Scrumpy Cottage is a beautiful period village property. It has a lovely private courtyard garden and has a friendly village pub and shop at the Perry's Cider Mills just a short stroll away.
There is a lovely tranquil sitting-room with a wood-burning stove as an extra treat for out-of-season holidays or cool evenings.
The living-room has French windows out to the enclosed courtyard garden at the back of the cottage.
There is a very well-equipped kitchen, with a utility-room beyond it, leading out to the sheltered courtyard.
The courtyard behind the cottage is very sheltered and private. There is a large outside table for al fresco meals, reading the paper, and planning the day.
The stairs rise from the corner of the living-room.
As you enter the cottage, you step into the dining-room, with its original flagstone floors and farmhouse-table.
This is a lovely cottage to simply relax in - no need to dash off exploring if you don't want to, it is peaceful, full of character and you will really wind down here.
The dining-room has a lovely feature fireplace, one of two original inglenooks at the cottage.
Visit some of Somerset's excellent farm shops and farmers' markets for fresh local produce.
The two bedrooms are upstairs. This is the master bedroom with its king-size bed and luxurious bedding.
The view from the bedroom looks just across the little lane and over some of the village's pretty gardens.
This is a really good-sized room, with plenty of storage too.
The bathroom with fitted shower over the bath, is  next to the master bedroom.
The cottage has lovely deep windowsills. This bathroom window looks out over the countryside on the edge of the village.
Enjoy a slow start to your day.
A short corridor leads to the seecond bedroom and the shower-room.
This bedroom also has a king-size bed and views over the village.
There is plenty of space but at the same time the cottage is very well furnished with lovely pieces that are in keeping with the atmosphere here.
Pile up the holiday reading by the bed and enjoy a lie-in.
Little touches make all the difference and you will feel very welcome staying here.
Lovely decorations throughout give the cottage that homely feel.
Enjoy your holiday in south Somerset. It is a place you will hopefully return to again and again.
The cottage is in an edge of village setting and this is the view from one of the upstairs windows - overlooking the Owner's beautiful gardens and to the countryside beyond.
There is a huge playing field/park-area just 100 yards from the cottage where you can exercise your dog.
The playing field also has a lovely children's play-area.
There is a friendly visitor centre where you can learn about the cider making process - and better still, taste it! There is a little tea shop here too.
The tea shop has a lovely garden to relax in.
This is a truly peaceful edge of village setting. You can set off for wonderful walks through the gentle countryside in this area.
This is a perfect 'get away from it all' location, peaceful, traditional and so welcoming.
The gentle Somerset countryside is a delight to explore.
The village is in the heart of Somerset's apple growing countryside.
This is great walking countryside too - this is an incredible Iron Age fort at North Cadbury. From the top, the whole of Somerset is laid out around you.
This part of Somerset offers a wealth of historic houses to visit - this is Montacute House, managed by the National Trust.
Another view along the stunning Jurassic Coast - this is at West Bay, Bridport - again, an easy drive due south from the cottage.
If you want to visit the coast, Lyme Regis is an easy drive due south.

Scrumpy Cottage

2746

1.6 miles SE of Ilminster / Sleeps 4 + cot

7 Nights from £444 - £897

September 2017

The cottage was in a prime spot for visiting Dorset, Somerset and Devon. Both Perry's and the pub in the village had lovely meals. The complementary cakes and cider were lovely.


August 2017

Lovely cottage, in a very pretty and peaceful village setting.


August 2017

A beautiful cottage, set in a lovely, peaceful area. Great for families with dogs. Perry's Cider is a must!


July 2017

We couldn't fault the cottage which was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The cake and cider were a lovely touch. We found the location to be a bit quiet and the coast took an hour to get to, so a lot of driving was involved. We did, however, have an enjoyable time.


July 2017

This is a cute little cottage, Felt very welcome. Dowlish Wake is like a Ghost Town, so qiuet and very picturesque. Could do with a refurb as looking a little tired and some of the wall had damp. The toilet system is a nightmare, so loud that if you flush during the night it would wake the hole cottage up. The beds......WOW. They was so comfy we actually took pictures of the pillows and mattress and ordered them when we got home. All in all this was a lovely little cottage. The Dolphine in Ilminster was supurb for food.


June 2017

We had a wonderful relaxing week at the cottage and the weather was excellent. The cottage is very comfy and spacious.


May 2017

The property description should state that there is a macerator in the en-suite and that, if the damp problem is not rectified, the smell of damp will permeate into all the furnishings.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review. This traditional cottage has been renovated with sympathetic building techniques, including lime plaster to allow the walls to 'breathe'. You may notice more moisture at times, for instance when the weather is warm and wet, but this is to be expected of a cottage of this type. The full central heating helps to keep the cottage cosy, and opening a window slightly ensures a good airflow, which is essential. We wouldn't normally mention a macerator system (quite common for an en suite where the plumbing may be awkward) in our description but we're sorry that you found this noisy, and hope it didn't impact on your stay. Tanya, Customer Support


April 2017

The village Dowlish Wake was stunning friendly residents lovely walking distance to the local pub. Not forgetting the amazing Perrys cider (farm shop) simply amazing. Fantastic walks and all on our front doorstep. Scrumpy cottage was great equipped with all the essentials. We had a great holiday we will definitely return. Thank you


April 2017

Another lovely relaxing week at Scrumpy Cottage. This well equipped dog friendly cottage is in a small village with a friendly pub and a tearoom at the local cider farm. It is ideally situated for visiting local National Trust properties, scenic countryside walks and the fantastic Jurassic coastline.


January 2017

This is a beautiful warm cottage with excellent accomodation and very high quality fittings and furnishings in a delightful village location


December 2016

A beautiful, comfortable cottage in a real hideaway location for anyone who wants seclusion, peace and quiet.


November 2016

Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful village with local pub serving food and large playing field to exercise the dog safely. Great location.


September 2016

Idyllic location to relax and recharge.


September 2016

Brilliant, Scrumpy Cottage exceeded our expectations!


July 2016

Fantastic cottage in a great location, would highly recommend!


June 2016

Our second visit which we much enjoyed and hope to return next year.


June 2016

Excellent, Comfortable, Delightful, in an beautiful English Countryside


May 2016

Superb character cottage in a lovely village, just around the corner from a great village pub. What is not to like?!


May 2016

A super cottage in a lovely village, cannot fault anything we would definitely stay again


April 2016

Owner's and neighbours very helpful and accommodating with excellent welcome gifts of cider and cake well appreciated


March 2016

A lovely cottage with everything you need for a relaxing break. It is ideally located for exploring country towns, villages and the Jurassic coastline. Dog friendly pub in the village and lots of walks nearby.


March 2016

Superb!


January 2016

Scrumpy Cottage is a very comfortable, well appointed, well equipped and roomy holiday home and is good value for money. One of the nicest holiday cottages we have stayed in and makes a good base for exploring the area.


November 2015

We would defy anyone to find fault with Scrumpy Cottage. The location is superb, and the village is picture postcard. The pub is very dog-friendly and serves splendid pub grub. Added to this Perry's Cider Mill in the village - what is not to like!


November 2015

The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equipped. It's location in a lovely little village is ideal for those wanting peace and quiet.


August 2015

Nice cottage, good location for seeing surrounding area, pretty village


July 2015

Scrumpy cottage is a very pretty, well furnished cottage in a beautiful village. Lots to do in the area including National Trust properties, walks and small towns. We would certainly rent the cottage again if we return to the area.


June 2015

Fantastic cottage, home from home. Superb location. Spotless through out and welcoming. The owners are available when you want them, but otherwise respect your privacy. "Scrumpy Cottage" is a firm favourite and were sure it will be yours!!


April 2015

Excellent cottage - very comfortable, lovely decor and so many nice places nearby to visit.


March 2015

Great cottage, old but with clean contemporary fittings, modern bathrooms and kitchen. Ideal for four, two couples or family. Pub around the corner, bring a torch as it's black at night. PS one is provided, but bring one anyway!


December 2014

Lovely cottage in a very nice village, well placed for all sorts of holiday activities. Super for families or couples and very dog friendly!


October 2014

Excellent cottage in a lovely quiet village. Immaculately clean and well looked after by the owners. The local pub is in walking distance and is very friendly serving good food. Would definitely recommend Scrumpy Cottage for a relaxing holiday.


September 2014

A 'Truly Scrumptious' holiday cottage!


September 2014

There were fresh flowers, a freshly baked cake, and a nice supply of the local cider waiting for us in the cottage upon our arrival. Everything inside the cottage was neat and clean. The cottage is located in a small village that is convenient to many tourist attractions including Bath, Stonehenge, and the coast cities all of which we explored during our stay. We found that both Perry's Cider House and the New Inn are convenient to the cottage and serve very good food. All in all this was a very good holiday and we would highly recommend Scrumpy's Cottage.


August 2014

We stayed at Scrumpy with our 2 daughters aged 10 & 11, and had a lovely time. Scrumpy is in a tiny hamlet, tucked away offering a really quiet, peaceful stay. It's a great place as a base to explore & we went 'North' to Exmoor, Porlock & Lynmouth and 'South' to Lyme Regis & Beer (well worth it). Only wish the weather had been a little kinder and consistent. Would absolutely recommend.


May 2014

The cottage had everything we needed and is furnished to a high standard. We found it very easy to make ourselves at home. The location was ideal for a relaxing break, the village is very quiet and peaceful and the pub is close with good food (with gluten free options). The owners were very helpful and it was nice to have some time to chat to them.


December 2013

An absolutely beautiful cottage in a lovely location, just round the corner from a very friendly local pub!

It's very quiet and peaceful and made a good base for exploring the local area: the Blackdown Hills AONB are a short distance away and the local lanes and villages are a real treat to explore by bike.

The cottage is extremely well-equipped - the kitchen has everything you need if you like cooking. We hired the cottage over New Year and it was absolutely perfect for us - although the BBQ didn't get used, I'm sure come the summer dining out in the courtyard would be a real treat!


November 2013

This is a beautiful cottage, perfect for our family of four with young children. The owners made contact with us before hand to ensure we had clear directions and welcomed us on arrival - even offering us a homemade cake and local Perry's cider. The cottage is immaculate - all newly renovated - and has everything you need during your stay, including a wood burner and washing machine. The village is idyllic and, although we didn't have chance to sample it, we were recommended to eat at the local pub (within walking distance). We would whole heartedly recommend a stay at scrumpy cottage.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.