Stable Tallet is a beautiful barn conversion to one side of the historic farmstead here, in its own gardens and with its own driveway.
There is a spacious living-room with comfortable sofas and a wood-burner effect electric stove in the fireplace.
The farmhouse-style kitchen has flagstone floors and is equipped as a home-from-home.
The hot tub is on the terrace at the back of the cottage.
There is an excellent games room for all ages of children (and grown ups !)
You have sole use of the fishing lake next to the cottage - safely fenced but of course supervise children when you go to the lake together.
Hopefully you won't have any rainy days, but if you do, this excellent games room is just the answer.
This is the dining-area of the kitchen, with its lovely farmhouse kitchen table.
Start the day with some treats....
... and end it in the same way!
There is a great tradition in this area for local produce - River Cottage is nearby!
This is the double bedroom on the first floor.
The room is bright and airy with views over the fields.
The en suite is at the far end of the room.
This is the en suite shower-room for the first floor double bedroom.
This is the first floor twin bedroom.
There is plenty of space in the bedroom.
Deep windowsills add to the character of this barn conversion.
Enjoy some lazy starts to the day.
This pretty single bedroom is also on the first floor.
The single bedroom overlooks the hot tub and the garden beyond.
This is the family bathroom.
The bath has a useful shower attachment - there are two other showers in the property too of course.
This is the ground floor double bedroom.
There are lovely wooden floors.
Another view of the ground floor bedroom - it has a little fitted shower cubicle in one corner.
Enjoy your holiday and start the day with breakfast in bed.
The farm is set in a gentle valley about a mile from the little town of Colyton.
The hot tub is on the terrace with the garden in front.
Seaton has a pretty harbour as well as the long pebbled beach.
The coastal town of Seaton is just a few miles away. This is the brand new Jurassic Visitor Centre - a great place to visit with young children.
The famous Seaton Tramway is a must! There is a station in Colyton and the route along the Axe Valley is beautiful.
Another newly created visitor attraction is the Seaton Wetlands - a peaceful nature reserve which attracts many species of birds.
Some of the other residents at the farm.
There is a fabulous play-area for children in the garden - as well as the games-room.
You can visit the Seaton Wetlands any time but the bird hides are not open every day so do check.
Have a lovely time at this excellent family-friendly property

Stable Tallet

1719

1.6 miles NW of Colyton / Sleeps 7 + 2 cots

30% off for parties of 4 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

7 Nights from £681 - £1865

September 2018

very peaceful and quiet and relaxing the HOT TUB A BONUS


August 2018

This is the second time we have been, and we really enjoyed it again. It is really relaxing, and when the hot tub is not enough, the games room has pool, table tennis, air hockey, darts, table football and soom other outdoor games.
The cottage kitchen is well stocked. The owner is very friendly and is always willing to help. Its really good to go with the extended family, and the layout gives them space if they need it. Driving to the farm can be hard to navigate due to the country lanes, but this is Devon. The family are already talking about going back.


August 2018

I would totally recommend staying in this beautiful cottage . We stayed here end of August and it was beautiful . Everything you could need had already been thought of and was there . The attention to detail was excellent and the owner was very helpful . It also had a lovely hot tub which was a lovely extra , the beds were really comfy and even though it is next to a working farm , you really couldn’t hear much noise at all , although we did sometimes hear the cows lol . I honestly really do recommend this cottage for families it is beautiful . They also have a games room which our children loved , so there is something for everyone to do . Xx


July 2018

Extremely comfortable and well equipped. Fabulous location easy reach of places to visit. Owner extremely helpful. Definitely would go back.


June 2018

We had a wonderful holiday at Stable Tallet. Everything was perfect..a five star property in every way. Many thanks to the owner.


April 2018

Lovely property ideal for a extended family stay. Perfect for a spring break and a chance to see the sea, get some fresh air and see some lovely countryside.


February 2018

Extremely well equipped cottage in a perfect peaceful location. Plenty for the kids to do, and would not hesitate to return.


January 2018

We had a lovely stay here, we're both very hyper people who can find it difficult to relax but it certainly wasn't difficult here! So peaceful and relaxing, we slept amazingly despite lounging around all day! We'll definitely be back with our baby once he's been born to spend some quality family time together. We paticularly enjoyed the table tennis when we eventually decided to be a bit active! Our only suggestion would be a disco ball in the games room! In our opinion this is the only improvement that could be made!! Thank you for a lovely stay. We'll see you again soon.


November 2017

Very good base for a family holiday in East Devon, with excellent facilities for all age groups in our party.


November 2017

We really enjoyed the location, fantastic views across the countryside. The hot tub was an excellent addition. The kitchen was very well equipped, and the little extras provided by the owner were lovely. Flowers on arrival and cookies and milk.


October 2017

The cottage is in a lovely location, and had everything we could have needed and more. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The property was very spacious with great views. We will definitely be going back.


August 2017

Stable Tallet was of exceptional standard. We loved our stay there & would highly recommend it.


December 2016

A fantastic cottage. We all loved the warm and welcoming feel, especially the Christmas tree and mince pies. The games room was great with a plentiful supply of table tennis bats, cues and all sorts for the various activities. Then there was the hot tub too! Midnight, New Year's Eve in the hot tub is one we won't forget. Thank you for such a lovely, relaxing holiday in a quiet and peaceful location. A beautiful part of Devon.


September 2016

This property was faultless. From the time we walk through the door till the time we walked out I couldn't fault anything. The homely touches made you feel so at home. The welcome pack with the fresh flowers on the table was such a lovely thought and so welcoming. My families ages ranges from 29 - 88 and we all loved this property so much, My parent had the downstairs bedroom and cloakroom which was ideal for them. A great all rounder


August 2016

The cottage is too far to walk into Colyton . The lanes are very narrow so if you have a big car beware of the hedges and on coming traffic, common sense really. The cottage itself is on a working farm so be prepared for the flies,smell and noise. The milk tanker,the tractors,cockerel and the droning noise coming from one of the barns also the puppy is in there as well ( its not all the time but enough to irritate ) The animals were lovely to see for our 18 month old granddaughter. The house is spacious and a nice outdoor area for children to play. BBQ was nice to have. Games room was nice to have, ask for the darts, the pool balls don't release easily. Ping pong good. Take your own toys for the little ones. Location was ok roughly about 30 minutes to and hour or so to the places we wanted to visit.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review, and we're glad that your granddaughter enjoyed the farm animals - we do advertise that this is part of a working farm, and of course that does involve being close to the day to day workings. The Owner has checked the pool table and unfortunately found that a ping pong ball had become wedged in the mechanism - this has now been removed and the table is functioning correctly, so thanks for letting us know. Tanya, Customer Support


August 2016

We had a lovely family holiday at Stable Tallet and would consider going again. Beautiful cottage in lovely surroundings. We didnt want for anything. Well positioned for days out visiting local beaches. Would recommend getting the park and ride bus if going to Lyme Regis as there are very few parking spaces. Also tram was a very nice way to getting into Seaton.


June 2016

It was very picturesque, a nice base to explore.


June 2016

Fantastic cottage with everything you could possibly need. Gorgeous location and welcoming owners.


February 2016

The cottage was wonderful. The owners could not have been more accommodating! Thank you for accomodating our hen party! We had a truly wonderful weekend!


February 2016

This is a remote but beautiful spot to stay, with a cottage that includes everything you could possibly want for a great family holiday. We would definitely come back again. It is excellent value for money too.


August 2015

A cottage with fantastic facilities, a well equipped kitchen for making meals for any time of the day and plenty of room. A nice garden with great play equipment for the kids and a great games room with table tennis, pool, fussball, and air hockey.


July 2015

This cottage was perfect for 3 generations of our family, aged 69 down to 2 and a half. We all loved the hot-tub. The location was great and the cottage was clean, well equipped and comfortable.


July 2015

excellent relaxing location and first class accommodation


May 2015

Had a fantastic holiday at Stable Tallet. All three generations were catered for. The children loved the games room and swing, while the adults enjoyed the hot tub at the end of the day. A beautiful location, would recommend to anyone.


October 2014

We were made to feel so welcome - Sandra was just so helpful and accommodating. We stayed to help in the preparation for our sons wedding at the church in the photos attached to this accommodation and we just couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The hot tub was a great success and helped the whole family to relax before the big day. Truly couldn't recommend highly enough.


August 2014

We would recommend this cottage to anyone


April 2014

We had a lovely time in a lovely cottage. Suitable location for a fantastic family holiday


March 2014

A lovely gem of a property and great value too. Excellent space for young children and families well catered for. We will be recommending this to our friends.


March 2014

Amazing hot tub, house all that you would expect and more. The children didn't want to go home!!


December 2013

The perfect escape, just a shame about the weather. However this didn't stop us from making full use of the gorgeous hot tub under the stars. Everything we needed was in the house, fully equipped for children with the added bonus of the games room. We felt so cosy in your cottage, we'd love to come back.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review of Stable Tallet - we're delighted that you weren't deterred by the New Year storms and that you had a great stay regardless - a winter's evening in the hot tub sounds fabulous! Tanya, Customer Support


November 2013

Excellent, will return


October 2013

We had a lovely time at the cottage and great for the kids to experience the working farm. Lovely for the kids that the farmers were so friendly and gave us a tour. The games room was great and the fishing and close to some lovely beaches and attractions.


July 2013

We have a young family and it gave us a games room, outside play area and facilities to occupy everyone no matter what the weather. It's location on the Devon/Dorset border opened up 2 beautiful counties to explore. We had a great holiday at Stable Tallet and have no real issues with the accommodation, it was just very expensive considering the quality of the decor/furnishings etc in comparison to places we have stayed previously with classic cottages. Also I realise that it's on a farm and in the countryside but we had to remove 8 spiders on the evening we arrived as my 4 year old daughter wouldn't go to bed with them in the rooms. After we removed them we didn't see that many for the whole rest of the week. Might also be worth noting that Shute Barton which is pictured on the Stable Talket details page, (being a National Trust property near Stable Talet), is only open 4 weekends a year which we were disappointed to discover when we went to visit it. Overall we were a little disappointed with our holiday accommodation for the money, but had a great holiday as its in a great part of the country, the weather was perfect. We were very impressed with the games room, toys, facilities and supplies for children/baby - made it very easy to occupy them and enjoy our holiday which was great.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your comments about Stable Tallet. We're sorry that you had to contend with some spiders on arrival - they do sneak in through the smallest of gaps, and it can be difficult to get each and every one out if they're hiding! We do appreciate that if your daughter isn't a huge fan of spiders, it could have been difficult to get her off to bed, so apologies for any disruption this caused. Whilst we may mention attractions and places to visit in our description, we don't always know the individual opening arrangements for them - however, you can check out the extra details on our sister Web site, Classic Guide - the cottage description pages link to the Classic Guide for more information. We're really glad that you liked the games-room and it kept your party entertained - we hope you had a great holiday overall. Tanya, Customer Support


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.