New Park Cottage is a beautiful Grade II Listed slate-clad cottage.
The views over Dartmoor from your garden and patio-area are stunning.
Bedroom 1 is super comfy and welcoming.
The sitting-room with its fabulous wood-burning stove is the perfect place to cosy up after a day of exploration.
Widecombe-in-the-Moor is one of Dartmoor's most popular villages and it's easy to see why.
Peeking back at the cottage from the outskirts of the garden.
The Rugglestone Inn is an award-winning pub and restaurant and is only minutes away from your front door.
The village green is so pretty and is the hub of activity when the sun shines.
The views from this lovely property are very special indeed.
Step into the kitchen/dining-room, kick off your boots and sit down and enjoy a refreshing cuppa.
The fully equipped kitchen is complemented by the delightful electric Aga.
Looking back through the kitchen/dining-room and out to the patio-area and the delights which await beyond.
Bedroom 2 is really inviting.
Bedroom 3, the twin room, is perfect for all generations.
The family bathroom also acts as an en suite to bedroom 1.
The sitting-room has a delightful breakout space to play a board game or read a book in the light which shines through.
The local church is such a stunning sight.
You are spoilt for choice when it comes to fine dining and delightful venues to enjoy a warm welcome and a tasty glass of whatever takes your fancy.
New Park Cottage is set in this beautiful enclosed garden. Your four-legged friends are going to be made up with the space and adventure.
Please note, there is a small pond at the end of the garden, which swells with heavy rainfall.

New Park Cottage

4152

Widecombe in the Moor / Sleeps 6 + cot*

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £444

July 2019

Liked the lovely views, nice feel to cottage and comfortable, locals very friendly. The cottage is on a blind bend, both ways and to exit is Very dangerous, perhaps a mirror opposite would be an option, you could not get out of the property safely without assistance!!!!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for reviewing New Park Cottage - it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the views and had a comfortable stay overall. The cottage is set on a little rural village road and we'd recommend reversing in as the entrance is narrow. We'll certainly pass on your very helpful suggestion regarding the addition of a mirror to the owner. Bryony, Customer Support


July 2019

This small and lovely Cottage in that wonderfull village and this extraordinary landscape ... we will come back. Soon.


June 2019

We have just spent a weekend at New Park Cottage, we were very disappointed! On entering the kitchen (which I have to say was lovely and warm on what was a rather cool day) we read the information pack only to see that dogs should be kept in the kitchen! This is not dog friendly!!! Our friend who came with us had brought her dog and she was not impressed at all. I’m afraid everything went downhill after that bad start, the Aga was disgustingly dirty, the top obviously hadn’t been cleaned in months as it was covered in a thick layer of grease, the first of the cast iron saucepans that we looked at was so bad it should be thrown out, which also went for the roasting tins in one of the cupboards, they were black with burnt on fat and one was even rusty, these should also have been replaced a long, long time ago. The main bedroom was ok but the toilet seat in the en-suite was repaired with tape, there was no toilet roll holder. The second bedroom had just four hooks on the wall as an excuse for a wardrobe, the duvet had obviously seen better days as the filling had broken down to the point of being almost non-existent and absolutely nowhere to leave suitcases. How two people could be expected to share the twin room I do not know, not even a full size chest of draws and nowhere to hang anything and again nowhere to put a suitcase. The bathroom again had no toilet roll holder (how cheapskate is that!) and the shower, particularly the shower head, needed a thorough clean to remove mould. Neither bathroom had anywhere to place sponge bags, shampoos etc, just a very small window ledge, a shelf would have been helpful as nobody wants to leave these things on the floor. We noticed a number of woodlice in the lounge and on closer inspection found a whole host of them behind the TV, in fact there was signs of moth there as a corner of the carpet had been eaten away. As you can tell we were not impressed with this cottage, thank goodness we were only staying for the weekend, any longer and we would have been on our way home pretty quickly. Maybe a change of housekeeper is needed someone who understands the word “clean”. Considering we paid £500 for just three nights it certainly was not value for money. We will not be back! Incidentally, nobody contacted us at the cottage either on arrival or within 24 hours as per arrival details. P.C. Wade

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so sorry that you reported so many problems after you stay. We did inspect shortly after your depature and found a small number of points that we felt could be improved; these were rectified within 24 hours. Whilst we'd have appreciated the chance to put these right during your stay, we're sorry that you had to tell us about them and we're pleased that we were able to agree on a resolution. Classic Cottages


May 2019

  1. This property is not dog friendly, dogs are not actually allowed into the house beyond the kitchen. Having paid extra to bring our dog this was ridiculous, and evidently other guests have agreed as the downstairs of the house was covered in dog hair.

  2. There were multiple wood lice in every room, some dead some alive, the kitchen smelt awful, and the area with the freezer in was visibly mouldy and damp. The hoover was broken, and despite a washing machine there didn’t seem to be a clean place to dry clothes.

  3. The door handle in the twin room was far out of reach of our son who was trapped in there and extremely frightened, slamming on the door until we heard him screaming for help! We put our son in the double room and had the twin beds. These creaked and wobbled and one was a trundle bed which is not full length.

  4. My parents stayed in the master room. The door of the en suite did not close properly, and the handle on the bedroom door was loose and had screws hanging out.

  5. No mention on the property’s details that there is a small concealed pond and a water filled ditch along the length of the garden. We have a young son and had no forewarning to keep a close eye on him in the garden.

  6. The enclosed garden was not as secure as described, as at the sight of cows or sheep walking down the road our dog easily wriggled under the gate and onto the road.

Had we known of these details we would absolutely not have booked it.

The location was perfect, lots of lovely walks and excellent food at the Cafe on the Green. The house could be wonderful but needs updating in a lot of areas. The description as dog friendly is misleading, I don’t know many, if any, dog owners who would consider it friendly to leave their dog alone in an unfamiliar dingy kitchen, behind a heavy wooden door.

We felt unable to relax and the endless list of small and easily solvable issues soured it further. None of these issues are the end of the world on their own but together added up to a disappointing break, and detracted from the features that attracted us to the cottage in the first place.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were so sorry that you were unhappy with your stay, and thanks for your time today when we discussed your feedback. The cottage owner prefers wet or dirty dogs to be kept in the kitchen to dry off, which we feel is reasonable, but clean dry dogs are welcome in the sitting-room too. The utility-area rug, which we think got wet and smelt a bit 'doggy', has been removed, the hoover is being replaced so dog hair can be easily cleared up, and any housekeeping points will be resolved. Whilst we've not had previous reports of damp, it is a very old traditional stone cottage in the middle of Dartmoor; damp proof courses were not in use when it was built, and seeing the occasional woodlouse or insect passing through isn't unusual, but the housekeeper will keep a close eye out for any 'extra visitors!'. The garden is enclosed although we're sorry your dog snuck under the five bar gate. We do show a photo of the little water feature, but agree that we could make more of it so will add it to the description - thanks for letting us know so that we can improve this information for the future. Tanya, Customer Support


May 2019

This is a really comfortable property, and we were struck by the feeling of being in someone's home, rather than a holiday let. Lots of reasons for this - no evident IKEA furniture nor laminate flooring; loads of books, maps and information which have obviously accumulated over a long period, giving a "lived-in" impression; mature garden with interesting planting; really excellent provision of foodstuffs and household hardware. We felt that this rental was excellent value for money. And so lovely and warm and welcoming! Thankyou Mr and Mrs Michelmore - 3 happy guests and one happy dog. Susie Toy


March 2019

Lovely well equipped property in a great location. We really enjoyed the garden area to sit out in and relax while the dogs roamed around it in complete safety as it was completed enclosed. All this plus local pubs serving delicious meals, real ales and ciders just a short walk away.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.