Old Quay Cottage is tucked into a quiet courtyard right by the river in Lostwithiel.
The sitting area of the open-plan living-room has doors out to the waterside terrace.
Open plan living will ensure you enjoy your time together.
The terrace is right next to the water.
The master bedroom has a balcony looking out over the river.
Comfortable sofas in front of the fire.
Relax with a leisurely meal in front of the fire.
Windows on all sides let light flood in.
Full WiFi is provided throughout the cottage.
The riverside terrace is a lovely place to sit and relax.
The cottage kitchen has all you need to cook up your holiday meals.
The range style cooker will delete the chef in the party.
Bedroom 1 is on the ground floor.
Bedroom 1 has a skylight window set in the ceiling.
Bedroom 1 has a double bed (4'6'').
The little shower-room next to Bedroom 1 on the ground floor.
Oak stairs lead up to the first floor bedrooms.
Bedroom 2 has a door out to a balcony.
Bedroom 2 is a lovely light room.
Bedroom 2 has a kingsize bed (5').
Morning coffee on the balcony...lovely at any time of year.
Looking across to Brunel Quay (former workshops for the famous Isambard Kingdom Brunel, now lovely apartments).
The family bathroom. Please note that the jacuzzi function of the bath is out of action, a new standard bath is due to be fitted over winter 2023.
Welcome to Old Quay Cottage
Bedroom 3 has twin beds.
Bedroom 3.
Looking across to Old Quay Cottage from Brunel Quay.
You'll see ducks and swan out on the water.
Looking down river towards Old Quay Cottage.
Fowey River meanders slowly down to Fowey (it's great for canoeing and kayaking).

Old Quay Cottage


5.1 miles N of Fowey / Sleeps 6 + cot

Book or Reserve Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from £642

The cottage is well equiped. Very nice is the water front space, very relaxing. Also easy access to the super market for daily groceries. Located near nice shops and restaurants. Not so nice is the parking space at the back of the cottage. Getting out of the court yard behind the cottage is a real challenge!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted to hear that the cottage was well equipped and that you found the waterside terrace to be very relaxing. We're sorry to hear you found parking to be a challenge - for any of those who may struggle with the parking at the property, there is parking on the road close to Old Quay Cottage, which is on the level and free. Meg, Customer Support

This is a perfect cottage for anyone visiting Cornwall by train. It is in a great location overlooking the river and is very well equipped, clean and comfortable.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for letting us know that Old Quay Cottage can be easily reached by train which is a great idea for anyone wishing to leave the car at home. The Visit Cornwall website has lots of information for anyone wishing to explore by train. We hope you'll return again soon. Kelsey, Customer Support

This is a comfortable, cosy and well equipped cottage in a great location.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so glad that this was a good fit for you. Sarah, Customer Support

Overall the cottage was beautiful but the parking let it down especially as the weather was so wet it was a shame as we’d liked to have stayed when the weather was better as a lot of seating outside which we were unable to enjoy

Quay cottage is great for a relaxing, comfortable break, in a lovely river location. The town is well worth exploring, before venturing further afield.

A very comfortable stay was had by the whole family. We are two adults and three teenagers and had everything we needed. Yes parking is very tight (especially if you have a large car) but manageable. Lostwithiel is a good base and some fabulous coves nearby.

We have just had a great holiday at Old Quay Cottage. Lostwithiel is a cute little town with some interesting history, shops and cafes. The cottage is a short walk to a pasty shop and co-op which is great for getting food and essentials. The decking on to the river is lovely, we hired some kayaks from Riverjoyz in Lostwithiel and went for a paddle which I would definitely recommend. Some people have commented on the parking. We had our 7 seater s max and we managed to park ok with a few maneuvers but my husband is a confident reverser. There is plenty of onstreet parking close by too if you are happy to park your car away from the property. We would recommend a stay here

The difficulty of parking should be made clear BEFORE booking not in the booking confirmation - would t have stayed if we’d known

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for your thoughts on the parking. The dedicated parking space is within a communal area, and we're really sorry that the way a neighbour had parked caused a bit of difficulty. We've tried to make this clearer in our description. Tanya, Customer Support

Very easy to book and if you have any questions the booking office is very friendly and answer any question you have xx

Property is superficially clean but needs a really good deep clean and declutter, espacially downstairs. The kitchen cupboards are messy and I had to tidy them to find stuff. Too many "knick-knacks", personal items and dodgy furniture (wobbly side tables and dining chairs). Some things were a bit dangerous if children stayed. Upstairs was much better. Ouside area also need cleaning and sprucing up. The parking, as previously mentioned, is a nightmare. VERY difficult to get in and out between a broken down car, a boat and a camper van. Having said all of that, the cottage is nice BUT.. it could be stunning with more attention to detail.. As there was only 2 of us we enjoyed our week and very much enjoyed Lostwithiel and the surrounding area. The shops/pubs/cafes are all within a couple of minutes walk and being by the river was just lovely. Easy access to other places like Bodmin and St Austell/ Charlestown.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry that you found the communal parking a bit challenging - there is parking available on the road by the quay a short distance away if you prefer. The cottage is furnished in a cosy individual style, with ornaments and objects that are close to the owner's heart. We're can only apologise that you felt it was cluttered, we appreciate that furnishing a property is quite a personal matter, and we're sorry that this wasn't quite to your taste. It's great to hear that you did enjoy your stay and particularly liked the waterside location. Tanya, Customer Support

A lovely location, spoilt by dreadful parking.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We are glad to read that the location worked so well for you. We are sorry that we didn't have the opportunity to assist you during your stay as may have been able to help. We hope to welcome you to another Classic Cottage in the future. Sarah, Customer Support

Perfect location for shops, restaurants, walks. Lovely views of the river from most rooms. Lots to do in area, e.g. Restormel Castle, Lanhydrock house. Parking was tricky to negotiate as warned, but manageable with care.

Facilities need updating/replacing.Bedlinen towels pillows etc. Very good position lovely once you're in the cottage.Courtyard unsightly.We used the terraces overlooking the water a lot which with the glorious weather was lovely

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on this charming riverside property. We're sorry that you felt a few areas needed updating and we passed on your helpful comments and suggestions to the owner. How wonderful that the fabulous weather meant that you were able to make the most of the water side terraces. We hope to welcome you back soon. Julie, Customer Support

Old Quay Cottage is in a lovely setting on the banks for the river Fowey and right in the town so it’s handy for groceries, the train station and access to places of interest including Heligan, Eden, Fowey, and Lanhydrock. The cottage was spacious, with modern facilities, lovely views, and is very comfortable. The underfloor heating was a treat. The village is unspoilt, and is full of history, the wonderful old bridge, and interesting buildings. There is a friendly feel to it as mass tourism hasn’t undermined its uniqueness. The station is great for connecting to other towns instead of using the car.

Easy booking process, friendly and helpful staff, most lovely cottage - it was the perfect holiday. I will definitely book again with Classic Cottages!

it was perfect!

Courtyard on arrival was a bit of a challenge due to car parking as you entered and the camper van and boat stored close to the property.

It could also do with a tidy up as first impressions were not good.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the first impressions of Old Quay Cottage. It is tricky as the immediate outside space on arrival is used by residents of other properties for parking. We have of course shared your feedback with the housekeeper to investigate your comments, we are very sorry that we didn't get a chance to assist you during your stay. However, all feedback is incredibly helpful to improve. We so hope to welcome you to a Classic Cottage again in the future. Sarah, Customer Support

Lovely river side location a little spoilt by poor maintaining of exterior areas. The interior is furnished nicely but the lighting is horrible down lights which are OK in the kitchen area but the sitting space needs softer table lamps.

Gorgeous cottage in an excellent location. Very clean and comfortable and well equipped. Lostwithiel is a great location with shops and pubs right on your doorstep. Loved our stay and would definitely recommend Old Quay Cottage.

We had a great stay at Old Quay Cottage. The setting was delightful and we made full use of the outdoor terrace space by the river.

Lovely cottage in a superb location although the photos need updating as some items/furnishings have changed. The car parking is very tight so a small car is needed

Reply from Classic Cottages

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are in the process of arranging a photoshoot for Old Quay Cottage, so watch this space for some new photos! This lovely property has parking for one car but there is also on road parking, should it be needed. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to welcome you back soon. Tressa, Customer Support

A holiday which was cancelled last year due to the Pandemic but so glad we got there. Very very quiet in the area and got some good rest. The people in the town are so friendly, you have to try Nelly's steak pies the best. Couple of walks in the area are awesome. The cottage itself we loved and very comfortable and would gladly go again.

Great location for exploring Cornwall.

Perfect week away, everything we needed for a comfortable stay and a break from monotony. Would stay again and recommend.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We are thrilled to read that you would recommend Old Quay Cottage! We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another well earned break. Sarah, Customer Support

A beautiful cottage in a great location for visiting places around Cornwall. The cottage was very clean and well equipped for everything we needed, thank you for a lovely relaxing week . We would love to return next year.

The cottage was in a beautiful and historic village. There was lots to do locally and we had some magnificent walks. The tea van at St. Winnow's (closed Monday) is not to be missed on an estuary walk.

A fantastic homely cottage ideally situated for exploring central Cornwall. The rayburn is a pleasure, the jetty is ideal for breakfasts sat beside the river fowey and the the cottage is spacious. I would thoroughly recommend staying at this location.

Super cottage with ample equipment. Views perfect, very homely. Thoughtful touches with games, torchws, DVD's, books and information on the area. Excellant position and very comfortable.

Lovely cottage, in a quiet location. Village was very pretty, with all the Christmas lights up. Co op next door was very convenient. Excellent parking space. Cottage very warm due to the aga, which we got used to. Lit a fire every night, which was cosy over the Christmas period. Loved the holiday, waking up to the sound of the river and birdsong every morning.

We ADORED this cottage. Very comfortable and cozy. Loved the balconies and river view. Small but well-stocked grocery (Co-op) just steps round the corner. Sweet town, all walkable, many charming shops. The Globe Pub (again, a short walk) was great for food, dinner and mixing with friendly local townspeople. Getting in and out of the parking area was very tight (unless you have a small car) but doable, if one person directs the driver from outside the car. Neighbors were so nice—one shared their cat Willow and another their dog Sadie with us. The controls on the microwave and CD were a mystery, but we managed to use both by accident! We built a fire with a cord of wood left by our door. Played cribbage round the table in the evening. We hated to leave! Thank you SO much for helping us find this cottage.

Beautiful setting, comfortable cottage with good places to eat within easy walking distance. We had a wonderful week and will definitely come back again.

Wonderful location, spent time on terrace having dinner and watching the occasional boat. Thursdays in August is 'Songs on the River' in Lostwithiel, which happens next to property.... It is a great event! Property is just as photos, and even better!! We would return.. lots to do in area as well!

A good location on the river, very convenient for shops, restaurants and nice walks close by. Cottage is well-equipped for the most part but a little run down. It could use some attention to details, especially the terrace area outside. Parking was very difficult.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so pleased that you enjoyed this lovely little cottage's location, but sorry to hear you had some difficulty with the private parking (there is additional on road parking too). We visited early this season and felt that the cottage was well furnished in keeping with it's age and style, but not run down. The terrace can get a bit weathered being right over the river, so we'll ask the housekeeper to have a tidy up of that area. Tanya, Customer Support

The fotos and information about the bedrooms does not correspond with the reality. The bedroom on the groundfloor does not have a window, which is important to know. the second bedroom with the two single beds is very small, with a very small window, fotos show differently. Very disappointing. The rental costs are quite hight, therefore our expectations were high as well. The cleaniless of the Cottage was not good. And we did not see the housekeeper at all. The situation of the Cottage is very nice. The town Lostwithiel is a good place to stay.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review - it's great to hear that you enjoyed the location of the cottage which is certainly very special, but we're really sorry that you were disappointed with a few aspects of Old Quay Cottage. Bedroom one is on the ground-floor and although it has no standard window it does boast a lovely skylight window set into the ceiling as mentioned in the description. Bedroom three has twin beds with a small cottage style window which we've tried to portray in the photos of the property. It's a real shame that you noticed a few cleanliness issues and we'll certainly forward this to the housekeeper for her attention at the next changeover - we're really sorry for any oversight on this occasion. The housekeeper isn't able to meet all guests on arrival but her number appears within the Cottage Information Folder and on the Arrival Details from Classic Cottages should you have needed to speak with her. Bryony, Customer Support

Please emphasise the parking.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're sorry you had some trouble with parking at Old Quay Cottage. There is a private parking space directly next to the cottage - alternatively additional parking can usually be found along the road which follows the river if guests find this a little easier. Bryony, Customer Support

Great cottage in fabulous location, we visited as a family of 5. Quiet town with all the amenities you’d need for a week away - the pasties are amazing! Loved the river view and we were able to take advantage of the outside area in spring, which was fabulous. Loads to see locally too, must see place is the Lost Gardens of Helligan. There is one parking space which was always free however sometimes challenging to get in or out of in a larger car. We’d highly recommend this cottage and would love to stay again.

The cottage was in an excellent location to explore southern Cornwall. Beautifully furnished with some lovely home comforts such as the cosy fire and the range cooker. We loved waking up and looking out at the river. I would definitely book again!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for sharing your lovely review - the view over the river is great, we'd have to agree. We very much hope that we can welcome you back to the delights of Old Quay Cottage and Lostwithiel in the future. Tanya, Customer Support

A beautiful cottage set in a stunning location. Nothing is needed in the house as it's so well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a week away from home. We we're very lucky with the autumn weather. However, we had a few frosty nights so we we're able to use the fire. The under floor heating is lovely on the cold mornings too. I can imagine how wonderful it must be to have summer evenings out on the patio gazing over the river as it was stunning in the autumn. It took me a few reads and a you tube watch to get my head around using the Aga but I soon mastered it! The location is again beautiful with everything you need on the doorstep. I would definitely recommend Old Quay Cottage to friends or family and I most definitely would return again!!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Old Quay Cottage. The location is superb - right by the river and close to many of the local attractions, such as The Eden Project and the Camel Trail. We were also impressed with the decor of the property, not the usual blandness which seems to be encouraged by so many holiday cottage businesses, instead we felt as though we were staying in someone else’s comfortable home. The flagstones are beautiful and the aga easy to use and very homely.

The setting of this property is lovely being right next to the river and right in the centre of Lostwithiel. Sitting on the balcony or the terrace in the sun with a good book and some lovely pasties or cakes from the local bakers is perfect. Lostwithiel is a charming little town with some lovely shops and super eating places plus an interesting Church, small museum and a nearby castle! Also all the neighbours were very friendly and helpful.

A charming cottage in a great location for Fowey and south east Cornwall.

This is a great cottage in a lovely setting and location, although a bit close to the other cottages in the courtyard. Being set on the bank of the River Fowey is tranquil and relaxing. The railway station is a short walk from the cottage with easy access to Plymouth and even though you can hear the trains going through, it's not intrusive. You'll hear more noise from the ducks and birds during the night! You may even hear an owl!

Parking is a bit tight as you're in a courtyard, but you have a designated spot and if you could park any closer to the front door, you would be inside the cottage! Makes for easy unpacking and packing.

The cottage is very well kitted out with lots of pots and pans, cutlery, utensils and crockery galore! The bed in the master bedroom is quite comfy and the blanket throws that are available to use are quite luxurious! We were here in March, so made a fire every night...cosy!

We went to the Royal Oak Inn our first night and cooked in the remaining nights. Had an enjoyable lunch at Colgero's and there's lots of lovely little shops along Fore Street. You might even see a fishmonger selling fresh fish from his van across the way from the Co-op on one of the days as we did. Would highly recommend the butcher shop. We got venison steaks, ribeyes, bacon and sausage and everything was delicious!

We had a couple of minor issues when we arrived, but they were handled quickly. The housekeeping team will make sure that your stay is a comfortable one.

The only negative was that the week went by so quickly and we had to leave!

I would suggest all of the above.

Quay Cottage is in a lovely position near the river ,has a lovely sitting out area and is only seconds away from shops ,cafes and pubs ,yet is very quiet and peaceful .

very comfortable cottage in a great location

Good location, with very pleasant outdoor space overlooking the river.

Cottage has ample space for three couple. Jacuzzi bath is lovely after a long day out rambling. Ample parking for more than one car, as there are loads of free parking down by the river. Garden enclosed off pier so suitable for children too. Loads of nice restaurants in the village, all open for lunch and dinner service. Globe is a nice pub.

Outstanding location, spent most evenings just sitting and watching the river and it's environment. Although caution would be needed if you have children.

Fabulous cottage that has enough personal items dotted around making it feel very homely but without feeling as though you are invading someone's home.

Exceptionally well kitted out kitchen with crockery and cutlery galore.

Location is ideal for touring north and south coasts. Take a canoe or hire one that can be dropped off to the cottage to paddle down to Fowey.

The marriage of the river Fowey and old quay cottage will make magical memories to draw upon when the days are short and cold.

This cottage is located in a lovely spot overlooking the river Fowey, in the very friendly town of Lostwithiel. It is a busy spot. I don't believe it is a place for pre teens, unless they are keen walkers or canoeists. At low tide younger children are able to paddle in the river, as do the local children. There is no bus service but trains are available from the station, which is just five minutes away from the cottage.

Well equipped cottage in a great location with good shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Main line train station close by but not obtrusive.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review of Old Quay Cottage, it's great to see you enjoyed your stay. The train station gives easy links to Plymouth for a good day out (maybe a visit to the Theatre Royal, the Naval Heritage Centre or National Marine Aquarium?) and further west to Penzance should you decide to explore the county. Of course there is also the main service to Paddington if you wanted to leave the car at home and 'let the train take the strain' for your holiday in Cornwall! Tanya, Customer Support

Wonderfully quiet location. Very tranquil looking out over the river. Great placed to launch kayak from.

A lovely cottage in a great location.

For a peaceful, relaxing holiday in a welcoming cottage situated in an enchanting location Old Quay Cottage ticks all the boxes. It is a haven of tranquility.

We liked the location of the property on the river. It is also very close to some lovely restaurants, pubs and shops. The village is very quiet and the locals very friendly.

Old Quay Cottage is a lovely comfortable place to stay, the outside decking over the river is a lovely place to spend a sunny afternoon and it is really handy to have shops, the pubs and restaurants all within a couple of minutes walk yet still be so secluded and quiet.

Was the best cottage I have sayed in, they had thought of everything you would need for a home from home stay if it wasn't there you wouldn't need it. Loved everything about it the views the location in village as it was close to shops and pubs we will be returning it was so peaceful and we really relaxed after our jam packed days out! Weather helped.

Wonderful location and facilities.

Excellent location can visit both sides of coasts on day trips Train service great way to travel we used Cornwall Rider tickets good all day for trains and most buses Travel info at Lostwithiel Community Centre perfect also many town activities happening here Cottage was well equipped nothing missing beds very comfortable neighbors all very pleasant
Linens , firewood, supplied stayed for a month cottage cleaned weekly with fresh linens great pubs n restaurants within walking lots of nature to watch on river

A lovely spot by the river! Very comfortable beds, good cottage throughout. Shops nearby are very handy! Had a super holiday here!

Cottage excellent, location brill. Nice and peaceful, everything you needed in cottage. Certain to come here again - loved it!

A wonderful, characteristic property that is very well equipped and in a lovely location.

A truly beautiful cosy riverside cottage, we strongly recommend to all. The only slight negative is the sprinkler control system next to the boiler. It emits an annoying and fairly loud buzzer every 30 seconds or so while the aga is switched on, or when cooking or even boiling the kettle! We switched the aga off, bought in fish and chips and enjoyed cold drinks. anything for a quiet life!! Please don't be put off though, this is a great place to relax and Lostwithiel is lovely. The goldfinch nesting outside the kitchen window, and mother duck with her 7 ducklings out back capped it all off. Huge thanks to Classic Cottages and the property owner for providing us with such a wonderful break.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your lovely review - how lovely to see the local wildlife in such close proximity! The Owner arranged for the sprinkler service engineers to visit and the over-sensitive buzzer has now been addressed - but you don't need an excuse to enjoy the local fish and chips, it's just a holiday treat! Tanya, Customer Support

Fantastic location, right by the riverside. Only a few minutes walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. Shops are really nice - lots of antiques and reasonably priced souvenir type shops. Locals are really friendly and I would recommend eating at the two pubs in the town. Cottage was really spacious and very clean. Open fire was a delight and great fun trying to light! I would highly recommend this cottage.

This cottage was gorgeous, everything was to such a high standard and the location was stunning, peaceful and so close to everything. The owner was very generous as there was a problem with the stove not working, as compensation she offered to buy us all dinner at a local restaurant. The stove was promptly fixed the following day.

This is a beautifully presented cottage, with everything you could wish for. It is ideal if you have toddlers or young children, with a stair gate, highchair, travel cot and even a non-slip bath mat! It is very spacious, which helps on rainy days! The balcony overlooking the river is a marvellous place to enjoy a glass of wine once the kids are in bed! The location is fabulous, close to Looe, Polperro and a number of great National Trust properties. I can not recommend this cottage enough, the best I have stayed in.

Lovely house, great position next to the river. But hope you like early mornings because if you sleep in the ground floor room you will be woken at 7am by the noise from the coop next door. Also parking next to the cottage can be difficult in the evenings when everyone is home.

A wonderful house in a great location, Co op 50 yards away lovely river views. Lots of eating options within easy walking distance. AGA cooker took a bit of getting used to. Great for Eden Project, Fowey, Truro, Looe,Newquay etc. I couldn't think of anything we needed that wasn't provided.

A cosy and comfortable place to stay with lovely views over the river. Well positioned for exploring both the coast and inland attractions of this area. A pretty little town with interesting shops - great to have a convenience store so close too. We would second the recommendation of the food on offer at The Crown in Lanlivery - delicious!

Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.