The Mouse House is in a wonderful hilltop position with fantastic views all around.
This is the view down the valley from your garden and from the summer-house. You will regularly see deer grazing too.
The open plan living, dining and kitchen area is lovely and cheerful.
The neat compact kichen is very well equipped.
The porch at the front of the cottage makes a very welcoming entrance.
The master bedroom has windows to two sides so you can sit in bed and have uninterrupted views of the beautiful countryside.
The sitting-area has a comfortable sofa as well as an armchair.
Another view of the fitted kitchen
The master bedroom has this lovely wide window sill looking out to the front of the cottage.
A pretty mix of antique and modern furnishings adds warmth and character to the cottage.
The downstairs single bedroom is a flexible extra for the cottage.
The en suite bathroom for the master bedroom.
The downstairs wet-room.
Looking across the gardens towards The Mouse House - the single-storey building behind the cottage is the laundry/boot-room.
Guests have a lovely dedicated garden area all to themselves.
The Mouse House has its own extensive gardens overlooking the valley.
Looking up at the cottage - next door to the Owners but very private and with a really large garden.
This is the wonderful view that you will have from the garden and the summer-house.
The summer-house is at the bottom of the garden, a perfect spot for deer watching.
This is the entrance gate to The Mouse House. Parking is just outside the gateway and a little path then leads you to the cottage.
The view towards the cottage from the top of its garden.
Another view past the front door to show the incredible view.

The Mouse House


3.7 miles NW of Tiverton / Sleeps 2

7 Nights from £431 - £726

December 2015

This cottage is a must for anyone wishing to get away from the strains and stress of everyday life. The south facing bedroom window reveals the most beautiful scene of rolling hills, forest and seasonal coloured fields. The haze of the early morning with the dappling sunlight creates an image that you will never forget. The cottage is quaint but very cosy. It is the perfect combination of cottage comfort with modern clean lines and decoration. The facilities in the cottage are first class, with the easy to operate digital heating system and the power shower/wet room. Set away from the rat race and step into the mouse house. You won't regret it.

October 2015

We would give it 5 stars but for poor WIFI and mobile phone reception which we had been told about in advance.

October 2015

This is a first class holiday location!

September 2015

owners of property live next door in the main house but not intrusive.

September 2015

Our hosts were lovely people who were very helpful. Our short break was great and watching the deer from the terrace with a little glass of something in the evenings was wonderful. The facilities in the house were first class and we would highly recommend this property. Thanks also to CC who were great as always.

August 2015

Very attractive cottage with spectacular views. Cosy, and quiet, and perfect for a short getaway.

July 2015

Wonderful place, great views, peaceful and very quiet. Excellent! Very kind and helpful owners!

June 2015

Amazing views from every corner of the beautiful and spacious garden, deer in the fields close by and your very own woodland to explore. An absolute pleasure, we very much hope to return!

June 2015

This cottage was a dream come true. The house, the surroundings, the wildlife, were all wonderful as were the welcoming owners. We would love a return visit. Thank you for the best holiday we have had for a long time. Stressless booking and a stunning cottage.

May 2015

A wonderful little bolthole, for adult mice of course. We felt that the Mouse House did everything and more from what it said on the tin!!!

May 2015

A pretty and comfortable cottage, amazing views and comes with a cat for those who are missing their own.

May 2015

If you are seeking a quiet location surrounded by beautiful pastoral countryside, the Mouse House is hard to top.

April 2015

A wonderful cottage in a stunning location. Warm and welcoming hosts are an added bonus as are their gorgeous cat and dog. Just a fantastic place to relax and forget about the real world!

October 2014

This property is in one of the quietest, most scenic areas that we have ever stayed in. The tree lined country lanes are narrow, but if you drive carefully you are fine. The house was lovely and well presented. Within 2 hours of arriving there were deer grazing in the fields opposite. These sightings were regular throughout the day. The owners are very nice people and didn't disturb is in the slightest. Daisy the cat was a regular visitor and we wished we could bring her home!

September 2014

The very best cottage holiday we've had in 20 years!

September 2014

Lovely cottage in an absolutely stunning area. Very narrow road to get to there but very rarely meet another car. Nearest pub is a mile away but we travelled a short distance further and would recommend Exeter Inn and Masons Arms for food. Friendly resident cat, Daisy, who was always there to welcome you back from a day out. Owners, Jon Rose and daughter Sarah are very welcoming. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip back to Exmoor.

August 2014

The Mouse House is a haven for relaxation. A superb cottage surrounded by stunning views and with all you could ask for in a holiday property. A truly wonderful place that we feel so lucky to have found!

August 2014

Very cosy cottage with fantastic rural views.

June 2014

Astounding peace and quiet. A real charger for the batteries. Troubles melted away with the glorious scenery and fresh air.

May 2014

Lovely cottage, small but perfectly formed and finished to a high standard with pretty garden and wonderful panoramic views over unspoilt countryside. A great place to chill out and relax but only a short drive Tiverton and main arterial routes providing easy access to other parts of Devon and adjacent counties of Somerset and Cornwall. Owners are pleasant and friendly without being intrusive to help you make the most of your holiday. We will definately be staying again.

May 2014

The rural location was very peaceful and although the roads leading to the cottage are narrow they were quiet. The views were excellent. Easy access to Exmoor and the North Devon coast and to a number of National Trust properties nearby. Also good directions from the M5 and North Devon link road to the cottage, the owners suggested the more sensible- if slightly longer -route into the village. Good local walks on lanes and in the owners woodland.

April 2014

Best "cottage parents" ever seen.

April 2014

A top quality cottage that has both comfort and style and is in a superb location. Book now!

October 2013

We came from Australia to this superb location with wonderful views to a beautiful peaceful rural outlook, and would return without hesitation. The cottage is homely, warm, and very comfortable and you may expect a most warm welcome from your hosts. An adjacent Summer House enjoys the same views and allows easy, relaxed outdoor eating or quiet recreation. The location allows an undisturbed holiday-at-home or easy touring to Somerset, North Devon and Cornwall.

October 2013

The mouse house is in an excellent location. Deer watching from the garden and very tranquil. The owners are very friendly and most helpful and wil do their utmost to make sure your stay in enjoyable.
It is a small property, but comfortably furnished and very clean throughout. The garden is lovely and an ideal place to sit and admire the surrounding view. Can recommend The Mouse House as a perfect holiday acommodation. Would definately go back if wanting to visit the area again.

September 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Mouse House. The location of the cottage is superb and the cottage is small but perfectly formed! Very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Sitting in the summerhouse watching the deer and swallows etc was the highlight of our week. We will definitely return. Thanks to Sarah for looking after us.

August 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful location. Magnificent views on all sides with good quality comfortable accomodation. The owners were perfect hosts -very friendly but not the least obtrusive. We will return.

July 2013

We had an excellent stay , it was brilliant. The owners were very helpful , nothing was too much trouble and the whole experience could not have been better. We enjoyed ourselves very much

June 2013

John, Rose & their daughter were very helpful. Lovely welcome with wine and flowers in the cottage on arrival. All very secluded and peaceful with John asking if everything was ok as and when he saw us rather than interrupt our stay. When I got a puncture on my motorcycle John offered assistance in finding a tyre centre. A very peaceful week and lovely seeing the deer and one stag, bird of prey and the swifts that nest in the garage. Very central with quick and easy routes to both the north (via Exmoor) and south Devon coasts. Places we visited included 'A La Ronde', Exmoor, Lynton, Lynmouth, Ilfracombe & Kingshayes Court (15 minutes from the cottage).

May 2013

If you need peace and quite go here and the owners are great to, very down to earth and very helpful when needed. We will come back here its a wonderful place.

Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.