The Coach House is the whole of this very attractive detached property, with reverse level accommodation to make the most of the views. The amount of space here is exceptional.
The garden area looks right down along the valley - a completely unspoilt view.
This welcoming cottage has an open plan living area with a Scandinavian wood-burner - there is a second sitting-room too.
The entrance hall is also a grand dining-room, a stunning light-filled space for special holiday meals!
This is the setting for The Coach House, the whole of this attractive detached stone building.
Guests are welcome to use the astro turf tennis court which is shared with the Owner's family.
The patio has inviting seating, a table-tennis table and a stone barbecue area built into the wall at the edge of the garden. A disposable barbecue is kindly provided for you.
The entrance hall and grand dining-table - a double height room with stairs leading up to the open plan living space on the first floor.
A bird's eye view of the great hall from the gallery at the top of the stairs.
Another view of this beautiful interior.
The living area on the first floor has plenty of room for the kitchen, a breakfast-table and two sumptuous sofas either side of the wood-burner.
The second sitting-room or snug is where the TV is. There is another wood-burner in this room, and French windows to the patio and garden.
The master bedroom is a room with real 'wow' factor.
Floor to ceiling glass doors bring in the light and the countryside views, and direct access to the front garden area.
At the far end of this spacious bedroom is an en suite bathroom and a separate dressing-room or cot-room.
A pretty internal window from the bathroom to the dressing-room is a lovely feature.
This is the en suite bathroom for the master bedroom.
This bedroom can be made up as a super king-size double if you wish.
The twin bedroom (which can be made up as a 6ft king-size double bed) is at the other end of the ground floor.
There are welcoming details and touches throughout this lovely cottage. You will feel very welcome.
This is the en suite bathroom for the second bedroom.
The cottage has a lovely terrace style garden at the front as well as a lawned garden and patio at the back.
A path from the parking-area next to the cottage takes you to this fabulous tennis court.
Racquets and tennis balls are provided for you.  Even the wine in the rack is for you to enjoy - with a simple request to replace what you use!
Whether you plan to be energetic or to sit back and relax in this tranquil setting, you will be well provided for at The Coach House.
The master bedroom has the three ground floor windows, the open plan living area and kitchen are above and to the left-hand side of this building encompasses the entrance hall and second bedroom.
Antique doors are just one of the unique features in this stylish property.
Footpaths lead from the cottage along the valley and down to the river that runs down from the Exmoor National Park.
Following the driveway down to the cottage really sets the scene for your holiday in this special place.
The main garden area is at the back of the cottage, complete with a little stream!
There is a wonderful sunny terrace with plenty of seating to start or end your day here.
There is a front garden too - with amazing unspoilt views towards Exmoor.
Another view of the front garden and its beautiful views. This is a great base for exploring but equally for just relaxing and staying put.
A long sweeping drive leads down to the farmstead and the cottage.

The Coach House

2992

1.6 miles NE of South Molton / Sleeps 4 + 2 cots*

7 Nights from £420 - £966

September 2017

Location was amazing with our closest neighbours being the cows who insisted on looking through the window while we ate. Quite spooky when it was dark. Owners were lovely and friendly and always available if needed. The muffins, juice and wine were very much appreciated. The cottage decor was lovely and the doors upstairs are fantastic. Plenty of equipment, including some gadgets I would not have expected as standard and the tennis court was a great bonus. Best cottage we have stayed in.


July 2017

The Coach House was the best holiday home we have stayed in. It was very big and the rooms were all a great size. It was clean and well decorated and the welcome gifts (muffins, flowers, tea, coffee, milk, juice etc) were lovely. The views were great and Fiona was welcoming and there if needed, but stayed away otherwise. Truly lovely holiday home.


May 2017

"Loved it"!


April 2017

We loved the location of the cottage and all the equipment and information that was available. We found the owners to be very friendly and helpful. We intend to book again next year when we return to the area.


April 2017

The Coach house was truly spectacular and rose above our already high expectations. The cottage is very well equipped and Fiona and Colin had made sure we were comfortable in every respect. We visited the cottage as three generations and all had been catered for with equal attention to detail. The views were lovely. We spent our mornings looking out the windows at the views and our evenings snuggled up by the fireplace. Couldn't recommend it enough.


February 2017

Its perfect!


January 2017

Lovely, well furnished comfortable house in a secluded valley made this the perfect retreat.


December 2016

Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location.


November 2016

A lovely barn, beautifully converted and furnished. Fiona went out of her way to make sure everything was OK.

Maybe better suited for holidays in season as we had to make a speedy retreat when the snow started falling for fear of not being able to get up the drive!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Coach House, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your time here. Being so close to Exmoor, there is occasionally a sprinkling of snow during the winter (which makes for a really beautiful landscape!), but there is another lower access track (unmade) that can be used should this be the case - it's on the level but a little bumpier so easier to use the drive from day to day. Tanya, Customer Support


November 2016

As we spend all our holidays staying at various cottages,this without doubt is one of the best ever. We cannot think of one thing that is missing to enjoy the break we had at The Coach House. On arrival we were greeted with wonderful touches for our stay,which we will not mention, as this would spoil things for the next guests! Fiona has gone beyond her role and this shows. The weather although great, was slowly getting colder and what a joy to light the unusual log burners. Endless supply of logs, kept things "snug" in the evenings. Not that this was needed, with the underfloor heating which kept an ambient temperature throughout. The sheer size is a "WOW". Perfect clean bathrooms and gorgeous bedrooms, made this perfect. We will certainly return in the near future and thank the owners for such a marvellous stay.


October 2016

We have just spent five days enjoying North Devon from the wonderfully warm spacious base of The Coach House , more castle than cottage set in a broad, peaceful valley in England's truly green and pleasant land. Watching the sun rise and the mist clear was memorable. The owners who were on hand if needed, had thought of everything to help us enjoy our time there , including a small wine cellar--the little touches that make the difference. What a find!


September 2016

The owners, Fiona and Colin were excellent hosts, very warm welcome, helpful and informative about the location and surrounding places of interest. Nice touches with gifts and flowers on arrival. The cottage itself is an interesting building, nicely converted and spacious and very well equipped. However, it was renovated, we believe, approximately 10 years ago and now looks tired and in need of decoration. The amenities were clean and tidy (beds, toilets etc), although the general cleanliness of the property was poor, cobwebs and spiders in all rooms and debris beneath furniture. It needs a deep clean; my wife spent the first few days of the holiday cleaning. The patio area at the rear is unkempt due to the amount of weeds present.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so sorry to see that you felt there were areas of the cottage that could have been cleaner. Such feedback is unusual as the house normally scores highly on cleanliness, and nothing was mentioned when the Owner offered you a mid-stay clean (which you declined). The Owner has confirmed that it was a previous owner who renovated ten years ago, but that they themselves regularly redecorate on a rolling basis after the rigours of a busy season, and the house is in fact being decorated right now. We were pleased to see that despite your disappointment, you did have a nice stay. Tanya, Customer Support


July 2016

The Coach House is fantastic, a lot of space, wonderfully equiped with lovely details. We felt very welcome, the hostfamily made everything possible. The surrounding is excellent! The best accomodation we ever stayed in! Thank you for fantastic Holidays!!!


June 2016

A lovely property set in a superb location.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.