Mrs Taberer October 2019
We have just returned from a wonderful week at New Park Cottage. I was a little anxious about the cottage having read a couple of negative reviews, however I needn't have worried. The cottage is positioned on the edge of Widecombe in the Moor, with a wonderful outlook and views, a charming garden and cosy interior. This place has an abundance of charm and atmosphere, quite traditionally furnished which I think suits the area. Very well equipped kitchen, and warm thanks to the Aga!. In fact the whole cottage was very well heated, so perfect for a winter break. The upstairs rooms were comfortable, maybe lacked storage in the two smaller rooms, but that wasn't a problem for us. The ensuite bathroom had the most sublime view ! The property was clean, although a little dusty in places, but again, it suits Dartmoor. If you're looking for high tech modern living, this isn't the place for you, but if you want a beautiful old Cottage with charm in abundance, somewhere to kick off your shoes, embrace rural living and get away from it all, this is the place for sure!! (the wifi was excellent though!) A word of advice, stock up on essentials before you arrive, as the local shop is limited, but lovely all the same...
Ms Collins October 2019
Our stay at New Park Cottage was very enjoyable. The location is perfect for exploring Dartmoor and the cottage was very cosy. The aga in the kitchen keeps it warm 24hrs and the log burner was fabulous after a soggy day on the moors. The owner was also incredibly helpful. He ensured the large garden was totally secure for our dogs by attaching wire mesh to the lower half of the gate and also helped when we had an issue with getting enough hot water. We couldn't have asked for more. Some of the information in the welcome pack isn't very clear or up to date, causing a little confusion. Dogs are definitely allowed in the living room (as long as they aren't wet or muddy), but the information given in the pack is quite contradictory about this. The only negative for us was the shower. It is very, very small and it's impossible to stand under the flow of water unless you hold the shower head in your hand. we overcame this by using the lovely large bath instead. Overall a fab holiday and we would definitely book the cottage again. Many Thanks Sara and Bailey
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks so much for reviewing New Park Cottage - it's great to hear you had a wonderful holiday overall and found the cottage warm and cosy. We've noted your comments regarding the information in the welcome pack and we'll certainly ensure this is followed up - sorry for any confusion there. We're sorry that you found the shower a little snug but as you discovered there is also a wonderfully luxurious bath to use as well. Bryony, Customer Support
Mr Webb September 2019
We read previous guest comments posted this year and would add the following comments from our experience regarding the garden / outside area: 1/. The steam is in fact a small Rill taking water off the moor, running down the side of the cottage and garden. It is probably only 18 inches wide and unless the area has sustained heavy rainfall is only a few inches deep. 2/. The pond that was mentioned was dry during our visit, is small and probably fills only when heavy rainfall prevails. 3/. The 5 bar gate was mentioned as being a problem for keeping dogs in the garden. In order to prevent small dogs getting out it would help if a wire fence was attached to the gate. During our stay a farm collie got into the garden by going under the gate.
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks so much for taking the time to review New Park Cottage. we're really grateful for your feedback and we'll certainly forward your suggestion regarding the gate to the owner for their attention. Bryony, Customer Support
Mr Maxted July 2019
Liked the lovely views, nice feel to cottage and comfortable, locals very friendly. The cottage is on a blind bend, both ways and to exit is Very dangerous, perhaps a mirror opposite would be an option, you could not get out of the property safely without assistance!!!!
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks so much for reviewing New Park Cottage - it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the views and had a comfortable stay overall. The cottage is set on a little rural village road and we'd recommend reversing in as the entrance is narrow. We'll certainly pass on your very helpful suggestion regarding the addition of a mirror to the owner. Bryony, Customer Support
Herr Dr. Hennewig July 2019
This small and lovely Cottage in that wonderfull village and this extraordinary landscape ... we will come back. Soon.
Mr Wade June 2019
We have just spent a weekend at New Park Cottage, we were very disappointed! On entering the kitchen (which I have to say was lovely and warm on what was a rather cool day) we read the information pack only to see that dogs should be kept in the kitchen! This is not dog friendly!!! Our friend who came with us had brought her dog and she was not impressed at all. I’m afraid everything went downhill after that bad start, the Aga was disgustingly dirty, the top obviously hadn’t been cleaned in months as it was covered in a thick layer of grease, the first of the cast iron saucepans that we looked at was so bad it should be thrown out, which also went for the roasting tins in one of the cupboards, they were black with burnt on fat and one was even rusty, these should also have been replaced a long, long time ago. The main bedroom was ok but the toilet seat in the en-suite was repaired with tape, there was no toilet roll holder. The second bedroom had just four hooks on the wall as an excuse for a wardrobe, the duvet had obviously seen better days as the filling had broken down to the point of being almost non-existent and absolutely nowhere to leave suitcases. How two people could be expected to share the twin room I do not know, not even a full size chest of draws and nowhere to hang anything and again nowhere to put a suitcase. The bathroom again had no toilet roll holder (how cheapskate is that!) and the shower, particularly the shower head, needed a thorough clean to remove mould. Neither bathroom had anywhere to place sponge bags, shampoos etc, just a very small window ledge, a shelf would have been helpful as nobody wants to leave these things on the floor. We noticed a number of woodlice in the lounge and on closer inspection found a whole host of them behind the TV, in fact there was signs of moth there as a corner of the carpet had been eaten away. As you can tell we were not impressed with this cottage, thank goodness we were only staying for the weekend, any longer and we would have been on our way home pretty quickly. Maybe a change of housekeeper is needed someone who understands the word “clean”. Considering we paid £500 for just three nights it certainly was not value for money. We will not be back! Incidentally, nobody contacted us at the cottage either on arrival or within 24 hours as per arrival details. P.C. Wade
Reply from Classic Cottages
We're so sorry that you reported so many problems after you stay. We did inspect shortly after your depature and found a small number of points that we felt could be improved; these were rectified within 24 hours. Whilst we'd have appreciated the chance to put these right during your stay, we're sorry that you had to tell us about them and we're pleased that we were able to agree on a resolution. Classic Cottages
Mrs Laxman-Jones May 2019
This property is not dog friendly, dogs are not actually allowed into the house beyond the kitchen. Having paid extra to bring our dog this was ridiculous, and evidently other guests have agreed as the downstairs of the house was covered in dog hair.
There were multiple wood lice in every room, some dead some alive, the kitchen smelt awful, and the area with the freezer in was visibly mouldy and damp. The hoover was broken, and despite a washing machine there didn’t seem to be a clean place to dry clothes.
The door handle in the twin room was far out of reach of our son who was trapped in there and extremely frightened, slamming on the door until we heard him screaming for help! We put our son in the double room and had the twin beds. These creaked and wobbled and one was a trundle bed which is not full length.
My parents stayed in the master room. The door of the en suite did not close properly, and the handle on the bedroom door was loose and had screws hanging out.
No mention on the property’s details that there is a small concealed pond and a water filled ditch along the length of the garden. We have a young son and had no forewarning to keep a close eye on him in the garden.
The enclosed garden was not as secure as described, as at the sight of cows or sheep walking down the road our dog easily wriggled under the gate and onto the road.
Had we known of these details we would absolutely not have booked it.
The location was perfect, lots of lovely walks and excellent food at the Cafe on the Green. The house could be wonderful but needs updating in a lot of areas. The description as dog friendly is misleading, I don’t know many, if any, dog owners who would consider it friendly to leave their dog alone in an unfamiliar dingy kitchen, behind a heavy wooden door.
We felt unable to relax and the endless list of small and easily solvable issues soured it further. None of these issues are the end of the world on their own but together added up to a disappointing break, and detracted from the features that attracted us to the cottage in the first place.
Reply from Classic Cottages
We were so sorry that you were unhappy with your stay, and thanks for your time today when we discussed your feedback. The cottage owner prefers wet or dirty dogs to be kept in the kitchen to dry off, which we feel is reasonable, but clean dry dogs are welcome in the sitting-room too. The utility-area rug, which we think got wet and smelt a bit 'doggy', has been removed, the hoover is being replaced so dog hair can be easily cleared up, and any housekeeping points will be resolved. Whilst we've not had previous reports of damp, it is a very old traditional stone cottage in the middle of Dartmoor; damp proof courses were not in use when it was built, and seeing the occasional woodlouse or insect passing through isn't unusual, but the housekeeper will keep a close eye out for any 'extra visitors!'. The garden is enclosed although we're sorry your dog snuck under the five bar gate. We do show a photo of the little water feature, but agree that we could make more of it so will add it to the description - thanks for letting us know so that we can improve this information for the future. Tanya, Customer Support
Mrs Toy May 2019
This is a really comfortable property, and we were struck by the feeling of being in someone's home, rather than a holiday let. Lots of reasons for this - no evident IKEA furniture nor laminate flooring; loads of books, maps and information which have obviously accumulated over a long period, giving a "lived-in" impression; mature garden with interesting planting; really excellent provision of foodstuffs and household hardware. We felt that this rental was excellent value for money. And so lovely and warm and welcoming! Thankyou Mr and Mrs Michelmore - 3 happy guests and one happy dog. Susie Toy
Mrs Seeger March 2019
Lovely well equipped property in a great location. We really enjoyed the garden area to sit out in and relax while the dogs roamed around it in complete safety as it was completed enclosed. All this plus local pubs serving delicious meals, real ales and ciders just a short walk away.
Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.