Captain Blake's Retreat is the ultimate get-away-from-it-all hideaway.
Wow, just look at this location!
The open plan living-room is both spacious and stylish.
Just imagine waking up to that view!
Dining al fresco is an absolute must here.
Perched high on the cliff, above stunning Whitsand Bay with no near neighbours and reached only by foot, this is second to none.
There are comfy sofas and a TV for cosy evenings in.
Sit back, relax and watch the comings and goings of coastal life - from sailing vessels to dolphins.
Located on Captain Blake's Point, named after a 17th Century Commander of the Commonwealth who took his last voyage past this coastline.
The panoramic views look towards the Rame Head Heritage Coast in one direction.
The perfect place to enjoy the sun rise and set over the glistening blue sea.
Enjoy lazy mornings and breakfast in bed.
Dive into the king-size bed after a day out and about exploring this 'forgotten corner of Cornwall'.
The bedroom has been beautifully decorated and styled.
Have a leisurely lunch in the great outdoors with the stunning view reaching out in front of you.
The incredible view can be enjoyed from the dining-table too.
The entrance leads straight into the sitting-area, with the kitchen and bedroom beyond.
The interior is just gorgeous.
The toasty wood-burner will keep you cosy out-of-season.
Very well-equipped, the kitchen includes an electric cooker, microwave, dishwasher and fridge (with freezer).
The shower-room is really spacious.
A hot shower awaits after a day exploring the coast path.
Every little detail has been carefully thought out and provided.
What will you spot with the binoculars?
Seeing as you are staying at Captain Blake's Retreat, why not try and learn some Royal Navy lingo?
A nod to the name and the location's past.
Will you spot any dolphins or porpoises?
The theme runs throughout.
Whether you're a captain or not, this is the place to escape from modern life.
Your four-legged friend is more than welcome to join you here.
You'll want to return here time and time again.
The outdoor shower is ideal for rinsing off sandy dogs and bodies.
At low tide, there is a 3 mile stretch of golden sand.
The coast path heads over to the Rame Head Heritage Coast in one direction (the Mount Edgcumbe Estate is well worth a visit).
Exploring the coast path is a must -  tracks lead from the path down to the beach below.
The beach never gets busy, so you can enjoy it as you wish.
Truly a one-of-a-kind location.
Wander along Wiggle Cliff to Captain Blakes's Point.
The perfect getaway.
Lose yourself in this landscape.
A stay here is worth every step from the parking-area.
The nearby pretty twinned villages of Kingsand and Cawsand.
The folly on the Mount Edgcumbe Estate with views across Plymouth Sound to the city of Plymouth.

Captain Blake's Retreat

4330

2.2 miles SE of Whitsand Bay / Sleeps 2 (no children under 12)

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £635

July 2020

This property is superbly located by the sea. Hidden gem.


July 2020

We had a really wonderful stay at Captain Blake’s Retreat. We loved the peaceful location and the amazing views - which were wonderful whatever the weather. It felt like only a short, easy walk from where you parked the car (even though the website says it’s half a mile.) There is also a wheelbarrow to push your bags in, which makes things easier. We were slightly worried that the cottage’s proximity to the Coastal Path, which runs directly past the front of the building, would make it feel a bit overlooked. But in fact, the path runs below the cottage & all the plants that have grown-up hide people’s heads from view & make it feel quite private when you are sitting outside. We thought the cottage was beautifully decorated, well equipped with a very comfortable bed and a fantastic shower. We can’t wait to return next year!


December 2019

Wow, what a property! From booking, to communication with classic cottages to finally Captain Blake’s we couldn’t have asked for anything more. Beautifully located and became our slice of heaven over the New Years holidays. Everything we could have wanted was catered for and the lack of WiFi was welcomed. The surrounding landscape was spectacular and provided many lovely walks for us and our pooches. We truly were sad to leave and look forward to staying again at Captain Blake’s.

Reply from Classic Cottages

It's so lovely to hear that you managed to spend a wonderful few days at Captain Blake's Retreat over the New Year getting some well deserved rest and relaxation following the Christmas madness! That view and those surroundings truly are the perfect antidote to the normal everyday and we do hope to welcome you back again very soon! Bryony, Customer Support


November 2019

Heaven!

Reply from Classic Cottages

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we'd have to agree! Jill, Customer Services


October 2019

Captiain Blake's was a brilliant location for us as we were looking to walk with the dog and generally relax, it was very private and had amazing views, with a comfy (if very squeaky) bed, fantastic shower and equipped with the basics you would need. We had a fantastic week, just a few things that would help to improve things even more, some sort of water-tight box outside for dirty boots would be good and there was no vacuum cleaner or floor mop. We always like to leave things 'spick-and-span' but couldn't keep the place as well as we'd like. All the rubbish goes in to one bin, it would be nice to be able to sort out recycling separately. Tide timetable would be useful, it doesn't go out far and comes in really quickly as we found out when walking back along the beach one day!! Finally, having the keys for all windows and doors would be nice, one window was unlocked so we had to close the shutters every time we went out, we couldn't open the back door from outside, which would have helped with the dirty boots issue too. It's a newish place so I'm sure hope the feedback is useful, we will definitely be looking to return.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you for reviewing Captain Blakes Retreat. We're so pleased that you liked this comfortable and well equipped property with amazing views. We know that the owners will take on board your useful suggestions for future improvements. Alison, Customer Support


September 2019

Great location, comfortable well thought out accommodation. Great welcome from Mount Edgcombe staff. Well worth a visit if you like a bit of isolation, quiet, wildlife, sea and sand, whatever the weather. Will be back.


August 2019

Brilliant location History all around


July 2019

If you have the chance to stay here, take it! It is a stunning location and a fantastic opportunity to completely lose yourself in the Cornwall coast and all it has to offer.


July 2019

We had a wonderful 4 night stay in Captain Blake's Retreat blessed by glorious weather. It would be fabulous in any weather as it is comfortably furnished and the view is so fantastic . Excellent shower room and comfortable bed. Great meal at The View. The beaches are lovely when the tide is out but reaching them is a bit hair-raising as the paths close to the house are very steep and narrow, with nothing to hold on to, so not great for those who don't like heights. Easier access (though still many steps) at Sharrow Beach.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of Captain Blake's Retreat - you certainly had some truly amazing weather to really enjoy those spectacular views! The coastal footpath is located only a few steps from your front door but we do recommend taking extra care on the path to the beach below (we're sure you'd agree that the beautiful beach is worth the climb but we're glad you found an alternative way down at Sharrow Beach). Bryony, Customer Support


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.