The open plan living-room.
The Sail Loft.
The open plan living-room.
The kitchen-area.
The shower-room.
The shower-room.
Percuil River.
The view from Weatheroak.
The Sail Loft.

The Sail Loft


1.4 miles SW of Portscatho / Sleeps 4 + cot*

7 Nights from £436 - £1015

October 2018

Nice location and property but standard of equipment and cleanliness was poor

September 2018

We always have a lovely time when visiting the Sail Loft.

May 2018

We keep coming back . It suits our lifestyle.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're delighted to see that you've enjoyed another stay at The Sail Loft and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Alison, Customer Support

April 2018

As contemporary as Weatheroak is traditional, The Sail Loft is the perfect next-door-neighbour for guests whose friends and family are staying in the larger property. Right on the water, the only sound that disturbed the peace was birdsong.

October 2017

What a fantastic place. Really clean, beautifully furnished, peaceful, a true haven. It was lovely not having a TV! We really appreciated the board games, especially as we had our 8 year old son with us. Was useful to have Wifi to check out what was going on locally. We enjoyed kayaking right outside the door on the stunning estuary. A real break from it all.

September 2017

Brilliant location if you like solitude

August 2017

Lovely location and very peaceful. Boatyard is busy and interesting to watch the activities therein. View of the river is beautiful.

April 2017

We love the sail loft and after our third visit we are longing to return. It is a fantastic location, amazing views and peaceful and calm - a great place to relax and walk!

November 2016

Potentially a wonderful, peaceful, well-designed place to stay, but at present the place is not properly set up for guests. It may have been because it was November, but many basics that one would expect from a holiday rental (such as sugar, coffee, soap, washing powder, a torch) were not supplied. It was very difficult to get in touch with the company, because there is no mobile signal, no broadband, and - surprisingly - no landline. This was particularly stressful when the burglar alarm in the neighbouring house went off in the evening.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're sorry that you had some concerns about your stay - as we explained when we spoke, this property doesn't advertise WiFi or a landline. Mobile reception with some networks can be patchy in Cornwall but is improving all the time - we'd recommend checking coverage directly wth your provider. We're glad that the Housekeeper was able to allay your fears over the neighbouring alarm and provide a torch after you'd let us know. Tanya, Customer Support

October 2016

wonderful location, magnificent views

September 2016

We had a wonderful and peaceful stay in mid September. The cottage was very clean, well equipped and comfortable. The view from the living area window was spectacular but be aware you are overlooking the boat yard which on the whole was very quiet. We would not hesitate in returning to this cottage, the overall calmness of the place along with the lack of a television helped us to unwind and relax for the whole week. Excellent location for anyone wishing to potter on boats although we did not.

August 2016

A great cottage which is peaceful and so close to the water. It was so lovely to read a book and watch the boats sailing on percuil river. Fab location.

August 2016

Not really suitable for small children, no outside space to play, you can see a large garden in the main house but no access allowed. Large swarms of bees around the front of the property, apparently safe as they are honey bees. We didn't open the front windows because of this but they still managed to acces the property, we came home to find 20-30 bees inside.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review - this property has a decked area for guests' use, we're sorry if this wasn't clear. We passed your thoughts on to the housekeeping team who were disappointed that you were unhappy, and that they didn't have the opportunity to investigate further during your stay - we're open seven days a week so would always encourage guests to get in touch if they have a problem so that we can try to put it right. Classic Cottages

July 2016

Perfect location if you like sailing and walking. Lovely local beaches. Beautiful property. Fun swimming in the river (with wetsuits!) We hired a boat from Bob at Roseland Paddle and Sail, just next to the property.

July 2016

I think that it would be much fairer to tell potential customers that delightful as it is this is not the place to book in the summer if you are looking for peace and quiet. The Boatyard is very very busy at this time .... 24 hours .... and the heavy machinery used to move boats around on land is very very loud. We were part of a family group taking both houses .... 10 of us ... 4 generations ... so this was not a problem ... but for others it might wsell b e an isse.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review of The Sail Loft, and we're glad that you did enjoy your stay. We do try to draw guest's attention to the working boatyard next door - this can of course be noisy at times, especially in the height of the local regatta season! We're pleased that this didn't cause you a problem and hope you'd return again soon. Tanya, Customer Support

June 2016

Perfect family cottage ,but probably best for slightly older children

March 2016

A great location and very good service

Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.