Barbridge Cottage nestles in a natural bowl in the surrounding hills. It is just above the owner's home, yet feels very private.
The sitting-room has French doors onto the rear terrace and the wood-burner makes it a great place to stay any time of year.
The open plan kitchen/dining-area has a working Aga and modern electric hob.
The countryside around Barbridge is stunning, ancient hillsides and wonderful views.
The stunning Jurassic cliffs at West Bay. Have lunch at the Watch House cafe - right on the beach.
The lovely sheltered terrace has unspoilt countryside views, perfect for al fresco dining.
The cottage has a lovely open plan design that allows you to spend time together.
The kitchen is fully equipped and creates a very sociable open space.
The master en-suite bedroom has French doors leading out onto the rear terrrace.
The spacious en suite bathroom.
The twin-room is bright and cheerful.
The large wet-room can be accessed via the bathroom, or directly from the hallway.
Parking is directly in front of the cottage.
Barbridge Farm often has visiting sheep and cute little lambs.
Meet the chickens!
The spacious utility-room has all the appliances that you will need.
There is a short unmade track from the main road up to the cottage. There is an ancient drover's track off it - a great first walk to find out about your surroundings.
You will be welcome to explore the farm -  just ask the owners - and to watch the wildlife using the lake. Please take care and supervise children at all times.
The Half Moon pub in Melplash is one mile away.
West Bay has the nearest beach to Barbridge Cottage - this is the pretty harbour there.
This is the beach at Seatown, just below Dorset's famous Golden Cap. There is a lovely pub here too, perfect for lazy seaside lunches.
This is the view from the hilltop above Barbridge - a lovely place to walk to and just sit and relax.
The large sheltered terrace at the rear of Barbridge Cottage.
The cosy wood-burner, perfect for a snug night in.
These are the stunning gardens at Mapperton House near Beaminster, filming location for Far from the Madding Crowd.
The surrounding countryside is stunning.
Athelhampton House is just the other side of Dorchester.
Lovely Bridport - recently shortlisted as High Street of the Year and voted 3rd in Britain's Best Market Towns by BBC Countryfile Awards!
Visit Forde Abbey - an easy drive and a lovely day out.
The stunning Jurassic coastline from Weymouth's seafront.

Barbridge Cottage

1805

3.8 miles N of Bridport / Sleeps 4 + cot*

7 Nights from £518 - £1191

May 2018

Beautiful cottage exceptional presntation, made to feel very welcomed by owners. Would definately reccomended as a holiday destination.


March 2018

The cottage is very peaceful and welcoming place to come home to after being out and about enjoying the beautiful area.


March 2018

What a comfortable cottage in which to spend a few peaceful days. I particularly enjoyed the view through the bedroom window with the sun on the hill in the mornings. Our holiday was enhanced by the hosts, Sally and Justin talking us through special walks and restaurants to try. There is so much to see and do here in this part of Dorset. We would love to come back. Oh and the welcome basket was fab! Jill and Izzie


September 2017

Warm Welcome from owners with home made cakes, milk, sausages , butter and bread all waiting for us which was a lovely gesture. Cottage is well placed to explore Dorset and we thoroughly enjoyed the homely feel to the cottage. Three toilets for 2 bedrooms - wonderful! Well equipped and clean. Particularly recommend for those with a disability as all aids (and a wet room) in place, including a ramp. These facilities must be rare in holiday cottages.


August 2017

We had a wonderful time at Barbridge cottage and would highly recommend it. Everything was perfect, from the idyllic setting and friendly and informative hosts to the comfortable and thoughtfully decorated cottage. The surrounding area has lots of lovely places to visit, from the beach at West Bay to the stunning cliff walks to the restaurants at Beaminster/Bridport. We would love to come back and stay in the future.


August 2017

I would strongly recommend this cottage.The owners couldn't be more helpful and friendly.It is decorated beautifully and is very well equipped.The location is also perfect to easily travel around.


August 2017

Justin and Sally made us feel very welcome. The cottage was perfect and we had an excellent holiday. We would definitely like to visit again.


July 2017

Barbridge Cottage is well worth a visit, aware of the fact that in the distance, there is the background noise of the traffic on the main road. But in the evenings - this is compensated by the peace of the surrounding countryside and views. We have booked to go again.


June 2017

Really lovely cottage well cared for , and lots of nice touches such as welcome pack and produce from the area.


May 2017

The cottage is in a lovely spot, so handy for not only the coast, but also for exploring inland. It is so peaceful, and yet not far from all amenities. It's a gem. Having been to many cottages over the years, this is definitely our favourite. It feels like a home rather than a rental property which is not always the case, and the welcome given by the owners, Justin & Sally Walton is so friendly, helpful and attentive - nothing is too much trouble. This was our fourth visit, and we hope we will be back for many more. We love it!


April 2017

This is a very spacious cottage with every convenience provided.


April 2017

A very well eqipped and comfortable cottage in quiet idyllic surroundings but close to an area with so much to do. A brilliant choice for a week's holiday. Charming and helpful owners.


March 2017

Welcoming and co-operative owners. The cottage is bright and airy with interesting views from nearly every window. Despite the proximity of the road, there is very little road noise and at night is quiet as a beetles hum.


February 2017

An amazing cottage, warm, well equipped and lovely owners who made us very welcome.


December 2016

A wonderful place to stay. Lots of room and very well equipped. Use of the Aga was appreciated. A very good location to explore the Jurassic coast. We will definitely stay again.


October 2016

This is our second stay & everything was up to its previous standard. We were greeted & treated like special guests & every facility is available for comfort & relaxation. Location is perfect to get out & about.


July 2016

Beautiful cottage and location. Thank you Justin and Sally for your welcome.


July 2016

Very friendly owners, secluded and quite with superb small lake to walk around. Nothing was too much trouble.


April 2016

This is a superb cottage with friendly welcoming owners. A real home from home - we love it! It is our favourite holiday cottage having been going to cottages for over 30 years. Very good for those with less mobility - slope up to front door which avoids steps, wide doors and a walk-in shower. A very good welcome pack and little extra touches make it special.


March 2016

In an excellent setting. The owners were very welcoming and always available for any queries about the cottage, and information on the area. As a wheelchair user I found the cottage excellent with wide doorways and a wet room.


February 2016

Thoroughly recommended. Good position, very quiet, private and well equipped. Beautifully clean, lovely extras as a welcome. Couldn't wish for more. A well prepared, restful break.


December 2015

You would be hard pressed to better this lovely cottage. It has been a real find & we hope to get back there.


October 2015

We would highly recommend this cottage. It is comfortable, well furnished, well equipped and the hospitality of the owners was exceptional. The setting is beautiful and it was easy to reach the Dorset attractions. We loved it and were really sorry to leave.


October 2015

We loved everything about this cottage. Comfortable, clean and spacious with beautiful decor.


August 2015

The property and location could not have been more perfect for us. Justin and Sally, the owners living next door, were unbelievably helpful and generous with their time and made every effort to make sure that our short stay in Dorset was the very best that it could be. We really do hope to return one day but maybe after the trip to California, suggested by Sally.


August 2015

This was a fantastic cottage, all we could have wished for. Owners very welcoming everything in the cottage we needed. There was a home baked carrot cake and a bottle of fizz in the fridge plus two ice lollies in the freezer for the grandchildren. Much appreciated after the long drive. Kids loved the chickens. We all really enjoyed our stay.


August 2015

A great location for exploring Dorset. Lovely place to come back to set in rolling countryside. Such a warm welcome from the owners with a wonderful pack of local and homemade provisions. The chickens are so entertaining too!


July 2015

We loved our stay at Barbridge Cottage - everything was just wonderful. From being greeted by Justin and Sally on arrival, receiving a welcome hamper which included home made cake and a lovely bottle of wine!
Our 6 year old boy loved collecting eggs from the chickens and fishing on the lake on the farm. We had wonderful days out at places recommended by Justin and Sally. They really made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage is so well equipped and would be ideal for anyone with mobility problems it is spacious and everything is easily accessible. This is a very special place and we would love to return one day.


July 2015

We would just like to say that the owners Justin and Sally were such lovely people and most helpful and welcoming. We would not hesitate to stay at Barbridge Cottage again. The cottage was outstanding and very comfortable and very well equipped. We were happy in every respect and could not fault the property or the lovely owners (and all the fluffy friends!!)


May 2015

Our seventh yearly visit to Barbridge so we like it. Really suitable for our disabled son. Sally and Justin the new owners really welcoming, friendly and helpful. If you want a quiet holiday its a great place to stay.


April 2015

The additional 'welcome' basket of fresh eggs, butter, milk, bread, marmalade and carrot cake was extra special and very much appreciated. The owners could not have been more welcoming and friendly. This is one of the best cottages we have stayed in over 30 years. We cannot speak too highly of the cottage and owners! thoroughly recommend.This is a five star cottage to us!


April 2015

Cottage was outstanding , we have stayed at many self-catering accommodations but this has out shone them all, we would give this a 5 star rating.

The welcome gift was much appreciated a lovely touch and the miniature carrot cakes went down very well thank you for making us feel so welcomed.

Will definately return to this outstanding cottage and recommend to our friends .


April 2015

Great location and fantastic views.


March 2015

A warm welcome from friendly helpful owners. The cottage has lovely decor, also warm and spacious. Good location for relaxation and/or exploring local area. We would like to visit again in the future.


November 2014

Would definitely be happy to return to this well equipped cottage which felt like a home from home.


September 2014

Just a lovely cottage in great surroundings , making for a comfortable relaxing break .


September 2014

This holiday cottage is all if not more than the accompanying pictures depict a perfect place to enjoy a holiday with all its comforts of home ,the wonderful Dorset country side and the Jurassic coast line to go fossil hunting .


September 2014

Beautiful cottage in a lovely location.


July 2014

An outstanding holiday home that immediately 'FEELS LIKE HOME' set in breath-taking surroundings. You will feel calm immediately and start re-energising! Beware, the photos don't do the cottage justice - it is even more beautiful in real life! Great for the whole family!


June 2014

Nice owners. Lovely accommodation, beautiful views. Lots of good food pubs. Chickens and Cockerel were funny too. Thoroughly recommended for a peaceful holiday.


March 2014

The owners were delightful people and we received such a warm welcome from them - along with a generous and delicious welcome pack including eggs from the farm and home made bread and cake.


March 2014

We both really enjoyed our stay at the cottage - it was lovely and spacious and modern and felt very luxurious.


October 2013

Barbridge Cottage is very comfortable and in a very pretty spot. Access to the coast and pretty villages inland is easy. The owners, Sue and Paul are extremely friendly and will do everything they can to ensure you have a good holiday, recommending places to eat and visit. We thorough enjoyed our holiday and hope to be back again soon.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.