Poppy Yurt is sat proud on its decking in four and a half acres of meadow and woodland.
The inside is just stunning, what a wonderful place to spend a few days or more.
Wow, just look at that location - stunning!
The inside of the main yurt, super spacious and complete with a double bed and dining-area.
An idyllic place to rest your head at the end of the day.
Pretty linens add to the charm.
There's a fridge (with ice-box) and a kettle inside too.
A futon provides a bed for a fifth person.
Double doors lead from the main yurt through to the 'baby' yurt.
Housing the bunk-beds and the shower-room.
The kids will love the bunk-beds.
Colourful linens.
And cute teddy bears.
This way to the en suite!
The lovely shower-room.
Complete with WC, wash-basin and shower cubicle - true luxury glamping!
A stunning space.
The traditional yurt feature - gorgeous!
You have all the equipment necessary for a luxury camping holiday.
Cuppa, anyone?
The wonderful welcome hamper, left by the lovely owners for your arrival.
The wood-burner will keep you toasty on cooler days (logs are provided).
Including some yummy local chutneys.
Peeking through Poppy's window across the decking to the rolling countryside beyond. Ashley's Shack, also on site, can be seen to the right.
Welcome to Poppy Yurt!
Slap bang in the middle of four and a half acres of wildflower meadows, woodlands, a stream and a large lake.
The raised deck is the perfect place to relax al fresco.
Cook up a storm on the full-size gas barbecue (your cooking appliance at Poppy Yurt)
Although outside, this area is under the cover of a canvas.
The outdoor sink has both hot and cold running water.
Rural bliss!
Dining al fresco is a must.
A quirky and comfortable place to stay.
Tucked away but with heaps to do nearby.
Standing on a wooden deck built into the side of the meadow.
An aerial view of this stunning setting.
Here you can just see Poppy's brother, Ashley, who shares this magical location, though each has their own private areas.
Follow the path to Poppy Yurt - your adventure begins!
You are more than welcome to explore the grounds.
Who knows what you may come across when exploring the grounds - here is the owners' beekeeping hive.
What kinds of wildlife will you spot?
Perhaps you will see a butterfly
The owners keep some friendly sheep on-site.
Grazing in the sunshine.
And chickens too.
Ducks call the grounds home as well.
The bench by the lake is a lovely place to sit for a while.
Why not take the boat for a row.
Another aerial shot of this wonderful location.

Poppy Yurt

2720

6.2 miles W of Dartmouth / Sleeps 5 + cot

20% off for parties of 2 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £394

July 2019

An amazing place to stay , very friendly people , fantastic location to explore surrounding areas. Would highly recommend, outstanding. Thank you for a memorable week.


September 2018

The owners are so utterly amazing and accommodating. Such friendly people to be greeted by. The whole weekend was relaxing and even though we had rain all day Saturday, we managed to get out and view the bespoke little village and look at all the scenery. In the evening we all sat by the log fire playing games and having laughs with wine and food. It was simply perfect for a group of friends to reconnect and catch up. We then visited the caves and walked along the beach in Torquay. Each night was so cosey and chilled. It's perfect for families also and I can't wait to bring my little ones to explore. AMAZING. Everything was their for us. No need for pots pans or towels, and they even provided a little gift hamper of local goods.


August 2017

A beautiful yurt owned by a lovely couple. Would thoroughly recommend. A good location, the road can be a little noisy although we timed our holiday to coincide with the Dartmouth Regatta which made it busier than usual.


April 2017

Lovely yurt, good place to spend long weekend. they have little pond down to the yurt which is really pretty. the owner are super friendly and very helpful.


September 2016

Poppy yurt is a magical retreat set in a brilliant location to visit South Devon and all it's loveliness.


August 2016

We were looking for something different this year, and this certainly met those criteria. We had a great holiday in a wonderful location, in great accommodation, we will certainly be back.


August 2016

Poppy Yurt is set in an idyllic location.


July 2016

Beautiful yurt in a beautiful place. Gorgeous spot for a holiday. Hosts could not be more friendly and welcoming, there's a delightful welcome hamper when you arrive, beds are comfy and you've got all the comforts you need, while still being close to nature and away from it all. Highly recommended.


September 2015

The yurt was exactly as appeared on the website and is delightful - the welcome pack was a lovely touch, too. We were disappointed that there is no tractor to take us from the car park to the yurt - it would have given us all a laugh! Poppy Yurt is in a peaceful, beautiful location but you will need that wood burning stove in the evenings!


July 2015

Our stay at Poppy Yurt was great fun and the best holiday we've had for years. It's located really conveniently for Dartmouth and Totnes (you don't have to drive for miles down country lanes before reaching a main road), yet the yurt is completely secluded and surrounded by lovely Devonshire countryside as far as the eye can see. It's bright and airy by day, and wonderfully cosy at night -the beds are exceptionally comfortable. Neil and Lynne are lovely people- we couldn't have asked for better hosts.


June 2015

Beautiful setting and the most hospitable hosts


April 2015

Our stay at the Poppy Yurt was fab and we can't wait to go back! The location is perfect for days out close by - we spent one day in Salcombe and another in Dartmouth (both lovely). The yurt has everything you could need or want for a perfect getaway, a really romantic setting. We were lucky with the weather so really got to enjoy the experience in all of its glory! A really perfect four days - thank you.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for your lovely review we are glad you had a great time. Alison, Booking Office Consultant


April 2015

Great base for a Devon holiday. Plenty of wood supplied if a little chilly. Would recommend taking advantage of the free eggs. Amazing omelette and the kids love collecting them.great little welcome package.really appreciated. A great little place to build dens and have fun without electronics. Only have a bbq and kettle so did our first bbq boiled egg's and toast lol. Great fun and romantic full moon shining through the centre ??


September 2014

Our stay at Poppy Yurt was idyllic. The Yurt was beautiful, much bigger than expected, spotlessly clean and so well equipped with everything you need - it really exceeded our expectations. The beds were so comfortable and with a dining table and chairs and sofa/futon we had plenty of places to sit inside as well as the large deck outside. The en suite hot shower, toilet and wash-basin was a real bonus and the little sink outside next to the barbecue with hot and cold water was fab (and covered by canvas too)! My children (aged 7 and 4) absolutely loved their glamping experience and enjoyed playing in the safe woodland and loved rowing on the lake (accompanied of course!), they had a really great time. Lynne and Neil Ward the Owners are such lovely people, you could not ask for better hosts - on hand if needs be and friendly and helpful at all times. There is so much to see and do in the area too from fabulous beaches (Blackpool Sands is our favourite) to steam train rides to boat cruises up the River Dart to visiting lovely towns such as Dartmouth and Totnes. We really did love our glamping experience and hope to return to Poppy again soon.


July 2014

We thought the yurt was wonderful and the location excellent. It all exceeded our expectations. The owners, Mr & Mrs Ward, gave us a very warm welcome, were very interested in how we were spending our holiday and couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We couldn't fault anything about the holiday and would love to return to Poppy Yurt in the future. We would give it full marks.


June 2014

Wonderful yurt, welcoming hosts, beautiful location. Our most relaxing holiday for years.


May 2014

This is a magical place, such a pretty setting in a wild flower meadow. The yurt is really spacious and light, with a cubby hole for the bunk beds which our children loved. The hot water bottles and log burner made it cosy for chilly May nights, with the large deck perfect for barbecues. A taste of adventure for the kids, comfort for us - perfect.


May 2014

Poppy Yurt was simply perfect, what a wonderful and luxurious way to live the outdoor holiday experience. We loved so many aspects of our holiday but fond memories are of eating breakfast on the sun warmed decking watching the cows across the way start to wake up and sat in the rocking chairs in front of the woodburner with a glass of wine in hand doing nothing but relaxing. Wonderful warm welcome from the owners who remained attentive yet absent at all times.


April 2014

Its a picturesque location, so beautiful surroundings. Yurt is lovely and because of no tv give us time to bond more closely as a family. Played board games and cards in front of fire..Had a great time with the kids rowing at the pond and football at the field..


April 2014

Fantastic place to stay, had everything we needed and even the bad weather didn't spoil the holiday.


September 2013

Poppy Yurt and the owners exceeded my expectations in every way. Poppy is visually beautiful, aesthetically more than pleasing and has a luxury feel, the furniture and furnishings are just lovely.
It rained really heavily one night but Poppy was warm and cosy with the glow of the lamps and the log burner crackling away. The owners could not have been more welcoming and generous and invited us to wander around their grounds with woods, lake (still complete with lilies in October), stream and meadow.


August 2013

We wanted to experience the camping holiday but didn't want to compromise on the mod cons, this felt like the best match for our requirements.


July 2013

As the first official 'guests' to Poppy Yurt, we were delighted to find it a really peaceful haven and one in which we quickly found ourselves relaxing. Some of the more unusual aspects of living in a Yurt for a week actually added to the experience and we had a wonderful time - our children said it was "a real adventure"


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.