The indoor pool.
The front of this lovely property is approached by five steps.
Looking from the living-room towards the kitchen-area. The door leads out to the patio and up to the meadow.
The patio is found outside the kitchen door with the meadow beyond.
The pool-house.
Fairy lights around the mirror.
The dining-table at the end of the living-room and beyond that the stairs down to the ground floor bedrooms and bathroom.
Cosy up around the wood-burner on cool evenings.
The French-style wood-burner throws out the heat.
Comfy sofas to curl up in.
There's a wave boost at one end of the pool to swim against.
The pool-house is across the gravelled parking-area from the cottage.
Moon River from the lane as you turn in.
You can also sit out in front of the cottage as well as on the raised patio above,
The house name is visible from the lane outside.
Gara Bridge just down the road.
Bedroom 1 has an en suite shower-room.
Plenty of storage space in Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 2 is very pretty.
The modern family bathroom.
Bedroom1 has a double bed.
Looking out from the kitchen door.
The front of the cottage.

Moon River

2984

6.2 miles SW of Totnes / Sleeps 4 + cot

7 Nights from £615 - £1338

September 2017

Just back from an amazing holiday at moon river. The cottage is very welcoming and was very cosy. We met Dave, one of the owners who was very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable. The heated pool was a great addition especially as the weather was very changeable so there was always something to keep you occupied along with the various games, cds, books and dvd's that were in the cottage. All in all a great holiday cottage to relax in.


September 2017

An excellent comfortable secluded spot but within easy reach of the delightful towns of Totnes and Dartmouth.


August 2017

Excellent property with all mod cons you need , in a fantastic location to get to all the attractions, towns and resorts of south Devon easily. Having your own swimming pool to go in to also made this the perfect property would highly recommend staying here .


June 2017

Very happy with my stay here. It was a perfect retreat and a great base for travelling around the area. My children loved the swimming pool as did I. It added that extra dimension to our holiday. The service from Classic Cottages was also amazing as always. I would definitely visit again.


April 2017

A great dog friendly cottage with lovely views of the countryside and a really nice pool to relax and play in.


April 2017

A super cottage with a homely feel. The birds coming to feed on the patio area were delightful and the private pool was fabulous.


November 2016

The surroundings and the cottage was perfect with the bonus of the swimming pool, can't wait to book for next November I hope to-do this soon.Thank you so much to the owners for having a wonderful holiday cottage.


October 2016

Meet the owners on arrival they made us welcome straight away. The cottage is set in a peaceful location but everything you need it's there in the cottage the pool is a big bonus


September 2016

Had a wonderful week at Moon River. Lovely to meet the owners Ali and Dave when we arrived. The property is well equipped and so homely and obviously well loved. So peaceful here and relaxing. Open the window at night and all u can here is the gentle bubble of the river. The local garage has a well stocked spar shop and a local produce stall next to it. There are plenty of places within easy reach. Bigbury on sea and a walk to the top of Burgh Island well worth a visit. Paignton Zoo only 1/2 hour drive away. Totnes a lovely town-plenty of parking. Dartmouth -lots to see.


September 2016

Location excellent(feels like you are in the middle of knowhere until you get your bearings , then you realise how close you are to loads of great places) , pool fab, lovely cottage well loved a home from home for us. Liked layout of house made good use of space. Nice little extras , great children's room and lots of books. Hope to visit again .


September 2016

Delightful property, very homely and included everything for a lovely break. The availability of the private pool on the odd rainy days was very welcome.


August 2016

Our stay at Moon River was delightful and our very sincere thanks to the owners for such a friendly welcome. The house was comfortable, clean and very well equipped. In addition we discovered lots of thoughtful little touches everywhere that enhanced our enjoyment of our week there. The location is superb, tucked away in the peaceful surroundings of Gara Bridge and still only a short drive to local towns, coastline and beaches. The private pool on site for our sole use was for us as a family an ultimate luxury that we thoroughly enjoyed. Quite frankly one of the best holidays we and our two boys have had together. Wonderful.


August 2016

The cottage is absolutely gorgeous. It was very clean, comfortable and definitely a home away from home which is well decorated and furnished. All of the appliances worked as expected, the bedrooms were very comfortable and the en suite and bathroom were well laid out with excellent facilities. The pool was an added bonus and definitely gives the cottage a wow factor that we enjoyed every day. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of sitting areas and lots of apples on the trees. We were made to feel very welcome by Ali and Dave and could not have asked for better hosts or a better cottage and facilities.

The location was fabulous in the countryside although very well located to access any area in Devon. Gara bridge is amazing in a beautiful setting on the banks of the river Avon and the Spar is not too far away which is well stocked for any essentials.

I liked everything about the cottage and the setting. The facilities were excellent and everything worked very well. The raised decking outside of the kitchen had fantastic views with comfy seating. The grassed area was well shaded under the boughs of the trees and made a romantic setting for an out door meal.


August 2016

Lovely location, great pool, house is a good layout but not really to the standard we were expecting in terms of cleanliness, outside space and facilities that worked.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to review the house; we're so sorry that you were unhappy with the cleanliness, especially as you didn't mention it to me when I spoke to you during your stay - had we been aware of your dissatisfaction we could have arranged for any areas to be re-cleaned as you preferred. The Owners have checked all the jets in the pool and everything is working, so we're sorry if there was a temporary issue during your holiday. Tanya, Customer Support


July 2016

We loved our stay at Moon River and Ali and Dave, the owners, were really friendly and helpful. The cottage was clean and comfortable and nicely furnished with fabulous views from both inside in the lounge and out on the balcony and it was lovely having your own private garden area and courtyard. The pool was a blessing for our daughters, especially on the rainy days, and they swam at least once a day and had great fun. A fabulous place to stay!


May 2016

The cottage is in a great location. Easy access to a number of towns etc. if you want a day out, but also great for walking in the area. The facilities in the cottage are excellent, everything you could need. The private indoor pool is the 'icing on the cake'. We were very lucky with the weather, sunshine every day, but still made full use of the pool and it would definitely be an added bonus if the weather wasn't great. Don't tell everybody about this gem or they will all want to go!


April 2016

Moon River is a delightful cottage set in an idyllic location. The peace and quiet, wonderful river walks, beautiful night sky full of stars, abundance of wild birds that come to feed on the bird feeder right outside the bedroom window all make this a haven to stay in. The extra addition of your own private pool completes the package.

If you are looking for somewhere to relax and unwind, look no further!


April 2016

Moon River exceeded all of our expectations. We had a delightful stay in early April and although the weather was mainly wet this didn't matter as we spent much of our time relaxing in the fabulous pool. We would love to return in warmer weather to enjoy the views from the first floor decking outside the kitchen.

The Cottage has all the modern fixtures and fittings as well as a very well equipped kitchen complete with tea, coffee and biscuits! If it is too wet to go exploring and you don't fancy the pool, there is excellent WiFi, Sky TV, a HiFi with a collection of CD's, a well stocked bookcase and even a Guitar to (try) and play! The master bedroom is spacious and has an excellent en-suite. The second bedroom is ideal for children with 2 single beds and an assortment of children's' toys and books all around. All over the cottage we kept spotting new things, there are so many little touches that make the cottage feel so warm, welcoming and homely.

We didn't want to leave and look forward to going back soon.


March 2016

We have just returned from a weekend at this delightful cottage. We wish we were still there! The cottage and pool house was immaculately clean with some amazing finishing touches too. The location is just stunning. So beautiful, calm, quiet, peaceful. Though I think the location is very sheltered so we didn't really feel the full force of the storm over the weekend, it was a shame we didn't get to use the patio outside the kitchen. I can just imagine some lovely evenings sitting out there in the better weather.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.