The view from the property down to Gorran Haven beach.
Huge picture windows in the main sitting-room take in the wonderful views.
The dining-table is set before the patio doors which lead out to the balcony.
The games-room has table-tennis, games and comfy chairs.
Looking towards the cottage from the garden.
A big corner sofa faces out towards the view.
The wall of glass gives spectacular views.
More stunning views from the dining-area.
There is a second sitting-area in the dining-room.
Both sitting-areas have Smart TVs (with Sky free sat, BT Infinity and Blu-ray DVD players).
There is space for a table and chairs in the kitchen/breakfast-room.
The big, fully equipped kitchen has an American-style fridge/freezer plus an additional fridge.
There is a double oven and combination microwave in the kitchen, perfect for catering for big family groups.
Even the dining-area has lovely views.
Bedroom 1 (ground floor) has 'zip and link'  (double or twin) beds.
Bedroom 2 (ground floor) has a king-size bed and en suite bathroom.
This bathroom is en suite to Bedroom 2, and has both a bath and double-size shower cubicle.
The view from Bedroom 2 (the master bedroom).
Bedroom 3 (lower ground floor) has 'zip and link' (double or twin) beds.
Bedroom 4 (lower ground floor) has 'zip and link' (double or twin) beds.
Looking back at the house from the gate to the lane that leads down to the harbour.
Looking across the terrace to the village in the valley.
Lazy Boy bean bags in the chill-out area of the games-room.
A box full of family games to play.
It's a three minute walk to the beach in the village.
Dinghies and kayaks can be hired at the beach.
Looking towards Parc an Gates from the beach (top left property).
Buy your buckets and spades from the beach shop (they also sell wonderful fresh crab sandwiches!).
Heligan Gardens is only a few miles away and well worth a visit.
Nearby Mevagissey is a quintessential fishing village.
Charlestown Harbour is an historic working port and home to a number of tall ships.

Parc an Gates

1883

1.9 miles S of Mevagissey / Sleeps 8 + 2 cots

7 Nights from £790 - £2394

September 2017

Just overall an outstanding property. Just perfectly spacious, well equipped and clean. The views are outstanding and I would thoroughly recommend for a fantastic, stress-free holiday


August 2017

As the last thing you would wish to see on a freshly made bed is blood from a previous guest (let alone the single bed which was used by a child), despite the views being lovely, the inside of the property was not 'good' so unable to give even 3 stars.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were so sorry that you found some blood on the pillow and we're glad that you called us so that we could address the problem. We've followed up the points you raised with the owners and the housekeeping team and were pleased that we were able to come to a satisfactory resolution for you overall. Bryony, Customer Support


July 2017

Only that I think there should be mention of the steep climb back to the property. My wife and I were prepared for this, having sussed out Parc an Gates the previous year. We came complete with a trolley to cart all of my grandchildren's beach clobber back up the slope! ( still hard work)

Thank you again.

Mike Wells


April 2017

This was our second visit and love the house and location. There were six adults and a four year old in our party and it was perfect for us all. We can't wait to stay again next year.


October 2016

I would not wish to promote this property to families unless safety measured were put in place.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to review Parc an Gates. We're sorry that you didn't feel comfortable opening the sitting-room doors to the balcony - we do draw attention to the balcony in our description and clearly show photos of it, as well as advising guests that care should be taken with children. However your suggestion to fit window restrictors to prevent inquisitive younger guests opening the bedroom windows is a good one, and we've passed this on to the Owner. If you'd like any specific information about any of our cottages and their suitability for your party, please don't hesitate to give us a call. Tanya, Customer Support


August 2016

This is a lovely house in a beautiful area of Cornwall. The house is of a high standard and well equipped for a family holiday.The pictures are as we found it! The beds are comfortable with good quality sheets and towels supplied. The bathrooms are very nice and also clean! The kitchen is also well equipped for cooking meals and well thought out.The beach is literally 3 minutes walk down the hill and was fantastic..we had 3 small children with us and it was ideal. The views from the back of the house out across the harbour are stunning! We had a great time.


August 2016

If you want a truly great base for a holiday, for all ages, one with an amazing view, beautiful walks on your doorstep, sea kayaking for the more adventurous, and a warm set of locals to while away a few hours over a coffee, a beer or a cider, this is the place to come. But please don't book immediately as I have yet to book next year's return!


July 2016

A spacious property with outstanding views which is well equipped, marred by weeds by front entrance and overall poor cleanliness.

Reply from Classic Cottages

'Thanks so much for your review and we're glad you enjoyed the truly wonderful views. We'll certainly ask that this front entrance area is tidied - the weather has been mild and damp, and that can send the weeds into overdrive very quickly! We're very sorry that you felt the cleanliness needed a little more attention - we'll pass this on to the Housekeeper to check out. Bryony, Customer Support'


April 2016

This house is in the best location imaginable. However if hills are an issue then be aware the route to the beach is steep. Equipment and furnishings are what we expect in our own home, wonderful place to stay looking st returning next year.


April 2016

Amazing house, wonderful location. Definitely has the Wow factor. Very sad at the end of our week to be leaving...We have booked for next year! It it the best house in every way we have stayed in.


August 2015

Simply perfect! Cant wait to return again next year. Gorgeous house in a gorgeous location. We've fallen in love with Gorran Haven! The house exceeded our expectations and its in a fab location so we could walk to the beach, fish and chip shop and bakery in just 5 minutes.....a little longer when walking back uphill!


August 2015

Stunning house. Stunning location. Loved it.


August 2015

Excellent accomodation , very spacious and comfortable . Wonderful location . We enjoyed a great family holiday and now have lots of memories to share. Thank you very much !


August 2015

This was our 1st visit to Cornwall, we found this house to be a great location and handy to the local coastal walks. Great for a family and close to the beach, well equipped kitchen and plenty of parking


July 2015

A great holiday house for families in a superb location with outstanding sea and beach views. Next year we are coming back for our fourth visit; two separate weeks with both of my children and their families. Great family memories from our previous 3 visits!


July 2015

This is a beautiful well appointed house, ideal for a family holiday. The views are to die for. We had such a lovely week and the accommodation was such that we could bring our rather large family together without feeling we were all living on top of each other. I wouldn't hesitate in booking Parc an Gates for another reunion.


June 2015

A stunning property in a beautiful location with views to die for.


May 2015

A Cornish gem with views to take your breath away. The property was in excellent order throughout, comfortable and equipped to a very high standard. The room layout over the 2 floors, with ample bathroom facilities, was exceptionally practical, especially for families with young children.


March 2015

A real gem of a house in a superb location.


February 2015

Best house we have rented over many years of renting from Classic Cottages and other agencies in the West Country.


December 2014

Just got back from spending a week at Parc an Gates. The property is excellent, immaculately clean and includes everything you need. The best of all is the view from the lounge windows which is stunning. Not a lot to do in Gorran Haven but we were having a family chill out holiday so it suited us. Probably in the summer there are more places open but they close in the winter. However there is a small village shop which caters for nearly everything you need. All in all a fabulous property and we will certainly be returning sometime.


October 2014

The property is great & the location is fantastic.


August 2014

A modern, spacious house with fantastic views. Sandy beach and local shops all very close. Gorran Haven is a wonderful unspoilt village- a real find.


July 2014

Like: View. Proximity to beach. Comfortable beds! Open plan living areas. Space for the children. Garden mown this year so children could play outside.

The new kitchen and bathrooms are a real improvement - so is the balcony! Top spec house now.

We very much hope to come again! Thank you for the 'heads up' about the Polgooth Inn - great meal.


June 2014

Parc an Gates is a beautiful property with fantastic views of the sea. It is clean, beautifully decorated and well equipped. Safe and well set up for children. Great location for the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


June 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay - incredible view with the living arrangements set out to take full advantage. Ideal property for those travelling with elderly relatives as adequate bedrooms/general living area all on one level. Our second visit already with plans to return again next year.


May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Parc an Gates. The view was unbeatable and the house was luxurious and comfortable. It was also spotlessly clean. We would love to revisit one day.


May 2014

Ideal for a family break with good accommodation, stunning views and quick access to beach and village facilities. Thoroughly recommended.


April 2014

It is the perfect holiday location.


April 2014

A great opportunity to enjoy a family holiday and unwind.


October 2013

We are a returning customer of many years. We love the area, the house, as its just right for our family.


August 2013

Parc an Gates is a fabulous house that take full advantage of the spectacular views. Its location is great for the coastal path, beach & village (providing you are fit enough for the steep lanes!). The accomodation is light, extremely spacious, well laid out and very comfortable. It is well equipped with a large enclosed garden and ample parking. Overall, an excellent holiday home and a pleasure to have stayed there.


June 2013

Parc an Gates is a beautiful property with stunning views across the harbour in Gorran Haven. Initially chosen for our holiday because of the view depicted in the pictures it surpassed our expectations. I travel with elderly relatives who are not always able to venture out every day. The panoramic views (from the huge picture windows) of the daily activities in the harbour and on the beach are entertainment in themselves. The property is mainly set over one level with two of the bedrooms, lounges, dining area and kitchen all on one level which again is excellent for those less able to cope with stairs. Its effectively like a bungalow with the added bonus of two further bedrooms, bathroom and utility room, downstairs if needed. It is very spacious, tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable.

The coastal path is on your doorstep and it takes all of 5mins to walk down to the harbour/beach (though be warned coming back its all uphill)! There is a convenient local shop/PO and a Fish n Chip right down by the harbour and if you are lucky (as we were) it is also possible to get some fresh mackerel direct from the local fishermen!

We had a couple of trips out and about, Mevagissey was very pretty with many "tasteful" gift shops and galleries as well as the usual souvenir shops. The Eden Project (for us) was expensive, disappointing and overrated - perhaps more for a younger family wanting an "educational" day out? The Lost Gardens of Heligan (practically on your doorstep) were beautiful with lovely tea rooms and farm shop too, well worth a visit. Its also worth driving along the coast roads as you frequently come across hidden coves many of which you can drive right down to and park practically on the beach!

Overall a truly lovely place to stay on holiday - we are seriously considering returning again, as for us, it really did tick all the boxes!


May 2013

Great location for a quiet and relaxing break.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.