Welcome to Yew Tree Cottage.
The cottage is beautifully decorated throughout.
There are has two gorgeous bedrooms.
The luxurious bathroom.
Mount Edgcumbe Country Park stretches over the entire headland with the city of Plymouth across the water.
The modern kitchen-area - with all you need to cook up some yummy holiday delights!
There is sure to be much laughter and merriment at mealtimes.
Relax and unwind on the comfy sofas.
What could be better after a day of adventures, than coming back to relax in front of the wood-burner - bliss.
There are lovely touches throughout.
Bedroom 1 is on the second floor.
You will find a few 'yew trees' in the cottage! Beautifully crafted and also very useful!
Holidays were made for a nice long soak - go on treat yourself.
The bathroom not only has a beautiful roll-top  bath but also has a large drench-head shower.
The pretty twin bedroom on the ground floor - perfect for adults or children alike.
The utility-room on the ground floor.
After a day of exploring, sit out in the sunny patio-area and enjoy some tasty treats from the Stable cafe!
The patio.
There are acres of glorious countryside to discover right on your doorstep.
Mount Edgcumbe House.
The coastline is quite breathtaking.
The twin villages of Kingsand and Cawsand are close by.

Yew Tree Cottage

4008

1.7 miles SE of Torpoint / Sleeps 4 + 2 cots*

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £522

December 2019

We had visited Mount Edgcumbe before so had high expectations unfortunately Yew Tree Cottage did let us down. On arrival you are greeted by a huge filthy blue door, inside the cottage the first bedroom there is a dreadful smell of fusty old and damp that was so bad we had to wash everything wether we wore it or not and it would have been nice if the fitted sheets actually fit the mattress and weren’t two sizes to small so you slept with a corner in the middle of you. The boot room door didn’t open without the strength of the hulk so we had to call maintenance who came the next day and fixed the door and he also tidied up the courtyard that was dirty and overgrown. The cottage is very very dark and the lighting inside isn’t the best so on dark gloomy days even with the lights on it’s still really dark. The kitchen & table were filthy and when we spilt some water on the floor and wiped it up so was the floor, not sure it had been cleaned. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you needed they just needed a wash. The cottage was super warm & cosy, we had to turn the heaters off some days it was too hot. The bathroom was lovely & the bath was fantastic after a day on the beach. This cottage could be a gem just needs some TLC.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you for your review of Yew Tree Cottage. We were pleased to hear that you found the property to be warm and cosy however disappointed that there were some areas of cleanliness which had not met your expectations on this occasion. We were grateful for the opportunity to discuss this further with you, having followed up on your comments with the Estate Manager, and settle on a refund that you felt was appropriate. Your ideas for future improvements have also been passed on for their consideration for future improvements. Alison, Customer Support


August 2019

Potentially a very nice cottage, let down by a few details. Amazing location, loved the park, which is kept very clean, lots of walks to enjoy. Ate at The Orangery twice, and would recommend. A pleasant coastal walk to Cawsand and loved the Devonport Inn and little coves there. Thoroughly enjoyed a meal at Carew Arms in nearby Antony.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for reviewing Yew Tree Cottage - we're so pleased you had a great holiday overall and enjoyed the lovely location. We've noted your comments regarding few maintenance points and have forwarded to the housekeeping team for attention at the next changeover - thanks so much for letting us know. Bryony, Customer Support


August 2019

A perfect location, we will definitely return.


March 2019

This is a comfortable cottage in an amazing location. With unlimited access to the park and gardens this is doggy heaven!


September 2018

We had a really good week. The cottage was a delight, so well presented with high quality furnishings and equipment.


September 2018

Great location for exploring the Rame peninsula and across to Plymouth on the cremmil ferry. Would recommend to anyone


August 2018

Stunning location and beautiful surroundings ideal if you are keen walkers. But if you want to walk down to the boat and go across to the other side. There is a steep hill to walk backup. We had an amazing time there and we look forward to going back xxx


August 2018

This cottage is a real home from home. Beautiful surroundings and very peaceful.


July 2018

We enjoyed the stay very much. Especially in the evening we had the park for ourselves alone, picnicking at sunset on the large lawn in front of the castle, Earls private garden just for us, fast ferry to Plymouth, great house, great care by Classic Cottages and the owner Chris. Small problems were resolved quickly and competently. We will gladly come again


June 2018

A great cottage in a beautiful location. We have already booked again.


May 2018

Really lovely cottage, beautifully decorated, in the middle of a lovely country park. The cottage is roomy and very comfortable.


March 2018

Beautifully decorated. Excellent location. Such a shame our otherwise perfect holiday was ruined by the bed in the main bedroom being almost on the floor. We felt like we were camping out. Extremely uncomfortable and totally unsuitable for anyone with any motility issues......... Thank you

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for reviewing Yew Tree Cottage - the Mount Edgcumbe Estate is in a wonderful location as you found, and we hope you enjoyed the amazing walks. It was a shame that you found the bed too low; it is a beautifully stylish bed frame but we can appreciate it is lower than a standard divan. We do try to show this in the photos, but we'll see if there is a way to make this clearer - if this is particularly important to your stay, please don't hesitate to ask our Bookings team for more information. Tanya, Customer Support


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.