The courtyard garden at the rear of the cottage is a south-facing sun-trap.
The Sheiling is unexpectedly spacious inside.
The sitting-room has a flat screen television and an open fire.
The sun-room leads out to the sunny patio.
The well-equipped kitchen.
The inner harbour at Golant, just down the road from The Sheiling.
The sitting-room is very comfortably furnished.
The best seat in the house!
The view down to the river from the sitting-area at the side of the property.
Bedroom 1 (ground floor) has a double bed.
Bedroom 2 has a single bed.
The upstairs sitting-room leads through to an en suite 'zip and link' (twin or double) bedroom.
Bedroom 3 has 'zip and link' (double or twin) beds and an en suite shower-room.
The garden faces south and is a wonderful sun-trap.
The children's play-park in Golant, safely fenced by the inner harbour.
The waterside playing field in Golant, perfect for games or sitting and watching the boats.
Par Sands is a short car trip away, perfect for beach games and with parking right by the beach.
One of the beautiful tall ships moored in historic Charlestown harbour.
Readymoney cove.
Mevagissey is a traditional working fishing village, very picturesque and full of old terraced cottages and shops.

The Sheiling

1706

2 miles N of Fowey / Sleeps 5 + cot

30% off for parties of 3 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £478

May 2019

Excellent property, ideal for a family holiday.


September 2018

Great location but that's all

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of The Sheiling - it's great to hear that you liked the location in the lovely village of Golant and we'll be in touch to discuss your feedback further. Kari - Customer Support


June 2018

The Sheiling is a charming, Quirky cottage. It has everything you need and more. If you like it from the pictures you'll love it there. It's perfect. One tip - don't reverse into the driveway. Pull in, reverse out up the hill and go down to the river and turn around.


May 2018

Beautiful spot, lovely walks also hand being close to the fisherman's arms for food in the evenings.


March 2018

The cottage was lovely very comfortable. It had everything you could need. Would stay again.


March 2018

In a very good location, close to Fowey and many walks close by. A good place for two couples sharing or if teenagers need space of their own.


December 2017

Such a lovely feel when you walk in. So homely, such a lovely stay.


August 2017

Fantastic location, easy reach of lots of places. Home from home


June 2017

What can I say, the Sheiling has everything. From a good assortment of quality pots and pans, all with correct lids. Everything a kitchen needs, lovely comfortable bed, (haven't slept so well in ages!) very comfortable furnishings, and that incredible conservatory where we spent a great deal of time. The garden is wonderful with a great many birds and a frog, certainly the garden's natural stream is a real asset, and provides a home to whirligig beetles. Bats fly around in the evening, even a stag beetle came to see me. Cynthia, the housekeeper, was very kind and relaxed and made us feel very welcome. In short, if you want peace and quiet far from the madding crowds, the Sheiling is for you.


October 2016

The cottage is in a quiet and peaceful location, with some good views of the River Fowey, and perfectly situated to visit places such as the Eden Project, Fowey and beaches at Polkerris and Par.


September 2016

A lovely cottage in a quiet village with a friendly pub close to hand.


August 2015

This was the second year that we have stayed at the Shieling. We loved it just as much this year and will definitely return again. Lovely property in an idyllic location peace perfect peace.


May 2015

for the first time on using holiday rental properties we found the beds very comfortable and had, much needed, good restful nights.


April 2015

Very nice property, very comfortable. No hesitation in recommending to others.


April 2015

This was a last minute booking and we weren't sure what to expect, but on the basis of the excellent help we got when booking we were optimistic. We weren't disappointed, great service, great house and a great location for well needed R&R


February 2015

Its not as good as it looks in the publicity.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were so sorry to see that you were unhappy with your choice of property. As you know from our correspondence with you, we are very confident that The Sheiling is honestly and accurately presented with clear photos showing the paved garden area and the extremely comfortable and welcoming interior. It's a real shame that you would have preferred a grassed outside space, but we're glad that you loved the village and thank you for your additional comments about the easy parking and generous provision of fuel for the fire. We'd be delighted to help you find a different property to meet your requirements in the future. Tanya, Customer Support


December 2014

A snug and serene cottage in picturesque Golant and a perfect base for exploring south east Cornwall. Spotlessly clean and very well equipped, The Sheiling is a characterful delight.


September 2014

This house was absolutely perfect - we were a party of 2 couples and we could have our own space or be together quite easily..The location is lovely and relaxing,but equally there is plenty nearby to do. The pub in the village provides good food at reasonable prices for those days when you don't want to cook. An oasis of calm to which we hope to return very soon.


August 2014

Great place to stay if you appreciate peace and tranquility. The cottage is a real gem, well equipped, comfortably furnished with a lovely garden where you can find many different spots to sit and relax, weather permitting.


August 2014

This is a lovely bungalow in a beautiful, friendly village. The local pub ' The Fishermans Arms ' serves excellent food if you don't feel like cooking. You are only a short walk from the river and it is an easy walk as well, not too steep if you are older or pushing a pushchair. There is everything you could need in the cottage, and if it is rainy there are books , records, games and videos etc in abundance. If there is anything you need to know the extremely helpful housekeeper, Cynthia, is close at hand. Everywhere was clean and tidy when we arrived, and I hope it was not too bad when we left !!


July 2014

Fantastic location and the most amazing, peaceful gardens. We enjoyed our time at The Sheiling.


June 2014

We knew what to expect as this was our third stay here. This is a superbly equipped property, full of fascinating memorabilia collected by the owner's mother. We regret we had never met her and listened to the many stories she would have had to tell.

We would have liked to stay long enough to read all the hundreds of books!


April 2014

As a family of 4 adults, one child, a baby and a dog, there was plenty of space at the Sheiling for a comfortable stay. Seemingly everything was provided including bed linen and towels and a huge range of kitchen items. The little touches were appreciated as well, such as the fresh flowers, milk and chocolates on arrival. Our granddaughter loved the little play area by the water. We also used the village pub on a few nights - the food was reasonably priced and of good quality.


September 2013

This cottage was just perfect. Very comfortable and homely and in a lovely area close to the harbour and the pub. Just delightful in every respect. Can't recommend highly enough.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.