Originally two Coastguard Officer's Cottages, the owners have sympathetically restored Cobb Cottage retaining many original features.
The stylish sitting-room has a Smart TV and BT Vision with sports package and DVD player.
Breakfast on the terrace, what better start to a day with a view across to Lyme Bay and Monmouth beach.
Two courtyard areas either side of the dining-room provide a very tranquil spot.
The large fridge/freezer has plenty of space for all those holiday treats and a few chilled bottles.
The fully glazed terrace is a great place to watch the changing seascape, whatever the weather.
Stairs lead from the snug to the first floor.
Bedroom 3, one of the two double bedrooms, with some lovely vintage features.
Bedroom 1, the  twin room, is perfect for children with its bright colours, both beds are 3ft.
Bedroom 4, another double room with sea views.
The family bathroom on the first floor has a double shower; plenty of space for sandy children.
Breathe in really fresh sea air and enjoy being on holiday. The view from Bedroom 4.
The sitting-room has both modern comfy chairs and those from its original working days.
These beautiful Grade II listed cottages are south-facing so enjoy the sun and sea views.
The ground floor bathroom has a large heated towel rail for toasty warm bathing.
Bedroom 2, the Master Bedroom, has a 6ft 'zip and link' bed which can be made up as two single beds as seen here.
Part of the heritage of this historic Grade II listed cottage.
Fossil hunters will really appreciate this beautiful ammonite, evidence of life on earth from millions of years ago.
The sign on the gate. Cobb Cottage is through the gate and a short way up the little path on the right.
This is the marked parking space for Cobb Cottage, the space beside the tree marked with white paint. The cottage is just above accessed via a footpath.
Hix Oyster and Fish House in Lyme Regis serves fabulous food with magnificent views. Hix offers a 10% discount to Classic Cottages guests for groups of 6 or less. Please show booking information.
The working harbour and the beach at Lyme Regis.
Driftwood on Monmouth beach, 5 minutes from Cobb Cottage, or could it be a Diplodocus?
Drive the Jurassic Coast road between West Bay and Weymouth for stunning views in both directions.
A perfect place to relax, the Hive Beach cafe at Burton Bradstock, serving fabulous locally caught seafood.
West Bay cliff shot, scene of some of the filming for Broadchurch.
Further along the Jurassic Coast Durdle Door is a 'must have' holiday shot.
This is the view as you descend Cobb Road. The little gate is the access path to Cobb Cottage and the parking is just below. Turn right into the car park and the allocated space is at the end on the right.
The iconic Cobb with Golden Cap in the background, the highest point along the south coast at 191 metres.
A cosy wood-burner for those snug evenings in.

Cobb Cottage

3243

Lyme Regis / Sleeps 8 + cot

Book or Reserve Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from £978

An excellent property. Clean, comfortable, very well equipped and plenty of space for a family group. Location is ideal for quick walks to harbour, beach and town. Car parking space is best suited to a small or medium sized car but a great asset in Lyme. Additional spaces can be prearranged with Undercliff guest house.

Would certainly use again and happy to recommend to all.


Great Space , lovely views, well equipped shame about the staircase.


Lovely cottage, perfect location, wish we had stayed another week.


A lovely and comfortable, well-equipped holiday cottage in a good location.


I think the kitchen is amazingly equipped - plenty of glassware, crockery, cutlery and cookware. The appliances are modern and work well. There were also plenty of towels for our stay.

The bathrooms and kitchen were clean, but the porch was covered in sand and the floors inside gritty on arrival. There were also empty sweet and crisp packets under the sofa. The hoover at the property had very poor suction and only worked if you took the floor piece off and used the nozzle. The squeegy mop was also unusable and very dirty. So it was very difficult to remedy this problem.

One of our beds didn't have a sheet on, which we let the housekeeper know about on day 2. They took a day to reply and we were supposed to find a sheet ourselves to put on. The linen cupboard wasn't very well organised so I couldn't find anything suitable, and actually didn't want to spend my holiday doing this! The lightbulb didn't work in one of the rooms - not a big prob but in conjunction with the other issues made it feel that the turnaround clean was done very hastily and wasn't that thorough.

The bin day is Monday, but arrival is Friday. Our bin was already overflowing when we arrived so we had to store half our holiday's rubbish until the bins were emptied. Again we let the housekeeper know about this, but there was no action in remedying this other than to tell us when the bin day was.

The outside space was good and easy to use. But a little maintenance would have nade it nicer. For example the parasol cover was broken and the safety pin quick fix on it wasn't doing the trick. 30 mins worth of weeding would make all the difference too around the steps and in the pots.

Another note is that the car parking space is very tight to get into, and reversing in is the best option with a modern day family car. It might be worth mentioning this in the description.

The location is great and there's plenty of room in the cottage. With a bit of extra care in sorting the cleaning it could be a really lovely stay.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review and we're pleased that you found the house so well equipped. We really are sorry for the oversight with the sheet; obviously a resolution was offered with access to the linen cupboard as soon as we were aware but we appreciate that this was inconvenient. It was disappointing to see that so much rubbish had been left by the previous guests - unfortunately it's not possible to dispose of this without a waste transfer licence so we had to hold fire until the scheduled collection. We also shared your comments re the sandy floors, the hoover and the mop with the housekeeper - we appreciate you letting us know. We hope that you djd enjoy your stay overall and we're grateful for you sharing your feedback. Tanya, Customer Support


Beautiful characterful cottage in an excellent location. This was our first visit to Lyme Regis and we had a lovely weekend away with our grown up family and small dog. Loved the town and beaches. The cottage was very stylishly decorated with plenty of space for everyone, very comfortable beds and the kitchen was really well equipped. The sofa in the conservatory was the perfect place to sit with a morning cup of tea and watch the sea view! Would highly recommend!


It was the perfect place to spend Christmas and to relax - the cottage was lovely: characterful, yet with a wonderful modern kitchen, and so warm and cosy. The location was perfect, just what we wanted, with views over Lyme Bay and out to sea. It was so enjoyable to be able to stroll down to the Cobb, to the beautiful beaches and the gardens and along to the vibrant town within minutes. And the "welcome box" of essentials and delicious things was much appreciated. Thank you - we loved it all.


Apart from cutting my foot on an exposed floor tile edge - due to the adjacent tile missing and one of the bedrooms smelling strongly of vomit after the door and window were closed on a warm day - the parking situation pretty much ruined the holiday. This is a property which accommodates eight people - eight people might usually arrive in two cars - the car park has one space for a car as per your details and there are a couple of relatively nearby car parks for the second car but only if you can find a space when returning from a trip out to see nearby sights. First day an hour and twenty minutes to get a space, second time and subsequently the last time we all eight went out to sightsee - an hour and a half to get a parking space! Needless to say we didn’t try again, so we didn’t visit Portland Bill Lighthouse, durdledoor, Dorchester, Weymouth or West Bay as we’d planned because we were fed up of the hassle of trying to park the second car!! If I’d have had some forward notice of this parking problem I’d have booked somewhere else or organised an eight seat vehicle and squeezed it into the space that was allocated. Overall I’m incredibly cross as this problem alone ruined what promised to be a nice holiday - with this in mind I think it’s only fair and reasonable that I get a significant part of the £2500 or so I paid you back as some sort of compensation. Incidentally, this is the first complaint I have ever made about anything in my life - I’m not one these serial moaners and would have taken the cut foot and sicky bedroom issues on the chin as it were - but the lack of adequate parking genuinely dictated the holiday. Fortunately the weather was nice!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for your comments and we're really pleased we've been able to speak with you directly to discuss your concerns and confirm that the floor tile and carpet are being addressed as soon as possible. Cobb Cottage does offer one allocated car parking space in the car park and there are additional pay and display car parks at the top and bottom of the village if required. We do also have a number of properties within our portfolio offering private parking for more than one car so if this is an important factor of your holiday, please don't hesitate to get in touch and we'd be delighted to help. Bryony, Customer Support


High quality cottage with modern interior fixtures and fittings. Excellent location within yards of lots of great places to eat, and equally close to the sandy beach for dipping in the waves.


Excellent family holiday accommodation. Good location, well equipped kitchen, generous space for all the family to relax including our dog.


This was our second visit to Cobb Cottage as a family group - 4 adults and 4 children, we all absolutely love it, the children in particular ask us to book again there is always something for them to do. Very impressed with TV and associated games. The garden is lovely to sit out in and the sea view is excellent. It is also very quite and tranquil, given how close to the beach it is. Children ages, 8, 7, 5, 3 entertained themselves in the garden using various toys and books provided.


We had a very happy multi generational holiday with our family. The cottage was very well equipped and comfortable and is in a great location.


Highly recommended, very comfortable and clean.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for your recommendation - we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kari, Customer Support


Parking was very handy, cottage was in a great location, peaceful and wonderful views, short walk to all the facilities of Lyme Regis and lots of walks on the doorstep. Great to be able to bring our dog.


Second visit to this fabulous cottage


Wonderful location especially for families with young children.


We had a wonderful holiday at Cobb Cottage. It ticked all the boxes for us. We were a family group with three generations including a two year old and small babies. The facilities and the proximity to the beach made it ideal for all needs. The Cottage was very well equipped. Lyme Regis is a wonderful holiday destination and the weather was superb. We loved it. Thank you.


A stunning house with a fabulous location. A lovely welcome hamper and a very well stocked kitchen in all areas.


Lovely 4 bedroom cottage.-


Fabulous place to stay for our Christmas break , really well appointed and a homely feel . Beautiful views and perfect location for walks ,shops and pubs !


Lovely cottage in a beautiful location.


We had a lovely week in Cobb Cottage It is a delightful Cottage in a wonderful location extremely well equipped and furnished and we would recommend it and Classic Cottages without hesitation


We were a family group from age 1 to 93 and we all loved the house. It is in a perfect location, near the bottom of the hill leading up from the Cobb. There were plenty places to 'hang out' in the house. Our favourite was the sun lounge at the front. The welcome pack was very much appreciated, with tea, coffee, chocolate, and with herbs and oils in the pantry it was very homely. Looking forward to our next stay there1


Fantastic location, ideally situated for a stroll along the Cobb. Great kitchen, really well stocked. Would definitely rent again.


Ticked all the boxes and more............


great location - lovely accommodation - a really relaxing break


Fabulous location. Very well equipped. Lovely clean and cosy cottage. Will definately be back.


Perfect location for the whole family. The youngest generation loved crabbing in the harbour and playing on the beach, the oldest generation loved sitting with a drink on the deck and ambling down to the front for a walk along the esplanade and the rest of us loved the ease of having everything to hand, both in the cottage and in the resort.


Excellent well equipped cottage with beautiful views from terrace. Excellent access to Lyme Regis sandy beach and sea front activities.


You should be able to rent Saturday to Saturday, more comfortable outside furniture would be good but otherwise it's an excellent cottage


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.