Shepherd's Rest sits in its own meadow with ponds and wildlife all around.
A truly idyllic setting.
The spacious interior is just as stunning as the setting.
Every detail carefully handcrafted.
And enjoying the view from all angles.
The brilliant BBQ hut is just across the pond.
Step inside Shepherd's Rest - the kitchen is fully fitted and beautifully finished.
The Hypnos king-size bed is just bliss. With two windows looking out over the meadow, ponds and countryside beyond.
Wake up and enjoy those gorgeous views.
Looking down through the hut to the bespoke, beautifully fitted shower-room, the kitchen has a cute oven with two ring hob and a fridge/freezer too.
With fluffy towels and plenty of space.
With bespoke copper fittings.
And clever use of handcrafted fittings.
The slate top stand with sink finishes this area perfectly.
There is even a unique heated copper towel-rail!
The sweet little wood-burner will keep you nice and toasty in the cooler months.
With lovely little touches throughout this spacious hut.
There is attention to detail all around.
There are special Kilner Jar lights throughout.
You will have everything you need for a very comfortable holiday.
Bring your dog (or two) - they will love this countryside setting.
Take the sun-loungers down to the ponds and soak up the sounds of the countryside and enjoy watching the activity on the water.
Looking out through the double doors to the deck and pond beyond.
The lovely decked-area has plenty of room for al fresco dining with a chiminea too.
Looking pretty as a picture overlooking the meadow and ponds.
Just beyond the lake is your rustic, hand crafted barbecue hut!
Cook and dine in this stunning setting.
What a fabulous addition to this super special shepherd's hut.
It really is is a really hidden treasure.
Cooking up a scrummy supper in the BBQ hut is a must.
Nestled at the other side of the pond.
Looking across the pond back over to stunning Shepherd's Rest.
They can even sleep in their own mini shepherd's hut kennel (if they want) which is situated next door to Shepherd's Rest.
You will see plenty of activity around the ponds.
What's a summer evening without a scrummy barbecue.
You are welcome to try your hand at fishing (please bring your own rods).
The perfect place to escape the stresses and strains of modern life.
Here you can see this secluded location, with the shepherd's hut and barbecue hut nestled into their own spots.
What a wonderful setting.
You are welcome to use the field behind Shepherd's Rest for a picnic or just to enjoy more spectacular views.
The view from the field behind the hut.
Just a short stroll will bring you into the village of Lerryn itself with a traditional village store.
A bird's eye view looking down at Shepherd's Rest with the village of Lerryn in the background.
Just a short stroll will bring you into the village of Lerryn itself with a traditional village store, tea-room and ice cream parlour!
And an amazing selection of home cooked cakes.
And a selection of gin too!
Enjoy the cafe on the creek in the delightful village of Lerryn.
There is a great pub too all within a five to ten minute stroll.
At low tide use the stepping stones to cross the river.
The ancient stone bridge in the village.
At fashionable Fowey enjoy a meal at one of the waterside eateries, wander around the shops and galleries or join a boat trip.
Discover sheltered bays and beaches along this stretch of coastline.
Take a trip to Lanhydrock (NT) with its grand house and beautiful gardens and hire a bike to  explore the network of cycle trails.

Shepherd's Rest

4140

3.5 miles N of Fowey / Sleeps 2 + cot* (no children from 1 to 15)

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £440

September 2020

WOW! WOW! WOW!..The best shepherds hut EVER!!. From the amazing welcome from Nicola and Richard to the lovely treats left for me to the most comfortable bed and relaxing shower ever the hut is just perfect. You should be so proud as every inch is a credit to you and can tell this is your passion. Maisie loved her own field and the new addition of the BBQ hut is just magical. I shall definitely be back and recommending. Sarah & Maisie??


August 2020

We've stayed in a lot of shepherd huts over the years but Shepherd's Rest is by far best. The photographs don't do it justice, it truly is a little piece of heaven!


July 2020

The hosts Richard & Nicola were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A very comfortable, quiet and relaxing experience.


September 2019

Had an amazing long weekend at Shepherd’s rest. A beautiful location and property. The hosts were absolutely lovely. We will be back!


September 2019

This little Shepard’s hut is a little slice of heaven! Absolutely amazing surroundings and lovely interior to the hut. Nicola and Richard have thought of everything. Perfect little peaceful getaway. Couldn’t recommend enough! Thank you so much!


August 2019

It is a wonderful place to stay and really quiet. We really do want to go back soon. Can't fault it in any way.


August 2019

The shepherds rest is a traditional shepherds hut but with all mod cons decking,bar-b-q , and out door seating


August 2019

A perfect and very restful getaway. The hut was beautiful and cosy, had everything that we needed for the week and the dog enjoyed exploring the garden and the variety of walks straight from the door. Nic and Richard were incredibly welcoming too. Would highly recommend!


July 2019

Absolutely beautiful Shepherds hut set in the most peaceful and tranquil surroundings. The owners have really thought of everything to make the hut very well-equipped, comfortable and luxurious. Richard and Nicola couldn’t have been more welcoming. We can’t recommend it highly enough and certainly hope to come back!


July 2019

Shepherds Rest was wonderful. The view from the hut towards the lakes was stunning, we saw so much wild-life. A peaceful haven!


July 2019

Richard and Nic have created the most idyllic getaway location. The hut is beautiful with the most comfiest of beds that you will struggle to get out of. What makes it easier is stepping out into beautiful surroundings, listening to the sheep and the ducks whilst looking over flowering ponds and wonderful Cornish hills. The hut is equipped with everything you need and you can tell a lot of personal thought has gone into ensuring you can relax. Rich and Nic are also wonderful hosts, so friendly and recommend great places to walk, eat and visit. A truly wonderful place that I highly recommend!


July 2019

On arrival the shepherds hut was just as described on line, although somewhat better than the pictures. It has been well designed and built to a high spec, well equipped throughout. We had everything we needed for our 10 day stay which included a small freezer. Nothing was too much trouble for Richard and Nikki. They were friendly and helpful, giving great advice on areas to walk locally from the hut. The grounds had a secured boundary which enabled us to let the dog roam freely. The bed was most comfortable. The peace and tranquility it provided were just what was needed and we didn't want to leave. We are loath to tell others about this piece of heaven, for fear of it becoming too popular and are already planning on a return visit.


July 2019

Stunning Shepard’s Hut in a wonderful location - a really escape and relax experience.


June 2019

What a wonderful holiday! Our stay at Shepherd's Rest was perfect in every way, the owners Nic & Richard made us feel so welcome and what they've created here is a truly special place. The hut is beautiful, spacious, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could possibly need. The cream tea and juice on arrival was a lovely touch and the king size bed is super comfy - the best sleep we've ever had away from home! The location and views are even more beautiful in real life and the pretty village is just a short walk away across a couple of fields with a nice little pub and shop selling groceries and cream teas by the river. There are some lovely walks in the area - thanks to Richard for recommending the walk to St. Winnow where we had a fab homemade pasty and & cup of tea. The only disappointing part of our stay was when it was time to leave. We hope to come back one day. BOOK IT, you won't regret it! Hannah, Dean & Murphy


May 2019

It was the best stay we ever had. Such a loveley place and lovely people. We didn't wanna go and will certainly come back. I can recommend this to everyone, I was in a lot of places and hotels but no 5 star can compare the love and spirituel energy this place has. 10 stars out of 10.


April 2019

Beautiful place, really well equipped in an incredible location!


September 2018

Simply wonderful ! Fantastic owners, beautiful location, brilliant accommodation ..... faultless ! The quality of the hut, both inside and outside, is 10 out of 10. Peaceful environment and stunning views. Friendliness shown by Nic and Richard, the owners, was the icing on the cake. We can guarantee that you will NOT be disappointed by this absolute gem of a retreat.


September 2018

What a lovely couple who made us feel so welcome. It was the first time we had stayed in a Shepherds Hut and it exceeded all our expectations. It was warm and cosy and a great place to get away from it all . You can honestly see that a lot of thought had gone into equipping it out. It was JUST PERFECT and you wont be disappointed.


August 2018

You will not be disappointed if you book this place! Truly glamorous glamping in a great location for exploring east Cornwall. Everything has been thought of. A really special place to stay - peaceful and comfortable, cosy and spacious. My stay made even more wonderful by daily kingfisher sightings so take your binoculars.


July 2018

The Shepherd's Rest absolutly exceeded our expectations. The area around the cottage is beautiful, peaceful and calm, which in combination with the delightful and sunny weather created the opportunity to recover from any stress, tasks and responsibilities we left at home. Although we did not have a car, the hosts provided us with bikes at a very low cost. Admittedly, the hills were tough to climb during long bike trips, but it did, however, provide some great leg training! Our hosts offered us support and tips in order to improve our stay, which we gratefully accepted. It was very easy to get to the sea and the breathtaking neighbouring harbor towns. There were lot of places to go to for eating, shopping and enjoying oneself. Everone who likes long walks along rivers, the sea or in a peaceful forest is at the right place. We happily recommend visiting with a car in order to broaden your choice of destinations!

We had a wonderful stay and got a marvelous impression of the english countryside, and can't wait to come back again someday. We're so cheerful to share this beautiful vacation with others, and helping them find the best place to escape their stressful everday lives like we did.


July 2018

What a lovely place to stay. It's so quiet and piecefull. Very kind and friendly owners. Everything was very good, we got a great welcome with Dutch cheese (from a local farmer) wich was very nice. We had a great week and love to come back some day.


July 2018

We absolutely loved our stay at the Shepherds rest. From the moment we arrived we felt a weight had been lifted. Richard & Nicola are just fabulous, their attention to detail is spot on and they really have thought of everything to make your stay so very welcoming. We will definitely be returning soon and hopefully it’ll be for longer. This place is heaven on wheels. Kate & Paul London


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.