Relax on the terrace.
Breakfast in the sun.
The gorgeous contemporary sitting-area.
Good morning!
The kitchen-area.
The spacious and modern bathroom.
St Michael's Mount is four miles away.
Modern fittings.
Plenty of room to prepare a dinner for two.
Relax in the comfortable double bed.
Fancy a lie in?
Breakfast in bed.
All mod-cons.
Open plan living.
Why not dine al fresco?
Light and airy living.
A cream tea on arrival.
There's a large bath in the en suite bathroom.
Modern bathroom fittings.
A ceramic hob for cooking.
A pre-dinner drink?
The well-equipped kitchen.
Snuggle up on the corner suite.
Comfortable and light.
Enjoy the comfortable furnishings.
Access to your terrace.
Open plan living.
There's a large TV for all your favourite programmes.
Huge living space.
A brilliant kitchen.
The bedroom.
Sennen Cove is seven miles away.
The beautiful beach and the open-air Minack Theatre at Porthcurno are approximately six miles away.
Mousehole is just four miles away.
Nearby St Ives is well worth a visit.
Drift Reservoir is just up the road.

Cumbrae Retreat


2.4 miles NW of Mousehole / Sleeps 2 (no children under 16)

7 Nights from £290 - £726

September 2018

Very comfortable. Good location for many Cornish landmarks

August 2018

Excellent apartment with everything you would need for a week away. The owners were incredibly friendly and the apartment ideally situated. The apartment is modern but still comfortable and cosy. We always looked forward to returning after a long day out! We loved the lighting and sound system! We loved our time away and have already recommended to family and friends. We can't wait to return next year

June 2018

A brilliant property that is perfect for 2 people. Everything you need in provided and it well worth the money

September 2017

Spotlessly clean. Very high standard of fittings, furnishings and equipment. Good location for the far West of Cornwall.......for Penzance, Mousehole, St Ives, The Tin Coast (Poldark), St Michaels Mount, The Minack Theatreetc. Plenty enough to keep you busy for a week.

August 2017

Cumbrae Retreat is a little gem. The owners have provided a clean and spotless comfortable base from which to explore this beautiful area of Cornwall. The property is totally self contained and although the owners live in the house above, they are not at all intrusive and only willing to help or advise if you need it. We will certainly be back and will recommend the apartment to friends and family.

August 2017

Excellent apartment for two. Everything you need and not far from the fantastic Cornish coast.

June 2017

We had a very nice stay. The appartment was great, spotless clean and very modern furnished. The owners are very friendly but not pushy. The location is really good because the A30 is just 100 yds away.

October 2016

Thank you for a lovely stay.

September 2016

Mention the owner's live about

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review - we hope you had a great stay. The Owner does live next to the property, and so is on hand to help wtih any questions or queries. Tanya, Customer Support

September 2016

We consider the cost of hiring the apartment to be fair and of good value. This apartment is ideally situated and we were never short of places to go to and things to do. We enjoyed many cliff top walks, we visited a National Trust Garden and searched out numerous archaeological sites and galleries which abound locally as well as visiting some of the nearby beaches. Also we very much enjoyed Newlyn; a town that reminded us of the 1950's but with bags of character. The harbour was a delight especially at early morning sunrise. It is a place where you can meander and see the boats offloading their catch for auction. The apartment was exceptionally clean. We were provided with a welcome pack of scones and cream, a bottle of wine, some flowers a few tea bags and some milk. We would have liked to be closer to nature when we were in the apartment. In effect there is no garden and as result we never saw any birds close up. The owners could do more to attract garden birds with bird feeders. The outside the apartment is paved with shingle and there is a small table at the far end. We never used it because it is quite a distance from the apartment door and the kitchen area. If this table and a couple of chairs were placed nearer it would be ideally placed for taking an early morning cup of tea or for having an evening drink. The apartment provides all the essentials you need except perhaps a washing machine. Personally we like to take our clothes home clean. This would be difficult to do when staying here especially as there is no washing line. There is no doubt that the lighting system is top quality but it may not be to everyone's liking. Having 14 switches to illuminate the open plan area is a challenge which could have been made easier had we been given a demonstration. There are written instructions but we found these difficult to work out. The 40 inch plus TV is on the end wall. The furniture is laid out almost in cinema style so you are looking straight at it. This means when you use the sofa you are not really able to see outside and at times we felt constrained by this. What we did not like was that the bedroom audio system had 3 LED lights on all night, all of which were different colours. If you are a poor sleeper this can be disturbing. This was made worse by the self-illuminating control panel at 5-15 or there about in the morning on 2 occasions for no apparent reason. In the bathroom which was lovely and very functional, but had automatic halogen ceiling lights. If you went to the bathroom in the night they would come on and stay on so brightly for an extended period that not only did it wake you up even more it hurt your eyes. The linen was very clean and fresh and the shower provided plenty of hot water. The six foot bed was comfortable but it squeaked every time you moved. All in all, the bedroom was not a good environment for a peaceful sleep, despite the comfortable bed.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review of Cumbrae Retreat and we were delighted that you had enjoyed some wonderful days out in the West Cornwall area. We were sorry to hear you'd had some trouble with the lighting systems - the Owner lives next door and I'm sure would have been happy to come and demonstrate for you, but we'll certainly pass on your feedback to them. Thanks for letting us know and we'll also pass on your suggestions for their consideration. Bryony, Customer Support

September 2016

This rental is amazing. I chose it for our first wedding anniversary to have a touch of luxury and was not disappointed. From start to finish the owner was fab, even left little welcome gifts, and dealt with any questions we had swiftly (even before we arrived). We were amazed with the finish of the property and the entertainment system was unexpected but fabulous. The apartment is in a fab location and we were able to get to everywhere we wanted to see quickly and easily. Parking is available on the driveway, we have a jeep and there was plenty of space. All in all I would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone who is looking at it.

September 2016

A beautiful modern property, stylishly furnished, immaculately clean, all mod-cons. Wine, flowers, tea / coffee and biscuits (especially the gluten free ones provided for my wife) on arrival were a lovely touch and very much appreciated. Thank you - highly recommended!

August 2016

Beautiful, well equipped, spacious apartment.

July 2016

Excellent property. Spotlessly clean. Great base for exploring this area of Cornwall. Cilla should be very proud of her wonderful property.

July 2016

The Cumbrae Retreat is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway in a great location for exploring west Cornwall. The owners were very friendly and helpful, but also gave us the privacy and peace we were seeking. The treats on arrival were a really nice touch too. We would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

March 2016

A peaceful and very private retreat that I can recommend for couples wanting simply to 'get away'. We got the impression that the owners genuinely wanted us to enjoy our time here rather than just renting out part of their home for a little extra income. The little details make all the difference, and we particularly appreciated the friendly welcome and cream tea.

September 2015

Cannot fault anything about this property or the wonderful location. We are so glad we chose this place, were not disappointed in anything, would definitely come back and would not hesitate to recommend it. Truly exceptional!

August 2015

We would highly recommend Cumbrae Retreat , the location was fantastic in a quiet country road overlooking the lovely countryside 2 mins from the main road ideal! Very quiet and peaceful. Cumbrae retreat had a lovely private area that was the whole length of the accommodation to sit outside and look at the outstanding countryside. The accommodation was spotless, everything was top class , with beautiful furniture , a very modern bathroom , comfy bed and mood lighting in all rooms that was fun, and speakers in all rooms and windows all the way across the property giving lots of light. The owners that lived above were lovely really helpful with local information and a pleasure to chat to although you wouldn't know they were there ! We would without hesitation go back to Cumbrae Retreat!

July 2015

This is a perfect apartment for a visit to west Cornwall in easy driving distance of all the major landmarks. Beautifully presented and clean. The owners are very welcoming and approachable. Would definitely recommend.

June 2015

Fantastic apartment finished to an excellent standard with a state of the art sound system! It was so peaceful and relaxing we didn't want to leave! You are perfectly situated to explore the surrounding area and the owners were very obliging but not in any was intrusive. We definitely be returning!!

September 2014

A fab, modern holiday home from home. Great location for exploring without being in a town. Direct routes to shops and all the best tourist attractions/sights. I couldn't have asked for more and I hope to re-visit soon!!!

July 2014

The property was excellent, very well furnished and comfortable every thing you need is there to make your stay perfect. The owners are friendly and welcoming and despite being adjoined to the property were only there should you need them. The location of the property was nicely positioned for trips out to different areas each day taking in the lovely beaches near by. We were surprised when we got there with a very welcome bottle of wine and biscuits for us and our dog too !!! Lovely.

Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.