The front of the cottage (second one in from the left, painted yellow) and the view from the front door. Please note the path in front is not accessible by cars.
Sailaway is the yellow property in the centre of the picture.
French doors go out to rear patio.
The spacious sitting/dining-room.
Enjoy your lunch.
There are views of the estuary from the sitting-room window.
Glimpses of the estuary.
A quirky stool in the sitting-room.
Seaside bits and bobs throughout the house.
Soft cushions on the sofa.
The well-equipped kitchen.
Interesting feature on the sitting-room wall.
The sunny rear patio.
Bedroom 1 is at the front of the house.
Bedroom 1.
The en suite shower-room for Bedroom 1.
Navy and white in the en suite shower-room.
Bedroom 1 has water views.
Pretty pictures on the landing.
Bedroom 2 is either a twin or a 'zip and link' 6' double. Here shown as a double.
Beautiful decor.
The family bathroom.
The name sign.
Looking from the bridge across the estuary to the cottage. There is a lot of beach at low water.
Looking across the estuary withTeignmouth in the distance.
The view from the front door.
The beach at low water (this is during spring tides which have a higher rise and fall).
Exactly!
A reproduction of a 1920's poster of Shaldon.

Sailaway

2979

Shaldon / Sleeps 4 + cot

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £433

April 2019

My forever cottage is special in every way what more can a lady from Bristol say ??????


March 2019

The best Classic property we have stayed in


March 2019

This property is 5 star and then some. You could not be disappointed renting this property.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review - we're delighted to hear how much you liked the lovely Sailaway and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kari, Customer Support


March 2019

Fantadtic place - I'll be back!!!!!


October 2018

Perfect in every way. I would say the best equipped cottage we have ever stated in , high quality furnishings, utensils and kitchen goods. The cottage is well situated, fantastic views over the estuary , cosy and spotlessly clean. Local people are friendly, village shops sell excellent products, butchers sausages amazing and the bakers wow. Local pubs welcoming , staff friendly, excellent value and good home made food. Most definitely , looking for another break away in the UK soon , it will have a lot to live up too believe me .


October 2018

This cottage more than exceeded our expectations. The property was spotless, a credit to the housekeepers Hilary & Mike. The fixtures and fittings, including linen, were of a very high standard. The views were lovely and the pretty village of Shaldon was a joy to explore. We would highly recommend this property.


October 2018

Possibly the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in.


September 2018

Could not fault anything.


August 2018

A comfortable and well equipped cottage in a glorious location. We will be back.


August 2018

A convenient, well placed and very well appointed cottage. Out of the way of any crowds but just a sort stroll from the village centre and beaches. Everywhere in the Village, Tiegnmouth and Dawlish is very dog friendly . From the cottage it's only a 15 minute walk across the bridge and along the side of the railway to Tiegnmouth, and a 5 minute drive to Morrison's. Cannot quite make my mind up which of the 5 pubs I likes best but I think if pushed I would say The Shipwrights Arms for the best drink and The London Inn or the Clifford Arms for something special eat, The Ness and the Ferry Boat are also well worth a visit and the food in the Shipwrights is god value and plentiful. Cannot wait for our visit here next year.


July 2018

Sailaway Cottage was immaculately clean inside and out. Top quality bedding (which is most important to us). All fixtures and fittings and kitchen equipment top whack quality too. Would definitely recommend Sailaway to anyone visiting Shaldon. Beautiful views and handy for bus stops.


July 2018

Our third visit.... so far!

A beautiful cottage in the perfect location. The owners have thought of every last detail and it is furnished and equipped to a high standard.

The beach is just beyond the front door and a short stroll to the village for a nice selection shops and eating places.


July 2018

Adorable cottage location perfect five star comfort


June 2018

Immaculate property, well maintained & beautifully furnished. Fantastic location: great views and access to local pubs/restaurants.


May 2018

again ...... Location and forever changing views are second to none, in this wonderful comfortable cottage. Our third visit - says it all!


March 2018

An excellent property! One of our favourites. Excellent furnishings and equipment. Very comfortable beds. Love the enclosed sun-trap patio and the garage. Always enjoy booking with Classic Cottages for super friendly and efficient service.


March 2018

Fantastic Property in a wonderful settings. Spotlessly clean and everything was of top quality. I did read in a previous review that the garage was small and this did slightly worry me, however, we have a Peugeot estate car and it fitted in easily.


February 2018

It was a fab house in a lovely setting. Attention to detail and fixtures and fittings were of the highest quality.


October 2017

Just gorgeous. Lovely stay as always.


October 2017

Cottage, furnishings, equipment and location all first class.

cottage,


September 2017

Superb cottage in a great setting. Unspoilt village with great friendly pubs for the dog. Already booked for next year!


August 2017

Anazing cottage...beautiful views...amazing location...cottage very well appointed...was definately a home from home..


August 2017

Beautiful cottage, ideal in every way.


July 2017

Great cottage and location. The best dog friendly cottage we have found, by some distance.


July 2017

A beautifully presented cottage. The owners have thought of every last detail and it is so much more than a home from home. It is immaculately clean and a real pleasure to stay here.


June 2017

This was our second stay at Sailaway. Once again everything was perfect.


June 2017

Sailaway was just lovely bright clean and modern with everything provided we could possibly have needed. Being able to watch the estuary change during the day was just magical. We love Shaldon such a joy quite and beautiful. Local butcher and bakery a bonus.


May 2017

A very delightful cottage will definitely use again


March 2017

Excellent cottage in every way. Beautifully equipped, with comfortable beds and high quality furnishings. Spotlessly clean. Loved the sun trap patio! Perfectly dog friendly too. Thank you.


March 2017

Location wonderful, walking, using buses, eating out, ferrying to Teignmouth. Try crab shack, lovely people. Thank you.


February 2017

Such a lovely clean cottage. Perfect location, comfortable furnishings. Thought of everything.


October 2016

This is a fantastic cottage with beautiful views, is spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The only downside is that if you have a medium/large car you would not be able to get it into the garage so would have to park away from the house in a public car park.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at Sailaway. We advertise the parking space for a medium-sized car (we consider that to be the equivalent of a VW Golf) but there is a short stay car park nearby where vehicles can be left free of charge overnight or for up to four hours during the day. Tanya, Customer Support


August 2016

A truly lovely cottage ina great location.


August 2016

Lovely courtyard garden which is a real sun trap.


July 2016

Property excellent - however, could do with a mirror above chest of drawers in back bedroom as lead on hair drier is not long enough to use in front of wardrobe mirror. Also all windows only open about 2 inches wide - in this heat would like to have been able to open fully. Your description and delivery on properties is excellent - would have no hesitation whatsoever in booking with you again ( as we have done in the past )

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review of Sailaway and we're sorry you had some trouble with the windows. We've spoken with the Owner who's let us know that they can occasionally be a little stiff (depending on the weather!) but with a little perseverance they do open fully - she's going to pop a note into the cottage information to let future guests know. We've also passed on your very useful suggestions which she's certainly going to consider - many thanks. Bryony, Customer Support


July 2016

We would recommend this cottage as we found it perfect for a holiday in a lovely area. It is within walking distance to local amenities. There is a lovely bakery and butchers close by and all the local pubs served excellent food and were very dog friendly. The cottage was exceptionally clean and welcoming. Furnishings and bed were very comfortable. Sailaway is an excellent holiday cottage. The interior is tastefully decorated and the furniture is comfortable. It is nice to have an enclosed patio to sit outside. We enjoyed our holiday and our dog was made very welcome.


June 2016

The high standard of accommodation, the cleanliness and cosy feel made for one of the best holidays we have had, can not recomend it highly enough. Fantastic location people so friendly and helpful.


May 2016

A real gem of a property. Furnished to a high standard with all creature comforts and plenty of technology! The house is light and airy with a very welcoming feel. The location overlooking the estuary is spectacular.


May 2016

No moans or groans I truly did not want to go home my forever place sailaway cottage at shaldon my second visit will surely visit a third time x


April 2016

Lovely, homely cottage in a beautiful village in Devon.


February 2016

It is lovely to look out over the estuary during the day and in an evening the twinkling lights of Teignmouth.


September 2015

We have stayed in many cottages around the country,but Sailaway has to be the best !!!. Only one word discribes the property " FANTASTIC ".


August 2015

The perfect holiday cottage in every way


August 2015

Stunning cottage perfik location for old and young people and children


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.