This is a really gorgeous and comfortable cottage.
The pretty garden area bordering the stream.
The original cobbles are still seen outside this gorgeous cottage.
The kitchen is well-equipped.
The ground floor bathroom.
This is an attractive, spacious cottage.
The cosy sitting-area around the wood-burner.
The dining-area.
Looking back towards the kitchen.
The kitchen.
Plenty of room to enjoy a leisurely meal.
Looking into the living-room from the kitchen.
Tavistock boasts an excellent cheese shop full of locally produced cheeses.
A welcoming bowl of fruit including
 figs from the owner's garden.
The owner always ensures a warm welcome.
There is a utility-area outside the bathroom.
One of the double bedrooms (Bedroom 1) also has a small day bed.
Bedroom 2  has a lovely wooden carving above the bed - a find in a French flea market.
The first floor bathroom.
The sun setting slowly in the west behind Medlar Cottage.
Medlar Cottage has its own sitting-out area.


This is a view of all three cottages and the Owner's home from the fields opposite.
The outside of this pretty cottage, the original cobbles can still be seen.
Your dogs will love this cottage.
The large sign welcoming guests to Lower Chaddlehanger.
There is a sitting-out area just outside the cottage.
The sunny garden.
Views down into Cornwall.
There are wonderful views over rolling countryside seen from the drive to the cottage.

Medlar Cottage

2595

2.3 miles NW of Tavistock / Sleeps 5 + 2 cots

7 Nights from £502 - £1074

December 2016

The cottage is even more beautiful in real life. I could easily live there! The owner is so kind and generous and she makes you feel so very welcome and cared for which was so unexpected but much appreciated!


October 2016

We had a lovely stay at Medlar Cottage - a home from home. The cottage was warm, comfortable and spacious yet cosy. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back!


July 2016

With a meticulous eye for detail, Medlar Cottage is immaculately kept: very well-equipped, and stylishly appointed yet extremely comfortable. Set in lovely rural surroundings, it is only a 5' drive from the beautiful Town of Tavistock. Annie , the charming Owner, is unobtrusive but always on hand to help you with anything, and it was a real pleasure meeting her lovely family including the adorable Nelson (Labrador!) who we rather miss. The Cottage is ideally placed to easily explore all of Devon AND Cornwall, and benefits from good parking too! We enjoyed a very relaxing week at 'Medlar' and are only sorry that we could not stay longer. So thank you so much Annie and we hope that we meet again. Best wishes, Tony and Judith from Liverpool.


December 2015

Medlar cottage is stunning, the decor is cosy and tasteful and the whole place is full of character. Everything is very comfortable and convenient. We received a warm welcome and were encouraged to ask if we needed anything. Thank you. X


October 2015

Fantastic cottage, lovely location, and the most wonderful warm welcome from the owner Annie and her family.


August 2015

Lovely cottage in a wonderful location - idyllic! Have stayed here before and very happy to return - we'll be back again!


August 2015

Lovely cottage near to Tavistock with all year creature comforts. Very quiet. Fantastic location for trips out.


May 2015

The BEST cottage we've stayed in, in the UK! Set in beautiful, peaceful Devon countryside yet near to lots of activities and the eclectic shopping of Tavistock. You will not be disappointed if you stay at Medlar Cottage.


November 2014

Beautiful cottage in a great location close to Tavistock/ farmers market and stunning walks across Dartmoor. Fully equipped with everything you might need for the week.

Annie met us with a lovely welcome basket and was extremely accommodating during our stay. Lovely lady and a very nice break away from it all. We'll be back again.


August 2014

This cottage is one of the best we have stayed in. Annie the owner was really friendly and happy to help with anything we required. The welcome basket was packed full of all the essentials needed when arriving and even a little something for the dogs Foxy Lady, Frank and Miss Wilson which is a nice little touch. A great place to stay for a relaxing holiday.


April 2014

A beautifully presented cottage with all your normal home comforts. The hostess supplies a lovely welcome basket, and is extremely friendly and helpful. Very dog friendly.


October 2013

Medlar Cottage offered a perfect short break. The cottage was perfectly furnished, we had a warm welcome on arrival and I couldn't think of anything that would have improved our stay. We will definately be returning.


September 2013

We have just had the most peaceful , comfortable short break at Medlar Cottage . The accommodation suited ourselves and my ( agile ) 87 year old Mum , enough space , whilst being very cosy . Furnished and decorated to a high standard , and a well equipped kitchen ( being Very picky , the only thing missing was a tea cosy !) The owner is delightful and nothing is too much trouble . We would definitely stay here again and recommend others to do so

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review. We were delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and would return - sorry to hear that you couldn't find the tea cosy, but the Owner has confirmed it's definitely available in the cottage, so you can look forward to taking your time over a pot of tea next visit! Tanya, Customer Support


June 2013

We were looking for an above average home with two double bedrooms, two bathrooms and dog friendly. We also wanted a peacful location near Tavistock.


May 2013

We had a lovely stay at Medler Cottage and found the attention to detail given to be excellent. The cottage is perfectly located and we would highly recommend a stay here. Absolutely lovely!


May 2013

we were extremely happy with the property and location,and after having a very stressful 12 months,we decided we needed a short break away from"reality",it really did the trick.Thank you so much for letting stay in this beautiful cottage,we will definitely return one day. 11 out of 10!!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.