The Malt House is within walking distance of the beach, village shop and the pub. Perfect!
The Malt House has plenty of room for all and is ideal for a get-together.
The wonderful kitchen is well planned for loads of cooking!
The Malt House has five individually styled bedrooms.
There's even a games-room to keep young and old amused.
The lovely kitchen/breakfast-room.
The dining-area in the kitchen.
From the kitchen you can step out to the sunny patio-area.
The toasty multi-burner makes this an ideal retreat all year round.
For more formal dining, perhaps to mark a special occasion, there is also a dining-table in the open plan living-room.
The second sitting-area for those who might want some quiet time.
The games-room offers table-football, table-tennis, pool and darts.
You will feel at home from the minute you step inside.
Bedroom 1 has a king-size double bed and  is very spacious.
The en suite bathroom for bedroom 1.
Breakfast in bed in bedroom 2!
Pretty bedroom 3.
The 'Jack and Jill' en suite in bedroom 3.
Bedxroom 4 also has an en suite shower-room.
Dual aspect bedroom 5 has a king-size double and a single bed.
The enclosed patio-area is very sunny and ideal for a barbecue.
Crantock beach, half a mile from The Malt House.
The north coast of Cornwall is stunning and all within easy access from The Malt House at Crantock.
A view of Crantock beach, half a mile away.

The Malt House

1320

Crantock / Sleeps 11 + 2 cots

7 Nights from £1077 - £2950

July 2018

Wifii and mobile access very patchy - probably as expected for a character cottage in a small village. Parking an issue for a house for 10 people with more than 2 cars attending.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your comments - WiFi and mobile reception as you found can be a little intermittent in some West Country locations. Our best advise is to check the network coverage maps for your provider before your holiday and details of this can be found on our website. There is parking for 3 medium-sized cars at The Malt house (VW Golf or similar) as detailed in the description but there is also a public car park down by the beach if bringing larger vehicles. Bryony, Customer Support


June 2018

Spacious house in fabulous location close to the glorious Crantock beach Highly recommend


May 2018

This review is currently in moderation.

April 2018

A large but cosy cottage in a tranquil pretty village just minutes from some of the best beaches and scenery in Cornwall. Ideal for both walkers and beach lovers.


April 2018

A large but cosy cottage in a tranquil pretty village just minutes from some of the best beaches and scenery in Cornwall. Ideal for both walkers and beach lovers.


April 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at The Malt House. It provides a comfortable base in which to enjoy a multi-generational family holiday. Lots of space and very well equipped. The location is superb, both locally and further afield. To be able to walk to a beautiful beach, public house, village store and cafe ticks all the boxes.


February 2018

Great place for different generations fantastic beach, great for walking, and a good bus link to Newquay it was never late and a late bus back to Crantock from Newquay if you wanted to go out would definitely use again and stay in Crantock


December 2017

Great cottage, fab location.


October 2017

Sand dunes, colourful caves, a beach to die for and waves out of this world. Then there's the Malthouse - a haven to return to after a great day. Comfort, brilliant kitchen and the best sitting room ever. I dare you to stay awake after 9.00pm!


October 2017

We've been in the Malthouse for the third time and will come back next year. The Malthouse leaves nothing to be desired. Excelent location, pubs and store just two steps away. Easy access and short way to the beach.


September 2017

Lovely old house with lots of character. Choice of living room space meant family members could do their own thing, which is important when there is a large group of varying ages. Everyone was happy and all would return given the opportunity.


June 2017

The Malt House is a wonderful holiday home which has been converted from a derelict barn (check out the book of restoration photographs!). We had a wonderful week in mid June with (five adults, three very young children and a dog) and we fell in love with the place. Everything you will need is here, from the well appointed kitchen, lovely bedrooms and bathrooms, BBQ in the enclosed and private patio area, and of course the games room, complete with sloping pool table.. Parking space is limited - it's fine for two cars but three would be a squeeze. There is no other parking available.

There are two lovely pubs literally less than a minutes walk away (we preferred the Cornishman) and Crantock beach is less than ten minutes walk from the cottage. The local store is great and well stocked - try the pizzas - and the village of Crantock is such a great place to unwind. I would recommend the Malt House to anyone - you won't regret it!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Malt House and we were so pleased to hear you enjoyed a wonderful holiday overall. There is parking for 3 medium-sized cars in front of the property (VW Golf size or similar) as detailed in the description, but for larger cars there is also a public car park down by the beach. Bryony, Customer Support


April 2017

A lovely cottage right in the middle of the village - 2 mins from the store. Luxurious but comfortable - and the courtyard garden is perfect in the sunshine.


April 2017

A really beautiful and comfortable cottage in a great location. We will be recommending it to everyone we know!


April 2017

Beautiful cottage in a prime location at the centre of the village. Close to two local pubs as well as a fabulous dog friendly beach.


October 2016

It is a lovely house, very well equipped,10 minutes walk to the beach which is beautiful,wecwere a family of nine badges all enjoyed our stay at the malt house so much so we can't wait to visit again.


September 2016

Lovely old cottage great location well equipped and spacious just the job for a large family gathering.


September 2016

Fantastic location, really comfortable beds and really loved the jam, scones and cream. Thank you to the lovely owners who were most welcoming


September 2016

Fantastic location in small village. The Malt House is just 30 second walk to two pubs and a general store and only 10 minute walk to the beautiful beach. Newquay is just a ten minute drive. The cottage is large enough for you all to sit together and has room for you to also have some time to yourself. The beds and sofa areas are comfy and homely and the kitchen has everything you could need. A lovely cream tea (and some doggy snacks) made by the owner were there when we arrived which was a lovely touch and the scones and jam were delicious! My one negative is that it could be cleaner.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review, and it's great to see that you obviously enjoyed your stay. We have passed on your comments to the Owners so they can have a thorough check at the next changeover. We hope you'd come back again in the future. Tanya, Customer Support


August 2016

This is a fantastic house, location is excellent - we love it !!


July 2016

A magnificent accommodation within ten minutes walk to the most beautiful beach. Three generations all loved it ( for different reasons obviously)!!


July 2016

It's a wonderful house with plenty of room for everyone to relax in. So well equipped and with 2 excellent pubs and well stocked shop/post office a short walk away. A short walk too to the beach and River Gannel, which is so safe for children to play in the pools when the tide has gone out. And mustn't forget the Cosy Nook Cafe - cream teas and ice cream sundaes to die for!!


July 2016

Superior property ideally suited to a large party as the property has plenty of spaceand extremely well equipped. Location is superb. Pubs and beach in close proximity. Highly recommended.


June 2016

An annual summer week at the Malt House is almost a timeless entry in the family calendar. The levels of comfort, attention to detail and overall ambience of the property are unique and of the highest standard. Further, the owners are most kind and accommodating. I am sure we will make a booking for next year once we have firmed up on dates. As an addendum, I frequently come across a book of interest on the Malt House shelves and buy a copy for myself on our return home. This year was no exception.


March 2016

Great cottage for large groups with pets. Well maintained with good quality furnishings.


September 2015

Lovely old building in a lovely location, but cleanliness needs to be better and a downstairs toilet would be a great addition. Better lighting would be a benefit too in the main living room and in some of the bedrooms. The main bathroom was lovely and light.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so for taking the time to review your stay at The Malt House - we will certainly pass on your feedback to the Owners for their attention. Tanya, Customer Support


July 2015

This is a fantastic house for a large party. There is masses of room for everyone and all their equipment. We loved the comfy sofas and fire, so nice on chilly evenings (in August). All the bedrooms having their own bathrooms was brilliant! It was great to have a big enough table (both inside the house and in the garden) for us all to sit round. All in all a great house in an idyllic location. Nobody staying at the Malt House could fail to love being there.


June 2015

I have run out of superlatives in describing the Malt House and its owners. The former is quite the most perfect holiday home we have ever stayed in, including UK, Europe, North America. The latter are most kind and thoughtful: I consider it an immense privilege to be able to stay in their delightful and fascinating Malt House.


December 2014

A delightful cottage in a pretty Hamlet .There is easy access to Newquay.The cottage is well equipped and has practical layout for a great holiday.


August 2014

A fantastic property for a large group - lots of room and loads of useful equipment. A pleasure to stay in with our friends.


July 2014

Delightful cottage in lovely location.


July 2014

Great cottage, beautiful location, would certainly book again in the future.


June 2014

It is impossible to find any fault.


May 2014

Totally charming house in and idyllic location!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.