Beech Cottage is a wonderful five bedroom  farmhouse that comes with a large garden and a 450 acre nature reserve...on the doorstep!
The 450 acre wildlife reserve is literally on the doorstep - through a wooden gate from Beech Cottage.
The spacious living-room has a cosy wood-burner and plenty of room for all the family.
The dining-room is also a garden room, so you can enjoy your meals with the most wonderful views.
Beech Cottage, right on the edge of the Dorset Wildlife Trust's largest nature reserve.
The living-room has views to the front of the cottage and through double doors to the dining/garden room.
This reading-area is part of the open plan living room.
The stunning Jurassic Coast (this is West Bay at Bridport) is just 10 miles away.
Beech Cottage is surrounded by tranquil Dorset Countryside.
The kitchen window looks directly over the nature reserve.
No need to feel isolated in the kitchen, a serving hatch links to the dining-room.
French doors lead from the dining-room to the outside terrace.
The outside decking-area has wonderful views over the Nature Reserve.
This is Fieldfare, a lovely dual-aspect double bedroom with an en suite shower-room.
This is Bluebell, a spacious single bedroom that looks out over the front of the cottage. It has an en suite shower-room.
The separate family bathroom is light and cheery, perfect for a soak at the end of the day.
This is Waxcap, which has twin beds and an en suite shower-room and views to the front of the cottage.
Dragonfly on the first floor, with a wash-basin in the room and also an en suite shower-room.
The view from Dragonfly, right out over the nature reserve.
This is Lichen, the ground floor bedroom. There is a 'zip and link' bed which can become twin beds and a further single bed; a great family room.
Another view of Lichen, on the ground floor, the wet-room is opposite, and a separate cloakroom.
The ground floor wet-room.
This is a view of Golden Cap, an iconic Dorset landmark, towering above the Jurassic Coast.
Afternoon tea on the terrace listening to the birds.
There are some great wildlife books in the Cottage, you can identify all that you have seen on your travels.
Visit Lulworth Cove and if you're feeling energetic take the coast path to Durdle Door.
Durdle Door, viewed from the cliff path.
The iconic Cobb at Lyme Regis.
The Jurassic Coast at West Bay.
This is another iconic West Dorset landmark – Colmer’s Hill at Symonsbury just outside Bridport.
The beach at Seatown, just below Golden Gap.

Beech Cottage

2887

6.8 miles NE of Bridport / Sleeps 9 + 2 cots*

7 Nights from £677 - £1854

October 2017

A very spacious and comfortable cottage in a pretty & peaceful location. Warm & cosy and very clean. Would be perfect for a big family get together especially with 6 toilets! The Nature Reserve staff were very friendly & helpful.


September 2017

Lovely large cottage, well set up for families with children and babies, the travel cot did not have a mattress so bring your own! Lovely quiet location

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for reviewing Beech Cottage and it's great to hear you had a wonderful holiday - the travel cot is a standard design with an in-built mattress, although we know some parents like to bring an addiitional layer. Bryony, Customer Support


August 2017

Lovely large property in a rural location.


June 2017

A perfect place to unwind. Lots of footpaths to explore.


April 2017

Delightful cottage, peaceful, quiet, ideal for bird watchers, walking and relaxation. Would love to go back there again.


April 2017

Lovely Cottage, lovely location, We would have no hesitation in coming to here again.


March 2017

Lovely cottage for a family group to enjoy celebrated my husbands seventy birthday their .


August 2016

Lovely place for a big family holiday.


May 2016

The location of this lovely cottage is perfect for families, it's truly idyllic. The layout is ideal for those families who have someone who has physical difficulties. We booked the cottage to celebrate our Nanny's 95th birthday, and the cottage was perfect for all 8 of us. Our Nanny has limited mobility, so the level access bathroom, with an emergency call system in the bathroom and downstairs bedroom was ideal. The only reasons we haven't graded it 5 stars is because the hot water storage system wasn't sufficient for us all, despite us not all showering every day, and not being better even when we tried taking showers at different times. The standard of cleanliness and general maintenance was another reason for the lower rating. Light bulbs blown, first aid kit items out of date in 2010, furniture needing repairing/replacing, dirty kitchenware, and finding rubbish from previous rentals was disappointing. However, if these things were rectified, then the cottage would absolutely deserve a full 5 stars.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Beech Cottage. We were so sorry to hear that there were some housekeeping oversights - we've passed details to the housekeeping team who have investigated and put measures in place to prevent this from happening again. We're glad that the house generally met your needs well, and hope you had a great stay overall. Tanya, Customer Support


April 2016

A great spacious house that suited a group of 9 people. Fantastic lounge and conservatory surrounded by lots of local wildlife. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


February 2016

Very relaxing. Loved the peace and quiet. fab to heard owls, woodpeckers and be able to walk for mils without getting into the car. Great pub recommendations in info provided.


February 2016

Myself , two sons and their children enjoyed a pleasant and relaxing half-term break in a superb location. The Kingcombe centre cafe was great value and the resident chef was so helpful in many ways


November 2015

I rented the cottage for a family gathering as it was my birthday. It proved to be the ideal spot as it catered for all of us from my four year old grandson through my children and up to my wife and I.

In the summer I am sure it would be perfect for a family holiday.


October 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Beech Cottage and are planning to come back again in the near future.


May 2015

Beech Cottage is a perfect location for those wanting to get away from a hectic lifestyle, and enjoy the attractions nature provides. Wildlife was abundant, and we were thrilled to see badgers close up, right outside the conservatory. The children loved the visitor centre, and enjoyed the half term courses run by Christine and her colleagues. They never once asked for the TV on or to use the Ipad. Success! We will be back.


May 2015

Comfortable cottage with nature on your doorstep. Children's paradise with river really close and lots of animals around, and wonderful wildflowers all hiding in the depths of Dorset.


April 2015

Absolutely idillyic surrounds. A lovely base to explore. not to long a drive to the seaside. Didn't want to leave and will definitely return.


April 2015

We had a wonderful holiday with our family and we would definitely return again


March 2015

Excellent


February 2015

A wonderful break in a delightful cottage. The Kingcombe Centre staff were friendly and accommodating. A delicious last night evening meal was cooked for us all at the cafe and is highly recommended. Lots of beautiful countryside walks too.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.