The view from the patio in front of the cottage, with the River Dart and Dartmouth in the distance and the steam railway running along the bottom of the valley.
The patio is approached through floor to ceiling glass doors and windows.
The lovely sitting-room.
The well-equipped kitchen.
A great spot for a drink or an al fresco meal.
Comfortable sofas.
A cosy sofa in front of the TV.
The large breakfast-bar in the kitchen.
Bedroom 1.
The en suite bathroom for Bedroom 1.
The gorgeous double bedroom also has glazed doors out to the patio.
Bedroom 2 can be made up as a double or twin - here as a double.
The twin bedroom also has an en suite bathroom.
The en suite bathroom for Bedroom 2.
The family shower-room.
What a view.
The patio.
The sitting-room is remarkably spacious with the well-equipped kitchen at the far end.
Amazing views.
Looking down towards the river Dart.
The outer patio with secure door down to the house.
Loungers outside the bedroom (Bedroom 1).
The secure gate into Heron's Rest.
The approach down to Heron's Rest.
Glimpses of the River Dart.
The stepped path down to the property, shown here in winter, with the glint of the River Dart in the background.
Steps lead from the car park down to the house.

Heron’s Rest

2288

2.1 miles N of Dartmouth / Sleeps 4 (no children under 16)

7 Nights from £462 - £1265

April 2018

Lovely home from home feeling, beautiful location. Would go back in a heart beat.


November 2017

'Truly fabulous' 'It felt like being a lottery winner.


June 2017

Wonderful view and we always rushed to watch the passing steam trains (especially going uphill). For car-free days out, the railway halt for Greenway is only 15 minutes' walk, and the ferry to Dartmouth about 30 minutes


October 2016

We'd love to recommend this wonderful place to you, but I'm afraid we can't. If you took one look at the fabulous view, wandered around this comfortable, airy and completely unique home, slept in the extraordinarily good bed and woke to the sound of birds, the odd owl and not much else...you'd want to book a holiday there and we just can't allow that. It's our secret. So move along please, nothing to see here. We're sure there are other places with gorgeous walks through ancient forests rich with bluebells in spring and dappled light in summer. Of course you can pop down to Dartmouth and enjoy great food, ferry rides, steam trains (nope they don't chug along charmingly just beneath the terrace.) and general jaw-dropping prettiness, you can do that in your own time. So hands off this wonderful place, it's ours, all ours. Find your own little slice of heaven.


September 2016

Spendid property, astonishing view, an oasis in a frantic world!


August 2016

We had a lovely week at Heron's Rest, the views over the River Dart and the heritage steam railway line are excellent.


June 2016

Amazing location and fabulous accommodation, it is always hard to leave!


April 2016

This property is exceptional. The terrace affords the most stunning views. Even on a cold sunny day it is a pleasure to wrap up in a blanket, sit on the terrace and soak up the view and wildlife . And in the night time do the same but look at the stars and listen to the owls. You may be lucky and have a Tawny owl fly right over your heads. If you don't want to get in your car there are beautiful walks from the door. The amazingly comfortable beds and quiet location mean that you will have the best nights sleep ever. Absolutely fabulous... a dream property.


October 2015

This is a beautiful cottage which more than lives up to its description and photographs. Even in inclement weather it is cosy and welcoming making it a very comfortable place to stay.


October 2015

Fantastic property in the most amazing location, very high standard of comfort and fittings. Superb holiday property.


May 2015

The brochure accurately represents the description of the property.


April 2015

We have completely fallen in love with this place. The peace, the heart-stopping view, the wonderful walks on your doorstep (we use hardly any petrols once we're here), the birdsong...did we mention the view?

Our advice: take a walk down to Kingswear through the Long Wood (about 4 miles and you'll need sturdy footwear), cross to Dartmouth on the ferry (look out for seals and dolphins) and eat posh scampi at The Dolphin. Take the steam train back to Churston Ferrers (sit in the Devon Belle observation car), catch the bus to Greenway Halt and walk the mile back to Heron's Rest through the Greenway wood. It's a good challenging walk, food is fantastic and you'll have truly experienced the Dart. We do it at least twice each visit. What a blissful place.


July 2014

Both the house and location are stunning, if you are looking for some true rest and relaxation in a secluded spot Heron's Rest is perfect. Every fitting and furnishing is of the highest quality but still extremely homely, welcoming and more than comfortable We never tired of the view of the viaduct with the steam train gently chugging by, with a backdrop of the tidal estuary whilst relaxing on the terrace.


June 2014

This is an unusual, spacious and well appointed property effectively built into the side of a hill having unsurpassed views across the valley to the river Dart.

A south facing patio gave sunshine for most of the day, greatly enhancing the feeling of comfort and tranquility. All in all an excellent week's stay.


April 2014

delightful location! very spacious living room and kitchen.


March 2014

Wonderful place in wonderful location.


November 2013

We did enjoy our stay. Lovely well-equipped property, excellent peaceful location and beautiful views. Would recommend.


November 2013

Want somewhere spectacularly beautiful, perfectly quiet and full of home comforts? So do we, which is why we have just made our fifth visit to Heron's Rest. The view alone is worth the trip. There's so much to do, whatever the season or the weather. We always go in November and take our time over the gorgeous walks (we recommend Long Wood into Kingswear and taking the steam train back to Greenway Halt), shopping for food in Totnes, lazy lunches in Dartmouth (try the Dolphin for great food and atmos) and just taking in the view from the huge sofa. The perfect holiday in the perfect place...just don't tell anyone else, it can be our little secret.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Heron's Rest. We're delighted to see that you've become such a regular visitor to the property! You've obviously got a good knowledge of the area and what's good to do there - don't forget that you can also use our sister Web site www.classicguide.co.uk to suggest places to visit and activities available, as well as giving your thoughts on existing entries. Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts. Tanya, Customer Support


October 2013

What a lovely quite retreat with good views on the river Dart. Waking up to a difference view each morning was lovely. Good walk from the property to Kingswear then back by river boat to Greenway followed by a short walk back to the property with a view of the whole of the River Dart. The property is well equipment for all your needs. Belonging to National Trust and English Heritage there was plenty to see in the area. We had a week in October and we were very lucky with the weather. Would like to return to Heron's Rest for another holiday at a difference time of the year and for a longer time.


May 2013

Excellent position and very comfortable. Everything provided for.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.