Poppy Yurt is sat proud on its decking in four and a half acres of meadow and woodland.
Poppy has a striking poppy red colour theme throughout.
A futon is provided to accommodate a fifth person if required (bedding is also provided for the futon).
The open plan and very spacious living-area.
With canvas wardrobe storage too.
The kitchen-area.
You have all the equipment necessary for a luxury camping holiday.
Two lovely rocking chairs next to the cosy wood-burner.
There is even a fridge and travel kettle too (the electric supply is limited but it will happy run the fridge a small kettle and subtle lighting).
Plenty of lovely spaces for a relaxing holiday.
Looking towards the double doors leading to the baby yurt.
Double doors lead into the attached yurt which houses the bunk beds and the shower-area.
Children will love the full-size bunk-beds. Who's on top?!
Hot water bottles are provided for the cooler months.
This way to the en suite!
The en suite shower-area in the baby yurt has a proper hot water shower cubicle, a flushing WC and wash-basin.
Plenty of hot water for your shower.
Hot and cold water to the wash-basin!
The beautiful entrance into Poppy Yurt.
There is a table and chairs to dine inside or you can use the picnic bench on the deck outside.
There are lovely features throughout.
Little bedside lights.
Lie in bed and gaze up at the stars through Poppy’s clear covered roof.
The wood-burner will keep you toasty on cooler days (logs are provided).
The traditional yurt feature and great for star/cloud gazing.
Sit next to the roaring fire in this beautiful yurt.
Subtle lighting.
A red themed mirror for the en suite.
Owl hooks.
Peeking through Poppy’s window across the decking to the rolling countryside beyond. Ashley's Shack, also on site, can be seen to the right.
The covered barbecue area with outdoor sink (with hot and cold water) looks towards the valley beyond.
Cooking up a treat on the barbecue for an al fresco meal
Quirky and cute, the little outside washing-up sink with hot and cold water.
Outdoor living at its best.
Looking back across Poppy's vast deck towards the barbecue and outdoor kitchen sink.
Sit back, relax, enjoy the view and soak up the sun!
Poppy Yurt basking in the South Devon sunshine.
Looking towards Poppy from the wild flower meadow.
Poppy is sheltered by woodland on two sides and overlooks the valley and lake below.
Looking  from the woodland behind towards Poppy in the distance (behind the tree) and Ashley's Shack and the valley beyond.
The beautiful lake with its two small islands (Alice and Milo). Try out your skills on the rowing boat (children must always be supervised).
The little rowing boat is available to guests - however children must be supervised by an adult at all times.
The lake and grounds that you are free to share with the Owners.
The delightful orchard area with the Owners friendly free-range chickens.
Tucked into the side of the hill.
Poppy Yurt will truly provide a very special glamping holiday.

Poppy Yurt

2720

6.2 miles W of Dartmouth / Sleeps 5 + cot

7 Nights from £386 - £966

August 2017

A beautiful yurt owned by a lovely couple. Would thoroughly recommend. A good location, the road can be a little noisy although we timed our holiday to coincide with the Dartmouth Regatta which made it busier than usual.


April 2017

Lovely yurt, good place to spend long weekend. they have little pond down to the yurt which is really pretty. the owner are super friendly and very helpful.


September 2016

Poppy yurt is a magical retreat set in a brilliant location to visit South Devon and all it's loveliness.


August 2016

We were looking for something different this year, and this certainly met those criteria. We had a great holiday in a wonderful location, in great accommodation, we will certainly be back.


August 2016

Poppy Yurt is set in an idyllic location.


July 2016

Beautiful yurt in a beautiful place. Gorgeous spot for a holiday. Hosts could not be more friendly and welcoming, there's a delightful welcome hamper when you arrive, beds are comfy and you've got all the comforts you need, while still being close to nature and away from it all. Highly recommended.


September 2015

The yurt was exactly as appeared on the website and is delightful - the welcome pack was a lovely touch, too. We were disappointed that there is no tractor to take us from the car park to the yurt - it would have given us all a laugh! Poppy Yurt is in a peaceful, beautiful location but you will need that wood burning stove in the evenings!


July 2015

Our stay at Poppy Yurt was great fun and the best holiday we've had for years. It's located really conveniently for Dartmouth and Totnes (you don't have to drive for miles down country lanes before reaching a main road), yet the yurt is completely secluded and surrounded by lovely Devonshire countryside as far as the eye can see. It's bright and airy by day, and wonderfully cosy at night -the beds are exceptionally comfortable. Neil and Lynne are lovely people- we couldn't have asked for better hosts.


June 2015

Beautiful setting and the most hospitable hosts


April 2015

Our stay at the Poppy Yurt was fab and we can't wait to go back! The location is perfect for days out close by - we spent one day in Salcombe and another in Dartmouth (both lovely). The yurt has everything you could need or want for a perfect getaway, a really romantic setting. We were lucky with the weather so really got to enjoy the experience in all of its glory! A really perfect four days - thank you.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for your lovely review we are glad you had a great time. Alison, Booking Office Consultant


April 2015

Great base for a Devon holiday. Plenty of wood supplied if a little chilly. Would recommend taking advantage of the free eggs. Amazing omelette and the kids love collecting them.great little welcome package.really appreciated. A great little place to build dens and have fun without electronics. Only have a bbq and kettle so did our first bbq boiled egg's and toast lol. Great fun and romantic full moon shining through the centre ??


September 2014

Our stay at Poppy Yurt was idyllic. The Yurt was beautiful, much bigger than expected, spotlessly clean and so well equipped with everything you need - it really exceeded our expectations. The beds were so comfortable and with a dining table and chairs and sofa/futon we had plenty of places to sit inside as well as the large deck outside. The en suite hot shower, toilet and wash-basin was a real bonus and the little sink outside next to the barbecue with hot and cold water was fab (and covered by canvas too)! My children (aged 7 and 4) absolutely loved their glamping experience and enjoyed playing in the safe woodland and loved rowing on the lake (accompanied of course!), they had a really great time. Lynne and Neil Ward the Owners are such lovely people, you could not ask for better hosts - on hand if needs be and friendly and helpful at all times. There is so much to see and do in the area too from fabulous beaches (Blackpool Sands is our favourite) to steam train rides to boat cruises up the River Dart to visiting lovely towns such as Dartmouth and Totnes. We really did love our glamping experience and hope to return to Poppy again soon.


July 2014

We thought the yurt was wonderful and the location excellent. It all exceeded our expectations. The owners, Mr & Mrs Ward, gave us a very warm welcome, were very interested in how we were spending our holiday and couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We couldn't fault anything about the holiday and would love to return to Poppy Yurt in the future. We would give it full marks.


June 2014

Wonderful yurt, welcoming hosts, beautiful location. Our most relaxing holiday for years.


May 2014

This is a magical place, such a pretty setting in a wild flower meadow. The yurt is really spacious and light, with a cubby hole for the bunk beds which our children loved. The hot water bottles and log burner made it cosy for chilly May nights, with the large deck perfect for barbecues. A taste of adventure for the kids, comfort for us - perfect.


May 2014

Poppy Yurt was simply perfect, what a wonderful and luxurious way to live the outdoor holiday experience. We loved so many aspects of our holiday but fond memories are of eating breakfast on the sun warmed decking watching the cows across the way start to wake up and sat in the rocking chairs in front of the woodburner with a glass of wine in hand doing nothing but relaxing. Wonderful warm welcome from the owners who remained attentive yet absent at all times.


April 2014

Its a picturesque location, so beautiful surroundings. Yurt is lovely and because of no tv give us time to bond more closely as a family. Played board games and cards in front of fire..Had a great time with the kids rowing at the pond and football at the field..


April 2014

Fantastic place to stay, had everything we needed and even the bad weather didn't spoil the holiday.


September 2013

Poppy Yurt and the owners exceeded my expectations in every way. Poppy is visually beautiful, aesthetically more than pleasing and has a luxury feel, the furniture and furnishings are just lovely.
It rained really heavily one night but Poppy was warm and cosy with the glow of the lamps and the log burner crackling away. The owners could not have been more welcoming and generous and invited us to wander around their grounds with woods, lake (still complete with lilies in October), stream and meadow.


August 2013

We wanted to experience the camping holiday but didn't want to compromise on the mod cons, this felt like the best match for our requirements.


July 2013

As the first official 'guests' to Poppy Yurt, we were delighted to find it a really peaceful haven and one in which we quickly found ourselves relaxing. Some of the more unusual aspects of living in a Yurt for a week actually added to the experience and we had a wonderful time - our children said it was "a real adventure"


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.