Mr Pars April 2021
We were the first in after a long lockdown period of COVID. The property was in good order, clean and as described. The park rangers were extremely friendly and helpful. Great location.
Dr Burt October 2020
This cottage is in a lovely location and is comfortable and well equipped. Take lots of supplies - it's a long way to the shops. We found the low lighting levels an inconvenience but hope that they will soon be fixed.
Mr Bourne October 2020
Wonderful location to step out and instantly enjoy the autumn colours, take a beautiful walk and just kick some leaves!
Mrs MASON October 2020
Lovely location.A strange set up and beware of the half landing!Lovely having the fire.Dogs loved it more than us!
Mr Joyce August 2020
This is a delightful cottage which needs a deep clean, maintenance and updating of kitchenware, glassware and kitchen utensils
The gf bedroom has rising damp and a musty smell.
The carpets are sticky so crocs or house shoes are a must.
There is no proper fridge/freezer - small bar fridge in kitchen and small freezer in laundry on gf - so think carefully about the food you bring which requires refrigeration.
The cafe in Mt Edgcumbe is excellent but only serves food from 11am and is not open everyday
The local pub stops taking orders for food orders at 5.30pm.
Other pubs and restaurant in Cawsand and Kingsand are heavily booked in holiday periods so you’ll need to book a week ahead of your stay.
You can access Royal William Yard or The Barbican by ferry at the bottom of Mt Edgcumbe every half an hour (8-10 min trip). You should pre-book restaurants in holiday periods.
There is a Co-Op 5-10 min away with a limited selection of food.
There are several good beaches 15 min away - our favourite is Sharrow. Parking is available £4 for most of the day. The paths to all of the beaches are challenging descents (around 200 feet) down a cliff. Large backpacks are recommended to help get all of your kit down to the beach and back up again.
Reply from Classic Cottages
We're really sorry to see that you felt the house required some improvement. Whilst we didn't have the chance to inspect at the time (difficult anyway given the current circumstances) we did share your comments with the owners. We were puzzled by the report of sticky carpets as they are regularly cleaned and of course vacuumed on every changeover - we wondered if this could be residue from the sanitiser spray being used? There is an under-counter fridge in the kitchen and a freezer in the utility-room, but we don't advertise a combined fridge/freezer. We've asked the team to investigate any dampness, but do recognise that older stone built properties such as this do need to be well aired as won't have modern dampproof courses. We're grateful for your thoughts on the surrounding facilities - we would always recommend guests investigate things such as food service times directly as obviously we have no control over unrelated businesses and attraction. Whilst we're sorry that the house wasn't for you, we do appreciate your comments. Tanya, Customer Support
Mrs Sanders August 2020
Lovely location and cottage. Very nicely furnished and equipped. Good information provided about local area and nice to have extras such as dishwasher tablets etc. The duty Manager Nick was very helpful . We’d love to go back.
Mrs Redfern December 2019
We had visited Mount Edgcumbe before so had high expectations unfortunately Yew Tree Cottage did let us down. On arrival you are greeted by a huge filthy blue door, inside the cottage the first bedroom there is a dreadful smell of fusty old and damp that was so bad we had to wash everything wether we wore it or not and it would have been nice if the fitted sheets actually fit the mattress and weren’t two sizes to small so you slept with a corner in the middle of you. The boot room door didn’t open without the strength of the hulk so we had to call maintenance who came the next day and fixed the door and he also tidied up the courtyard that was dirty and overgrown. The cottage is very very dark and the lighting inside isn’t the best so on dark gloomy days even with the lights on it’s still really dark. The kitchen & table were filthy and when we spilt some water on the floor and wiped it up so was the floor, not sure it had been cleaned. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you needed they just needed a wash. The cottage was super warm & cosy, we had to turn the heaters off some days it was too hot. The bathroom was lovely & the bath was fantastic after a day on the beach. This cottage could be a gem just needs some TLC.
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thank you for your review of Yew Tree Cottage. We were pleased to hear that you found the property to be warm and cosy however disappointed that there were some areas of cleanliness which had not met your expectations on this occasion. We were grateful for the opportunity to discuss this further with you, having followed up on your comments with the Estate Manager, and settle on a refund that you felt was appropriate. Your ideas for future improvements have also been passed on for their consideration for future improvements. Alison, Customer Support
Mrs Cameron August 2019
Potentially a very nice cottage, let down by a few details. Amazing location, loved the park, which is kept very clean, lots of walks to enjoy. Ate at The Orangery twice, and would recommend. A pleasant coastal walk to Cawsand and loved the Devonport Inn and little coves there. Thoroughly enjoyed a meal at Carew Arms in nearby Antony.
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks for reviewing Yew Tree Cottage - we're so pleased you had a great holiday overall and enjoyed the lovely location. We've noted your comments regarding few maintenance points and have forwarded to the housekeeping team for attention at the next changeover - thanks so much for letting us know. Bryony, Customer Support
Mr Pollit August 2019
A perfect location, we will definitely return.
Mr Whitehorn March 2019
This is a comfortable cottage in an amazing location. With unlimited access to the park and gardens this is doggy heaven!
Mrs Poulton September 2018
We had a really good week. The cottage was a delight, so well presented with high quality furnishings and equipment.
Mr Trethewey September 2018
Great location for exploring the Rame peninsula and across to Plymouth on the cremmil ferry. Would recommend to anyone
Mrs Lowe August 2018
Stunning location and beautiful surroundings ideal if you are keen walkers. But if you want to walk down to the boat and go across to the other side. There is a steep hill to walk backup. We had an amazing time there and we look forward to going back xxx
Mrs Martin August 2018
This cottage is a real home from home. Beautiful surroundings and very peaceful.
Mrs Breuer July 2018
We enjoyed the stay very much. Especially in the evening we had the park for ourselves alone, picnicking at sunset on the large lawn in front of the castle, Earls private garden just for us, fast ferry to Plymouth, great house, great care by Classic Cottages and the owner Chris. Small problems were resolved quickly and competently. We will gladly come again
Mr Owens June 2018
A great cottage in a beautiful location. We have already booked again.
Ms Eltzeroth May 2018
Really lovely cottage, beautifully decorated, in the middle of a lovely country park. The cottage is roomy and very comfortable.
Mrs Hill March 2018
Beautifully decorated. Excellent location. Such a shame our otherwise perfect holiday was ruined by the bed in the main bedroom being almost on the floor. We felt like we were camping out. Extremely uncomfortable and totally unsuitable for anyone with any motility issues......... Thank you
Reply from Classic Cottages
Thanks for reviewing Yew Tree Cottage - the Mount Edgcumbe Estate is in a wonderful location as you found, and we hope you enjoyed the amazing walks. It was a shame that you found the bed too low; it is a beautifully stylish bed frame but we can appreciate it is lower than a standard divan. We do try to show this in the photos, but we'll see if there is a way to make this clearer - if this is particularly important to your stay, please don't hesitate to ask our Bookings team for more information. Tanya, Customer Support
Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.