Shepherd's Delight is set in a truly idyllic setting.
There is a large lakeside decking-area with a barbecue, chiminea and picnic table in front of the hut.
Open up the double stable-doors and make the most of this beautiful and peaceful setting.
This is the front of Shepherd's Delight, with double doors that open up so that you can really be a part of the surroundings.
This really is a very peaceful, romantic setting.
Looking back to Shepherd's Delight from the deck.
A perfect romantic retreat.
The cheerful interior with its little stove for atmospheric evenings - or lazy mornings in bed.
There is a little dining-area next to the wood-burner in the cheerful and cosy interior.
There's a sweet little window looking back up your entrance track alllowing plenty of light into the hut.
The little wood-burner will keep you very cosy and warm on cooler days.
A comfortable double bed is tucked into one end of the shepherd's hut - the en suite is at the other end.
A few games are provided for your use.
You will have all the equipment you will need for your luxury glamping holiday.
The en suite shower-room with shower and proper flushing toilet.
There is a wash-basin with hot and cold running water.
Open up the doors and enjoy that gorgeous view over the lake and countryside beyond.
What a setting for al fresco dining.
There is a chiminea provided for evening outside warmth.
A beautiful way to start the day.
There are a couple of rowing boats provided for your use. Please take care.
Looking across the lake towards Shepherd's Delight.
The lily filled lake, complete with rowing boats - try your hand at fishing or just enjoy being on the water.
As well as your deck, there are other little areas for sitting and enjoying the lakeside setting.
Shepherd's Delight is reached down your own  little private track. A solar panel powers the cool-box fridge and lighting (there is no other source of electricity).
You are welcome to wander the Owners' 60 acres of organic farmland (please take care with livestock). This little style takes you up to a lovely field.
Plenty of open farmland for you to explore.
Autumnal sunset on the lake - stunning.
The National Trust estate at Killerton is just a bike ride away down the road - lovely walks, gardens, cafe, restaurant and shop.

Shepherd’s Delight

2732

2.8 miles NE of Exeter / Sleeps 2 (no children under 2)

7 Nights from £331 - £625

August 2017

Although the location was potentially idyllic the road noise spoilt the advertised " peaceful haven"

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Shepherd's Delight. The hut is tucked away from the small lane which is occasionally used as an alternative for people going into Exeter, though it's not a main road we're sorry that you were disturbed. Bryony, Customer Support


July 2017

Fantastic place so peaceful out of the way, with everything we needed for a complete rest. Excellent fishing & exploring for the dog. Just perfect!


April 2017

Beautiful and tranquil getaway. Would highly recommend to those looking for a peaceful time away from it all.


September 2016

Shepherd's Delight is a beautiful place to stay. The location is so close to all amenities, yet you are so secluded. Absolute peace and quiet and nothing nicer than to sit outside watching the lake. If you are lucky you will get to see the local deer walking by in the neighbouring field, which is amazing. The hut is incredibly comfortable and the addition of the wood burner makes it so cosy at night. Safe for dogs - with ours loving running around collecting sticks for us at every opportunity and investigating the area! This was a dream mini break and we will definitely return. Perfect location if you want to travel off and visit places such as Dartmoor or the like.


September 2016

Loved our short break here with our dog. Nights around the chiminea drinking wine and listening to the owls and days spent lounging in the hammock and pottering around the lake made for a perfect get-away-from-all holiday.


August 2016

The hut was delightful, very clean throughout with lots of homey touches and lots of candles. All of the basics were provided and there was plenty of room for storage of supplies we brought with. We had rain one day but the awning over the front porch made it possible for us to still sit outdoors and enjoy the scenery. Couldn't have been more pleased with the place. The photos on the website make the place look amazing but don't tell all of the story. You must be there to truly appreciate the perfection of the setting...truly amazing, private, and tranquil. It is only about a 15 minute drive to take-away Greek, Chinese, and Indian,and a very well stocked store for supplies. Perfect!


August 2016

We had an amazing time at this property and would highly recommend it to anyone.....the most peaceful and relaxing place. We will definitely be returning!


June 2016

I spent an idyllic few days at shepherds delight and was so pleased to be able to take my three small dogs with me, a fantastic holiday for all of us.PS. the fishing was great.


June 2016

An amazing place to stay if you want peace and quiet and the weather is good. If you like to fish then plenty for all.


June 2016

A wonderfully unique place to stay. Such a relaxing getaway in an amazing, peaceful and secluded setting.


March 2016

Shepherds Delight provide us with a fantastic getaway, we were given a lovely welcome and had a very peaceful and undisturbed stay in a beautiful tranquil setting. The evenings were very cosy with the log burnwr and we had everythi g we needed. Lovely to find somewhere that accommodated our dog too.


September 2015

Our dog loved the holiday- he didn't want to leave!! One of the most dog friendly places we have ever stayed in.


August 2015

This cottage provided us with the most heavenly of holidays. If a break from it all in the county is what you are looking for then we could not recommend this enough. Perfection


August 2015

A real getaway from it all unique location. If you want peace and quiet shepherd's delight is the place to be.


July 2015

A wonderful experience in The beautiful Devon countryside. We were there for 3 nights and wished we'd booked for longer. The location was superb and we had our own private lake and rowing boat. Best of all it was dog friendly and our cockapoo pup, Dora had a safe and happy first taste of the countryside visiting the heifers, alpacas and farm dogs, Dylan and Gnasher.


June 2015

A wonderful place. A little slice of heaven in Devon. Truly relaxing, sheer bliss and our dog Charlie loved it!.


May 2015

Our second visit - this time for our honeymoon. A perfect get away from it all location.


May 2015

Amazing venue that is hidden away and quiet but still very accessible from Exeter.


May 2015

The most wonderful break celebrating my Husbands birthday, so quiet and relaxing - great freedom for the dog and the owners were very accommodating even brought her fresh eggs - definitely will return


January 2015

Quirky hut set in wonderful surroundings. Posh camping with plenty of walks and heritage sites nearby. Paul & Barbara very accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you.


November 2014

We loved it...a perfect little corner of peace and tranquility. Highly recommended.


August 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back for own 1 year wedding anniversary.


July 2014

Beautiful setting and lovely facilities. Had some success fishing, catching a decent size carp and tench. Stan (our springer spaniel) had a wonderful time


April 2014

Most relaxing enjoyable experience. Totally left to yourself, idyllic. Great for dogs.


December 2013

it looked lovely and it was truly lovely despite the adverse weather. The owner David is a great guy; picked us up from exeter in his car, and dropped us off at the train station at the end of our stay. He made the trip even better. Would love to go back and stay (and maybe jam with him!)


November 2013

book shepards delight you will no be disappointed its the best break we have had in the uk devon is amazing


September 2013

Shepherds Delight is a beautiful place in a gorgeous location... everything you need is to hand and well thought through. I would definitely recommend this to everyone I know!


August 2013

A wonderful place to stay, away from the crowds. The hut is beautiful, solar powered with a fantastic power shower. Paul, the owner is lovely and made our stay perfect!

The location is great, only 2 miles from Exeter but in secluded farmland so you get fresh air and peace and quiet.

I would highly recommend people to stay here, it is so peaceful and relaxing :)


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.