Purtington Barn Cottage has a beautiful outlook over the gardens which include a little stream and a wildlife pond where you can sit in peace and quiet.
There is a gorgeous terrace overlooking the gardens and the countryside beyond.
There is a really spacious living/dining room with two sets of French windows to the gardens.
As well as the galley-style kitchen there is a separate utility room.  This cottage is really well equipped for your stay.
The stunning Jurassic Coast is just a short drive away so you have the best of both worlds, countryside and coast to explore.
This is the rural view from the front of the cottage.
The kitchen leads directly into the dining area of the living room.
You can dine in or al fresco.
This stone fronted cottage is a very attractive building in a very peaceful setting
There is a little hidden away seat by the stream.  Perfect for that evening glass of wine.
There are extensive grounds here - tucked away out of sight is this lovely lawned area with a wildlife pond.
Back inside, this is the master bedroom on the first floor.  Floor to ceiling windows give you wonderful views from your bed
Another view across the master bedroom to show the door to the ensuite bathroom.
Not many cottages have such large en-suites. This one is a real treat.
This is the second bedroom with its double bed. This bedroom also has views across the gardens and the valley.
Both bedrooms have plenty of storage.
Across the corridor from the second bedroom is this lovely bathroom.
This images shows the overall setting, taken from the far side of the stream and looking back towards the cottage which is on the right.
Even the entrance is part of setting the scene.
The east Devon and west Dorset coastline offers lovely fishing villages and harbours to visit.
This is the harbour at Lyme Regis with the Jurassic Coast stretching away into the distance.
The stunning Jurassic Coast is a short drive away. This is the beach at Charmouth.
Enjoy a day to the Cricket St Thomas Spa next door for some pampering treatments and use of the swimming pool.
This is one of the little Shetland ponies who have come to live here!

Purtington Barn Cottage

2627

3.3 miles W of Crewkerne / Sleeps 3 (no children under 16)

7 Nights from £389 - £785

September 2018

we would be happy to return to the cottage.


August 2018

Very comfortable cottage with a lovely warm welcome!


May 2018

This idyllic cottage has it all. The finish of the conversion is excellent, the location is stunning and the owners made us feel at home. Trips out to so many local, beautiful villages and seaside towns were very easy.


May 2018

If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay, look no further than Purtington Barn. Set in a secluded rural setting, there is plenty of wildlife to see, lovely gardens and Shetland ponies. Fully renovated, the barn offers all modern facilities you may require. For those who want to get out and about, it is centrally located for all the main tourist attractions like Lyme Regis, Seaton tramway, Sherbourne Abbey, Abbotsbury Garden and Swannery, Forde Abbey, East Lambrook Garden, Haynes Motor Museum to name just a few. There were more places to visit than we could fit in a week!


May 2018

Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting. Loved the horses and ponies, the view from full-length bedroom window, the grounds and the sunny patio.

Owners welcoming and friendly without being intrusive.

Thank you, we had a great time.


August 2017

We had amazing weather and the barn was very nice and clean. We loved the little Shetland ponies and the owners were very accommodating and friendly. We found that we were very near to Lyme Regis (20 minute drive) which had a lovely beach. We would stay here again.


August 2017

Very nice cottage and owner was very kind letting our daughter go in the field with the ponies to feed and groom them. More reliable internet coverage needed (particularly an issue for our older children!!!) and clarity on whether day visitors are really welcome.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the cottage, we're delighted that you enjoyed it. The WiFi connection here allows for checking emails and using the internet, but isn't available for downloading large amounts of data/streaming films etc (see description). Obviously the property is set up to accommodate 4 guests, but the owner does ask that she's made aware of any extra day visitors for the purposes of insurance. Tanya, Customer Support


April 2017

Purtington Barn Cottage is a lovely little place tucked away in the Somerset countryside. Owners were welcoming and we had everything we needed. Thanks for a relaxing break.


September 2016

Large, clean, comfortable cottage in a quiet rural location. Well situated for visiting the coast, many stately homes and lovely villages.


September 2016

Comfortable and quiet with a lovely garden


September 2016

A lovely cottage with stunning scenery, friendly and helpful owners, well-equipped and comfortable.


October 2015

The property owner was friendly and had left a welcome pack of primary essentials, plus a cream tea on arrival.

Excellent, warm and comfortable accommodation


October 2015

A quiet and relaxing accommodation .


September 2015

Purtington Barn Cottage was very comfortable and had all that you could wish for. Dee and Keith very good hosts.


June 2015

Just a big thank you to the owners for everything that made our holiday so enjoyable. The location, the flowers, the cream tea on arrival were just wonderful. Thank you.


September 2014

A really tranquil place to relax after a busy day of activities.


September 2014

Every thing about the cottage was fab. Our thanks to Dee & Keith for a very warm welcome and relaxing holiday.


May 2014

We had a fantastic break at Purtington Barn Cottage. The welcome given by Mr and Mrs Talbot including the effort to have a cream tea waiting for us was exceptional. The cottage provided us with the break we were looking for and the opportunity to easily strike out to brilliant locations like Forde Abbey, West Bay/Bridport, Sidmouth, Exeter and areas like Dawlish. We will definitely be returning.


April 2014

Lovely setting and very comfortable accommodation. Friendly owners, some nice welcoming touches - cream tea, easter theme in rooms, fresh flowers.


April 2014

An excellent cottage in a stunning location with friendly owners


October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the accommodation was absolutely lovely. The owners were absolutely perfect; there to give information if required, very pleasant to speak to but not intrusive at all. Very happy to have a return visit - hopefully sometime next year.


August 2013

We received a warm welcome from very helpful owners who had provided homely touches of homemade scones and jam and flowers to greet us. The cottage is in a pretty, peaceful, rural location and the standard of cleanliness in every room was very high. The tasteful and comfortable furnishings and decor were also of a high standard and we had everything we needed for a very enjoyable and relaxed holiday. The patio area off the lounge has wonderful views across the countryside and we looked forward to enjoying the late evening sun with a glass of wine at the end of the day.


July 2013

This is a very pleasant place to stay with lovely views. All the rooms are a good size and there are two nice bathrooms. Every facility you might need is available and parking is no problem. The owners are very helpful and friendly but at the same time do not intrude on your privacy.


June 2013

Friendly welcome from Dee and Keith. We appreciated the lovely home made cream tea and homely touch with the flowers. The location was perfect and the house really comfortable.


May 2013

A fantastic place to stay if you want peace and quite, but not far from towns and places of interest to keep you occupied.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.