The fabulous hot tub, on the sunny raised deck at the back of the cottage, is very private and has lovely countryside views.
Downalong's light and spacious open plan living-room.
The front patio - on a sunny evening, it's the perfect spot for a barbecue.
The white high-gloss kitchen is very well-equipped....
The outdoor swimming pool (variable depth) is available for you during your stay (children must always be accompanied) although the owners will use it when guests are not on site.
The wonderful view from the hot tub.
Wingnuts, Rusty and Al Capone the Alpacas are settling into their new home and they look forward to meeting you.
The wood-burner is great for warding off the chill of those cooler evenings.
The living-room has two large comfortable sofas facing the wood-burner, and patio doors at each side.
Bedroom 1 is furnished with a king-size double bed.
The double bedroom has its own en suite shower-room.
The twin bedroom (Bedroom 2) has glazed doors opening out onto the front patio.
The bunk bedroom (Bedroom 3) is ideal for children.
The spacious wet-room is ideal for everyone, and especially for those with restricted mobility.
The bedrooms and wet-room are at one end of the cottage, with the living-room at the other.
Looking across the living-room towards the kitchen-area.
Downalong's front patio-area.
The fantastic view across the countryside from the living-room's front patio doors.
There is plenty of space for children to play in the meadow.
Looking back up at the house from the meadow.
Downalong stands apart from the Owners' home (top left in the photograph).
There is plenty of parking space in front of the cottage, the swimming pool is behind the fence to the left of the picture. (photo to follow)
The back patio doors lead out to the deck and the hot tub.
....and looks out across the fields.
Wingnuts, Rusty and Al Capone are settling into their new home and they look forward to meeting you.
Meet Wingnuts, named due to his ears apparently!
Sandy Porthtowan beach is just a few minutes' drive from Downalong.
Perranporth beach is only a little further up the coast.
On the south coast, Falmouth's Maenporth Beach.
The beautiful Helford River.
There is always lots of activity to watch in and around Falmouth's bustling harbour.
Another of Falmouth's beaches - Gyllyngvase - has a renowed bistro cafe right on the sand.
Falmouth's third sandy beach, Swanpool.
Portreath's family-friendly beach on the north coast is only a few minutes' drive away.
Portreath beach on a beautiful, quiet spring day!
Picturesque St Ives is about half an hour away by car.
The Alpacas have arrived at Woodbine Farm.
This is Rusty, due to his reddy colour, how cute is he?

Downalong

2702

4.7 miles SE of Portreath / Sleeps 6 + cot

20% off for parties of 4 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

7 Nights from £502 - £1375

October 2017

Loved the hot tub and all of the animals. Our children loved running outside to see them every morning and helping to feed them. Very friendly owners too! House was well equipped and extremely clean, the cream tea on arrival was wonderful. We will be booking again next year! We had a wonderful holiday and our 5 year old son cried when we left as he was going to miss the alpacas!


September 2017

Enjoyed a very happy week, great venue to explore Cornwall, The Hot tub was a lovely treat and greatly used The accommodation was homely, warm and had all the equipment needed Beautiful cream tea to enjoy on arrival Ensuite bathroom to double bedroom was a bonus to have plus the wet room.


August 2017

The whole family had a fantastic time here. The owners and there adorable animals especially the dog, she went down a treat with my son and all of us. We rented a boat on the helford river that was a lovely day out its a must. I would say st Ives is very busy and over rated. We will be returning very soon thank you for a wonderful holiday and being so brilliant Caroline.


August 2017

Owners were really welcoming as were the animals! Cream tea exceptional. We loved the property and facilities. Children enjoyed swimming in the pool and warming up in the hot tub. Helped out feeding the Alpacas and chickens. Played with Hazy the dog. Would definitely like to return and would recommend the property to others.


August 2017

The animals here are the real hit! Hazey, the alpacas, cat and chickens make this such a family friendly holiday. The Alpaca Walk is fondly remembered by all. Caroline was very accommodating and helpful with directions and local information. I appreciated the location; we did both Eden and Kynance Cove with ease. My daughter uses a wheelchair and found the property wholly accessible. The wet room worked really well. Pool enjoyed by children (too cold for me!) and hot tub loved by all, especially under the stars, late in the evening.


July 2017

Lovely property centrally located for many attractions/places. Property is very comfortable with everything you would need. The pool and the hot-tub is a real bonus. The animals also made the holiday for us.


April 2017

Liked everything - cottage, hot tub, location, owner. Brilliant


October 2016

Superb facilities, very attentive service. Really nice homely feel to it and for amazing value.....and the alpaca's are gorgeous!!! A++++


September 2016

would recommend Downalong to everyone! Its very spacious inside but has a lovely homely feel, and to spend time in the hot tub under the stars is truly amazing! I am missing it already! Our daily visits from Hazy and Biscuit were enjoyable also. Owners are friendly and very helpful. Would love to go back some time


September 2016

Excellent holiday home in the countryside, there is plenty of walks and a small village nearby. The cottage itself has a high standard of facilities including a hot tub and swimming pool. There is a selection of friendly animals on the site including three alpacas and a dog, all in all a fun friendly place to relax.


August 2016

Absolutely beautiful cottage were you are made to feel so welcome and asked to treat it as if it were your own home. Lovely pool and hot tub.


March 2016

The location of the cottage is excellent with lots to do around (walks, cycling, beaches,museums, beautiful coastal towns..). Hazy the dog was a real hit with the children and the hot tub was a real treat! The owners were very friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. Overall, we had a lovely time and we're sure to go back there again!


August 2015

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at Downalong. The bungalow was very comfortable, the hot tub perfect after a day at the beach and the pool great fun for the kids. Hazy, the dog, was an additional bonus for our children who are still talking about her!


May 2015

A lovely place to stay with friendly hosts, a warm welcome and a hot tub to boot. Very quiet and peaceful place. The animals are a bonus for children.


May 2015

Friendly owners and a lovely setting to go on holiday. Hot tub and pool where great. Lovely dog and alpaca.


April 2015

Didn't want to leave! The best UK holiday we have ever had! Clean, comfortable accommodation. Owner very friendly and welcoming The Alpacas are great fun!


April 2015

Fabulous place to stay, lovely welcome from owners, hot tub was amazing with great views. Loved the Alpacas. Cottage is very well equipped. Really enjoyed our stay. We had my Mum with is who has limited mobility and Downalong suited us perfectly. Would recommend to anyone. Great location with easy access to all Cornwalls fantastic attractions and beaches.


August 2014

Everything about the property and location was fantastic! Ideal cottage for our family, lots of space for our children to play. The children also loved the owner's dog, Hazy and were sad to leave her behind. We loved staying at Downalong and will be back next year.


July 2014

Good family accommodation, in a great location.


June 2014

We had a fabulous time at Downalong. It was clean and comfortable with everything we needed. The owners were friendly and helpful with suggesting places to visit.. Hazy the dog was a firm favourite with our children. The hot tub was the perfect tonic at the end of a busy day, and the pool was a great bonus too. All in all I would highly recommend a visit. Well worth the 6 1/2 hour car journey!! :)


April 2014

Really lovely. Well worth a visit!


April 2014

Lovely property in a peaceful location with plenty of space for children to play. Convenient location for all our favourite areas. We would love to return.


March 2014

Wonderful decor, peaceful location and great amenities. Good hosts, they greeted us when we arrived and they were around when we needed anything. Thank you.


September 2013

The accommodation was excellent for our family and the location seems well placed, as whenever we went off for the day everywhere seemed to be within about 20 minutes drive. The space and quality of accommodation was lovely, with two small children. Loved the jacuzzi, it allowed some wind down time at the end of the day after the kids were in bed. The owners were very helpful and answered any queries we had very quickly they were also very nice and welcoming, which for us is very important especially with two children. All in all would happily return and happily recommend to our friends.


August 2013

Downalong is an excellent place to stay. It is a very spacious, bright place with lots of equipment to make the stay relaxed and enjoyable. The hot tub is excellent with great views to look at. The location is great as you don't have to travel far to get to the great beaches. We would recommend this property and wouldn't hesitate about staying here again.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We agree, Downalong is in a great position for getting to either coast, so you can choose your beach according to the wind direction - we love Porthtowan and Chapel Porth on the north coast, or try secret little Durgan beach near Falmouth on the south coast; it's tucked away on the boundary of the National Trust's Glendurgan gardens, so you can tie in a visit there too! Tanya, Customer Support


July 2013

The property is lovely very welcoming as are the owners made to feel really comfortable from day 1, the hot tub is a great addition to the property with great views all round.we had our 2 children 2 & 4 no issues with safety, the pool is well enclosed. Highly recommend and would definitely stay again. Very well equipped, clean and finished to a high standard , all round good value for money, we had a great holiday thank you


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.