The Captain's Gig is a stone's throw from the beach and coastal footpath at Charlestown.
The cosy sitting-room looks out over the harbour.
Looking out from Bedroom 1.
The kitchen and the glazed dining-area which connects to the deck and garden.
Looking out into St Austell Bay from the top of the garden.
Charlestown harbour.
Steps lead from the dining-area up to the deck and garden.
The contemporary kitchen.
The glazed roof in the dining-area lets light flood in.
A window seat to look out from.
This little wood-burner will keep you toasty warm at all times of year.
Nautical touches throughout the cottage.
The view from the window seat.
The deck-area at the back of the cottage.
The family bathroom on the ground floor (Bedroom 1 upstairs has an en suite shower-room).
The ground floor family bathroom has a walk-in shower.
Bedroom 1 looks out over the harbour and coastline.
You can see the sea from bed!
Plenty of room for a cot in Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 2 looks out over the back garden.
Bedroom 2 has a double bed.
A door leads from Bedroom 2 into Bedroom 3.
Bedroom 3 has a single bed (and space for a cot).
Looking down to the cottage from the end of the garden.
The Captain's Gig is part of a harbourside Georgian terrace.
A bench outside to watch the world go by.
One of the tall ships often moored in Charlestown harbour.
The narrow entrance to the tiny harbour.
Tall ships in the harbour.
A firm favourite for the filming of Poldark.
Spot the Cornish flag flying out from the top of a mast on one of the ships.
Tiny Charlestown harbour at dusk.

The Captain's Gig

3728

Charlestown / Sleeps 5 + cot*

20% off for parties of 2 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £736

July 2019

A perfect place to stay and start some tours.


July 2019

A wonderful cottage right in Charlestown harbour with direct access to coastal path. Many other towns and sight seeing options only a short drive away (Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Helligan, St. Austel Brewery, Mevagissey, Fowey).


May 2019

This is a beautiful cottage in a premium location. There is a relatively steady stream of visitors to the harbour and they walk on the private road at the front of the cottage daily. Personally we loved this, it did not feel intrusive and was part of the atmosphere of staying here. Some attention to detail on the small things in the cottage would have made all the difference on our overall rating.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Charlestown certainly is a popular spot for visitors to the area - many will have seen it pop up in their favourite period drama as it's often used as a location for filming. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Alison, Customer Support


October 2018

A comfortable and cosy cottage in a brilliant position overlooking the harbour and the sea. We loved it and hope to return before too long.


September 2018

Very well appointed & in excellent condition. One of the best cottages we have stayed in in terms of position. The information supplied by Classic Cottages was first class particularly things to do in the area.


March 2018

The cottage was very clean and comfortable with lots of character. The décor throughout was simple and attractive. We enjoyed the views of sea and harbour from the front windows and Charlestown itself has craft shops and good restaurants without its old fashioned charm being spoilt. We enjoyed fish and chips and a bottle of wine in front of the lit woodburner and lovely walks in the morning along the beach with the dog. All in all the place was perfect to retreat to and I'd definitely like to return in the summer.


October 2017

Perfect holiday home for a family who want to feel at home and be in comfortable surroundings. Beautiful scenery which can be enjoyed from lovely front garden. Perfect place to while away the afternoon with a cup of tea. Can't wait to come back, thank you.


September 2017

Good position but the continually passing parade is a little off putting. The stairs to the rear garden are heavily overgrown by plants which need trimming and the stairs swept.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for letting us know about your stay - we're sorry that you felt the garden was a bit overgrown, and we'll ask the owners to have a look. The position of the property right above the harbour does mean that there will be some comings and goings, but being in heart of the village does mean that you are well placed to enjoy all that is on offer. Bryony, Customer Support


August 2017

Excellent location. Great with children as well.


August 2017

I would recommend this beautiful little property to anyone. The location is superb, the quality of the finishing in the property is very high quality. The view from the front of the cottage over the quay is just lovely, and all with the beach and pubs just a stone's throw away (not to mention a few ice cream sellers, which my daughter was delighted with!). I had thought that parking was going to be a problem, but actually it was fine. A great place to relax and watch the world go by.


July 2017

The Captain's Gig is an amazing place to stay on a family holiday. Charlestown is a hidden gem. Best holiday we've had in years.


June 2017

Great spirit in the old house! love is in the house

The conservatory with the big kitchen ist a great place for cooking an dining. The living-room with the bench is a place where everybody wants to stay. second bed ist a little bit small - for lovers only the view and the few meters to go everywhere - couldn´t be better

only problem: you have to leave the house after holiday ;-)


April 2017

A dear little cottage in a lovely position deserves


April 2017

The cottage is situated in a beautiful location, easy access to the local pubs and restaurant Good walking area


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.