The Upper 18 is a traditional cottage.
A roaring wood-burner makes this an ideal retreat all year round.
The spacious kitchen and dining-area, perfect for a family gathering.
Working Newlyn harbour is just down the hill.
The master bedroom.
The bathroom.
The sitting-area is cosy for a winter break.
The view from Bedroom 1.
The kitchen/diner.
The dining-area.
The bathroom.
Steps lead down to the kitchen from the sitting-room.
Bedroom 1 (the main bedroom).
The cosy sitting-room.
Gorgeous Bedroom 2.
The terrace.
Bedroom 2.
Sennen beach.
Porthcurno.
Mousehole, the next village!
Marazion.

The Upper 18

2851

1.4 miles N of Mousehole / Sleeps 4 + cot*

7 Nights from £414 - £1035

February 2018

If anyone is looking for a cosy and relaxing holiday break then look no further.


September 2017

The Upper 18 is a small but cosy cottage that is very tastefully decorated. It has everything you would need on a holiday. The town of Newlyn was a good base, it is a working town and therefore more interesting that some of its more touristy neighbouring towns. The owner was very helpful giving us lots of local information and advice on nearby attractions - his advice was invaluable. We loved this part of Cornwall - so much to do and see. The only problem we had was with the narrow winding roads -(not for the faint hearted!), and the parking. It took us a few days to get used to both during which time we stayed parked in an expensive pay car park. But overall I would recommend The Upper 18 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review of The Upper 18 - it's great to hear you enjoyed the local village of Newlyn. Being a typical Cornish fishing village some of the roads and lanes can be a little narrow in places but we're pleased you got used to it during your holiday. Parking can often be found on the road in Church Street but there is also parking in the car park behind the Red Lion which you can pay for daily or weekly. Bryony, Customer Support


August 2017

Lovely, cosy cottage with a beautiful view in a great spot - walking distance to town with a small Co-op, great fish and chip shop, near to Mousehole, St Michaels Mount, Porthcurno. Edward has appointed it beautifully with interesting photographs, decorations and comfortable furniture. All in all, perfect for what we wanted, lovely owner who showed us around on arrival and we would definitely come again.


July 2017

This is such a nice and cozy House and Mr. Longbottom is a very friendly man and we are very happy that we choosed this property for our Holidays. Loved the kitchen!


May 2017

Everything is nice in this little cosy cottage. The kitchen is wide enough to cook and have breakfast/lunch or dinner for all the family. It is nicely decorated, bedroom are nice with very good mattresses, bathroom is nice too. Nothing to bad to say really and the landlord is so helpful and friendly! A very nice place to use as base camp to visit Penzance and its surroundings...


August 2016

nice little cottage,well equipped,but no microwave,so only real cooking. lots of hills and steps,so not advised for anyone with mobility problems,other than that,a nice place for a holiday


August 2016

The cottage is very comfortable and very well equipped, especially the kitchen. We liked it to be there and felt us like guests. I would recommend it to all our friends with or without children!


June 2016

This cottage is lovely. Once you have negotiated the extremely large hill and found a parking space you appreciate the beautiful views of the harbour. The decor in the house is beautiful. It is extremely well equipped. We arrived to complimentary tea, coffee, sugar and milk. There was also a lovely bunch of flowers with a welcome guide which included places to eat and local amenities. A lovely cottage would recommend it highly.


February 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Upper 18. The cottage is lovely and the kitchen is fantastically well equipped, which comes in handy when the local fish is so fresh! Thoroughly enjoyed family breakfasts whilst listening to the gulls and cosy nights in front of the log burner. Some very nice touches in the cottage and the owner's notes were very useful. Will definitely stay again as, apart from anything else, my daughter, Ottilie, says she wants to live there!


October 2015

Perfect winter break. This cottage is so special and has given us a fantastic memory of our son's 1st holiday and my husband's 30th. Fantastic location to walk into Mousehole and lovely views of St Michael's Mount as you step out of the front door.


October 2015

My partner and myself stayed at Upper 18 for a week in October. The cottage was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The Kitchen was a lovely space to cook and eat in, and the lounge with two comfy large sofas and log burner was cosy and warm for evenings with a bottle of wine and game of backgammon.

The Location in Newly is a great base for exploring southern cornwall. Newlyn has a couple of good pubs, The Tolcarne is good for food and the Red Lion for a pint and game of poole. Its easy walk into the busier town of Penzance with good train links and more restaruarants & shops and equal distance walking to the pretty habour village of Mousehole. Or easy to take the little bus which runs once an hour to both. St Micheals Mount, Sennen Cove, Lands End, St. Ives and many more, are also easily acessible by car ... but prepared to negotiated the steep hills, narrow streets of Newlyn to park.

We had a wonderfull stay at Upper 18 and would most definately return! We spent the entire week discussing if and how we could return for Christmas ... it felt so like our little home from home!


September 2015

Lovely cottage with well equipped kitchen- everything that we could possibly need for our stay. Had a wonderful stay and loved the decor.


August 2015

The cottage was beautiful and loved our stay there the owner was very pleasant and keen to make sure everything was acceptable to me.


August 2015

Beautifully positioned cottage. Extremely well equipped and very comfortable. Will certainly return.


July 2015

We loved this cottage. It was furnished and equipped to a very high standard but still managed to be homely and welcoming. We whole heartedly recommend Upper 18.


June 2015

Beautiful cottage with all the equipment you need to cook fantastic dishes. Lovely decoration with an eye for the details. Clean and traditional cosy cottage.


May 2015

Everything you would want for a memorable stay on holiday is here at Upper 18. A cosy, comfortable, functional and well catered for cottage .


April 2015

Wonderful cottage, beautifully presented and well located for visiting the local area. Good walks nearby and easy to travel, whether by car or train. Would happily visit again and recommend to friends.


October 2014

A beautiful fishermans cottage offering a comfortable stay, the steep walk to the cottage is not for the faint hearted.


October 2014

We had a lovely short break at the Upper 18. It was warm, comfortable and furnished to a very high standard. Newlyn is a fascinating little town and the surrounding countryside shows off the best of Cornwall.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.