Set at the top of a private drive and looking down towards the reservoir, Mount Wise Cottage adjoins the Owner's home but faces away from it.
The cosy sitting/dining-room.
The double bedroom (Bedroom 1) has a lovely outlook across fields towards the reservoir.
The small but well-equipped kitchen.
The sitting/dining-room looks out across the enclosed front courtyard to the fields and reservoir beyond.
A typically steep cottage staircase leads up to the first floor.
The bathroom is on the ground floor.
Your four-legged friend also gets a very warm welcome.
The double bedroom.
The pretty twin bedroom (Bedroom 2).
The front of Mount Wise Cottage.
Looking back at the Owner's home from the parking-area, with Mount Wise Cottage tucked in beside it on the right.
The twin bedroom also has wonderful countryside views towards the reservoir.
The double bedroom with white bathrobes for your use.
The sitting/dining-room looks out across the enclosed front courtyard to the fields and reservoir beyond.
Looking back from the footpath which circles the reservoir, Mount Wise Cottage is just visible in the distance (left of centre in the photograph).
Looking from the footpath across to the northern side of the reservoir, where there is a watersports centre and the Golden Lion pub, which serves excellent meals.
The reservoir can be a place to sit and take in the peace and tranquility or for something more active, head up to the watersports centre where there is something to enjoy on the water for all ages.
Comfy pillows and quality linens add up to a good nights sleep.
The cottage stairs lead up to the two bedrooms, there is a small step up on either side.
Both bedrooms have wonderful countryside views towards the reservoir.

Mount Wise Cottage


6.5 miles W of Falmouth / Sleeps 2 + cot

7 Nights from £337 - £636

December 2017

A charming farmhouse cottage, with homemade marmalade waiting for us, together with chocolates, milk and fresh bread. What more could I ask for!

September 2017

A lovely located and presented cottage. Jane did everything to make the stay enjoyable, especially the lovely flowers and fruit bowl and especially her home made bread.

September 2017

Lovely, warm, cosy cottage. Comfortable, well equipped, and more! Good location for exploring the countryside. Helpful and friendly owner. Couldn't ask for more. Thoroughly recommend.

August 2017

Absolutely stunning! Great location, beautiful cottage, peaceful and completely relaxing!

July 2017

The extras flowers, fruit, bottle of wine and the quality of the bedding etc were lovely finishing touches.

June 2017

An absolutely picture perfect cottage in a stunning location, extremely well equipped and a lovely host in Jane who ensures that everything is first rate for a memorable holiday

June 2017

Lovely cottage is quiet location. Perfectly situated for access to west Cornwall and both north and south coastlines.

This cottage is more welcoming than a normal basic holiday let and the owner should be congratulated for 'going the extra mile' and making the property more welcoming than a normal holiday let, with fresh fruit and flowers to welcome the visitors.

March 2017

Quite possibly the cosiest cottage in Cornwall

February 2017

Mount Wise Cottage is a relaxing, cosy getaway, and still provides a homely feel. Jane makes you feel very welcome, and goes above and beyond to make your stay special. Flowers, fruit bowls, homemade jam and bubbles for your evening bath, to name a few things. Everything was clean and luxurious. She even spoils the dog, with a fantastic dog bag full of goodies and essentials. The surrounding fields and the nearby reservoir, are perfect for exercise for you and your dog. I can honestly say I will be visiting again, and would recommend Mount Wise Cottage to anyone who's looking for a perfect break.

December 2016

Wonderful location, ideal for North to South and East to West days out. Very comfortable, excellent bedding and as required this time of year lovely and warm

November 2016

The cottage was very warm and comfortable with beautiful furnishings. The bathroom was bigger than it looked on the picture and it was good to have constant hot water and heating to dry the towels especially in November.

We really appreciated the homemade bread and flowers along with all the extras in the kitchen and bathroom which made the cottage so welcoming. Jane was also very helpful and friendly.

October 2016

Nice peaceful setting. Ideal for a relaxing holiday Very cozy.

October 2016

Beautiful picturesque cottage in a great location for exploring Cornwall!

October 2016

Absolutely fabulous cottage. It was a beautiful dream holiday. Beautiful than thought.

September 2016

Great location and it is ideal for 2 people as advertised. Quiet and peaceful area - easy to access. The owner was very pleasant when she came to greet us and on the day we left.

September 2016

From our arrival Jane was the perfect host, lovely fruit and flowers. Stunning ciottage, 1st class in every way. We saw shooting stars and enjoyed a tranquil haven.

July 2016

A lovely, well equipped cottage! The final touches such as the fruit and flowers make you feel welcome.

July 2016

Delightful cottage, perfect location, peaceful break.

May 2016

Mount Wise cottage is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday in Cornwall. The location is very convenient for exploring in any direction. The cottage itself is brimming with charm and character, yet supplied every convenience from the well-stocked kitchen to the comfy beds. Fresh flowers, fruit, and a friendly welcome from the hostess were the extra touches that make this place very special. I hope to return someday soon!

May 2016

Very Comfortable, Value for money, Great location, excellent

April 2016

Very good all round service from the agency. Very good accomodation. Thank you.

April 2016

Lovely homely cottage. Perfect peaceful location. Very comfortable beds.

December 2015

This cottage proved to be a very cosy and quite haven during our Christmas stay, with the owners available to give help and advice without any intrusion. The location is ideal for visiting the north and south coast, with our favorite locations around Falmouth, parts of the Lizard and St Ives very accessible. Despite the weather walks from the cottage with our dog either around the owners fields, lake or public footpaths were very accessible, with the added bonus of not requiring the car. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

November 2015

Warm and cosy and bathroom is delightfully spacious.

July 2015

Lovely remote location, perfect for my friend and me. The beds are very comfortable and the owner is extremely friendly. I would stay here again, with a few small changes.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Mount Wise Cottage. We're delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay - we've passed your suggestions on to the Owner, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Tanya, Customer Support

June 2015

Very clean and decorated to high standard. All facilities you could wish for and Jane made us feel very welcome

June 2015

A lovely comfortable cottage, well placed for all the attractions of Cornwall. Very peaceful and relaxing. Great views.

April 2015

Lovely cottage in great location with a warm welcome , ideal for countryside,walks, beaches & pub!

October 2014

Lovely , peaceful place, amazing nature, unforgettable days in a wonderful countryside. We will always recommended Cornwall, Mount Wise Cottage and Mrs. Jane Meredew to our friends. Best regards, Thomas Garroth & Heike Hillebrand.

September 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous week, great cottage and the weather was perfect. Warm welcome from owner and even fresh flowers and fruit. So many thoughtful details, CD player and CDs, games, books to read. The cottage certainly exceeded our expectations.

September 2014

Cosy holiday home with nice touches such as flowers, fruit basket and home made bread. Made to feel very welcome by the host.

August 2014

Perfect peaceful central location for exploring West Cornwall. Will use your company and probably return to Mount Wise again.

May 2014

This cottage is in a perfect location to explore west Cornwall. All the highlights in this wonderful area, from gardens to coastal hikes and much more, are at hand and can be easily reached in a short time.

March 2014

A beautiful quiet cottage, well decorated and surrounded by fields.Can not recommed it any higher.Only a short drive to Falmouth and Helston but some local pubs with good food as well.

March 2014

Ideal if holidaying with a dog and owners very helpful and welcoming.

October 2013

Nice Cottage and nice location.

Many thanks to the owners

September 2013

Be seen as the starting point for all Cornwell is the perfect cottage. Unfortunately, the decor was a little outdated but still loving. Fresh flowers and fresh fruit were provided by the landlord.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review of Mount Wise Cottage; we think the cottage is decorated very much in keeping with the style and age of the property, and the Owner's used some really restful and calm colours - perfect for a relaxing break in a country cottage. The paintwork has all just been refreshed and looks lovely. We were delighted that you enjoyed your fruit and flowers, and hope you had a wonderful stay in Cornwall. Tanya, Customer Support

August 2013

Great location within quick access to Falmouth, Redruth, St Ives and The Lizard. Excellent for the dog, with plenty of walking and fields around the property this is a dogs paradise. Property is lovely with pretty rooms and the bathroom and kitchen have everything you need. Owner provides facilities for dog such as bowls and towels. Very happy with stay would definately stay again.

July 2013

This cottage was perfect for our style of holiday. The cottage was very clean, very dog friendly, everything you could want for a self-catering stay - we even had a doggie bag which included bowl, treats and a towel to wipe her paws! A bowl of fruit was supplied for us, which was a nice touch. Centrally located for both coasts and pub with good food within reach. Would recommend.

June 2013

The little cottage was very cosy. We enjoyed to stay there. The owner welcomed us with pretty flowers and a bowl of fruits in the cottage. She and her family were very friendly and helpful.

June 2013

This cottage is really very lovely and it's very good equiped. It's well loacted to explore Cornwall and to enjoy the peaceful area surrounding the cottage. However, for shopping, etc a car is required. We were 2 people staying at the cottage, which was perfect. From our feeling the cottage would be quite small for four people.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Mount Wise Cottage. We're delighted that you found the cottage well located and hope you enjoyed your stay. The cottage is only available for parties of two guests, and as you found there is plenty of room for a couple. There is a choice of two bedrooms to allow flexibility in case guests don't wish to share. Tanya, Customer Support

June 2013

Mount Wise is a compact, well equipped and charming cottage well off the beaten track. We found the owner very helpful with good advice on places to visit and local facilities. Our stay there was a delightful experience.

April 2013

We would highly recommend Mount Wise Cottage for couples or parents with a young baby. Great location to explore Cornwall from and the cottage was very nice and well kitted out.

Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.