This is your own private entrance to The Mouse House - the view says it all
The Mouse House is beautifully presented and in an absolutly stunning location with a large garden and unspoilt views for miles.
The summer house is the perfect place to sit with a glass of wine watching the deer come out to graze across the valley
Another vantage point in your garden.
Inside, the cottage has an open plan ground floor with a single bedroom and shower room at the far end too. There is one step down into the kitchen/living room area.
The kitchen is built around two walls and there is plenty of room for the dining table.
You will have all that you need for a really relaxing stay here.
Guests are made to feel at home as soon as they arrive.
The living area has a two seater sofa as well as a lovely deep armchair.
Up on the first floor the stairs open out into the dual aspect main bedroom - more fabulous views from your bed.
Another view of the main bedroom with its king sized bed.
The views will take your breath away, whatever the weather.
This is the en-suite bathroom on the first floor.
You can  see the summerhouse overlooking the valley from the bedroom window.
For flexibility for two guests there is also a single bedroom on the ground floor.
Next to the single bedroom is a wet-room style shower room.
The Mouse House is an absolutly perfect retreat.
The sunny hilltop setting is wonderful for eating al fresco, in complete privacy and with a panaramic countryside view in front of you.
This place is all that a break away from it all is about.
Sitting in the summer house and watching the deer grazing in early morning or early evening has to be a high point of a stay here.
More of the views from the garden.
The setting is in the Devon foothills, close to the Exmoor National Park.
The River Exe is at the bottom of the steep valley.
This view is taken from the owners' garden but shows you the location of the summer house inrelation to The Mouse House.
The pathway from your parking area to the cottage gives you the perfect taste of this special setting.
You can be at the East Devon Jurassic coast in just under an hour. This is Sidmouth.
The Exmoor National Park is even closer, approximately a 15 minute drive.  This is taken from Hadden Hill overlooking Wimbleball Lake.
The rugged North Devon coast is also just under an hour's drive.  For a sandy beach try Instow.
Lyme Regis just over the border into Dorset is a wonderful place for a full day out. It usually takes about an hour to get here from the cottage.

The Mouse House

2614

6.2 miles S of Dulverton / Sleeps 2

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £366

June 2019

The Mouse House is a lovely small cottage in a beautiful location. We had a very enjoyable holiday there it is so peaceful and great for relaxing. We had some wonderful warm sunny evenings in the summerhouse relaxing, reading and watching the deer. We would happily return.


June 2019

Jon and Rose ,are lovley host they made us feel very welcome.The mouse house was perfect we will Definately be returning.We would Definately recommend this beautiful place if you are looking to completely chill out .


June 2019

A lovely cottage in a fabulous position with wonderful views. A good welcome from the very pleasant owners.


May 2019

A lovely property with a stunning view in a very quiet location. It is a bit of a drive to get to but it is worth it. This is the place to get away from modern life. Just relax and enjoy the view.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for letting us know how you got on at The Mouse House. This lovely property is set in a breathtaking hilltop position and we totally agree that those views are most definitely worth the drive. Tressa, Customer Support


May 2019

We have stayed in several cottages over the years, The Mouse House has been the best by far. The lovely warm welcome from Rose and Jon. The cottage is lovely and the garden and summerhouse were just magic. We needed a relaxing holiday and we certainly had one. We would come back.


April 2019

I would highly recommend this cottage it was a home from home. We were greeted by Daisy the cat everytime we opened the door. Hamish the dog also came bouncing towards us as we arrived back. John and Rose were excellent hosts. Would definitely return to the mouse house again.


August 2018

Although access is via narrow roads, they are not the worst in the West Country and the location of the property is well worth the drive. Views are wonderful, especially from the summer house of an evening. Owners very helpful and welcoming but not obtrusive. Location ideal for visiting both north and south Devon with ease.


May 2018

Wow! Beautifully decorated and appointed little holiday cottage. Delicious cake and milk on arrival. Owners very friendly and approachable but not at all intrusive. Spectacular setting with magnificent views. it really was the best short break we’ve ever had.


December 2015

This cottage is a must for anyone wishing to get away from the strains and stress of everyday life. The south facing bedroom window reveals the most beautiful scene of rolling hills, forest and seasonal coloured fields. The haze of the early morning with the dappling sunlight creates an image that you will never forget. The cottage is quaint but very cosy. It is the perfect combination of cottage comfort with modern clean lines and decoration. The facilities in the cottage are first class, with the easy to operate digital heating system and the power shower/wet room. Set away from the rat race and step into the mouse house. You won't regret it.


October 2015

We would give it 5 stars but for poor WIFI and mobile phone reception which we had been told about in advance.


October 2015

This is a first class holiday location!


September 2015

owners of property live next door in the main house but not intrusive.


September 2015

Our hosts were lovely people who were very helpful. Our short break was great and watching the deer from the terrace with a little glass of something in the evenings was wonderful. The facilities in the house were first class and we would highly recommend this property. Thanks also to CC who were great as always.


August 2015

Very attractive cottage with spectacular views. Cosy, and quiet, and perfect for a short getaway.


July 2015

Wonderful place, great views, peaceful and very quiet. Excellent! Very kind and helpful owners!


June 2015

Amazing views from every corner of the beautiful and spacious garden, deer in the fields close by and your very own woodland to explore. An absolute pleasure, we very much hope to return!


June 2015

This cottage was a dream come true. The house, the surroundings, the wildlife, were all wonderful as were the welcoming owners. We would love a return visit. Thank you for the best holiday we have had for a long time. Stressless booking and a stunning cottage.


May 2015

A wonderful little bolthole, for adult mice of course. We felt that the Mouse House did everything and more from what it said on the tin!!!


May 2015

A pretty and comfortable cottage, amazing views and comes with a cat for those who are missing their own.


May 2015

If you are seeking a quiet location surrounded by beautiful pastoral countryside, the Mouse House is hard to top.


April 2015

A wonderful cottage in a stunning location. Warm and welcoming hosts are an added bonus as are their gorgeous cat and dog. Just a fantastic place to relax and forget about the real world!


October 2014

This property is in one of the quietest, most scenic areas that we have ever stayed in. The tree lined country lanes are narrow, but if you drive carefully you are fine. The house was lovely and well presented. Within 2 hours of arriving there were deer grazing in the fields opposite. These sightings were regular throughout the day. The owners are very nice people and didn't disturb is in the slightest. Daisy the cat was a regular visitor and we wished we could bring her home!


September 2014

The very best cottage holiday we've had in 20 years!


September 2014

Lovely cottage in an absolutely stunning area. Very narrow road to get to there but very rarely meet another car. Nearest pub is a mile away but we travelled a short distance further and would recommend Exeter Inn and Masons Arms for food. Friendly resident cat, Daisy, who was always there to welcome you back from a day out. Owners, Jon Rose and daughter Sarah are very welcoming. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip back to Exmoor.


August 2014

The Mouse House is a haven for relaxation. A superb cottage surrounded by stunning views and with all you could ask for in a holiday property. A truly wonderful place that we feel so lucky to have found!


August 2014

Very cosy cottage with fantastic rural views.


June 2014

Astounding peace and quiet. A real charger for the batteries. Troubles melted away with the glorious scenery and fresh air.


May 2014

Lovely cottage, small but perfectly formed and finished to a high standard with pretty garden and wonderful panoramic views over unspoilt countryside. A great place to chill out and relax but only a short drive Tiverton and main arterial routes providing easy access to other parts of Devon and adjacent counties of Somerset and Cornwall. Owners are pleasant and friendly without being intrusive to help you make the most of your holiday. We will definately be staying again.


May 2014

The rural location was very peaceful and although the roads leading to the cottage are narrow they were quiet. The views were excellent. Easy access to Exmoor and the North Devon coast and to a number of National Trust properties nearby. Also good directions from the M5 and North Devon link road to the cottage, the owners suggested the more sensible- if slightly longer -route into the village. Good local walks on lanes and in the owners woodland.


April 2014

Best "cottage parents" ever seen.


April 2014

A top quality cottage that has both comfort and style and is in a superb location. Book now!


October 2013

We came from Australia to this superb location with wonderful views to a beautiful peaceful rural outlook, and would return without hesitation. The cottage is homely, warm, and very comfortable and you may expect a most warm welcome from your hosts. An adjacent Summer House enjoys the same views and allows easy, relaxed outdoor eating or quiet recreation. The location allows an undisturbed holiday-at-home or easy touring to Somerset, North Devon and Cornwall.


October 2013

The mouse house is in an excellent location. Deer watching from the garden and very tranquil. The owners are very friendly and most helpful and wil do their utmost to make sure your stay in enjoyable.
It is a small property, but comfortably furnished and very clean throughout. The garden is lovely and an ideal place to sit and admire the surrounding view. Can recommend The Mouse House as a perfect holiday acommodation. Would definately go back if wanting to visit the area again.


September 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Mouse House. The location of the cottage is superb and the cottage is small but perfectly formed! Very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Sitting in the summerhouse watching the deer and swallows etc was the highlight of our week. We will definitely return. Thanks to Sarah for looking after us.


August 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful location. Magnificent views on all sides with good quality comfortable accomodation. The owners were perfect hosts -very friendly but not the least obtrusive. We will return.


July 2013

We had an excellent stay , it was brilliant. The owners were very helpful , nothing was too much trouble and the whole experience could not have been better. We enjoyed ourselves very much


June 2013

John, Rose & their daughter were very helpful. Lovely welcome with wine and flowers in the cottage on arrival. All very secluded and peaceful with John asking if everything was ok as and when he saw us rather than interrupt our stay. When I got a puncture on my motorcycle John offered assistance in finding a tyre centre. A very peaceful week and lovely seeing the deer and one stag, bird of prey and the swifts that nest in the garage. Very central with quick and easy routes to both the north (via Exmoor) and south Devon coasts. Places we visited included 'A La Ronde', Exmoor, Lynton, Lynmouth, Ilfracombe & Kingshayes Court (15 minutes from the cottage).


May 2013

If you need peace and quite go here and the owners are great to, very down to earth and very helpful when needed. We will come back here its a wonderful place.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.