Mr Everett October 2021
Great large family house with lots of space. Ideal for walks along the beach and surrounding area. Within easy driving distance to visit surrounding villages and places of interest, such as the Eden Project and St Austell.
Ms Hutchings October 2021
The property placement was amazing for the views, the pictures on the website did not match what was at the property at the time of visiting due to being outdated and required bit of TLC, the crockery was dirty, and the general house didn't feel the cleanest. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay though and just requires a bit of updating as is all. The size of the property was perfect for the party size and number of bathrooms was very helpful.
Mr Chant September 2021
We had a wonderful weeks stay at Sundown. The weather was beautiful. The accommodation was amazing, and the size fitted our family needs perfectly. It was nice to receive a call from the owner to check that we had arrived safely, and that every thing was ok. We think that the property could benefit from a little TLC, and some maintenance. Having said this, it did not spoil our stay. Usual problems with pubs and restaurants in the area due to cover restrictions. We would recommend it to friends and family. Thank you for letting us share you home.
Mrs Davies July 2021
Excellent property with access to beach quiet relaxing area.
Mrs Stripp July 2021
Great place for a family holiday
Mr Colman July 2021
Excellent location, lots of space, do not follow your sat nav, use the B road to Seaton.
Mrs Davies June 2021
Easy to find property. Location to sights of interest e.g Eden Project, Healeys Cyder/Gin farm, Tintagel fantastic. Fabulous views from the property. Great new steps from the garden to the quiet beach. Nearby local shop and couple of walking distance eateries.
Dr Marshall May 2021
We had a very enjoyable stay in this comfortable house. The location is quite spectacular. The kitchen is well equipped, and we even baked scones to go with our Cornish clotted cream. The kids used the large garden for knocking tennis balls about. We loved the view and the direct access to the sea, and the short walk to the "Inn on the Shore" along back lanes and through the memorial gardens. The local shop is very handy, and the ice cream stalls are temptingly convenient. Be sure to follow the B3247 when arriving, and ignore your satnav: the approach via Narkurs along Treliddon Lane is not for the faint-hearted!
Mr Andrews May 2021
A very clean, well appointed large house, in a beautiful beachfront location.
Mrs Ward September 2020
Sundown is exactly as described in the details. When we first walked in it was a definite WOW! We needed somewhere large enough for us to spread out with plenty of bathrooms. It was good to have 2 restaurants an easy stroll away. We liked the 'Inn on the Shore' very much. We watched the tide ebb and flow over the rocks from the end of the garden where we placed 2 of the chairs. The kitchen was exceptionally well equipped; short of nothing we needed and all good quality. Large dishwasher. The master bedroom is awesome - even the dressing room has a sea view! Plenty of wardrobe space. The ground floor bedroom is huge too and the other double rooms are all an excellent size. There are a few little bits that need a bit of attention - but all minor and certainly nothing that spoiled our stay. The majority agreed that we would come back to Sundown (for 2 weeks next time). There is not a lot going on in Seaton; but who needs it when you have the beach at the end of the garden? We visited a friend in Cawsand one evening - what a lovely little cove. We regularly hire properties for holidays both home and abroad - this has been one of the best.
Mrs Dalton August 2020
Very spacious . Large garden for family games. Lovely comfortable house.
Mr Richards December 2019
Sundown is a potentially fantastic property for a large family gathering. It's setting, on the beachfront at Downderry on the South Cornwall coast is second to none. However, there were too many disappointing features and lack of 'touches' that made our stay largely disappointing. As a family we have stayed at many rental properties and know the standards offered by other owners of such properties. There were some positives i.e. large, well-furnished living areas including a fabulous lounge, a huge well planned kitchen and 6 good sized bedrooms, aligned to reasonable bathroom/en-suite areas. The main Master Bedroom, with its huge balcony looking out over the sea was just awesome. The property enjoys a large garden and is ideal for families with dogs and we were very grateful that the owners allowed us to bring 3 dogs for our stay. There are however, many areas that let the property down and with just a little more thought, care and maintenance Sundown could be the 'classic' holiday home that it has the potential to be. As it stands, it's more 'Rundown' than 'Sundown'. The games room is frankly dire. It had a musty smell, is poorly decorated and just doesn't deliver. It was largely full of damaged or incomplete items e.g. what is one meant to do with a table tennis table, without a net, table tennis balls and a single table tennis bat? We were unable to successfully use the wood burner, as there were inadequate tools for cleaning and using safely. Sadly, no kindling was made available for us. The kitchen was cosmetically beautiful and well-designed but the quality of the cookware and cooking utensils in particular was pretty poor, with badly scratched non-stick surfaces on trays and frying-pans (most of the latter I had to re-secure wobbly/loose handles to make them safe). The dishwasher trays were also in poor condition with many broken and rusting stems on the bottom tray, making loading difficult. The bedrooms were of a good size with nice bedroom linen but in general the quality of the mattresses (as pointed out on another review), were poor and didn't allow for a quality sleep. Finally, one of the selling points of the property was the availability of access from the garden directly onto the fabulous beach below. However, on my first venture to the beach, I slipped on an insecure/wobbling step which meant I fell some 17 steps to the beach, sustaining broken skin and severe bruising. Without over-dramatising the incident, I could have ended-up with broken limbs or (at worse) a fatal injury, particularly given that the bottom few steps were concrete. Rather than secure/repair the steps, our access from the garden to the beach was removed, which was one of the reasons we booked this property. All in all 'Sundown' proved to be a significant 'let down' for us…
Reply from Classic Cottages
We're so sorry that you found some areas of the house disappointing. Your observations about the games-room have been shared with the owner so that maintenance can be carried out. The housekeeper will be reviewing the kitchen equipment, replacing anything necessary, and kindling will be provided (this should have been there, we apologise for this error). Mattress comfort can be a very individual preference - one mattress has been replaced and the owner will check the rest and replace if necessary. We've discussed your accident with you directly and both we and the owner remain very sorry that this happened. Unfortunately the steps do appear to have suffered in the recent poor weather and rather than rushing an interim repair on Christmas Day, restricting access was the most sensible option. More permanent repairs have been scheduled for March 2020 (weather permitting) and any guests affected have been made aware. Public access to the beach is just a short walk away in the meantime. Bryony, Customer Support
Update Feb 2020 New 'zip and link' beds have been installed at the property.
Mr Gadie November 2019
We booked this house so that we could have our full family together to celebrate a special anniversary, from the moment we arrived it felt like a home from home. The house is well equipped and the welcome pack was a lovely touch. It's in a great location with outstanding views! The weather wasn't too bad but, when we did have rain the children made use of the games room which kept them entertained. We would reccomend this place and hope to return ourselves.
Mrs Bradford August 2019
A beautiful and very spacious house with a large garden. The house is very well equipped but a few areas are a little worn and need replacing. Downderry is a nice little village with a couple of good places to eat and a local shop all within easy walking distance. We would definitely return.
Mrs Turner August 2019
Lovely sized property for a large family holiday.
Mrs Dowie August 2019
Sundown is a terrific house. Spacious and light the rooms are comfortably furnished and well equipped. The garden is perfect for outdoor games, barbecues and star gazing. There are beautiful uninterrupted views of the sea, and if that isn’t enough a balcony to appreciate it from. Private and peaceful Sundown is a perfect place for a relaxing family holiday.
Mrs Grier April 2019
The single bed mattress had the springs coming through, we had to put blankets over the mattress to make a little more comfortable for our grandson, the double bed in the room opposite the children's bedroom that mattress was also uncomfortable.
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks for reviewing Sundown. We're sorry that you found some of the mattresses to be uncomfortable - we've asked that these are checked at the next changeover and any issues addressed. Alison, Customer Support
Mrs Dellar April 2019
We had a lovely holiday at Sundown. Property is beautiful and view spectacular. Few issues with plumbing which was dealt with promptly once we involved Classic as housekeeping team were slow to respond. We were a group of twelve adults and one child and felt that there was plenty of space. House very well equipped. Not an issue with the house, but avoid Wave bar in Seaton - worst service we have ever encountered!
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks for your lovely review of Sundown - we're really pleased that we were able to help with the shower leak during your stay and it's great to hear that you went on to have a fantastic holiday overall. It's a real shame you encountered some poor service in Seaton - hopefully you were able to find somewhere else in the village able to offer you the friendly welcome Devonians are renowned for. Bryony, Customer Support
Mrs Hughes March 2019
Fantastic size cottage in and amazing location. The living room and kitchen spaces are huge. The garden and access is onto the beach are superb. Nice to have parking for all cars. Welcome pack of wine, biscuits and milk etc was a lovely gesture.
We had a couple of minor plumbing issues and the maintenance company were superb and fixed within hours.
If you google the village it doesn’t do it justice, it’s lovely. Nearby pub was shut for refurbishment at time of staying but restaurant in village is superb.
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks so much for reviewing Sundown - it's wonderful to hear you had such a great time overall at this fabulous property. The location is certainly very special and having your own access to the beach is very VIP! We're sorry you had a few plumbing issues but we're really pleased that the maintenance team were able to address these in good time for you. We hope to welcome you again soon. Bryony, Customer Support
Ms Wood December 2018
Spacious, generally well equipped house, fantastic access to the beach and amazing sea views. Plenty of parking. Ample lounge seating and dining space. Good cooking facilities for large group.
Mrs Stell November 2018
Lovely location, large well-equipped house, good for a large family get together.
Mrs Hammond August 2018
A wonderful location and great property.
Mr Davies July 2018
We had a fantastic relaxing holiday amazing house and a fantastic location.
Mrs Jones July 2018
We had a lovely stay in Sundown with all the family. Well equipped for children, large garden and easy access to the beach which had rock pools.
The local people were very friendly and Downderry is a pleasant little village.
Mrs Hammond May 2018
The most relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Direct access to the beach and large garden for children and dogs to have the best time. Never tired of the uninterrupted sea view. A very special property.
Mrs Baxter May 2018
Sundown is a spacious, well equipped, luxurious house in a great location. We had a family hoilday 10 adults and 3 dogs plenty of indoor and outdoor space and parking Super secure garden with direct access to the beach. We had such fun walking to Portwinkle to cafe and back , walking to Seaton fantastic cafe great value and great views, walking round Cawsand bay headland, boats trips to Looe Island - can only land if dogs not with you but a lovely trip out, train to Liskeard and back, shopping at Trago Mill, taxi to Polperro and walking back to Looe and fantastic visit to Cotehele spent 3 hours wandering round the park with our dog Great hoilday in a great location thank you.
Mr Westlake April 2018
Brilliant location close to the beach with a great pub within walking distance and beaches galore all around.Plenty of walks either on the beach or along the coastal path and some great attractions within an hours drive ie Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan.
Mrs Wagner March 2018
It was our second time in that wonderful house and will definitely come back again ??
Mr Adkins March 2018
Fantastic spacious house, ideal for large family occasions. The location is stunning with the beach at the end of the garden. The house was immaculate on arrival and has everything you need for a great stay.
Ms James February 2018
We had a wonderful stay at Sundown. The house is very comfortable and well equipped. The location is fantastic. The children loved the rock pools on the beach. We had some excellent meals in the village and lots of lovely walks. It was a thoroughly relaxing half term break.
Mrs Taylor November 2017
We holiday as a family; 9 adults now and the dogs, every year around November. Each year we add any requirements that we felt weren't met by the previous year; not necessarily due to the house, just our experiences with it or the surrounding area too. This year at Sundown, has been the best by far. Really nice to be able to walk out with the dogs on such spectacular coast line without having to see a road, let alone walking or crossing them. Nice local bars and eateries too. The house was spacious, well equipped, comfortable and warm. I would definitely consider returning here and have / would recommend it to others.
Mrs Copland August 2017
It is a great location and we had a wonderful week.
Mrs Robertson May 2017
The cottage is lovely, well equipped, spacious and with a superb garden for the children and dogs to play in. We could not fault it in any one way and have already recommended it to friends. We will certainly return, if not next year, as we like to try new places, but probably the following year. We have rented several,places in Cornwall over the last 5/6 years and this was by far the best.
We are a family of 12 ( 2 grandparent 4 parents and 6 children aged from 14 to 7) and 2 dogs, the cottage was excellent thank you.
Ms Nicholas September 2016
On our arrival we were met with fresh flowers, lovely loaf of fresh bread and 2 bottles of wine to kick start our holiday. The venue was lovely and private, the house ensured everyone had their personal space to read or watch Tv or play board games. There was plenty of room in the kitchen for everyone to help prepare meals which was essential. The sound of the sea at all times and beautiful sunsets met with sundowners and BBQ's was idyllic. The house was inviting , warm and cosy with additioal throws to keep your knees warm on a chilly evening . We looked for Sidney the seagull as adveritised in your brouchure and despite the eager anticipation of all in the house Sidney the seagull was never found. ( He has possibly gone on holiday himself ??) Fabulous holiday, for a big family we shall be back. Thank you
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thank you so much for your glowing review of this lovely family house - we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It appears that Sidney the Seagull decided to move back home with a previous guest - perhaps he fancied a change of scenery?! We do know that the Owner is looking to recruit a suitable replacment for the role and hope that Sidney the Seagull (mk II) will soon be in residence! Tanya, Customer Support
Mr Bowen May 2016
A beautiful house in an outstanding location. Facilities were excellent. Just about everything we could think of was catered for. A truly beautiful place.
Mrs Cross May 2016
Excellent house for large groups and dogs - very spacious house and garden . Location great . In walking distance of pub and village shop . Everyone in our party had a fantastic week . Would go and again and recommend to family and friends .
Mrs Isaac March 2016
This was our fourth visit to Sundown . It is an extremely comfortable and spacious holiday home. The views over the sea are lovely and it is so nice to have direct access to the beach. Very relaxing. We hope to visit again .
Mrs Robotham March 2016
Lovely big house for a family birthday celebration and holiday.
Mrs Wood December 2015
We stayed at Sundown for a family gathering over Christmas. The house worked well for all three generations and the setting was wonderful. This is somewhere that we would definitely consider returning to.
Mrs Barker October 2015
Lovely property in a superb location but in need of some TLC.
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks for your review of Sundown - we're glad you enjoyed your time there. The property is very popular and has had a very busy year of bookings; the Owner does address any wear and tear over the winter months and no doubt he'll be arranging this work shortly. Tanya, Customer Support
Mrs Bowles September 2015
Beautiful location, lovely house, needs a bit of TLC in places and very steep steps to beach not really suitable for elderly or infirm. Master bedroom with balcony is amazing!
Mr Westaway August 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this spacious and well-located house which will suit a large family group. The bedrooms are very comfortable, with lots of room to spread out. There's also a lot of storage space. A well-equipped games room, large lawn and proximity to beach with rock pools and enough sandy areas for building sand castles means that young children have plenty to do.
We would recommend this property.
Mr Strong August 2015
Wonderful looking forward to a return
Mr Hammond July 2015
fantastic house.very comfortable. very well equiped. beautiful sea views. very quiet.
Mrs Grootendorst-Vos May 2015
Mrs Isaac April 2015
Sundown is a lovely , roomy , comfortable property. Very well equipped ,with fantastic views over the sea . It has access to the beach and is in a quiet but convenient location . We will be back.
Mr Walker March 2015
april week just back had a lovely holiday, this property has the wow factor loads of space with sea views,dog friendy pub ,and shop just a short walk away , we would recommend this property ,
Mr Pearce February 2015
For our size party this was an exceptional place to stay, plenty of room in the lounge for us all to sit down comfortably, plenty of room around the dinner tables for sitting together. The kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms were all good. We will return as a big party again in the coming years.
Mrs Banting December 2014
A wonderful start to 2015. Sundown was just great for a mix of families and its position just stunning
Mr Gascoine December 2014
Excellent stay, well located, very near to a nice pub. Great for a family Christmas over looking the sea & watching the sunset, Would return.
Mr Hughes April 2014
As always, our complete trust in Classic Cottages was upheld. A really excellent location, suiting our needs perfectly. Lovely spacious house, great garden providing plenty of space for the three generations of family. Good local pub, store and deli/restaurant. With the beach and rock-pools being at the bottom of the garden there was very little need to travel very far. A perfect choice. Wish we'd had longer !!
Mrs Scott March 2014
Classic Cottages provides an excellent service. We have been using Classic Cottages for many years for our annual family get together and we have never been disappointed. The properties are of high quality many in outstanding locations.
Mr Boddy December 2013
The house lived up to all our expectations both in size and location. Ample space for all generations to sit, play, eat and enjoy without interfering with others. The garden was excellent and allowed both children and dog an enjoyable play area. The access to the beach was convenient and much used but elder people should be aware they are rather steep. A great holiday home highly recommended to large families or parties
Mr Fisher September 2013
A superb house in a great location.
Mr Hammond August 2013
Sundown is a super holiday home with every comfort possible. The location is wonderful, very quiet and unspoiled with with fantastic sea views. what I liked most was the fact that you didn't feel the need to go anywhere! We spent our time relaxing around the patio gazing out to sea or down onto the beach at the end of the garden. We swam in the sea every day and came home with really good suntans.The Inn on the shore is five minutes walk and recommended for good food or just to enjoy a drink on the wooden deck .
Mr Clifford May 2013
My family loved the Sundown. Its location is a Gem.so peaceful, we all want go back .Has a family it gave us some wonderful memories to treasure.Thank You.
Mrs Bowman May 2013
The dishwasher broke on Sunday. I called the housekeeper on Monday morning and again on Tuesday. She returned our call, was very apologetic and said it would be fixed. Unfortunately this wasn't the case and we hadn't gone on holiday to wash up for 7 people! We weren't contacted again.
The logs promised weren't provided and I can appreciate that May is meant to be warm. However it was unseasonably cold at the start of the week and these would have been very welcome!
There are 3 other comments. It's not really dog friendly. The gate to the beach has a large gap which dogs can squeeze under. There was no hose or outside tap in the garden which made it hard to clean the dog before it came in. There is also no utility space so it means using the bathrooms to clean him.
Secondly the laundry facilities leave a lot to be desired. The washing machine didn't spin properly so clothes were very wet and the tumble dryer was on a £1 coin meter for 20 minutes. Needless to say it didn't dry the clothes.
Thirdly the games provided were incomplete bar one - appreciate that a rental property is bound to have this issue but this was worse than other properties I stayed in previously.
I hope this feedback is useful.
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks so much for reviewing Sundown. We were very concerned to hear about the problems you had and contacted the Owners immediately so that they were able to investigate. We're happy to say that as a result, the Owners have appointed a new Housekeeper who is more able to respond quickly to any appliance breakdowns and to head up the team of cleaners so that things such as logs won't be inadvertently overlooked. The tumble-drier is being replaced early in 2014 and the utility-area has been renovated over the winter. We also passed on your suggestions for an outside tap for four legged guests - we agree that's a great idea. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Cornwall and would come back again soon. Tanya, Customer Support
Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.