Little Yeo is a very pretty single-storey cottage, covered in clematis in the spring, and with a large  garden.
There is a large patio and level lawn.Plenty of space for your dog to run around in this garden.
The open plan living-area is bright and comfortable. This is a very welcoming cottage.
Bideford Quay - you can take a day trip by boat to Lundy Island from here. Bideford is your nearest little town for shopping, just a 10 minute drive.
North Devon is famous for its wide sandy beaches, excellent for walking and surfing - the wilder the weather the better!
The kitchen-area is cleverly tucked away in one corner, allowing plenty of space in the rest of the room.
A little electric wood-burner effect stove adds character as well as extra warmth.
The bathroom and two bedrooms are along this hallway.
The master bedroom is up a short flight of stairs at the far end of the cottage.
The double bedroom has windows on three sides and so is lovely and bright and cheerful.
This is the double bedroom.
The twin bedroom is just as friendly and welcoming (Bedroom 2).
The cottage is full of lovely furnishings and personal touches to make you feel at home.
The large garden in front of the cottage, bounded on all sides by a mixture of traditional hedges and post and rail fencing.
Another view across the garden towards the cottage.
This cottage always feels so welcoming. A great base to set off exploring from.
This stunning stretch of sand is at Saunton Sands.
This is the little fishing village of Appledore, facing Instow across the Torridge Estuary.
This is the wide sweep of beach at Westward Ho! a favourite with kite surfers - great to watch if not joining in.
This is the entrance to the cottage. You can park by the second wooden gate, at the side of this private driveway.
This is a view of the cottage from a little woodland field above it - where you are welcome to walk your dogs or have a picnic.
This smallholding is 12 acres in total, with 4 acres always available for guests - as well as the very large garden -  as there are sometimes livestock in the rest.

Little Yeo

1584

3.7 miles SW of Bideford / Sleeps 4 + cot

7 Nights from £376 - £865

September 2018

Great location, very peaceful, ideal for getting out and about.


August 2018

We had a really enjoyable family holiday at Little Yeo. The cottage was comfortable and well equipped. We were impressed by how well the space within the cottage is used and it worked really well for us as a family of four (2 adults, 2 children aged 10 and 8). We were out and about most of the time, but still had plenty of space to relax in the cottage in the evenings. We also really enjoyed the outside space. Despite the grey weather we enjoyed several meals outside in the area shown in the photos. The girls ( - and parents) had a lot of fun playing in the good sized garden. Locally we enjoyed a challenging (hilly) family bike ride around the lanes and a visit to the local community shop at Buckland Brewer. Weatherwise it was a grey week, but it didn't stop us from getting out and about and enjoying both the coast and countryside. Our top tips for family days out: (1) Body boarding at Saunton Sands - we hired suits and boards there. (2) Biking along the (much flatter) Tarka Trail. We brought our own bikes but we could have hired them at Fremington Quay. We were also impressed by a couple of cafes which have clearly made the effort to go 'plastic free' - Saunton Break Cafe at Saunton Sands and The Glorious Oyster just off the Tarka Trail near Instow.


May 2018

Lovely cottage in a very peaceful location. Home made cake and bottle of wine on arrival very much appreciated. Owners very friendly without being intrusive, gave us lots of ideas of places to visit and where to find good pubs ( the local one is fantastic, great food and very welcoming).

We would certainly consider returning in the future.


August 2017

Lovely situation for our next leg of the South West Coastal Path. Great location for visiting Westward Ho, Clovelly and Instow. Our dog Jess really appreciated the stick pile, nearly as much as we enjoyed the home made cake and bottle of wine!


July 2017

We had a lovely stay in this cosy cottage. The surrounding area is really beautiful and relaxing. You can only hear the birds and the sheeps, no cars. If we decide to visit South Devon again next year, I'll would be happy to book this cottage again. Its very close to all tourist attractions you'll have to see. We want to thanks Classic cottages for the beautiful en relaxing holliday. Kind regards, Bjorn en Cathy, Oostkamp, Belgium.


June 2017

A very well appointed and comfortable cottage in a beautiful part of Devon. Even though we had some very bad wet weather we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Even Flo, the dog, had a wonderful time!


September 2016

Loved the cottage, tastefully decorated and is so well equipped it has everything and I mean everything you would need. Would recommend to friends, a great base to see North Devon.


September 2016

Well appointed cottage in a very rural and woodland setting. Ideal for touring North Devon . Friendly welcome and none intrusive owners .


August 2016

A wonderful idyllic cottage , the owners were so friendly and didn't mind our dog roaming about, the wine , cake and flowers were a special touch especially after the long drive down there . We loved hearing all the animals so really felt as though we were in the middle of nowhere but felt close enough to amenities . Westward Ho! beach is a must .


July 2016

Real home from home. Clean, quaint, comfy - lovely owner who popped round to make sure we were ok. Gorgeous home made cake and wine left for us. What a lovely touch! Thank you! Def would return


June 2016

Beautiful location and so quiet, only the sounds of birds and sheep, for a Townie it was idyllic.


March 2016

So very friendly and a wonderful location.


December 2015

We had a really lovely stay celebrating our wedding anniversary and taking our baby on her first holiday. The owners made us very welcome and the cottage had everything we needed to be comfortable and happy.


October 2015

Myself my two daughters and baby granddaughter all had a lovely relaxing stay. The cottage is in an idyllic location but close enough to get to all amenities nearby.


June 2015

Having thought the cake and wine in the photos were just for decoration it was very touching to see they were real...and delicious! Little Yeo is a beautiful property with friendly owners (and a beautiful young springer spaniel). We and our two spaniels spent a lovely few days there. We'd definitely recommend and expect to be there again this time next year.


March 2015

Even tho I was nursing a recently broken shoulder we found the cottage cosy and comfortable. We had a lovely week and enjoyed visiting the surrounding areas and just relaxing. Thank you for making us so welcome and given the opportunity we would return for another week. It is a well loved and well looked after cottage and it was a joy to stay in. Thank you.


October 2014

We had a very enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing stay; the location was peaceful and secluded, which was perfect for a restful getaway. It was close to many tourist attractions and not too far from the beaches which was ideal. The cottage was very comfortable and cosy and the seating area outside was a lovely addition. The flowers, home-made cake and wine that were beautifully laid out on arrival, added a very welcoming touch too!


July 2014

It is a very nice cottage with a beautiful peaceful surrounding. The owners are very friendly and the meadow in front of the cottage is perfect for dogs. We really enjoyed our stay there. Futhermore the cottage is very well equipped and the decoration is lovely.


June 2014

If you like a quiet secluded place to stay then this is ideal


May 2014

Little Yeo is a gem. Set in a quiet location with only the sheep & rooks to disturb you. Upon arrival the owners had left a home made sponge, bottle of wine and smarties for the boys. Both were friendly as was the cat. The cottage was clean and cosy. Plenty of room out side for the boys to run around. Instructions for the cottage are to hand along with a list of pubs/attractions. The Coach & Horses at Buckland Brewer is a must. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


April 2014

A lovely and well-equipped cottage for any quiet break


October 2013

This cottage is very good for walkers


August 2013

This was a very nicely furnished, comfortable cottage in a beautiful, quiet location, with very friendly, welcoming hosts. In September, though, there is little sunshine in the garden due to the beautiful, surrounding high beech trees. Nevertheless, it is a wonderful place to stay.


August 2013

1/ Outside Area not well maintained The outside of the cottage was all overgrown and blocked a lot of light coming into the cottage. Both the garden furniture and patio were very dirty and in desperate need of a clean. The little pots/ baskets were not very well maintained or looked after. We found dog poo on the garden from previous guests which was not very pleasant for our children. 2/ Damp The cottage was very damp and despite having the windows open for the whole of our 2 week stay did still smell. 3/ Cleaning / Change of Bedding The owner did kindly provide a change of bedding after our first week, however, it would have been much nicer and more restful to have had the cottage cleaned, bedding change and towels replaced after the first week. This is something that is done very well abroad as part of a rental but not so common in the UK.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were really sorry to see your comments about the cottage - we've not experienced any of these problems during our visits to Little Yeo, when both inside and outside have been presented in a lovely condition. However we do apologise for anything that may have inadvertently been overlooked when you stayed. Your feedback has been discussed with the Owner - we strive to ensure that our standards are very high and your review really helps us to monitor this. Thanks for taking the time to let us know and we hope you had a great stay in Devon.


July 2013

This was a very comfortable cottage with lovely surroundings and the owners were lovely people.


June 2013

Little Yeo looks so pretty in the photos but it does not convey how beautiful and tranquil it is there. I would recommend it to anyone. The owners are lovely and nothing was too much trouble. If you want to visit Bideford, Appledore, The Big Sheep, Westward Ho!, The Milky Way, Barnstaple etc. they are all within a short distance. Anyone with children will love it. We took our nephew who is 2 and he loved the garden to play in and especially the cows in the field opposite! All in All a fab place to stay.


March 2013

Little Yeo was a lovely little cottage to stay in. It was extremely comfortable and the owners went out of their way to make us feel at home by baking a lovely cake and leaving some wine. Beautiful surrounding areas with lots of areas to explore and hike in. Would most definitely recommend this as a place to stay to others.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.