Mrs Stephens July 2021
A great location and property but needs better cleaning, a new sunshade and some cushions for the outside seats. It has excellent mattresses and kitchen equipment.
Miss Nahas July 2021
Ms Smith July 2021
This was the best cottage we’ve ever had in terms of location, just a short walk to the sandy beach. Perfect for kids of all ages. Very well equipped although the induction hob took a bit of getting used to! The parking space is quite tight for a large car - thank goodness for parking cameras/sensors! Our second car was parked in Holmbush car park at the top of the hill for a week for £50.
Mrs Downton April 2021
Great property, excellent position with a parking space
Dr Wakefield October 2020
An excellent property. Clean, comfortable, very well equipped and plenty of space for a family group. Location is ideal for quick walks to harbour, beach and town. Car parking space is best suited to a small or medium sized car but a great asset in Lyme. Additional spaces can be prearranged with Undercliff guest house.
Would certainly use again and happy to recommend to all.
Mrs Creswick September 2020
Great Space , lovely views, well equipped shame about the staircase.
Mrs Cockle-Hearne September 2020
Lovely cottage, perfect location, wish we had stayed another week.
Mrs Parry August 2020
A lovely and comfortable, well-equipped holiday cottage in a good location.
Ms Freckleton July 2020
I think the kitchen is amazingly equipped - plenty of glassware, crockery, cutlery and cookware. The appliances are modern and work well. There were also plenty of towels for our stay.
The bathrooms and kitchen were clean, but the porch was covered in sand and the floors inside gritty on arrival. There were also empty sweet and crisp packets under the sofa. The hoover at the property had very poor suction and only worked if you took the floor piece off and used the nozzle. The squeegy mop was also unusable and very dirty. So it was very difficult to remedy this problem.
One of our beds didn't have a sheet on, which we let the housekeeper know about on day 2. They took a day to reply and we were supposed to find a sheet ourselves to put on. The linen cupboard wasn't very well organised so I couldn't find anything suitable, and actually didn't want to spend my holiday doing this! The lightbulb didn't work in one of the rooms - not a big prob but in conjunction with the other issues made it feel that the turnaround clean was done very hastily and wasn't that thorough.
The bin day is Monday, but arrival is Friday. Our bin was already overflowing when we arrived so we had to store half our holiday's rubbish until the bins were emptied. Again we let the housekeeper know about this, but there was no action in remedying this other than to tell us when the bin day was.
The outside space was good and easy to use. But a little maintenance would have nade it nicer. For example the parasol cover was broken and the safety pin quick fix on it wasn't doing the trick. 30 mins worth of weeding would make all the difference too around the steps and in the pots.
Another note is that the car parking space is very tight to get into, and reversing in is the best option with a modern day family car. It might be worth mentioning this in the description.
The location is great and there's plenty of room in the cottage. With a bit of extra care in sorting the cleaning it could be a really lovely stay.
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks so much for your review and we're pleased that you found the house so well equipped. We really are sorry for the oversight with the sheet; obviously a resolution was offered with access to the linen cupboard as soon as we were aware but we appreciate that this was inconvenient. It was disappointing to see that so much rubbish had been left by the previous guests - unfortunately it's not possible to dispose of this without a waste transfer licence so we had to hold fire until the scheduled collection. We also shared your comments re the sandy floors, the hoover and the mop with the housekeeper - we appreciate you letting us know. We hope that you djd enjoy your stay overall and we're grateful for you sharing your feedback. Tanya, Customer Support
Mrs Curzon March 2020
Beautiful characterful cottage in an excellent location. This was our first visit to Lyme Regis and we had a lovely weekend away with our grown up family and small dog. Loved the town and beaches. The cottage was very stylishly decorated with plenty of space for everyone, very comfortable beds and the kitchen was really well equipped. The sofa in the conservatory was the perfect place to sit with a morning cup of tea and watch the sea view! Would highly recommend!
Mrs Rogers December 2019
It was the perfect place to spend Christmas and to relax - the cottage was lovely: characterful, yet with a wonderful modern kitchen, and so warm and cosy. The location was perfect, just what we wanted, with views over Lyme Bay and out to sea. It was so enjoyable to be able to stroll down to the Cobb, to the beautiful beaches and the gardens and along to the vibrant town within minutes. And the "welcome box" of essentials and delicious things was much appreciated. Thank you - we loved it all.
Mr Egerton August 2019
Apart from cutting my foot on an exposed floor tile edge - due to the adjacent tile missing and one of the bedrooms smelling strongly of vomit after the door and window were closed on a warm day - the parking situation pretty much ruined the holiday. This is a property which accommodates eight people - eight people might usually arrive in two cars - the car park has one space for a car as per your details and there are a couple of relatively nearby car parks for the second car but only if you can find a space when returning from a trip out to see nearby sights. First day an hour and twenty minutes to get a space, second time and subsequently the last time we all eight went out to sightsee - an hour and a half to get a parking space! Needless to say we didn’t try again, so we didn’t visit Portland Bill Lighthouse, durdledoor, Dorchester, Weymouth or West Bay as we’d planned because we were fed up of the hassle of trying to park the second car!! If I’d have had some forward notice of this parking problem I’d have booked somewhere else or organised an eight seat vehicle and squeezed it into the space that was allocated. Overall I’m incredibly cross as this problem alone ruined what promised to be a nice holiday - with this in mind I think it’s only fair and reasonable that I get a significant part of the £2500 or so I paid you back as some sort of compensation. Incidentally, this is the first complaint I have ever made about anything in my life - I’m not one these serial moaners and would have taken the cut foot and sicky bedroom issues on the chin as it were - but the lack of adequate parking genuinely dictated the holiday. Fortunately the weather was nice!
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thank you so much for your comments and we're really pleased we've been able to speak with you directly to discuss your concerns and confirm that the floor tile and carpet are being addressed as soon as possible. Cobb Cottage does offer one allocated car parking space in the car park and there are additional pay and display car parks at the top and bottom of the village if required. We do also have a number of properties within our portfolio offering private parking for more than one car so if this is an important factor of your holiday, please don't hesitate to get in touch and we'd be delighted to help. Bryony, Customer Support
Mr Johns June 2019
High quality cottage with modern interior fixtures and fittings. Excellent location within yards of lots of great places to eat, and equally close to the sandy beach for dipping in the waves.
Mrs Anai June 2019
Excellent family holiday accommodation. Good location, well equipped kitchen, generous space for all the family to relax including our dog.
Mrs Samji April 2019
This was our second visit to Cobb Cottage as a family group - 4 adults and 4 children, we all absolutely love it, the children in particular ask us to book again there is always something for them to do. Very impressed with TV and associated games. The garden is lovely to sit out in and the sea view is excellent. It is also very quite and tranquil, given how close to the beach it is. Children ages, 8, 7, 5, 3 entertained themselves in the garden using various toys and books provided.
Mrs Percival April 2019
We had a very happy multi generational holiday with our family. The cottage was very well equipped and comfortable and is in a great location.
Mrs Wallis March 2019
Highly recommended, very comfortable and clean.
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for your recommendation - we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kari, Customer Support
Mrs Collins January 2019
Parking was very handy, cottage was in a great location, peaceful and wonderful views, short walk to all the facilities of Lyme Regis and lots of walks on the doorstep. Great to be able to bring our dog.
Mrs Gerrard October 2018
Second visit to this fabulous cottage
Mrs Gillibrand August 2018
Wonderful location especially for families with young children.
Mrs Hall July 2018
We had a wonderful holiday at Cobb Cottage. It ticked all the boxes for us. We were a family group with three generations including a two year old and small babies. The facilities and the proximity to the beach made it ideal for all needs. The Cottage was very well equipped. Lyme Regis is a wonderful holiday destination and the weather was superb. We loved it. Thank you.
Mrs Callen-Organ May 2018
A stunning house with a fabulous location. A lovely welcome hamper and a very well stocked kitchen in all areas.
Mrs Wilson April 2018
Lovely 4 bedroom cottage.-
Mrs Derdak December 2017
Fabulous place to stay for our Christmas break , really well appointed and a homely feel . Beautiful views and perfect location for walks ,shops and pubs !
Mrs Busby September 2017
Lovely cottage in a beautiful location.
Mrs Collins September 2017
We had a lovely week in Cobb Cottage It is a delightful Cottage in a wonderful location extremely well equipped and furnished and we would recommend it and Classic Cottages without hesitation
Mr Hampson June 2017
We were a family group from age 1 to 93 and we all loved the house. It is in a perfect location, near the bottom of the hill leading up from the Cobb. There were plenty places to 'hang out' in the house. Our favourite was the sun lounge at the front. The welcome pack was very much appreciated, with tea, coffee, chocolate, and with herbs and oils in the pantry it was very homely. Looking forward to our next stay there1
Mr Dockings April 2017
Fantastic location, ideally situated for a stroll along the Cobb. Great kitchen, really well stocked. Would definitely rent again.
Mr Cheney April 2017
Ticked all the boxes and more............
Mrs Ralph September 2016
great location - lovely accommodation - a really relaxing break
Mrs Clarke September 2016
Fabulous location. Very well equipped. Lovely clean and cosy cottage. Will definately be back.
Mrs Pitt August 2016
Perfect location for the whole family. The youngest generation loved crabbing in the harbour and playing on the beach, the oldest generation loved sitting with a drink on the deck and ambling down to the front for a walk along the esplanade and the rest of us loved the ease of having everything to hand, both in the cottage and in the resort.
Mrs Trueman August 2016
Excellent well equipped cottage with beautiful views from terrace. Excellent access to Lyme Regis sandy beach and sea front activities.
Mr Kyriazis May 2016
You should be able to rent Saturday to Saturday, more comfortable outside furniture would be good but otherwise it's an excellent cottage
Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.