Smugglers Cottage is a peaceful rural retreat for two.
The living-room with comfy chairs and a cosy wood-burner to keep you toasty on those cooler days and evenings.
The cottage has a small stone terrace at the front, which captures the morning sun and a sloping garden to the side of the cottage.
The well-equipped kitchen and dining areas.
The pretty double bedroom.
The bedroom is lovely and light.
This lovely cottage is very comfortably furnished for a holiday at any time of the year.
The bathroom is light and spacious.
Smugglers Cottage nestles quietly beside a handful of similar cottages at the end of a private unmade lane.
In the bathroom there is a step up to the bath which is fitted with an electric shower.
The little front terrace leads round to the private enclosed side garden, The private parking-area is a few yards beyond the cottage, on the left.
The private parking-area is also the best place to sit and watch the sun go down!
Smugglers Cottage is on the edge of the National Trust’s beautiful Penrose Estate
The spectacular view from  the coastal path near Loe Pool, looking towards the Lizard.
Approaching Porthleven along the coast path, there are far reaching views across Mounts Bay towards the Penwith peninsula.
The lovely view of Porthleven as you approach the village.
Porthleven's picturesque harbour.
When the tide is right, it is possible to walk all the way along Porthleven Sands back to Loe Pool.
The paths and tracks take you around the lake and into the woodlands.
One of the old stables at Penrose is now a cafe where you can stop for refreshments.
This is a pretty place to visit at any time of year, watch the changing of the seasons.

Smugglers Cottage

2389

1.8 miles SE of Porthleven / Sleeps 2 (no children under 16)

7 Nights from £343 - £745

November 2017

A lovely cottage in a fantastic location.


April 2017

best ever holiday in cornwall ever.


March 2017

A pretty cottage in a wonderful location, just perfect for walkers and dog owners. All of west Cornwall very accessible. Lots to see and do.


December 2016

Wonderful little house, with (almost!) everything we needed for a great Christmas week. Fantastic location, we did some great walking, without even having to get in the car first. Kitchen really well stocked - we cooked our Christmas dinner & had every utensil we required, which I wouldn't naturally have expected from a holiday cottage!


October 2016

Excellent location,charming cottage in rural location but close to all attractions


October 2016

This cottage is all about the location. It's a great place to set yourselves up for a walking holiday, exploring all that the Lizard, South West coast path and Loe Bar have to offer. There's so much to see and many beautiful walks either close by or even straight from the front door. Really lovely area to be in.

The cottage itself is OK. It's cosy and easy to keep warm. It's quite well equipped and the TV / Wifi work well.

Unfortunately we found there were a lot of wasps around the outside of the cottage and think there might be a nest in the roof space. The immersion / hot water tank was either not working properly or doesn't provide enough hot water for a soak in the tub. There is an electric shower which is OK, but sometimes a soak after a days walking is what you need! And the noise for us was noticeable. We had helicopters flying around and over the cottage for almost the entire week, on a few nights going on til very late (11:15pm on one night!). They were not just passing by either, but were circling the area at times as well. Would have been nice to have had some indication that this might happen, even if it is rare.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay - the location is certainly fantastic if you want to walk in the area. The naval airbase at Culdrose is situated a couple of miles away at Helston, and occasionally they practice flying over sea, and sometimes night flying. Obviously we're not able to say when this will happen and what route the pilots choose to take, as a lot will be dependent on weather conditions, but it is not a regular feature. We've let the Owner know about the wasps - thanks for making us aware. Tanya, Customer Support


August 2016

Very cosy cottage in a tranquil location. Ideal spot for walkers, as there are miles of public paths in the area leading to the Loe, the beach etc. right on the doorstep. We enjoyed the comfortable living room, perfect after a day exploring the local area.


July 2016

lovely cottage with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. a perfect location for us, peaceful with really good walking, back to nature.


May 2016

Fantastic cottage in a great location, like home from home


April 2016

The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. It is ideally placed for walks along the South West Coast Path and visiting all parts of The Lizard.


March 2016

Lovely cottage and would definitely recommend it as a base for exploring the rest of Cornwall. The owners seem to have thought of everything. Really dog friendly with private garden and great walks from the doorstep. The seaside theme throughout was really charming.


March 2016

Lovely cottage, beautifully kept and well funished and equipped.


February 2016

Lovely clean cottage in an ideal location for dog owners looking for a restful break in Cornwall.


October 2015

An excellent cottage in an excellent location. Thoroughly reccomend.


October 2015

Very well situated, good for dog walking and for sightseeing. The local fresh fish and crab in Porthleven is excellent. The lake in Helston is in walking distance, is well worth a visit and the café facilities are first class. Also if you enjoy feeding ducks, geese and swans visitors can buy for a small price maize for feeding.


September 2015

The location really is superb, for peace and quite, long and varied walks, very dog friendly. Smugglers, though quite small in apprerence has an very decent size double bedroom with plenty of space and room. The hanging space for clothes is exceptionaly spacious and generous ( more so than many modern new holiday lets.) Having stayed in many cottages and "apartments" in South west Cornwall, Smugglers is for two people and a wuff very good value and private, small grassed garden area for BBQ's, sitting and readingno cars or people walking past all day. Or get out and explore Cornwall and come home to a snug cottage, log burner, good size bath, with telly and wi fi should you get the urge!!


July 2015

Location fantastic, especially when needing rest / relaxation, also great for dogs of all sizes - beautiful landscape and walks possible directly from the cottage; We love the location and the cottage is beautiful! :-) Lots of things to see / places to visit within 30 min drive only All people we've met in Cornwall were absolutely friendly - also to dogs!


June 2015

A perfect base for seeing some of Cornwall's most beautiful scenery. The peace and tranquillity was fabulous and we are very happy that we had all of this with some amazing weather.


April 2015

Our second visit to Smugglers- we haven't returned to a holiday cottage before but this one ticks all our boxes. Perfect!


April 2015

Tiny but gorgeous cottage. Very well-equipped and comfortable. Lots of fab walks nearby in very special countryside, supermarket a few minutes away by car. There was sometimes a background hum from Culdrose (not audible inside the cottage) but this no doubt depends on the wind direction.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so glad that you enjoyed your time at Smugglers, and were able to take advantage of the fabulous walks around Loe Pool. RNAS Culdrose is a naval air station on the outskirts of Helston, and occasionally their exercises take them towards the coast at Porthleven. It's very limited and usually just the odd helicopter or plane passing in the area, but as you say it may have been the wind direction which meant you noticed it in the garden. We're delighted that you had a fantastic stay. Tanya, Customer Support


March 2015

Everything anyone could need was provided.


December 2014

We would recommend this to any couple that want an away break with dogs in a beautiful part of Cornwall.


November 2014

Nice cottage in an ldeal location for walkers


August 2014

Lovely and cosy cottage in the middle of a beautiful landscape; 100 metres from nice bridleways down/around Loe Bar and pool. Walks from 45 min to 2.5 hours possible without using the car. Fantastic for people with dogs (no lead required!).


June 2014

Nice little cottage in a beautiful part of the world!


May 2014

We had a lovely stay and would come back again, also would use Classic Cottages again


March 2014

Lovely location, we and our dog loved the walks that were literally on your doorstep. The property is generally comfortable and really well-stocked with lots of little extra things. However, in the end we found the lack of a shower and the immersion hot water a bit of an issue. Shame, because otherwise we loved it

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to review Smugglers Cottage - we're glad you enjoyed the location and made the most of the beautiful walks. The Owner has investigated the possiblity of fitting a shower, and hopes to do this later in 2014. When it's been fitted, we'll update the accommodation details, so we'd recommend that you keep checking back to see when it's in situ. Tanya, Customer Support


December 2013

Smuggers Cottage is a delightful place from which to explore the walks to Loe Bar and beyond. The 2 of us and our dog were very warm and comfortable during our stay over New Year; there was even a pretty little Christmas tree, complete with lights! The cottage had everything that we needed, although no shower, but its charm more than compensated for that! We would certainly recommend this property to others.


June 2013

Lovely little cottage that is well equipped and clean. You definately need a car at this propoerty as nothing is in walking distance. Ideal if you like horses! Garden not enclosed enough for large dogs that like to jump small walls.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Smugglers Cottage. The garden is enclosed by a wall, but as you say, most dogs can find a way to freedom if they're so inclined! We hope that you and your dog enjoyed the property and particularly the lovely walks around Degibna and Loe Bar. Tanya, Customer Support


May 2013

Clean cottage in rural location. You will need a car to get here and about. Close to Helston for shops. Landlocked so views are of land not sea.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.