The spectacular view from the twin bedroom (Bedroom 1).
The view from the kitchen when preparing lunch is pretty good too.
The ceiling to floor door opens to bring the outside in so you can enjoy breakfast with that amazing view and the sounds of the sea.
This little sun-trap is a great spot to enjoy an evening drink, barbecue or simply enjoy the view.
The rather fabulous lower ground floor double bedroom.
Mears Cottage, a modern seaside cottage in a traditional Cornish fishing village.
The sea at Coverack is as big as the sky!
The gorgeous shower-room includes a spacious shower cubicle.
The light open plan living-room with the kitchen at the rear and doorway to the twin bedroom and shower-room (a new wood-burner for has been added).
The twin bedroom is light and spacious and simply furnished.
The stylish and well-equipped kitchen includes a Smeg fridge/freezer.
The stairs down to the double bedroom on the lower ground floor are typically steep cottage stairs, and there are two additional steps at the bottom of the stairs as you turn into the bedroom.
The double bedroom has a door opening out onto steps, but please watch for the uneven paving below as this outside space is not generally for use by guests.
The built-in storage makes the most of the space.
The outside 'deck' includes a padded bench and chairs for relaxing, there is also an outside tap to wash off your beach gear and wetsuits.
The ground floor hallway with the stairs on the right of the picture and the twin bedroom at the end.
Mears Cottage is located just off the South West Coast Path and can be seen on the far left of the photograph.
The view from the coast path looking back towards the bay at Coverack.
The view back to Coverack and the cottage from further up the path.
Chynhalls Point is en route towards the Lizard peninsula which is just over 10 miles away from Coverack passing through this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
The coastal path will also take you into the village in a few short minutes where you will find places to eat, drink and buy some holiday mementos.
Coverack has a large sandy beach at low tide which is safe for swimming and is dog-friendly.
Mears beach at low tide.
You don't have to wander far to dip your toes in the sea.
Coverack has a large bay with lots of room for everyone when the tide is out.
Elizabeth's in the village has wonderful home-made cakes to take away.
The old Lifeboat House is now a fish restaurant. (please note closed in November and not open every day in winter months).
The Roskilly Ponds are a few minutes drive from Coverack, just up the lane from the ice cream parlour.
The Paris offers good food, great local hospitality and a fun quiz night once a week.
The windsurfing school where you can hire a kayak, paddleboard/SUP or take a windsurfing lesson (seasonal).

Mears Cottage

2846

Coverack / Sleeps 4 + cot*

7 Nights from £504 - £1260

October 2018

Fabulous property. Wonderful views, perfect location for walking along the SW coast path and access to local facilities. It was a joy to walk into the living area and see the view - wow!


September 2018

The views are great, but it's a shame they have used the timber rails as they block the view when you are sitting down. The seating is not adequate for 4 people , really only enough for 2 adults. The chair shown in the photo is no longer there and although it's a 3 seater sofa, it would not be particularly comfortable for 3 adults. It's convenient for great walks, the beach and the village although it should be mentioned it is a very steep hill down to the village which may be an issue for someone with limited mobility and the parking at the cottage is not easy, particularly if you have a larger car. Very dog friendly house, village and eating places and the beach is dog friendly from the beginning of September unlike some of the other beaches in Cornwall. Overall a nice cottage bit the seating needs sorting.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you for your review of Mears Cottage; we're pleased you liked it overall. We have noted your comments regarding the wooden fencing but hope we show this clearly in our website photos. We were not aware that the owners had changed the seating but have now asked our Property Manager to update our description to show the new arrangements. Alison, Customer Support


August 2018

We enjoyed the stay at Mears Cottage large. The location and the view are just fantastic! In our opinion, this also makes up for small nails in terms of comfort and cleanliness. In the evening there is nothing better than sitting on the jetty at the harbor, with a drink from the pub and the children while jumping from the jetty to watch the water (long wetsuit necessary!). Hikes can start right outside your door. The place is wonderfully relaxed and free of mass tourism. Insider tip: the Fat Apples & Cafe in Porthallow.


July 2018

A wonderful holiday cottage thats a few minutes walk from the village. Very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Would recommend the kayak hire. Hotel Paris does great food and we had a fun night out on quiz night. Would highly recommend Mears Cottage and hope to return.


July 2018

the Cottage and Coverack are marveless


July 2018

Most cottage accommodations enjoy their view through the small windows of yesteryear. At Mears Cottage they smack you in the face. There's no hiding from the ocean, the sky and the ravishing headland with its gem of a beach


June 2018

Amazing location with superb views - lovely seaside village and very close to coastal path which had spectacular views - also very close to beautiful mears beach!


June 2018

A very comfortable cottage. We were made very welcome . The home made cake was lovely. Daisy the dog loved her new toy and nibbles. The views from the main room are amazing . Just the parking was an issue.


September 2017

Truly a beautiful cottage with fantastic sea views. Classic Cottages explains it perfectly.


July 2017

Fantastic position on Sunny Corner and view is exceptional.


July 2017

Lovely cottage with everything you could need provided. Stunning views and idyllic location.


June 2017

Nice and quiet. We love this part of Cornwall but the property is not suited to 4 adults. Wifi good. Good shower. Views (between the slats when sat down). Cake was tasty. Poor finish to floor. Broken reading light. Only 1 toilet for 4 adults. Overgrown plants outside. More shabby than chic. Very poor value for money. Will not revisit nor recommend Mears nor Classic Cottages. Cheap slatted wood outside the sliding glass doors, flimsy, tatty and contravene building regulations. Bathroom extractor did not work again contravenes Building Regs. Oven door, freezer and bottom shelf of pullout larder had not been cleaned. Check in at 3pm is too late but cleaner did let us park our bags. Only enough comfy seating for 2. The easy chair was not comfortable at all and the forth person had to sit on the even more uncomfortable dining chair. No phone reception. 2 loo rolls for the whole stay was ridiculous - we had to buy our own as the extras supplied were left in the pouring rain. Broken bedroom door downstairs which we kept knocking into. Get the impression the London owners are a bit cynical about what they should provide and sadly would prefer money and effort be spent on improving the shack rather than cake!

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were really sorry and disappointed to read your review of Mears Cottage. We appreciate that its quirky style won't suit all guests, but we do feel that this is clearly and accurately conveyed in our description and accompanying photos. We must admit that we didn't recognise your description of a dirty, ill-equipped cottage, as in our experience it has always been presented well and to our standards We do apologise for the damaged door - this happened during the previous booking and was only found when the guests departed, so there was limited time to try to fix it as the housekeeper explained (it has been addressed now, and a new bulb has been fitted to the reading light). Just to reassure you, the wooden balustrade has been checked and agreed with the buildings inspector, and the bathroom fan is a 'super quiet' model, but definitely works. Obviously this wasn't the right property for you, which we're sorry about, but we hope that you're able to find a more suitable cottage for your next stay in Cornwall.


May 2017

We have been staying in the Falmouth or the South Coast area for over 50 years, this was our favourite ever holiday in Cornwall. Coverack is a small village but we received a friendly greeting from all the local people. Access to the wondeful National Trust coastal paths was fantastic, with breath taking scenery.


April 2017

This was our second stay at Mears Cottage, a repeat booking because we love this property. Perfectly situated in lovely Coverack it overlooks the sea providing panoramic views through its vast windows. Inside is a clean quiet calm space to relax and enjoy after a days walking. We feel so at ease here thanks to all the little welcoming touches, the cake and wine left for us to enjoy, the dog treats and blankets left for our dogs, the general vibe of relax and enjoy. This year had the welcome addition of a very classy but easy to use woodburner which was wonderfully warming on a couple of cooler evenings. This property ticks all the boxes for us we can't speak highly enough of it, we enjoyed all the places we visited in Cornwall but best of all was coming back to Mears each day our home from home for a precious week. We can't wait to return.


June 2016

Would highly recommend Archie's Loft (in the village) for pizzas, Elizabeth's (as shown in the photo's of the property) for pasties and Roskilly's ( also shown in the photo's) which is less than 2 miles away for ice cream and dog walks. The Lizard was fantastic - we visited it on our best day for weather.


May 2016

Excellent location and everything exactly as the brochure showed, in fact it was bigger. Couldn't of wished for a better holiday retreat.


April 2016

Mears Cottage provided us with a light airy beautifully furnished base from which to explore this lovely part of the world. Nothing has been left to chance, everything is carefully thought out to provide guests with a relaxing enjoyable holiday. Immaculately clean, we were welcomed with fresh cake, a pint of milk, a bottle of wine and icecream, just what we needed after a long drive. Our dogs enjoyed their treats and were soon feeling as at home as we did watching the sea from the vast windows. We cannot rate this property highly enough it delivered on all points and we are counting down the weeks until we can return. Coverack has everything you need for a relaxing holiday, a beautiful location, a safe dog friendly beach, local shops for essentials, great fish and chips, a lovely working harbour and best of all, friendly locals everywhere we went. We arrived stressed and tired and left happy and relaxed.


October 2015

Great location with fantastic sea views right on the coast path with a short walk to pub/restaurant /shops. Comfortable and warm even in October. Off road parking a few metres from front door even for an estate car if you back in.


July 2015

Keep this one a secret, don't tell anyone...


June 2015

Excellent views, very welcoming, wine, milk, cake and ice cream awaiting us. Comfortable and homely with outdoor space to relax and have a BBQ. A totally relaxing holiday!


June 2015

a description for the complicated cooker in german language would be helpful

All over we had a wonderful time!!! Thanks for all.


May 2015

A lovely modern cottage with fantastic views through the very large sliding windows.Right on the coastal path and just 2 minute walk down to Coverack.very bright and airy which we loved.Our dog also had a great time and many thanks for the tea,coffee,wine,ice cream,jam and dog treat.We really appreciated this after a long journey.We hope to return but it is so booked up!!


May 2015

Coverack is the perfect village for relaxing. A very quiet location and a lot of "local spirit". Even though we were in Mears Cottage only a week.it was every day like coming home. The dogs also had the perfect holiday with the sea and the coast path nearby. Thank you for a perfect tranquil week.


May 2015

A truly wonderful cottage with some much thought and attention to detail. Fantastic little touches you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Beautiful fresh flowers. A delicious homemade cake, ice cream, organic eggs and a bottle of wine waiting for us. Even the dog had a welcome pack.


September 2014

A wonderfully light and airy house with incredible sea views. A few yards from the coastal path for excellent walking. Very dog-friendly, down to the welcome pack! We really liked the local pub too. Had a very happy week here and will return - many thanks.


August 2014

We spent a beautiful week at the end of August at Mears Cottage. Super views & lovely contemporary decor. Coverack is a special place. A very pretty Cornish fishing village, with everything we needed for a fun relaxing holiday. We will defiantly be returning.


August 2014

This is a great place for peace, quiet, and grand, far-reaching views out to sea. The modern design and palms right outside the window give the place and altogether exotic, almost Caribbean feel!


August 2014

Fantastic location, clean and bright living space with fabulous views across the coast. Highly recommended holiday cottage.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.