The garden at the back of Grenlecotte Cottage. Grascott cottage is the other side of the wall to the right
Pretty forest walks.
The patio doors lead out from the kitchen/dining-room to the garden.
The comfortable lounge is very spacious.
The wood-burner makes this an ideal retreat all year round.
The walks on the doorstep are stunning and will keep your very important pet exhausted.
Bedroom 1 is light and airy and the bed is enormous!
Breakfast in bed, why not, you are on holiday!
Bedroom 2 has 'zip and link' beds so it can be either a double bed or twin beds.
The family bathroom.
So much space to relax and explore you will need a map!
Grascott Forest is a magical place to get away from it all. No street lights here!
Grenlecotte has a very spacious garden ideal for games or simply sitting out and relaxing.
The shared play area.
Sunrise view from Grenlecotte Cottage.
A view towards Grenlecotte Cottage with Grascott Cottage in the background.
A view towards Grenlecotte Cottage and Grascott Cottage in the background.

Grenlecotte Cottage

1604

8.7 miles NE of Holsworthy / Sleeps 4 + 2 cots*

7 Nights from £386 - £888

September 2017

This cottage is light, bright, cosy and warm - we really appreciated the tranquility of the woodland and farm setting.


September 2017

A relaxing secluded cottage with fabulous dog walks right on the doorstep. We hope to return soon.


August 2017

An absolutely fab place to stay with dogs - big enclosed garden, and superb walks on the doorstep


May 2017

This is our favourite property we've stayed in. It was perfect for us on every level. Exceeded our expectations. The kitchen facilitates are suburb and very well equipped - the drying room was such a necessity that we didn't know we even needed!


May 2017

Great location especially if you have dogs? But not clean enough .

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review. It's great that you and your dogs enjoyed the wonderful location, we're just sorry that you felt the property wasn't quite clean enough. We'd have loved the chance to investigate at the time (we're open every day), but we'll certainly follow this up with the owner. Bryony, Customer Support


December 2016

A very homely space which the kiddies loved just as much as we did. A nice touch providing a decorated christmas tree.


October 2016

Lovely spacious comfy cottage with an enclosed garden which is great for kids and dogs! Bumpy road which never fails to amuse us and is fine in a car. Gorgeous walks through forest from front door. It really is a break from it all,


September 2016

A gem of a cottage with great walks on the doorstep. Fantastic for dog walkers.


June 2016

Excellent cottage and wonderfully peaceful location! Our fourth visit and we shall certainly come back.


April 2016

Fabulous cottage, lots of space (even with our large lab & 2 teenagers) everything you could need is there. Beautiful rural settings. Would highly recommend.


March 2016

This was the perfect cottage for a peaceful week for our family and our canine companion. It was fantastic to have the freedom of the forest right on the doorstep, and connected to footpaths further afield for easy exploring. The cottage was ideal; comfortable, roomy, very well-appointed and snug.


September 2015

A perfect, secluded place to stay to relax and unwind! Well equipped;cosy;dog friendly with lots of great walks just on the doorstep. We had a fabulous stay and hope to return.


August 2015

The cottage is in a peaceful, rural location. There is lots of natural light in the cottage and it is well equipped and warm. Really handy boot/laundry room. Showing some signs of wear and tear and some of the areas within the estate are hard to get to as shrubs and trees have matured over the years. The approach track is quite bumpy but we managed with our VW Golf, although a bit tiresome if making multiple trips in one day.


May 2015

Perfect for a great escape from modern day living!


December 2014

An excellent retreat away from city life - batteries totally recharged!


August 2014

A hidden gem!


August 2014

Peaceful location, lovely spacious comfortable cottage. Home from home.


April 2014

Grenlecotte is the perfect bolt hole. In beautiful and peaceful surroundings, the cottage is comfortable, pretty and cosy, great for whatever the weather. We love its remote location, the wonderful walks and the views. This is our third visit and we look forward to it every year. Great for families and dogs esp if you want some peace and quiet.


February 2014

The perfect getaway for a family holiday in Devon. Comfortable and clean.


October 2013

Lovely location, this was our second visit but we stayed in the adjacent cottage previously and enjoyed it there (this cottage was booked so we stayed in Grenlecotte). The location is lovely for peace and quiet and our dogs love walking around the area, the only real issue we had was with flies within this cottage, they seem to be a problem around this time of year (Oct) as it was mentioned in the visitors book several times. Other than that it was fine.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Grenlecotte Cottage. We were sorry to hear that you found a lot of flies in the property - this can happen in some very rural properties at this time of year if we get a couple of warm October weeks, but we've let the Owner know so that he can address any problem. Tanya, Customer Support


September 2013

The biggest bed ever and one of the most comfortable , very relaxing holiday, just wish we had had better weather. Good Walks from the doorstep.


August 2013

The one mile lane leading to cottage was full of craters, making it ver y difficult to drive along, bad enough to cause damage to a car.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for reviewing Grenlecotte Cottage - we hope you had a great stay. The access is down a mile long farm lane which is very bumpy as it's used by farm traffic. It can be very muddy in winter and very dusty in summer, but is part of the rural charm and seclusion that this property offers. The Owner does fill in the worst of the potholes (it's his access too!) and is hoping to improve the surface a little this spring. However, we'd say the track isn't suitable for low suspension vehicles and you must drive slowly, particularly when the vehicles are heavily laden - we visit regularly in our VW Golfs without difficulty. Also, guests should follow our directions, not SatNav systems - these may take you down an adjacent bridleway track which is even more rustic! Tanya, Customer Support


July 2013

Wonderfully light and airy cottage, with a feel of luxury to it. Beds were very comfortable. Very peaceful surroundings, although as the cottage is situated on a working forestry site, some operations were done early in the morning or later at night occasionally. I was especially pleased with the shared facilities of the use of a trampoline and swing which our 3 year old loved! Be aware that the access track to the cottage is a mile of heavily potholed dirt track. But overall, I would thoroughly recommend this cottage.


May 2013

A fantastic cottage set in an idyllic location. If you love peace and tranquility you will love this place.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.