double bed (4'6'').
The little shower-room next to Bedroom 1 on the ground floor.
Oak stairs lead up to the first floor bedrooms.
Bedroom 2 has a door out to a balcony.
Bedroom 2 is a lovely light room.
Bedroom 2 has a kingsize bed (5').
Morning coffee on the balcony...lovely at any time of year.
Looking across to Brunel Quay (former workshops for the famous Isambard Kingdom Brunel, now lovely apartments).
The family bathroom.
Bedroom 3 has twin beds.
Bedroom 3.
Looking across to Old Quay Cottage from Brunel Quay.
You'll see ducks and swan out on the water.
Looking down river towards Old Quay Cottage.
Fowey River meanders slowly down to Fowey (it's great for canoeing and kayaking).

Old Quay Cottage

2264

5.1 miles N of Fowey / Sleeps 6 + cot

30% off for parties of 2 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £514

June 2019

A good location on the river, very convenient for shops, restaurants and nice walks close by. Cottage is well-equipped for the most part but a little run down. It could use some attention to details, especially the terrace area outside. Parking was very difficult.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so pleased that you enjoyed this lovely little cottage's location, but sorry to hear you had some difficulty with the private parking (there is additional on road parking too). We visited early this season and felt that the cottage was well furnished in keeping with it's age and style, but not run down. The terrace can get a bit weathered being right over the river, so we'll ask the housekeeper to have a tidy up of that area. Tanya, Customer Support


May 2019

The fotos and information about the bedrooms does not correspond with the reality. The bedroom on the groundfloor does not have a window, which is important to know. the second bedroom with the two single beds is very small, with a very small window, fotos show differently. Very disappointing. The rental costs are quite hight, therefore our expectations were high as well. The cleaniless of the Cottage was not good. And we did not see the housekeeper at all. The situation of the Cottage is very nice. The town Lostwithiel is a good place to stay.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review - it's great to hear that you enjoyed the location of the cottage which is certainly very special, but we're really sorry that you were disappointed with a few aspects of Old Quay Cottage. Bedroom one is on the ground-floor and although it has no standard window it does boast a lovely skylight window set into the ceiling as mentioned in the description. Bedroom three has twin beds with a small cottage style window which we've tried to portray in the photos of the property. It's a real shame that you noticed a few cleanliness issues and we'll certainly forward this to the housekeeper for her attention at the next changeover - we're really sorry for any oversight on this occasion. The housekeeper isn't able to meet all guests on arrival but her number appears within the Cottage Information Folder and on the Arrival Details from Classic Cottages should you have needed to speak with her. Bryony, Customer Support


April 2019

Please emphasise the parking.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're sorry you had some trouble with parking at Old Quay Cottage. There is a private parking space directly next to the cottage - alternatively additional parking can usually be found along the road which follows the river if guests find this a little easier. Bryony, Customer Support


March 2019

Great cottage in fabulous location, we visited as a family of 5. Quiet town with all the amenities you’d need for a week away - the pasties are amazing! Loved the river view and we were able to take advantage of the outside area in spring, which was fabulous. Loads to see locally too, must see place is the Lost Gardens of Helligan. There is one parking space which was always free however sometimes challenging to get in or out of in a larger car. We’d highly recommend this cottage and would love to stay again.


March 2019

The cottage was in an excellent location to explore southern Cornwall. Beautifully furnished with some lovely home comforts such as the cosy fire and the range cooker. We loved waking up and looking out at the river. I would definitely book again!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for sharing your lovely review - the view over the river is great, we'd have to agree. We very much hope that we can welcome you back to the delights of Old Quay Cottage and Lostwithiel in the future. Tanya, Customer Support


October 2018

A beautiful cottage set in a stunning location. Nothing is needed in the house as it's so well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a week away from home. We we're very lucky with the autumn weather. However, we had a few frosty nights so we we're able to use the fire. The under floor heating is lovely on the cold mornings too. I can imagine how wonderful it must be to have summer evenings out on the patio gazing over the river as it was stunning in the autumn. It took me a few reads and a you tube watch to get my head around using the Aga but I soon mastered it! The location is again beautiful with everything you need on the doorstep. I would definitely recommend Old Quay Cottage to friends or family and I most definitely would return again!!


August 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Old Quay Cottage. The location is superb - right by the river and close to many of the local attractions, such as The Eden Project and the Camel Trail. We were also impressed with the decor of the property, not the usual blandness which seems to be encouraged by so many holiday cottage businesses, instead we felt as though we were staying in someone else’s comfortable home. The flagstones are beautiful and the aga easy to use and very homely.


July 2018

The setting of this property is lovely being right next to the river and right in the centre of Lostwithiel. Sitting on the balcony or the terrace in the sun with a good book and some lovely pasties or cakes from the local bakers is perfect. Lostwithiel is a charming little town with some lovely shops and super eating places plus an interesting Church, small museum and a nearby castle! Also all the neighbours were very friendly and helpful.


May 2018

A charming cottage in a great location for Fowey and south east Cornwall.


March 2018

This is a great cottage in a lovely setting and location, although a bit close to the other cottages in the courtyard. Being set on the bank of the River Fowey is tranquil and relaxing. The railway station is a short walk from the cottage with easy access to Plymouth and even though you can hear the trains going through, it's not intrusive. You'll hear more noise from the ducks and birds during the night! You may even hear an owl!

Parking is a bit tight as you're in a courtyard, but you have a designated spot and if you could park any closer to the front door, you would be inside the cottage! Makes for easy unpacking and packing.

The cottage is very well kitted out with lots of pots and pans, cutlery, utensils and crockery galore! The bed in the master bedroom is quite comfy and the blanket throws that are available to use are quite luxurious! We were here in March, so made a fire every night...cosy!

We went to the Royal Oak Inn our first night and cooked in the remaining nights. Had an enjoyable lunch at Colgero's and there's lots of lovely little shops along Fore Street. You might even see a fishmonger selling fresh fish from his van across the way from the Co-op on one of the days as we did. Would highly recommend the butcher shop. We got venison steaks, ribeyes, bacon and sausage and everything was delicious!

We had a couple of minor issues when we arrived, but they were handled quickly. The housekeeping team will make sure that your stay is a comfortable one.

The only negative was that the week went by so quickly and we had to leave!


August 2017

I would suggest all of the above.


June 2017

Quay Cottage is in a lovely position near the river ,has a lovely sitting out area and is only seconds away from shops ,cafes and pubs ,yet is very quiet and peaceful .


November 2016

very comfortable cottage in a great location


September 2016

Good location, with very pleasant outdoor space overlooking the river.


September 2016

Cottage has ample space for three couple. Jacuzzi bath is lovely after a long day out rambling. Ample parking for more than one car, as there are loads of free parking down by the river. Garden enclosed off pier so suitable for children too. Loads of nice restaurants in the village, all open for lunch and dinner service. Globe is a nice pub.


August 2016

Outstanding location, spent most evenings just sitting and watching the river and it's environment. Although caution would be needed if you have children.


July 2016

Fabulous cottage that has enough personal items dotted around making it feel very homely but without feeling as though you are invading someone's home.

Exceptionally well kitted out kitchen with crockery and cutlery galore.

Location is ideal for touring north and south coasts. Take a canoe or hire one that can be dropped off to the cottage to paddle down to Fowey.


July 2016

The marriage of the river Fowey and old quay cottage will make magical memories to draw upon when the days are short and cold.


June 2016

This cottage is located in a lovely spot overlooking the river Fowey, in the very friendly town of Lostwithiel. It is a busy spot. I don't believe it is a place for pre teens, unless they are keen walkers or canoeists. At low tide younger children are able to paddle in the river, as do the local children. There is no bus service but trains are available from the station, which is just five minutes away from the cottage.


March 2016

Well equipped cottage in a great location with good shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Main line train station close by but not obtrusive.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review of Old Quay Cottage, it's great to see you enjoyed your stay. The train station gives easy links to Plymouth for a good day out (maybe a visit to the Theatre Royal, the Naval Heritage Centre or National Marine Aquarium?) and further west to Penzance should you decide to explore the county. Of course there is also the main service to Paddington if you wanted to leave the car at home and 'let the train take the strain' for your holiday in Cornwall! Tanya, Customer Support


November 2015

Wonderfully quiet location. Very tranquil looking out over the river. Great placed to launch kayak from.


October 2015

A lovely cottage in a great location.


July 2015

For a peaceful, relaxing holiday in a welcoming cottage situated in an enchanting location Old Quay Cottage ticks all the boxes. It is a haven of tranquility.


June 2015

We liked the location of the property on the river. It is also very close to some lovely restaurants, pubs and shops. The village is very quiet and the locals very friendly.


April 2015

Old Quay Cottage is a lovely comfortable place to stay, the outside decking over the river is a lovely place to spend a sunny afternoon and it is really handy to have shops, the pubs and restaurants all within a couple of minutes walk yet still be so secluded and quiet.


April 2015

Was the best cottage I have sayed in, they had thought of everything you would need for a home from home stay if it wasn't there you wouldn't need it. Loved everything about it the views the location in village as it was close to shops and pubs we will be returning it was so peaceful and we really relaxed after our jam packed days out! Weather helped.


January 2015

Wonderful location and facilities.


September 2014

Excellent location can visit both sides of coasts on day trips Train service great way to travel we used Cornwall Rider tickets good all day for trains and most buses Travel info at Lostwithiel Community Centre perfect also many town activities happening here Cottage was well equipped nothing missing beds very comfortable neighbors all very pleasant
Linens , firewood, supplied stayed for a month cottage cleaned weekly with fresh linens great pubs n restaurants within walking lots of nature to watch on river


August 2014

A lovely spot by the river! Very comfortable beds, good cottage throughout. Shops nearby are very handy! Had a super holiday here!


June 2014

Cottage excellent, location brill. Nice and peaceful, everything you needed in cottage. Certain to come here again - loved it!


June 2014

A wonderful, characteristic property that is very well equipped and in a lovely location.


April 2014

A truly beautiful cosy riverside cottage, we strongly recommend to all. The only slight negative is the sprinkler control system next to the boiler. It emits an annoying and fairly loud buzzer every 30 seconds or so while the aga is switched on, or when cooking or even boiling the kettle! We switched the aga off, bought in fish and chips and enjoyed cold drinks. anything for a quiet life!! Please don't be put off though, this is a great place to relax and Lostwithiel is lovely. The goldfinch nesting outside the kitchen window, and mother duck with her 7 ducklings out back capped it all off. Huge thanks to Classic Cottages and the property owner for providing us with such a wonderful break.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your lovely review - how lovely to see the local wildlife in such close proximity! The Owner arranged for the sprinkler service engineers to visit and the over-sensitive buzzer has now been addressed - but you don't need an excuse to enjoy the local fish and chips, it's just a holiday treat! Tanya, Customer Support


October 2013

Fantastic location, right by the riverside. Only a few minutes walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. Shops are really nice - lots of antiques and reasonably priced souvenir type shops. Locals are really friendly and I would recommend eating at the two pubs in the town. Cottage was really spacious and very clean. Open fire was a delight and great fun trying to light! I would highly recommend this cottage.


September 2013

This cottage was gorgeous, everything was to such a high standard and the location was stunning, peaceful and so close to everything. The owner was very generous as there was a problem with the stove not working, as compensation she offered to buy us all dinner at a local restaurant. The stove was promptly fixed the following day.


September 2013

This is a beautifully presented cottage, with everything you could wish for. It is ideal if you have toddlers or young children, with a stair gate, highchair, travel cot and even a non-slip bath mat! It is very spacious, which helps on rainy days! The balcony overlooking the river is a marvellous place to enjoy a glass of wine once the kids are in bed! The location is fabulous, close to Looe, Polperro and a number of great National Trust properties. I can not recommend this cottage enough, the best I have stayed in.


August 2013

Lovely house, great position next to the river. But hope you like early mornings because if you sleep in the ground floor room you will be woken at 7am by the noise from the coop next door. Also parking next to the cottage can be difficult in the evenings when everyone is home.


August 2013

A wonderful house in a great location, Co op 50 yards away lovely river views. Lots of eating options within easy walking distance. AGA cooker took a bit of getting used to. Great for Eden Project, Fowey, Truro, Looe,Newquay etc. I couldn't think of anything we needed that wasn't provided.


March 2013

A cosy and comfortable place to stay with lovely views over the river. Well positioned for exploring both the coast and inland attractions of this area. A pretty little town with interesting shops - great to have a convenience store so close too. We would second the recommendation of the food on offer at The Crown in Lanlivery - delicious!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.