A great spot for breakfast, lunch or dinner with that wonderful view.
The view of the house as you descend, gives you glimpses of the river beyond.
This lovely house has been furnished to a high and comfortable standard, and feels like a real home-from-home.
The comfortable, colourful and spacious master bedroom.
The lower garden and patio leads out to the jetty.
The living-room is spacious, with room to relax and a choice of eating inside or out on the deck.
The dining-area with views through the large picture window.
The kitchen is well-equipped and features a range cooker.
This amazing location on the side of the river bank, means a walk up the steep sloping zig-zag path to the car, (4 sections) but it is definitely worth it!
The kitchen leads onto the hallway.
The view on the way down, you are nearly there!
The hallway is also flooded with light.
Bedroom 2 is furnished with a double bed, please be aware of the sloping ceilings when getting in and out of bed.
There is a handy shower and wash-basin in bedroom 2.
Bedroom 2 is furnished with a standard double bed, and is opposite bedroom 3 across the landing with the bathroom next door.
Bedroom 3 with bunk beds.
Take a book and sit by the river when the tide is in or out, and enjoy the peace and quiet.
At the bottom of the garden, a gate leads out to a lower patio with river access.
The view from the raised decking over the lower garden to the river.
The jetty takes you right onto the river when the tide is coming in.
The handy downstairs loo!
The stairs between floors.
The family bathroom.
The kitchen is equipped with a butler sink.
Pop down to the Ferry Boat Inn for a drink, or jump on the ferry across to Helford village.
This is such a beatiful and unspoilt part of Cornwall.
The view on the way back up the path is just as good! Why not stop to admire the view?
This steep but shady path leads you to the house on the river. There are a few steps at the top and bottom, and half way down.
Helford House sits on the banks of this tidal river, and you can spot the last section of the path down to the house with the rope railing (top right of the photo).
The views around the Helford river are spectacular.
Port Navas is a great place to explore anytime of year.
This beautiful location is hard to beat.
With high or low tide, this is a great place to spot the local birdlife on the river from the end of the garden.
Trebah Gardens is just up the road and well worth a visit. (They are dog friendly.)
Walk or drive down to the Helford passage, just a few minutes from the house where you can join the coast paths in either direction, and stop at the Ferry Boat Inn to try some local fish.
The view from the pub is absolutely stunning and if you want to get closer to the water, you can hire a boat from here.
What a peaceful spot.
There are a few steps at both ends of the path, and half way down.
French doors open onto the raised decking.
The zig-zag path down to the house has a handrail all the way down.
Lunch with a view.
Looking back up at the house from the pontoon.
This amazing location on the side of the river bank means a walk up the steep sloping zig-zag-zig-zag path to the car, but it is definitely worth it!
Looking back up at the house from the riverbank.

Helford House

2774

4.5 miles SW of Falmouth / Sleeps 6 + cot

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £704

September 2019

Other cottages may have more up to date decor but this one has such a lovely location right on the waterfront makes it well worth the steep walk down (and up!) from the river. Great for the dog and husband who made the most of his kayak right from the doorstep. A real treat.


July 2019

Lovely property and lovely location. And good exercise up and down the path! We will certainly book again


May 2019

We had a wonderful holiday at Helford House, our fourth stay there and also with Classic Cottages. We love the location and the friendliness of the house. It's wonderful position near the water is well worth the climb up and down the zig-zag path and it is truly a magnificent retreat on the lovely creek with lots of lovely birds and surrounded by trees. You feel really away from the world.
With beautiful Trebah and Glendurgan gardens nearby it never is far to go for a visit to a lovely garden, Helford Passage is also just around the corner and other lovely places such as the Lizard, Trelissick Gardens are only a short drive away. We will certainly be back and look forward to our next stay already!


April 2019

Absolutely idyllic spot, very quiet and restful, brilliant for using our stand up paddle board. As the details rightly say the path is very steep but this just adds to the adventure and helps with walking off those cream teas...!


April 2019

The location and views are great, we loved the seclusion the decent to the house gave us. The property is tired and well used with some ill fitting furniture and fittings that don't necessarily make for a comfortable or convenient stay. As a family of 4 the showering arrangements were not ideal but completely manageable, if we were staying with multiple adults I think it would be a challenge, especially as none of the bedroom doors shut leaving you fairly exposed in the 'en suite' which is actually a shower in a bedroom.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review of Helford House - it's lovely to hear you had a great holiday overall and enjoyed those very special views. The property offers a family bathroom with a bath and hand shower attachment and there is also a shower cubicle with wash-basin in bedroom 2 as you found - we do appreciate that this is not sectioned off from the bedroom which we've tried to portray in our website photos. Thanks also for your feedback regarding some of the fixtures and fittings which we've forwarded to the owner and housekeeper for their attention. Bryony, Customer Support


February 2019

This was our second visit to Helford House and it felt like coming home. It is a very comfortable house with stunning views. We can't wait to return.


October 2018

Helford house is by far the best holiday home we have ever stayed in. We had an amazing week there. It is very comfortable and well equipped. The views from the house are fabulous, excellent place for stargazing. I really enjoyed watching the tide come in and out on the creek. The wild birds were lovely to watch and listen to. We had a truly amazing time.


September 2018

Beautiful spot


August 2018

Lovely house. Well equipped Very private. Access from parking only for able bodied. Older people beware Need to check that you are happy with limited shower facilities

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Helford House. The property is approached from the car parking area by a very steep sloping zigzag path which wouldn't be suitable for guests with mobility concerns (as mentioned in the description) - however we do hope you would agree that the view on the way up or down is worth taking a moment for a short breather! There is a shower cubicle in the en-suite to bedroom 2 on the first floor and the bath in the main bathroom has a hand held shower attachment. Bryony, Customer Support


July 2018

A lovely house in idyllic spot in need of updating otherwise very comfortable in a beautiful area . Future Travelers beware the path to the house is very steep up and down and not for the faint hearted.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you for your review of Helford House - we're pleased you liked it. This riverside property is approached by a very steep, sloping zig zag path as mentioned in the description, but we hope you agree what awaits you at the end is worth it. It's obviously a popular cottage and whilst no longer brand new, the furniture and decor is all very high quality and beautifully presented and the owners do redecorate regularly. Alison, Customer Support


June 2018

The only thing we can recommend is the location.

We would like to send you a set of photographs to illustrate all the above points.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so sorry you were disappointed; we have of course been in touch directly with a resolution. Classic Cottages


May 2018

Liked most things - location, views, access to Gardens and Helford Passage, etc Biscuits on arrival The shower was lacking power some areas starting to need a little TLC (downstairs bathroom) The steep approach to the house was a real challenge - but did not put us off slightly larger fridge/secondary fridge in boiler house - as for a family of 5/6, you need a lot of food.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Helford House - we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you got to explore the surrounding area. The access is steep but it's good to hear this wouldn't stop you returning. We've passed on your suggestions to make this very popular house even better. We hope you get the chance to come back soon. Tanya, Customer Support


May 2018

We have stayed at Helford House three times now and we love it very much. It is a lovely house and is in a wonderful location. It was lovely to have the improvements in the main bedroom with a new larger more comfortable bed and the added changes in the kitchen and the new shower room too are lovely additions. The house has a great energy and it is wonderfully located overlooking Port Navas creak and it is lovely to be able to walk out on the boat mooring looking down the river. It is wonderful that the gardens of Glendurgan and Trebah gardens, the lovely beaches of Church Cove and Helford and Poldhu Cove and the Lizard and many other lovely places are so close. We have just booked it straightaway for a fourth time for next May!! We look forward to being back already!! We thank Classic Cottages for a wonderful stay!


April 2018

Beautiful cottage in a fabulous position.


April 2018

Helford House is a little slice of heaven on earth. It is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, and so it is tranquil, gloriously wooded, full of birdsong and when the tide is high, it is just breathtaking. The house is comfortable, well-equipped, and really good value for money. Take your kayaks and your swimwear and prepare for paradise (especially if you're lucky enough to have good weather, as we were). Outstanding and highly recommended.


April 2018

A lovely property in a beautiful position. The path to the house is extremely long and steep, don’t book it if you are unfit or have any mobility issues.


September 2017

Helford House is in an amazing location on Port Navas creek. The house is extremely comfortable and clean, and was well equipped. Internet was good. We had our dog and there was even an indoor and outdoor bed provided plus bowls. Yes the path down and back up is steep and not for the very unfit or infirm, however the benefit of being right down on the water is more than worth it. Sitting on the patio or on the quayside right above the water in the afternoon and evening sun was magical. Could not recommend more highly.


September 2017

Helford house is a lovely place to stay, the house was clean and comfortable, the beds were great to sleep in. Obviously 4 quite steep paths to get down to the house so would not recommend to people with disabilities, would definitely recommend it.


October 2016

A comfortable house commanding stunning views of the river . Pdevious reviews are correct however do not let that dissuade you from spending time in this special place.


October 2016

Location alongside the creek is wonderful with the views, and a bonus being abloe to wlak directly from the property to the coastal paths, but still very close to Falmouth for all holiday requirements. Garden safe for Kids and Dogs due to spilt fencing areas. Property is satisfactory but requires a bit of an update. Slopes are certainly steep.


September 2016

Great location, but quality of the house is not as good as it looks.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Helford House and we're really pleased you enjoyed the wonderful location. As such a popular property year round a certain amount of wear and tear is regrettably unavoidable, but the Owners are currently in the process of redecorating inside and out over the winter period. Bryony, Customer Support


August 2016

If you are fit and able ,then the location of Helford House is fabulous. Tranquil relaxation by a lazy tidal creek. Warm welcome and good food at the local hotel. Dog friendly walks and a good pint at both the Ferryboat and Shipwright pubs. ( food also excellent at both).


July 2016

We had a great one week family holiday here and really enjoyed it. Now for the but... The house in general needs a good clean and a fresh coat of paint on the outside, the professional photos make it look immaculate however it is clearly in need of a some love and attention. The gardens however are beautiful as is the house itself and would make a lovely peaceful holiday location for those wishing to get away from it all all-though somewhat at the price of a rather arduous hill climb to get back to the car.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review, and were glad you enjoyed your stay. We know that the Owner is planning to get the exterior paint cleaned up as soon as she can, but it's tricky to plan this in around the weather and bookings, and takes longer than the window of a changeover day allows. It is very much in hand for attention however. We do agree that the access to the car park is pretty steep, but we hope that you found it was worth it. Tanya, Customer Support


September 2015

The cottage and situation is beautiful but the access to it is very very steep without handrails for safety in several areas. Appropriate footwear should be taken for the climb to and from the car for safety.


August 2015

What a beautiful place to stay. So uncluttered, unpretentious and unique. Clean, warm and well suited for a holiday Let in its accommodations and set up. It does need a little tidying up in places but it was well appointed and apart from the side of the bath - which we were informed about prior to our arrival - all was well.


July 2015

The photos and descriptions are probably from when it was originally with you as a holiday let. It needs some updating on your site or some updating of the property.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Helford House. Just to assure you, the photos were all taken by our Property Manager - the exterior and kitchen photos in April the year before you booked, and the other interior rooms three months before your stay. They are updated as and when any elements of the house change. The description is reviewed and updated each year as a minimum, and revisions are made on line in the event of any changes. Tanya, Customer Support

Please note, since this review the photos have been professionally updated - the current photos were taken in April 2016


June 2015

If you're looking for a place to "get away from it all" look no further.


May 2015

Please, keep that place secret!!! We spent perfect days in a perfect house. And so much possibilities to spend our time (near and far). So we hope to see it soon...


February 2015

A stunning location thankyou for allowing us to share it. We would definately book again.


September 2014

Fantastic retreat on the river - thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Would definitely book again


August 2014

A wonderful hide away location. We love this cottage and the magical views across the ever changing creek. This was our third visit and we will return.


July 2014

A lovely location for a classic Cornish getaway!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.