Penally Cottage basks in sunshine as it faces south over the harbour.
You certainly have the best seat in the house from the patio across the path.
Penally Cottage's location is one of the finest in Boscastle.
The comfortable sitting-room enjoys the fabulous views of the harbour.
Penally cottage has four beautifully presented bedrooms.
The cottage kitchen has original slate floors and granite worktops.
Mealtimes will be a delight in this lovely cottage.
The dining-room enjoys views back to the village and down towards the harbour.
The wood-burner makes this an ideal retreat all year round.
Pull up a chair and relax after a busy day exploring the north Cornish coast.
Lovely touches throughout.
Bedoom 1 has a comfy 5' double bed and wonderful views.
... and a useful vanity unit.
Gorgeous bedroom 2 also has a 5' double bed and more of those views.
The family bathroom has a bath and a separate shower.
Why not run yourself a bath and relax... you are on holiday!
The single bedroom at the front of the house.
Pretty bedroom 4.
Looking back towards Boscastle on a misty morning in summer.
The headland walk is breathtaking and just here you can hear and watch the blow hole on the side of the cliff.
A view with your back to the sea looking towards the village. On the left you can see Penally Cottage at the end of the row of cottages.
Boscastle has a selection of shops, art and crafts and restaurants.
The headland is protected by the National Trust.
Penally Cottage is the last cottage on the right overlooking the harbour.
Penally Cottage in Boscastle.
Boscastle's dog-leg harbour leads out to the open sea.
Boscastle is quite stunning at any time of year.

Penally Cottage

1788

Boscastle / Sleeps 6 + cot

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £493

September 2019

Excellent walks around Boscastle, some fantastic views from coastal walks.


September 2019

Stunning location, peaceful, picturesque, not overlooked in any way, quiet, mostly comfortable, light and airy, fantastic water pressure for showers, constant hot water, fabulous views and outlook, warm and cozy, mostly good wifi and mobile signal, fantastic walks on your doorstep. The whole cottage had an air of neglect. When we arrived, the front door was black with dirt and didn't look like it had been wiped in a while. There was thick dust on top of the wardrobe in one of the main bedrooms and cobwebs around most light fittings which I cleaned myself as my husband has a dust allergy. Dirty plates and bowls had been put back in the cupboard and there was dirty cutlery in the drawer so these had to be washed before being used. When putting my things away, I didn't appreciate opening the chest of drawers and finding a large amount of glitter, a hair bobble and loose hair, all of which I had to empty into a bin before I could use the drawer. There was no freezer, only the 2 small ice boxes in each of the fridges. It might be worth adding to the property description so people are aware. The wardrobes in the main bedrooms smelt musty and made my clothes smell so I bought a scented bag to hang in them which helped somewhat. The cooker hob wasn't particularly clean so I cleaned it myself. The staircase may not be suitable for less able bodied (like myself) and should be mentioned in the property description. There was also carpet coming away from the top of the staircase, making a trip hazard. The windows were dirty and didn't look like they'd been cleaned for some time. The bed in the main bedroom was lumpy and when I stripped the bedding on the day we left, found the mattress severely stained which made me feel slightly queasy. Would I stay at Penally Cottage again? Certainly, but with some trepidation.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for reviewing Penally Cottage. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful location of the cottage and many of the facilities available. However we are very sorry that some other areas of the property didn't quite come up to expectations. Had we been aware during your stay we would have been more than happy to ask the cleaning team to return but we'll certainly ensure that this feedback is forwarded to the owner and housekeeper for their attention at the next changeover. Penally Cottage doesn't have a separate freezer as this would always be mentioned within the features section of the description - if this is an important feature for you however please don't hesitate to get in touch and we'd be really happy to help you find something for the future. Bryony, Customer Support


January 2019

It feels like home the minute you walk through the door and the cottage is well equipped and comfortable. The location is second to none for walking even if you just want a short walk to the nearest pint, pasty or cream tea or something more adventurous along the coast paths just outside the front door. It’s even better for being lazy, especially with the log burner on and a good book in winter!


September 2018

If there's a better located holiday cottage in Boscastle we've yet to see it...and we've been visiting the village nearly every year for more than a decade.


September 2018

We loved the house and location, it made for a perfect holiday.


July 2018

Ideal cottage for a family with everything provided, just like home from home!


July 2018

My family and I booked a week one july and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The cottage was perfect and surpassed our expectations. Location is picture postcard with so many areas to explore locally. We would love to come back.


June 2018

An ideal location. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the cottage and took full advantage of the lovely patio with views to the village and harbour. A short walk to the village and coastal paths; a short drive to nearby beaches and to the Moor. A cottage? We felt we could live there year round! What a gem.


September 2017

Superb location and a really warm and comfortable cottage , would highly recommend to small groups or families.


September 2017

Quiet and relaxing, ideal for a walking holiday.


August 2017

We had a great holiday in a stunning location, we enjoyed watching the world go by on the coastal terrace whilst sitting on great patio furniture. The dining room was lovely and the huge table seated six people very comfortably. We felt special knowing people were walking by wishing they were staying where we were. It was a lovely holiday in beautiful boscastle and we look forward to returning to Cornwall next year.


August 2017

Beautiful home from home cottage with breathtaking views.


July 2017

Perfect location, walk out the door and submerge yourself in Cornwall.


April 2017

We've been staying in Boscastle for years and long had our eye on Penally Cottage. When we finally got round to staying, we loved every minute. Can we buy it?


April 2017

Wonderful cottage in the perfect location.


March 2017

Penally Cottage is suitably quirky and characterful but with a modern touch. Outside car parking is easy and close by - although parking under the carport is only for the very brave as its a small space; one wrong wheel and you'll be dropping in to the kitchen! Once parked you probably don't need the car, shops and pubs are a stroll one way, cliff walks and the sea a stroll to the other. We found Penally to be very warm and snug (trip was during a stormy week in March) and had everything we needed. No complaints, we'll probably be back next year.


February 2017

This is a lovely cottage in a prime location overlooking the harbour in Boscastle. It is spacious and decorated to a very high standard offering a comfortable stay throughout the year.


October 2016

Excellent walks along Valency Valley. Forabury Church a lovely walk and also a coastal walk, well worth a trip, to Tintagel.


September 2016

Penally cottage is a lovely , comfortable cottage superbly positioned in the heart of beautiful Boscastle .


July 2016

This cottage is amazing, it is well equipped, perfect location, child friendly, parking right outside and friendly neighbours. We made some wonderful memories and we really hope to return one day. Thank you.


July 2016

Probably the best rental cottage we have stayed in!


May 2016

Superb location for exploring the local area or just watching the world go by on the terrace. It's the first time we've stayed in a town (we normally go for secluded cottages) but it was peaceful, with amenities on the doorstep and such a special atmosphere. Loved every second and have already put in a reservation to go back next year!


April 2016

Penally Cottage is in a fantastic location and had amazing views. The cottage was lovely a real home from home. The only real negative was leaving!


October 2015

Slate floors, window seats, shutters, comfy beds, fabulous view, brilliant heating, constant hot water ......... what's not to love?! Probably the best-equipped holiday cottage we have stayed in, and we've stayed in many. We would happily go back again.


October 2015

Comfortable and clean patio furniture, a bonus for those warm sunny days and warm evenings


August 2015

Overall our party, consisting of 3 generations of our family, found the cottage to be welcoming, well appointed and in a great location. We would be happy to return.


August 2015

This is a superb cottage, present to a very high standard. It is in an amazing location with breath taking views. You really do feel as if you are staying somewhere very special.


July 2015

Wonderful scenery and the cottage was amazing


May 2015

Great location and a well appointed cottage. Good food available at the village hotels.


April 2015

The splendid views of the harbour both from inside the cottage and from the patio garden a few steps from the front door of the cottage. Car parking was very good and easy to get to from the house which is important when you have luggage to carry. There's all you need in the way of food supplies at the local shops and farm shop. Although mobile phone signals are not very good this is compensated by wireless internet access in the cottage. There is also a land line telephone for local calls.


March 2015

Once you have stayed here you will return!


February 2015

We have stayed in many, many cottages and Penally Cottage is now one of our favourites. The property is ideally located next to the harbour in Boscaststle. The sound of the sea and the squall of the seagulls goes uninterrupted and yet you can be sat in the local Inns or restaurants within a brisk 2 minute stroll into the village. Penally Cottage is spotlessly clean, toasty warm and well equipped. We hope to return.


February 2015

This was our second visit to Penally Cottage and we can highly recommend it. The cottage is beautiful with everything you will need plus the benefit of parking. The location is great - right on the coastal path, just a short walk to the headland with amazing views, and a couple of minutes walk to the village shops and pubs. We will definitely be back!


November 2014

This cottage is beautiful and finished and furnished to an extremely high standard. The location is simply breathtaking and you really feel like you're away from the hustle and bustle of modern life yet shops, tea rooms, pubs and restaurants are a few minutes walk away. Will definitely be back.


October 2014

This was our 5th visit toPenally Cottage - that says it all! Both Boscastle and Penally Cottage are delightful and the cottage has a stunning location.


September 2014

Penally cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished and perfectly located. It offers every comfort you could wish for, including W-Lan.


August 2014

Wonderful cottage in a wonderful location! We loved it!


July 2014

This is a great cottage to use as a base for walking the coast path or exploring other parts of North Cornwall. Very comfortable inside and with a wonderful terrace on which to relax and enjoy the view. A pleasant short stroll to shops restaurants and pubs in Boscastle.


June 2014

Penally Cottage is a gem of a holiday rental in an almost perfect location in the wonderful village of Boscastle.


December 2013

A beautiful cottage in the most stunning location


September 2013

Beautiful old fishermans cottage, cosy, warm, snuggly and perfectly nestled in the Boscastle harbour. I highly recommend it :)


May 2013

Lovely , cosy cottage, in a beautiful location.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.