Riverview is a beautiful period stone cottage that has been completely renovated with warmth and style.
This is the setting for the cottage, at the heart of the Exmoor village of Withypool - Riverview is at the top of the photo.
The views are quite simply stunning. There are two lovely seating-areas that make the most of it, at the front of the cottage, just across the little no-through lane. There is a beautiful back garden
This is the gorgeous sitting-room with its wood-burning stove and wonderful views across the top of the village to the moorland beyond.
The large kitchen/dining-room has flagstone floors - ideal if you are bringing a dog.
There is a lovely range cooker, as well as the separate electric hob.
There is a double Belfast sink, a dishwasher and a washing machine through the door on the left.
Stairs to the first floor lead up from the far side of the sitting-room. The door in the photograph leads to the kitchen/dining room.
This is such a wonderful place to stay whatever the time of year and whatever the weather.
A lovely home from home where you can truly relax.
The beautifully fitted kitchen.
There is a gorgeous cottage garden at the back of the cottage. Stone steps lead up from the back door in the kitchen.
This is the main, front facing bedroom, with its lovely iron framed king-sized bed.
You can sit in bed with your morning cup of tea with views that are quite unbelievable.
All the furnishings, bedding and details are of the highest quality.
This is an example of what to expect in terms of style and quality here.
The main bedroom has this lovely little dressing area to one side.
This is the second bedroom, looking out over the rear garden.
Another view of the second bedroom. A lovely  tranquil room where you are sure to sleep soundly.
The soft furnishings are as special as the cottage itself.
This is the bathroom, on the first floor.
There is a shower as well as the bath so that you have the choice.
More friendly details bring this cottage to life.
Back downstairs, the boot-room is off the kitchen/dining room.
The boot room is the perfect space for your dog's bed, especially if it has muddy paws from an adventure on the moors or in the river!
This is a very practical space, just off the kitchen, and with a door to the back garden.
The back garden has a lovely area of lawn as well as the really beautiful flower borders.
The River Barle runs through the village, a fabulous picnic spot, with shallow water for children to enjoy and a  riverside footpath along the valley to Landacre Bridge.
The village has a wonderful seasonal tea-room.
As well as this great village shop for all your provisions.
The scenery of Exmoor National Park is fabulous. The open moors are a short walk away from the village.
This is another image of the front of Riverview. The back door - entrance on arrival - is down the little passage to the right.
And another view of the cottage from this lovely little sheltered gazebo.

Riverview

3731

6.4 miles NW of Dulverton / Sleeps 4 + 2 cots*

7 Nights from £448 - £906

June 2018

Our second stay in this relaxing cottage....all you could need and in a great location. Our dog loved the river......we had a fabulous week in gorgeous sunshine.


June 2018

A beautifully presented and comfortable cottage in a lovely location.


June 2018

My husband and I (together with our small dog) stayed at Riverview for a week in June. Riverview is probably the best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in. Stylish and very comfortable. The Everhot range made me want one! Withypool is delightful and has a well stocked shop, tea room and a pub.....what more could you want? It is a great centre to travel from, we went to various places on Exmoor and to the coast a couple of times. We enjoyed walks from the cottage (the one to Tarr Steps in the yellow booklet was excellent). We had amazing weather which always makes things special but I think we would have enjoyed the place just as much in poor weather, such was the comfort of Riverview.


May 2018

I did not expect such beautiful and uninterrupted views of the countryside across the river! Very close to village shop and super cafe (a couple of minutes walk) both with everything you need An exceptionally well prepared cottage, thank you.


May 2018

Lovely cosy cottage with views of the river and hills with sheep. We really enjoyed our relaxing baby moon!


April 2018

This cottage is one of the best we have ever stayed in. It was very well presented , very well equipped and very comfortable. The owner even made a visit in person to check everything was OK - and it was! Withypool itself is a delightful little village and is a good centre to visit places in the area - too many to mention, but Dunster is great as are the Tarr Steps. No complaints and we had a good holiday .


April 2018

A beautiful cottage, equipped with everything you will need for a extremely relaxing holiday. What a view out of the bedroom window, sat in bed with a cup of tea, I could’ve stayed there all day just sheep watching!

Perfect location for walking with a great tea-room to top up on those calories ??

We absolutely loved our stay in Riverview cottage, we will be back for sure, thank-you.


April 2018

Excellent location and standards of comfort.


April 2018

Very cosy cottage with all the necessary and fireplace to relax after long walks in the moor. Splendid view and very well located to visit the area. Warm welcome from the owner and discretion during our stay. For sure, we recommend this place and we hope we will be back soon.


March 2018

Loved everything we will come again p.s would be very happy to live there forever please thank the owner


November 2017

We found Riverview extremely comfortable and cosy, even in the wind and rain of Exmoor in autumn. Our dog had to be dragged away from the rug in front of the woodburner! Well equipped with lovely quality bed linen and furnishings, some beautiful homely touches and a very kind and helpful owner who took the trouble to visit us on our day of arrival. Withypool is a small friendly village with a good shop, a pub that serves great food and an excellent tea room that was even open during November. A great base. Would certainly recommend.


November 2017

We were delighted with our choice of property from the moment we arrived. Everything about it was beautiful and we immediately felt relaxed. Having such a lovely place to stay and in such a gorgeous location really made our holiday that bit more special.


October 2017

We had a lovely time at riverview. The cottage was wonderfully furnished and so well equipped and the village including the shop, pub and tea shop was fantastic. We have stayed in lots of great cottages in the national parks in England and this was the best.

We loved the walks on the door step and would highly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to stay in Exmoor.


October 2017

The cottage was beautiful, comfy and quiet in an ideal location with fantastic views and a local pub and tea room. Everything was to a very high standard and we had a lovely week. We plan to return again next year!


October 2017

Lovely cottage, beautiful position, superbly equipped. Would love to bring the Everhot range home! Village shop and Tea Shop both excellent. We had a lovely, lovely week and will return.


September 2017

Riverview is exceptionally well appointed and comfortable. It is located in a beautiful village with excellent shop, tearoom and pub and easy access to many walks around beautiful Exmoor.


September 2017

We would say book a holiday now, but don't want too many people to know.!!!


September 2017

A lovely cottage that is relaxing and very comfortable to stay in.......the location is perfect for a peaceful break and the dog loved the river (seen from front of the cottage). A village shop and tea rooms in the village....both good. Good location to travel other sites (Tarr steps, dunster, Porlock and many more)


August 2017

Extremely comfortable and well-equipped. A true home from home in a beautiful and convenient location.


August 2017

well located carefully equipped and decorated Lovely linens All interior elements - furnishing, equipment's etc -good quality Welcome and provision of tea/cake and starter food/drinks - all very thoughtful and lovely Owner Shelia - helpful and available but not intrusive


July 2017

We could not have asked for better accommodation. Everything was first class and it made our stay comfortable and cosy.


June 2017

The cottage is excellent with a lovely welcoming tea and cake after a long drive. We loved the local cafe and enjoyed a lovely cream tea! There are a number of circular walks from the cottage which are really lovely and the River Barle is just lovely. Overall a lovely holiday and the dog enjoyed it too!


June 2017

any one looking for peace full and tranquil place to stay its river view cottage. With its stunning views and simple tasteful style.We had a nice comfortable stay. Thank you sheila for allowing us to share in your dream. And we go back again most certainly we would!!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.