Cowslip, with the converted barn which houses the laundry facilities just visible to the right.
The kitchen and dining-area.
The bedroom.
The sitting-area.
Enjoy breakfast outdoors.
Ancient Cornish granite in the garden.
Mevagissey harbour.
Mevagissey.
The shower-room
The kitchen-area.
Cowslip
The entrance to Crift Barns.

Cowslip

1431

6.2 miles NW of Fowey / Sleeps 2 (no children under 16)

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £297

October 2020

We stayed in Cowslip in Croft Barns. The location is through narrow country roads, which was no bother for us but might be for a nervous driver. On the first night we ate at The Crown, a lovely pub with very accommodating staff, who managed to find us a table despite being fully booked. While there a gorgeous young local couple started talking to us and recommended some places to go, one of which was Lantic Bay. The locals are very friendly and the location is perfect for a romantic getaway for a couple. Beautiful walks around and very quiet. We weren't very lucky with the weather, it rained the whole weekend, but it didn't spoil it for us at all as we had all the waterproof gear to keep us dry. The bed is very comfortable and the heaters kept the place warm. A pop up shop is just down from the pub and there is also a farm shop nearby too. The big Tesco is just outside St Austell which isn't very far on the main road. We didn't get to meet the owners due to Covid, but would like to say thank you for a lovely stay. Croft Barns comes highly recommended from us!


September 2020

Beautifully tranquil and remote for a restorative break or romantic getaway! Cowslip is modern and clean inside, well equipped and comfortable. It is great that it is dog friendly and I was able to take my dog for some lovely walks. Would definitely recommend Cowslip to friends seeking to discover the wild rugged beauty of Cornwall!


September 2020

A nice bright cottage, clean and comfortable in glorious countryside. Beautifully quiet away from all the crowds but accessible to so many lovely places.


September 2020

Beautiful, peaceful setting, good base for exploring, good for our four-legged friend too.


August 2020

The cottage was small, cosy and secluded. It would be best suited to couples (with or without dogs) wishing to enjoy a peaceful break, explore the nearby areas and take long countryside walks. There were local supermarkets only a 20 minute drive away in St Austell however if not wishing to travel that far there is also a local pub and farm shop within Lanlivery. Note that the roads into Lanlivery and to the cottage were very narrow country roads should you be a nervous driver.


July 2020

Beautiful, little cottage. Perfect for a couples' retreat to the stunning, Cornish countryside.


September 2019

It was a lovely cottage in a nice area. You only should drive carefully in the narrow streets the last minutes to the cottage. But the english drivers are very friendly! If you travell with your dog there is a dog friendly beach very close and also a forest you can reach in 15minutes.


July 2017

The fact that one can take a small dog was a deciding factor. The position was safe and ideal for a small dog.


June 2017

This cottage was exactly what we had hoped for, quiet and secluded with excellent facilities.


May 2017

Overall we had n excellent stay. it was private, secluded and fulfilled all our needs and my partner was very excited about doing something similar in the future.


April 2017

Very friendly, helpful agents. Quiet and secluded, but easy access to towns and coast.


October 2016

If you're looking for a quiet break far away from the madding crowd this cottage is for you. It's quite small but adequate and has everything you need. The approach lanes might be a bit daunting for some but local drivers are very friendly. A good,place to stay for acces to National Trust and English Heritage properties as well as local resorts.


September 2016

Throughly enjoyed our much need break at Cowslip cottage.Very comfortable and well equipped cottage.Idea location for exploring Cornwall.Lovely dog friendly beach nearby and excellent pub,served good food and the locals were very friendly.The lovely cream tea on arrival was most appreciated,after our journey down.


September 2016

Very peaceful, relaxing location. Very cosy and comfortable cottage.

Julie was very welcoming and accommodating.

Highly recommendable


July 2016

Great cottage, near to popular resorts. Has everything in the cottage you need. And when you arrive super scones and Cornish clotted cream with a pot of tea make the journey worthwhile. 4 Star rating given because of narrow lanes.


August 2015

Nice compact cottage in rural location. Lovely cream tea prepared for arrival and very pleasant owners.


July 2015

Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to explore, Heligan, Lanhydrock, and the Eden Project. A very peaceful place to get away for a restful break. Also good walks on the doorstep.


April 2015

The cottage was very comfortable, well equipped and a great place to spend the Easter weekend. It is very central and close to the A30 to be able to explore as close or as far as you wish.


August 2014

Excellent location if you want a peaceful rural break. Good location for coastal access and inland travel. Would highly recommend.


August 2014

This cottage is in a quiet location and ideal for anyone seeking tranquility. A nice welcome and cream tea awaits you on arrival. The cottage is lovely, well equipped and welcomes dogs. It is well placed for visiting the surrounding area - definitely recommended.


September 2013

Lovely cottage for two people. Very attractive furnshings. Excellent facilities for laundry.


June 2013

We used to live nearby and were visiting old friends.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.