In the cooler months snuggle up on the sofa and get cosy around the glow of the woodburner.
Bolankan Barn overlooks fields where grazing sheep and sometimes bouncing lambs are your neighbours!
Your view from the patio terrace.
The beautifully furnished bedroom with those wonderful countryside views and en suite shower-room.
Stylish, light and well equipped kitchen.
Fresh flowers for every guest, often from the owners' garden.
Sit on the patio terrace with a glass or two in this peaceful location.
Breakfast is served.
Your bedroom with comfy king size bed and crisp cotton sheets.
Double walk-in shower with rose head and hand held attachment.
Simply stylish with everything you could need and right next door to the bedroom.
The bedroom leads to the hallway (with handy utility-cupboard) and right into the living-room.
Beautiful detail throughout.
Open plan living, with a touch of Scandi styling.
Cook up a treat, the local produce available in this area beats the supermarkets hands down.
Enjoy a Cornish cream tea, jam on first of course!
The simplicity of some of the beautiful furniture adds a special something to the barn.
You will find some of the owners beautiful pottery around the barn, you can see more if you would like to visit her on-site workshop, and perhaps buy a gift or two to take home.
Colourful soft furnishings and muted blues and greens give a relaxed feel.
What could be nicer than spending time in this relaxing rural retreat.
Bolankan Barn stands totally separate from the Owners' home and Bolankan View (2265) and the windows all face the fields and countryside (apart from the bathroom window).
With the South West Coast Path not far away it's an all year walkers' paradise so bring your boots.
This is the view from your bedroom window across the fields to the village church.
It's the little things that make Bolankan Barn such a special place.
The soft sandy beach at Godrevy.
Whether you visit in summer or in winter, the beaches are simply spectacular.
The views at Rinsey across the mine engines and beyond.
The lane between the barn and the village of Crowan.

Bolankan Barn

2815

5.9 miles E of Hayle / Sleeps 2 + cot* (no children from 1 to 16)

7 Nights from £343 - £745

July 2018

Bolankan Barn exceeded all our expectations - we had a wonderful holiday in a perfect setting. It was the most peaceful location and we were made so welcome by the lovely owners.


May 2018

Lovely property with everything you need. In a great location too!


March 2018

Very peaceful location. Be prepared for very rural country lanes. Nearest local small shop approximately 2 miles away. Would be a property to aid 'recharging batteries'. Owners provided goodies, homemade scones, jam, cream, homemade bread and fresh flowers which was much appreciated.


September 2017

Cannot rate Bolankan barn highly enough. The barn is warm and cosy with a log burner and comfy sofas on a wintery day, yet has a stunning patio view for miles overlooking the church and sheep for a sunny evening. The owners were so welcoming and gave us great tips for days out in Cornwall and nearby. It's really well equipped, clean and plenty of space. Also all windows look out over the hills- great for a quiet getaway! Will definitely recommend to family and friends and would love to go again!


September 2017

Bolankan barn is a lovely place to stay, very well equipped, cosy and comfortable. Nikki and Gavin were very friendly and welcoming, with the cream tea and freshly baked bread on arrival a nice extra touch. The mattress (which has been mentioned in previous reviews) was extremely comfortable! It is in an excellent central location for visiting this part of Cornwall, peaceful and quiet but not too far from anywhere. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to others, and would certainly stay here again.


August 2017

very nice owners,nothing was to much trouble, first class.


July 2017

Great place to relax in and feel spoilt.


June 2017

This was our second visit to this lovely property and we had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. It is well equipped and is in a quiet, rural location so is very peaceful and it is ideally placed for exploring this part if Cornwall. Hosts Nicky and Gavin are very welcoming and provide a delicious cream tea on arrival. We are looking forward to our next visit already.


May 2017

What a fantastic place to spend a week in the Cornish countryside very peaceful and quiet, it's absolutely fantastic. The Cottage is absolutely wonderful,very clean and decorated lovely with everything you could want and more. had a lovely cream tea and fresh flowers waiting for us when we arrived was a lovely touch. The owners are wonderful people would definitely recommend this to anyone.


February 2017

This was our third stay at Bolankan Barn and we were delighted to see that the property was as pristine as on our first visit two years ago. The owners got the Barn ready for us with only two hours' notice and still went out of their way to provide us with home-made bread and a cream tea, fresh flowers and lending us maps for walking. It is clear that they take a real pride in their holiday accommodation, which is why we keep coming back!


September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Bolankan Barn and will be pleased to visit again. The barn is very comfortable and furnished to a high standard. A great place to stay to explore beautiful coasts and countryside of Cornwall.


September 2016

If you are looking for a quiet location this would be it.


August 2016

Delightful retreat to rural Cornwall for two people, close to beaches and in easy reach of lots of lovely places. Gavin and Nicky could not have been more helpful or more welcoming. We enjoyed it immensely.


August 2016

A fantastic cottage in breathtaking countryside.


August 2016

A small space which needs better interior design to maximise holiday comfort. A third of the long main living room goes unused. The view to the church across the fields is indeed lovely but the ugly patio does not match up. A couple of loungers and some patio dressing would make a huge difference. We felt because of this the barn was overpriced. It's situation is not special ( apart from the view) as it is miles away from anywhere you might want to visit. Half an hours drive in most cases. Light sleepers beware: a large ceiling window ( Uncurtained) allows in bright morning summer light. It is quiet and peaceful however. But not worth such a high price.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were really sorry and very surprised to see that Bolankan Barn didn't quite suit your needs, as it really is one of our most popular properties. It is very rural - part of the charm, we feel - and we try very hard to show this within our description and photos. However, the north coast beaches are around a 5 mile drive, and you can pop to the nearby village of Praze (less than 2 miles) for a local bakery, little village shop and pub. Obviously this wasn't quite the right property for you but we hope that you still enjoyed your time in Cornwall overall. Tanya, Customer Support


August 2016

Our third stay at Bolankan Barn and just as enjoyable as the first. A perfect location for walking in all parts of Cornwall. Excellent hopitality from the owners,Nicky and Gavin We will definitely return.


July 2016

Balankan barn is a real gem. The interior is homely, modern, very clean and fresh. There is a fantastic view from the living room. The owners are very helpful.


June 2016

This is our third stay at Bolankan farm (2nd in the barn) and Nicky and Gavin were as welcoming as always. In my revue of the barn last year I commented on the firmness of the mattress and, in my defence, said I probably would return. We booked up again this year as we felt the quality of the rest of the barn was enough to bring us back – which brings me to the mattress. Oh, the NEW mattress! The very comfortable, new mattress! We returned home extremely well rested. We have a very short list of favourite places we return to with Classics and Bolankan barn is now firmly on the list.


June 2016

It is an ideal base for exploring both the south and north coasts of the west of Cornwall plus a very peaceful place to come back to after a busy day out. The owner are excellent and they provide home made scones, jam and bread to go with the Cornish cream that is also provided.


May 2016

Beautiful barn in a peaceful setting. Great location for touring. We will be back!


April 2016

Wonderful cottage in a great location. Many thanks to Nicky & Gavin for all the goodies supplied. Chris & Robert. Bovey Tracey, Devon


April 2016

more imformation on good places to eat.


September 2015

We had a lovely, relaxing week at Bolankan Barn with the farm being ideally located for both coasts, the Lizard and the far west. Praa Sands turned out to be a favourite as it was so easy to get to.

The photo's do not do the barn justice - it is bigger than we expected. Nicky & Gavin have done a fantastic job. We stayed in the other property (Bolankan View) a couple of years ago and can't get over the transformation of the barn.

The only down side for me personally is the mattress - it is a lot firmer than I would choose myself. That said, I don't think it would put me off staying again. Oh, and the home made jam, scones and bread were delicious!


August 2015

A beautifully located, equipped and decorated cottage with all the comforts of home but none of the noise or stress!


July 2015

We loved Bolankan Barn as soon as we entered. The decoration and feel of the barn was a delight and the view from the terrace was beautiful. The welcome from the owners was warm and the home made bread, scones and jam were delicious. We would definitely recommend Bolankan Barn.


June 2015

A lovely hideaway in the middle of nowhere and yet a lot of beautiful places just a short drive away... Imagine the perfect Cornish cottage and right there it is! Thanks again to Nicky and Gavin for leaving a light on when I arrived almost at midnight and making me feel truly welcome during my entire stay. Would really love to come back sometimes!


April 2015

We loved everything about Bolankan Barn. Beautifully converted with stylish and high quality homeware. Very private due to the thoughtful design, peaceful and relaxing and gorgeous sunsets.


March 2015

Great cottage in a lovely location. Owners provided a very useful information guide covering the surrounding area which was valuable. We visited at least two places from it which otherwise we would not have known about


October 2014

The property surpassed our expectations & we received a very warm welcome from Nicky & Gavin and freshly baked scones & bread, organic eggs, milk, clotted cream & home made jam ... just perfect.


September 2014

Very quiet with marvellous views over the local area and delightful sunsets. Situated in the middle of nowhere but very easy to get to anywhere in that part of Cornwall.


September 2014

Great place to stay, peaceful, central for exploring cornwall in comfort.will be returning.


August 2014

This stylish yet cosy property was in a good location between Falmouth and St Ives. We received an extremely warm welcome from the owners, and were able to truly relax, especially on the patio overlooking the fields and village on a sunny evening. We would love to come back.


August 2014

Beautiful barn conversion, top notch. Everything you would ever need and more here. The owners are lovely helpful people and their hens lay the most amazing eggs. The sunsets over the Church are amazing.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.