Looking back at Sundown from the garden.
Private steps lead down to the foreshore from the garden.
The huge sitting-room.
The dining-area.
Looking down on the garden from the balcony.
Sundown from the entrance driveway.
The large, enclosed garden.
The steps down to the beach are securely gated.
At the bottom of the steps you are right on the beach.
The cosy end of the sitting-room.
There's a big TV for family film sessions.
Feet up in front of the wood-burner.
This little beauty will keep you snug on cooler evenings.
The conservatory end of the sitting-room.
Wine and nibbles as a holiday treat!
Two separate sitting areas give plenty of space to spread out.
A tucked away area for gaming.
The dining-area looks out over the garden.
Three oak dining-tables can be pushed together for family feasts.
A light and bright space for meals.
Plenty of space for family meals.
Cornish artwork.
The kitchen-area is around the corner from the dining-area.
The fully fitted kitchen.
All necessary appliances are provided - including a wine fridge!
The kitchen looks out over the front garden.
A big range cooker to cater for family meals.
A built-in coffee machine for delicious morning coffees.
Plenty of storage space in the kitchen.
The games-room has a half-size pool table.
Table-football.
There's also an air hockey table.
Bedroom 1 on the ground floor.
Bedroom 1 has 'zip-and-link' beds which can be a super-king size double or two single beds.
Pretty bed linen.
This shower-room is en suite to Bedroom 1 and can also be accessed from the hall.
Bedroom 2 is huge, with an en suite bathroom and a dressing-room.
Fabulous views from the balcony outside Bedroom 2.
A super-king size bed (6') in Bedroom 2.
Masses of storage in Bedroom 2.
Pretty armchairs in Bedroom 2  for sitting and admiring the view.
Bedroom 3 has sea views.
Bedroom 3 has 'zip-and-link' beds (super-king size double or two singles).
This shower-room is en suite to Bedroom 3.
Light, bright decor.
Bedroom 4.
Bedroom 4 has a double bed.
Bedroom 4 looks out over the garden at the front of the house.
Bedroom 5 has a single bed and a captain's bunk.
The captain's bunk is accessed via a ladder so not suitable for younger children.
Bedroom 5.
The big family bathroom.
See if you can find Sidney the seagull.
A porthole on the staircase looks out over the garden.
The beach at nearby Seaton.
Portwrinkle is a short drive away.
A footpath wends its way down the cliff to wonderful Long Sands below Tregantle Fort.
There are wonderful coastal walks nearby.
Looking towards Cawsand from Kingsand.
The beach at Cawsand.
Mount Edgcumbe Country Park is nearby with walks through the grounds looking out over Plymouth Sound.

Sundown

2181

7.5 miles W of Kingsand / Sleeps 12 + 2 cots

7 Nights from £1425 - £4017

November 2017

We holiday as a family; 9 adults now and the dogs, every year around November. Each year we add any requirements that we felt weren't met by the previous year; not necessarily due to the house, just our experiences with it or the surrounding area too. This year at Sundown, has been the best by far. Really nice to be able to walk out with the dogs on such spectacular coast line without having to see a road, let alone walking or crossing them. Nice local bars and eateries too. The house was spacious, well equipped, comfortable and warm. I would definitely consider returning here and have / would recommend it to others.


August 2017

It is a great location and we had a wonderful week.


May 2017

The cottage is lovely, well equipped, spacious and with a superb garden for the children and dogs to play in. We could not fault it in any one way and have already recommended it to friends. We will certainly return, if not next year, as we like to try new places, but probably the following year. We have rented several,places in Cornwall over the last 5/6 years and this was by far the best.

We are a family of 12 ( 2 grandparent 4 parents and 6 children aged from 14 to 7) and 2 dogs, the cottage was excellent thank you.


September 2016

On our arrival we were met with fresh flowers, lovely loaf of fresh bread and 2 bottles of wine to kick start our holiday. The venue was lovely and private, the house ensured everyone had their personal space to read or watch Tv or play board games. There was plenty of room in the kitchen for everyone to help prepare meals which was essential. The sound of the sea at all times and beautiful sunsets met with sundowners and BBQ's was idyllic. The house was inviting , warm and cosy with additioal throws to keep your knees warm on a chilly evening . We looked for Sidney the seagull as adveritised in your brouchure and despite the eager anticipation of all in the house Sidney the seagull was never found. ( He has possibly gone on holiday himself ??) Fabulous holiday, for a big family we shall be back. Thank you

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for your glowing review of this lovely family house - we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It appears that Sidney the Seagull decided to move back home with a previous guest - perhaps he fancied a change of scenery?! We do know that the Owner is looking to recruit a suitable replacment for the role and hope that Sidney the Seagull (mk II) will soon be in residence! Tanya, Customer Support


May 2016

A beautiful house in an outstanding location. Facilities were excellent. Just about everything we could think of was catered for. A truly beautiful place.


May 2016

Excellent house for large groups and dogs - very spacious house and garden . Location great . In walking distance of pub and village shop . Everyone in our party had a fantastic week . Would go and again and recommend to family and friends .


March 2016

This was our fourth visit to Sundown . It is an extremely comfortable and spacious holiday home. The views over the sea are lovely and it is so nice to have direct access to the beach. Very relaxing. We hope to visit again .


March 2016

Lovely big house for a family birthday celebration and holiday.


December 2015

We stayed at Sundown for a family gathering over Christmas. The house worked well for all three generations and the setting was wonderful. This is somewhere that we would definitely consider returning to.


October 2015

Lovely property in a superb location but in need of some TLC.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Sundown - we're glad you enjoyed your time there. The property is very popular and has had a very busy year of bookings; the Owner does address any wear and tear over the winter months and no doubt he'll be arranging this work shortly. Tanya, Customer Support


September 2015

Beautiful location, lovely house, needs a bit of TLC in places and very steep steps to beach not really suitable for elderly or infirm. Master bedroom with balcony is amazing!


August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this spacious and well-located house which will suit a large family group. The bedrooms are very comfortable, with lots of room to spread out. There's also a lot of storage space. A well-equipped games room, large lawn and proximity to beach with rock pools and enough sandy areas for building sand castles means that young children have plenty to do.

We would recommend this property.


August 2015

Wonderful looking forward to a return


July 2015

fantastic house.very comfortable. very well equiped. beautiful sea views. very quiet.


May 2015

Marvellous


April 2015

Sundown is a lovely , roomy , comfortable property. Very well equipped ,with fantastic views over the sea . It has access to the beach and is in a quiet but convenient location . We will be back.


March 2015

april week just back had a lovely holiday, this property has the wow factor loads of space with sea views,dog friendy pub ,and shop just a short walk away , we would recommend this property ,


February 2015

For our size party this was an exceptional place to stay, plenty of room in the lounge for us all to sit down comfortably, plenty of room around the dinner tables for sitting together. The kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms were all good. We will return as a big party again in the coming years.


December 2014

A wonderful start to 2015. Sundown was just great for a mix of families and its position just stunning


December 2014

Excellent stay, well located, very near to a nice pub. Great for a family Christmas over looking the sea & watching the sunset, Would return.


April 2014

As always, our complete trust in Classic Cottages was upheld. A really excellent location, suiting our needs perfectly. Lovely spacious house, great garden providing plenty of space for the three generations of family. Good local pub, store and deli/restaurant. With the beach and rock-pools being at the bottom of the garden there was very little need to travel very far. A perfect choice. Wish we'd had longer !!


March 2014

Classic Cottages provides an excellent service. We have been using Classic Cottages for many years for our annual family get together and we have never been disappointed. The properties are of high quality many in outstanding locations.


December 2013

The house lived up to all our expectations both in size and location. Ample space for all generations to sit, play, eat and enjoy without interfering with others. The garden was excellent and allowed both children and dog an enjoyable play area. The access to the beach was convenient and much used but elder people should be aware they are rather steep. A great holiday home highly recommended to large families or parties


September 2013

A superb house in a great location.


August 2013

Sundown is a super holiday home with every comfort possible. The location is wonderful, very quiet and unspoiled with with fantastic sea views. what I liked most was the fact that you didn't feel the need to go anywhere! We spent our time relaxing around the patio gazing out to sea or down onto the beach at the end of the garden. We swam in the sea every day and came home with really good suntans.The Inn on the shore is five minutes walk and recommended for good food or just to enjoy a drink on the wooden deck .


May 2013

My family loved the Sundown. Its location is a Gem.so peaceful, we all want go back .Has a family it gave us some wonderful memories to treasure.Thank You.


May 2013

The dishwasher broke on Sunday. I called the housekeeper on Monday morning and again on Tuesday. She returned our call, was very apologetic and said it would be fixed. Unfortunately this wasn't the case and we hadn't gone on holiday to wash up for 7 people! We weren't contacted again.

The logs promised weren't provided and I can appreciate that May is meant to be warm. However it was unseasonably cold at the start of the week and these would have been very welcome!

There are 3 other comments. It's not really dog friendly. The gate to the beach has a large gap which dogs can squeeze under. There was no hose or outside tap in the garden which made it hard to clean the dog before it came in. There is also no utility space so it means using the bathrooms to clean him.

Secondly the laundry facilities leave a lot to be desired. The washing machine didn't spin properly so clothes were very wet and the tumble dryer was on a £1 coin meter for 20 minutes. Needless to say it didn't dry the clothes.

Thirdly the games provided were incomplete bar one - appreciate that a rental property is bound to have this issue but this was worse than other properties I stayed in previously.

I hope this feedback is useful.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for reviewing Sundown. We were very concerned to hear about the problems you had and contacted the Owners immediately so that they were able to investigate. We're happy to say that as a result, the Owners have appointed a new Housekeeper who is more able to respond quickly to any appliance breakdowns and to head up the team of cleaners so that things such as logs won't be inadvertently overlooked. The tumble-drier is being replaced early in 2014 and the utility-area has been renovated over the winter. We also passed on your suggestions for an outside tap for four legged guests - we agree that's a great idea. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Cornwall and would come back again soon. Tanya, Customer Support


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.