This is just the place to totally relax - complete privacy in a stunning setting.
Lark Rise is in a hilltop position overlooking its wonderful gardens with a panoramic view across the Bristol Channel to south Wales.
A couple of steps lead down to this wonderful living area with wood-burning stove and doors to the amazing deck outside
The stunning Japanese-style summer-house is at the lower end of this beautiful garden.
There is a really spacious open plan layout here with a large island as well as the dining-table.
The kitchen is exceptionally well-equipped.
As well as the open plan living area there is this lovely second sitting room opening out onto the terrace.
The en suite double bedroom on this floor is through the door in the far corner of the second living-room.
This is the master bedroom - lie in bed and marvel at the panoramic views right across the Bristol Channel.
This is the stunning en suite bathroom for Bedroom 1 - not many places where you can sit in the bath and look out across the Bristol Channel!
This is the bedroom suite on the lower ground floor - more doors to the garden too.
The lower ground floor bedroom has a lovely awning and your own little place to sit with an early morning coffee.
The en suite bathroom for the lower ground floor bedroom is amazing.
There is a large walk-in shower in this en suite too.
Bedroom 4 on the lower ground floor - a lovely private 'suite'.
Bedroom 3 has a comfortable double bed and shares a shower-room with the twin room.
This double bedroom is towards the back of the house past the Japanese cedar bath in its little courtyard
Bedroom 2 with 'zip and link' beds making up a super-king size double bed.
A brand new family bathroom has been created on the main floor of this house - it is just off the entrance hallway as you come in.
Even the games-room has a wonderful view.
There is a fabulous games-room for all to enjoy.
This is a special feature in the lower part of the garden - as well as being a sheltered spot to side and relax
Whatever the time of year the gardens are beautiful. These steps lead up to the decking-area.
The summer-house is a very calm and special place to sit in the garden.
The pond in front of the summer-house is so calm and tranquil - do always supervise children as it is deep.
The Quantock Hills are literally on the door step – you can make out a herd of deer in this photograph.
Bedroom 2 opens out onto this little courtyard with the Japanese cedar bath - a very special bonus!
A quirky architectural feature - the delights of this wonderful property lie behind the wooden door - this is your entrance!
A wonderful holiday house in a spectacular setting.
You can make out a large herd of deer in this field just below the track to Lark Rise.
The woodland track sets the scene for this unique location.
This is the steepest part of the woodland track.
Everywhere you turn in this garden there is colour and detail to discover.
The garden at Lark Rise is a delight whenever you are staying there.
More delicate colour in the garden in spring time.
Open the wooden door in this wonderful stone wall and step straight into this amazing hilltop house.
This terrace is as fabulous as the house itself.

Lark Rise

2722

3.6 miles W of Nether Stowey / Sleeps 9 + cot (no children from 1 to 7)

7 Nights from £836 - £2532

September 2017

In a way, I wish I'd never been to Lark Rise. Anywhere else I visit in the future is bound to be disappointing in comparison.


September 2017

We were a three generation family celebrating my 70th birthday and my granddaughter's 19th birthdays. The house and gardens were a joy and having separate sitting/chilling areas a bonus. We loved the views from the house and having so many outside areas to sit and enjoy. The Japanese sun room and pond were lovely and we liked seeing the dragonflies flitting about. The drive up to the house was an experience! At different time we spotted a number deer, a fox, and a badger. So much to see around the gardens with each walk a new discovery. It was not too far to get to the coast for walking. Fruit cake, scones with jam and cream all much appreciated when we arrived. Good places locally for eating out were The Ancient Mariner in Nether Stowey, The Lamb Inn at Spaxton, The Babbling Brook at Shurton and the Hood Arms at Kilve.


September 2017

Lark Rise is a large well presented property. The accommodation is spacious and well maintained with beautiful views over the coast of Somerset. For us a great bonus was the direct access to the Quantock hills from the garden gate.


September 2017

The house gives all comfort you need . Fantastic views over the Bristol Channel can be done fromm the terrace.


August 2017

Wow what an amazing place, so much more than even the website can show you. Beautiful location, fantastic scenery, great walking right on your doorstep.


July 2017

Fantastic cottage with everything you need .


May 2017

Fantastic house and garden in beautiful setting. Ideal for our family - 3 generation holiday - everyone could have their own space (and bathroom) but it also allowed us some very precious quality time together. We particularly loved the summer house as a quiet spot to read or daydream. And there are so many lovely walks straight from the door. We cannot wait to find another excuse to visit!


April 2017

This house was of an exceptional standard, fitted out and equipped to a very high standard. The location is perfect, we never tired of the view. The house has been very well designed to take full advantage of its location, the views can be enjoyed from in the house or on the outside decking. The garden is a delight, and so beautifully planned. This is a perfect place to get away and relax, you can chose to spend your time in the house or enjoy stunning walking or riding in the hills, right on your doorstep.


March 2017

a 5 star property. wish it was my house as its absolutley gorgeous. would love to stay again someday.


September 2016

Our second time back to Lark Rise,absolutely stunning location, house and Louise really does go that extra mile to make sure you are well looked after. We have been in many high- end holiday houses but this one is at the top of the list. Cannot fault anything. Our 4 year old grandson, who came with us last year was counting down the days to his next visit,just started school so a really good weekend for him. Walked in the woods and saw deer roaming around with many birds flying overhead. The garden house was his favourite as we were sat watching the boatmen and waterskaters in the pond. Thank you Louise.


August 2016

A beautifully appointed house with quality fixtures and fittings. Cannot commend the owner enough for the obvious thought put into the furniture and décor and sharing personal artefacts.


July 2016

It's a jewel hidden in the Quantock Hills, peaceful and not overlooked.


June 2016

A lovely large and comfortable cottage with stunning views, enough seating areas and room for everyone to have their own space. The most amazing 'loo with a view' and spa bath for that touch of luxury!


June 2016

A peaceful retreat in beautiful terraced gardens.


May 2016

Lark Rise is very well equipped and comfortable ( better than my own home ).

If you like somewhere 'off the beaten track' then this is for you.


October 2015

Fantastic getaway ,great location ,superb views excellent amenities really well equipped. A perfect place to relax and unwind.


September 2015

Lark Rise is an absolute gem of a holiday house; we spent the weekend there as it was our 30th wedding anniversary and wanted something very special. The house was in a stunning location,exceptionally well equipped and the owner has left everything possible to ensure a good holiday. Our 3 year old Grandson loved the house, garden and really enjoyed sitting in the garden room looking at the pond and the water boatmen. Plenty of wildlife,we saw herds of deer in the surrounding fields,Squirrels in the garden and plenty of birds. Very rural and quiet, one can't fail to enjoy themselves and we will be returning next year.


September 2015

Well equipped cottage, spacious and comfortable with great views and lots of sitting areas in the garden.


June 2015

Beautiful house and gardens and wonderful views and country walks close by.


April 2015

Lark Rise was one of the best holiday properties we have ever booked. Just about everything was included. The scenery, luxury and garden - wonderful. The drive up to the house was also an adventure. We were sorry to have to leave after 2 weeks.


September 2014

Lark Rise was the perfect base for our family and friends group gathered to celebrate our son's wedding nearby. Lots of people coming and going over a very busy few days but just a joy to be able to accommodate them in comfort and space. Everyone absolutely blown away with the standard of the accommodation and the location. Hopefully we'll return one day.


June 2014

A stunning property with most glorious views and if you are fortunate with the weather the gardens, summer house and all the outside seating areas (some in the shade, some in the sun - something to suit all tastes!) make it a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing retreat. We have never read so many books!!!


October 2013

Five stars we will be going back .


August 2013

We had a great stay at Lark Rise, the accomodation is very good quality, the owner having everything to hand and had clearly made a special effort to provide everything that we would require. Views are fantastic, if you are looking for a getaway from it all break, then choose Lark Rise, you wont be disappointed.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.