The rear of Rosedale - grand and glorious.
A great kitchen to prepare a meal.
The gorgeous view from the terrace.
The sitting-room has a roaring open fire. Super to curl up in front of after a day out exploring St Ives.
The children will adore the games-room. You can access the games-room via the hall-way, and also the rear garden.
The soft blue cupboards complement the kitchen beautifully.
Th master bedroom has a double bed, and estuary views, and also a fabulous en suite bathroom.
The summerhouse is located at the bottom of the rear garden, and is a gorgeous spot to read a book.
The en suite bathroom.
Pretty bedroom 2 has estuary views and a double bed! Cosy and super comfy.
Bedroom 3 is located at the top of the property, it has a tiny staircase leading up, so do be careful.
The top of the staircase, leading to bedroom 3 is narrow and the stairs are steep, so take care.
The master bedroom.
The super family bathroom.
The entrance hall.
Separate WC on the first floor, next door to the family bathroom.
The rear terrace, is the perfect place for dining.
St Ives harbour is nearby.
Rosedale, a unique detached cottage in Lelant, close to Carbis Bay and St Ives, parking is just in front of the property.
The more formal dining-area overlooks the rear garden and estuary.
St Ives is just three miles away.
The beach at Lelant, just white sands and azure blue seas.

Rosedale

3762

2.7 miles SE of St Ives / Sleeps 5 + cot*

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £522

September 2019

The cottage is well situated and has lovely views across the estuary - public transport is close by which is a great way to get to St Ives - train journey is pretty awesome. Two local pubs within walking distance - both serve food in the evening which was well scrummy. Great to use as a base for exploring West Cornwall - did a couple of lovely walks around The Lizard and St Just - also went to Falmouth / Pendennis Castle. We loved our stay and will be back to the area again.


August 2019

Firstly, the property due to its obvious age is poorly ventilated resulting in condensation dripping from the walls creating a damp atmosphere in the adjoining bedroom. The en-suite bathroom wallpapered walls are sodden at the best of times as the extractor fans only operate when the light is on and not when the shower is on. The walls surrounding the window are clearly showing black mould under the wallpaper which is evident once the shower steam has drench the wallpaper. This matter has been a build up over a length of time and it is grim to say the least and not the fault of the cleaners.

The main sitting room has the most uncomfortable hard sofas as the seating section has absolutely no cushioning and is akin to sitting on a plank of wood. Plus the same issue with ventilation, which is strongly masked with scented reeds etc, as sash windows are difficult to open.

The other issues which I raised with Classic Cottages prior to our arrival was very thankfully overcome by a laundry collection but I would like to point out that any active family who need to wash any laundry during their beach holiday would be as disappointed as I was to learn there are absolutely no laundry facilities at the property. Washing down wet suits, swimming costumes, beach shoes let alone towels or any general laundry is a part and part of a beach holiday and an absolute complete oversight not to mention the property has no facilities (apart from the outside tap and the kitchen sink) to accommodate this.

Looking back and the week we spent, time having passed the overall feeling still remains the same -the house albeit accommodating in size and a very handy location, it lacks essential utilities, the sofa furnishings although in keeping with the theme of the property are more style over substance and very uncomfortable. The aforementioned issues with the en-suite bathroom gave a daily grim feeling which was not conducive to the holiday vibe, concluding with the initial thoughts prior to arriving once aware of the lack of utility services that Rosedale is very, very over priced with areas in need of attention.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were so sorry to see your comments - we investigated immediately that we received them as this feedback sounded very out of character for the house. No mould was found, and the walls were dry; operating the fan (most are linked with the light rather than the shower itself) or opening the window does help to remove any shower steam and we would recommend that guests do this. Older houses do like to be able to breathe but we don't feel that this is indicative of poor ventilation. We're really sorry that the house wasn't quite what you were looking for. Classic Cottages


June 2019

The cottage is very well situated for access to other locations with good public transport available as well as coast path access to Carbis Bay and St. Ives, the two nearest pubs were also good for lunch or evening meals. The cottage had nice views across the garden to the estuary, Hayle and beyond, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, the parking space for the car was also very good being right outside the front door. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would certainly be happy to return.


May 2019

Rosedale is a gem! Great location and very well equipped. We stayed there for five days with our two young kids: we all loved our stay there!


May 2019

The house and garden were welcoming and well maintained, and parking was good. It is ideally situated for walking both coast and inland, which we enjoyed daily especially as the weather was superb. There are also eating places within walking distance. The general area is very peaceful.


September 2018

Had a very enjoyable stay and would certainly return in the future.


August 2018

It was a really nice stay - we loved the atmosphere and the character of the house! The kitchen was well equipped for our needs, the kids loved the billiard-table and we enjoyed the spaciousness of Rosedale. The garden is pretty, too. As a pitty, due to the weather we couldn’t really use it but we had a nice view out of the rear windows! :-)

Lying on the top of the hill in Lelant, it offered us great possibilities to spend our holidays. (After figuring out that 16 degrees Celsius, a cloudy sky and NO RAIN means beach weather in Cornwall, we spent wonderful days in Carbis Bay, we especially recomend the Towans beach in Haley! ) All the great sights in South West Cornwall were comfortable to reach, within an hour you even reach the Eden Project. A great basecamp for exploring Cornwall, if we ever visit Cornwall again, we would be glad to rent the house again.


September 2017

Whilst the property was comfortable we wouldn't return. Too many knick knacks esp in the kitchen which we moved out of the way to make the kitchen more user friendly. The living/dining room felt too personal with family photos. The number of sundry trinkets throughout the house spoilt our stay. The hedge on the terrace spoils what would otherwise be a lovely view when sitting out. I couldn't get either of the coffee pod machines to work ( European plug which despite finding an adaptor, still would not work). The contact details in the house folder was off putting as it stated do not contact the housekeeper for such things as where is the frying pan, so we felt we couldn't bother her. Whist the knick knacks are not of your making, it would have been helpful if the description made it clear they existed and the house is used frequently by the owner so there are a number of family personal items throughout the house that are on show. Also the contacting housekeeper point was not helpful. Having said that your booking service was good.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. The cottage is a much loved family home and, as such, does contain some ornaments and trinkets that the owner has collected over the years. A lot of guests love this personal touch and take the view that it makes the house all the more individual. However in light of your thoughts, the owner has 'decluttered' a little to remove some of the surplus items. We have many properties within our portfolio, including more minimalist modern options, and if you'd like to have a chat about them then please do give us a call. Tanya, Customer Support


July 2017

A beautiful property in a great location, we loved it here and hope to visit this lovely house again.


June 2017

Great place in a great location


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.