Little Bessemer is tucked away in the heart of this beautiful village, with a wonderful sub-tropical garden - inspiring whatever the time of year.
The coast line in this part of North Devon is beautiful. A mixture of stunning cliffs and sandy coves.
The fully enclosed garden is magical, with a hidden seat around a corner by the brook as well as the patio outside the cottage.
Looking across the living-area towards the dining-room/garden-room in this bright and cheerful cottage.
With windows on two sides and French windows to the garden, the dining-room is a bright and sunny room.
The living-room has a really well-equipped kitchen at the far end.
The bedroom is calm and luxurious with lovely bed linens and an en suite shower-room.
This tranquil place to sit is tucked away in a little corner next to the stream.
This is the path to the cottage from the road where you can drop off your luggage. Parking is just 100 yards away in the village centre - there is a dedicated space for you.
In the summer the garden is semi-tropical.
Pretty Watermouth Harbour is just a half mile walk - uphill on the way back!
The harbour at Ilfracombe - catch a ferry over to Lundy Island for a wonderful day out.
This is the bay at Combe Martin just along the coast from Berrynarbour - a 5 minute drive.
The Exmoor National Park meets the North Devon coast giving you the option to explore the scenery inland as well as along the coast.
This is the wider setting for Little Bessemer. The Owners' home is in the background but the cottage is so very private and sheltered.
Sit on the terrace outside the cottage and take in all the wonderful detail in this special garden.
Berrynarbor is the home of the Flower Pot Men and they can been seen throughout the village.
Berrynarbor has a lovely community-run village shop and stores - a stone's throw from the cottage.
Woolacombe is the nearest sandy beach - miles and miles of it!
Saunton Sands - magical in the evening sun.
Damien Hirst's 'Verity' - looking out to sea from Ilfracombe harbour.
Inland, visit the National Trust estate at Arlington, lovely gardens, historic house, carriage museum and tea shop.

Little Bessemer

1844

2.6 miles E of Ilfracombe / Sleeps 2 + cot

7 Nights from £366 - £690

March 2018

Little Bessemer is an excellent base for touring around North Devon. It is very comfortable for a couple with a dog! What you see on the website is what you get - comfortable accommodation in a friendly village setting. Perfect.


March 2018

A beautiful place to stay comfortable homely spotlessly clean cottage. The garden and surrounding area is delightful. Lovely owners who are willingly to help but also respect your privacy. We will be back next year visit number 8. A very special place.


March 2018

A beautiful, comfortable, cosy cottage in a stunning, idyllic village setting. Within easy driving distance of beautiful beaches and countryside. A lovely old character pub a few minutes walk away and another a few minutes drive. Both serving good food. Cottage owners, very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Dog friendly; as was the whole area and the local pubs. An ideal place to stay to explore this incredible part of Devon.


December 2017

We had a lovely time in Little Bessemer, and thanks to Colin for being so welcoming. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. It is a great retreat even in the middle of winter. There are also so many places to explore in the area in all seasons.


August 2017

Lovely having a private and secure garden where dog remained safe.


July 2017

Perfect little get away. So clean and the bed was very comfortable. Beautiful little self contained garden. You are attached to the owners property but we only saw them once the whole week when we collected our key on the first day. The nearby pub is just over the road and we had a few drinks in there but a word of warning . Don't order the food . Just awful!


June 2017

Lovely Cottage ideally located for north Devon with a beautiful garden and plenty of living space for 2 people with excellent facilities with the very welcoming owners staying next door. Our second stay at this property and we hope to return.


June 2017

An ideal and comfortable location to explore North Devon and all its unspoilt beauty.


March 2017

Very spacious cottage. Light and airy with the most beautiful garden. We had a four night break in April and had two sunny days exploring the area. Colin and Wendy the owners were very helpful and a delicious cream tea was waiting for us on arrival. Lovely beach at Woolacombe and great country walks all round.


March 2017

The cottage exceeded our expectations and our hosts Colin & Wendy were very friendly and welcoming. It's set in a wonderful village location with a beautiful well stocked garden and relaxing well appointed accommodation. It's is perfectly located, only half a mile from Watermouth Bay and ideally situated for visiting the surrounding areas of North Devon and many local attractions. We would recommend visits to the pretty village of Dunster and the N.T. Castle and working Water Mill, Arlington Court, Tarr Steps on Exmoor, Lynmouth and Lynton with the a drive back through the Valley of the Rocks and white knuckle cliff road drive to Heddon Valley not to mention the stunning sandy beaches at Woolacombe and Saunton. There are plenty of good places for eating out including the local pubs and excellent fish & chips at the Dolphin or authentic Italian fare at Giovanni & Lucca on Ilfracombe harbour when you can fit in a viewing of the famous Damien Hurst statue ' Verity'. We look forward to returning again in the near future.


March 2017

We had high expectations for this little cottage after reading the reviews and we weren't disappointed. The owner was welcoming and very helpful and we were greeted with a cream tea on the table. The cottage is well equipped and cosy. The garden is beautiful with a little stream at the bottom - would have been lovely to sit in the garden if the weather was good enough. We plan to return.


August 2016

If you want a beautiful cottage and garden in a lovely part of North Devon, then Little Bessemer is for you. Such a relaxing week with my wife and our little terrier dog who loved running on the sands of Wooolacombe & Saunton. Thoroughly recommended.


July 2016

Probably the best all round accommodation that we have stayed in throughout our many years of travelling around Europe and the British Isles. We intend to return next year.


June 2016

Little Bessemer ticked all the boxes for a dog-friendly country cottage. We cannot recommend it highly enough.


May 2016

Lovely, comfortable and very well-equipped cottage in a welcoming village.The owners were very helpful suggesting places and things to see, but were not intrusive.


May 2016

Lovely little cottage. Very much enjoyed by us and our dog because of its proximity to lovely walks and beaches


April 2016

a beautiful little cottage in a stunning location


March 2016

Little Bessemer is a beautiful cottage in a wonderful setting. An incredibly peaceful and pretty village, the cottage has a gorgeous garden to enjoy and there is a very good pub serving excellent food only a few steps away.


January 2016

This cottage took us by surprise with its modern decor and Beutiful Village location, excellent value for money and only a short drive to Coombe Martin, Illfracombe and Woolacombe or the larger Barnstable , all places we took in on our 5 day stay, Excellent value for money and would love to go back again.


October 2015

The cottage was comfortable and warm and in a good location. It was more than suitable for our needs. Most enjoyable.Very relaxing and close to all amenities we required.


October 2015

Beautifully located in a thriving village yet tucked away in a secluded spot.


July 2015

Lovely sunny private garden. Wonderful central village location. Had everything we needed.


July 2015

Lovely, cosy and well equipped cottage. Beautiful and secluded garden with sunny patio. The cream tea on arrival and fresh flowers were lovely touches. The village is very picturesque, everyone is friendly, and the local pub serves good food and is dog friendly. Overall, a very enjoyable stay.


June 2015

One of the best cottages we've been to and we have been to many.


May 2015

This is a very beautiful little cottage with beautiful gardens surroundings all round. Highly recommended.


April 2015

An outstanding property with exclusive use of a beautiful garden. During our stay there was absolutely nothing we wanted which was not provided. Excellent in every way.


April 2015

Great peace and quiet............strangely almost too quiet to be true.... Nice decor and garden with stream , idylic gettaway......

The Globe Inn, Great food................ no overbearing hosts either.....


April 2015

Little Bessemer is a delightful cottage in a quiet, friendly village with an excellent local pub in walking distance. The furnishings and equipment are all to the highest standard. We particularly enjoyed the garden and the cream tea on arrival. We would highly recommend this little cottage.


March 2015

Idyllic location, comfortable tastefully decorated cottage, home from home. I never want to leave it is a very special place.


July 2014

Beautiful little cottage and garden, owner very nice to us, enjoyed her complementry scones! Our little yorkie dog loved the garden, also pub and food over the road just right for meals e.t.c. A great place to see the area from and enjot the coast with superb walks, weather was 25 to 30, so for us a fantastic holiday!!


May 2014

Picturesque village location Lovely well equipped & clean cottage Beautiful & peaceful garden


May 2014

Lovely cottage and garden. Quiet location but with easy access to local amenities and attractions.


March 2014

A beautiful place to stay, so relaxing away from all the stresses of life. The cottage is private well equiped you have your own garden to sit in and wendy and colin always give you a warm welcome.


October 2013

Lovely little cottage in a lovely village. Great pub close by with excellent food. Very dog friendly village. Tarr Steps quite near for a great day with dog. Good beaches close by.


September 2013

Very comfortable accomodation in quiet location


July 2013

Lovely cottage with beautiful garden and excellent welcoming pub. Everything you could ever need provided in the cottage and the description of the cottage on the website was an accurate description of what you found, very refreshing. Best weeks holiday we have had in a long time. The weather did help! Beautiful beaches, gardens and walks everywhere.


June 2013

Location, and dog friendly and one of the few properties that caters for couples. Ease of car parking and proximity of local shop. Most local points of interest within easy reach of cottage. Although the owners shared the building as the cottage is an annex to Bessamer Thatch, they were very unobtrusive and most helpful in recommending places to visit.


May 2013

We had a wonderful time at this cosy place. From the moment we arrived we started to relax. We were cordially received with fresh garden flowers and cream tea.


May 2013

Would recommend to all our friends


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.